56 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

alucard89
post Oct 16 2023, 06:31 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(XtraSpicy @ Oct 16 2023, 05:36 PM)
Hi Bro, thanks for the help, can I understand what you suggest is to buy a matter hub, such as the zemismart or aqara hub? Why not get a google nest hub?

Matter is used over WIFI right? will it work when WIFI is down?

I read the Aqara is expensive, other than the price, any other disadvantage that it might have?
If you get matter devices like these, just google nest hub is enough. There’s a few now but the list is growing

The zemismart matter hub is basically if you have tuya zigbee devices like sensors, switches etc and the hub exposes them over matter. Essentially a bridge for non matter devices

Technically that’s what matter is marketed, works locally without internet.
With homekit, smartthings they do work offline but i read that’s still ongoing with google home? Anyone can clarify
alucard89
post Oct 17 2023, 10:14 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 17 2023, 09:10 AM)
I’m impatiently waiting for my Zemismart M1 hub

Tryna hit few birds with one stone

Features:-
1. Matter Hub - brings all child-devices over to google. (Some of my tuya smart devices dont work in google, only amazon)
2. Zigbee Hub - can connect to tuya zigbee devices
3. Thread border router - apparently it works as one. So, it can extend the thread network - im looking to add more thread coverage too - currently have 2 zemismart matter over thread curtain motors.

I notice that thread devices may go offline in homekit from time to time. The remedy is to reboot the curtains. But with the M1 hub, it will allow me to control the curtains (thread devices) in Tuya app, so if it goes offline in Homekit, then i can still have another option.

Will post up a short first impression once i get it and set it up
Looking forward to your review bro,
I think the only limitation with matter now is just power monitoring not supported yet?
alucard89
post Oct 27 2023, 09:19 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Oct 27 2023, 01:42 AM)
I’m using aqara fp2 presence sensor, expensive but accurate and sensitive, can configure to detect multiple zones.

Recently add new features to monitor sleep, even can monitor sleep heart rate, but require to install above your bed.
Can still discern different target if too close to each other? Like if someone sit next to you while watching tv

Also, the sleep monitoring feature can detect multiple target?
alucard89
post Oct 27 2023, 06:54 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Oct 27 2023, 04:54 PM)
I live alone so don’t know fp2 can tell there are two sitting closely
Didn’t try sleep mode because it needs to place it above the bed and it will only monitor sleep and no more presence detection.
So far it doesn’t mess up with my two fans in living room.
I see, so sleep monitoring disables the presence detection. That's probably something they need to fix

You put the fans in exclusion zone?
alucard89
post Nov 7 2023, 07:31 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(DarkILight @ Nov 7 2023, 01:34 AM)
have anyone tried this method for latest daikin aircond with this remote ?

That’s the same remote i have, main reason you’ll want to try this method is to sync on off status if someone else using physical remote.
alucard89
post Nov 7 2023, 12:25 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(DarkILight @ Nov 7 2023, 11:24 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion. I have actually tried Broadlink RM4 already, using home assistant and SmartIR. but it keeps disconnecting from the network every few minutes then reconnect.
Probably try fixed ip, unless it’s wifi range issue
Can also try tuya ir remote, flash with libretiny esphome and use ir climate config for daikin
alucard89
post Nov 9 2023, 09:36 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 8 2023, 08:36 PM)
i want to use zigbee.
BUT, no zigbee wall switch 4-gang w/ neutral.
and the zigbee UK 3-pin wall socket cannot tolerate above 250V, will turn off.
Grab any 4 gang zigbee with neutral like this and use this hack

Works for me, and it still acts as repeater
It's like installing those capacitor on L1 but you diy the component

This post has been edited by alucard89: Nov 9 2023, 09:40 AM
alucard89
post Nov 9 2023, 10:01 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 9 2023, 09:42 AM)
NO 4-gang w/ neutral.
not even 4-gang.

anyway, already water under bridge. all wall switches and wall sockets on wifi. 50-odd of them.

zigbee sockets with no tolerance above 250V, i put after AVR and UPS. the zigbee gateway can failover to standby 4G wifi if no fibre internet, so it's great to control restart of fibre internet and mesh and cctv from remote.
Added a link to my previous post, so there's that if you ever need to replace one if any stops working
alucard89
post Nov 9 2023, 05:04 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 9 2023, 04:37 PM)
Side note, GU10 bulb multi color that's compatible with HomeKit (able to control locally) any options?
Cozylife has a pretty decent price

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/homekit-...2229053516.html?
alucard89
post Dec 5 2023, 11:29 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Dec 5 2023, 11:20 PM)
Does anyone have experience wiring 2 way switch for staircase light with the Sonoff ZBMINI-L2?

I open the 2-way wall switch and all the colours are the same (pic)  dry.gif

I suppose this means my circuitry is the basic one where i need additional live wire connected to the Lin of the ZBMINI-L2 based on some reference image i found online:

Problem is as its the only switch on the wall, it doesnt have live wire going into wall switch L1 (following the reference above)

Anyone know if possible to splice the wire from wall switch L2/L3 to go into the Lin on the ZBMINI? something like below. or am I just out of luck

Without adding extra wire, you’ll need to change to momentary type switch for both.
Can follow this guide

alucard89
post Dec 6 2023, 09:12 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Dec 6 2023, 08:24 PM)
Thanks for the the video, very informative  :thumbsup: . interesting idea to change the switch type
If you want to retain existing switches and wires still can but need to use sonoff basic r4 with the new ‘magic switch’ mode.
Just need install on the light fixture and bridge wires like this. Useful if you have recessed light and can just hide it in the ceiling

Also find this one useful to make your 5 gang switch smart since there’s no option available for it

alucard89
post Dec 7 2023, 08:11 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Dec 7 2023, 12:16 AM)
this does seem easier to do, unfortunately not really an option for me - staircase ceiling light too high cant reach  biggrin.gif
Yeah depends on your case, used this method for my 3 gang switch (each gang on 2 way) that’s wired to 2 switches with 1 gang on normal 1 way wiring.
Zbmini wouldn’t fit because of the thick cables behind them so this was the way.
alucard89
post Dec 7 2023, 08:11 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 7 2023, 04:10 AM)
I have 2-ways switch headache for my staircase and shared bathroom too.
basically the switch on the market did not offer any suitable solutions for 2ways wall switch.
at the end, the best solution is to use normal switch on both side and sync the status.

I flashed tasmota, in it hv a feature that able synced the device's status... its device to device without server.
I use websent at first, it works but sometime doesn't sync and slow.
then I use devgroup to sync. it is much much better and fast.

try it...
Definitely the best feature for tasmota, use it all the time to sync switch with tasmota lights.
If you need something foolproof (router/wifi offline) can try espnow since it connects directly to other device without router. There’s tasmesh (tasmota mesh) that works similarly but haven’t figured out how to use it.
alucard89
post Dec 16 2023, 10:46 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Moderna @ Dec 15 2023, 03:43 PM)
Guys. I’m thinking of getting sonoff T5 for all my lights and fans. NS panel for some of the lights and to monitor cctv and doorbell.

Are there any good sonoff 20A switches. I am looking to match the switches so they look pleasing, aesthetically. Hence need all to be from the same brand.
Got one at shopee but it’s a touch switch or can still use T5 + contactor
alucard89
post Dec 18 2023, 11:00 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Dec 18 2023, 09:32 PM)
Hi Smarties,

Wanna know if any of you integrate your smart door lock with HA? Am very interested in Aqara locks but can't integrate their zigbee models to Z2M.

Options? Can be wifi, Bluetooth etc.
Which aqara lock you got bro that can’t pair with z2m?
alucard89
post Dec 19 2023, 04:43 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Dec 19 2023, 12:52 AM)
Don't have any yet. But doing some research. Limited old models only can fully integrate. New ones can't.
Cheaper option is tuya homekit hub + any tuya zigbee lock, then pair with homekit integration
On the plus side, homekit still works locally

Switchbot lock works with bluetooth proxy, but the keypad/fingerprint is a separate purchase

There's also some tuya bt lock that works with tuya-ble integration, thinking of getting one for other doors at home. Just the ukrainian developer hasn't been active for the last 6 months sweat.gif
alucard89
post Dec 20 2023, 09:58 AM

4,454 posts

Anyone using smart table lamp switch dimmer?
Only one i could find is this one from alibaba

https://x.alibaba.com/15l4Na?ck=pdp

Maybe there’s an alternative link in shopee/lazada somewhere?

alucard89
post Dec 21 2023, 09:02 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Dec 20 2023, 05:27 PM)
You could get Mi Bedside Lamp, or you could use a dimmable smart bulb with a wireless rotating knob to control dimming?
Need to use with an existing floor light

Did consider that, which require replacing all 6 e14 bulbs with smart bulbs, then remove original switch and add something like sonoff basic r4 with rotary knob attached to it. Probably use espnow/tasmesh so it keeps working even when ha is offline

Anyway, found this one which looks like the same controller for the floor lamp. Can’t find anywhere else

https://x.alibaba.com/15l9xh?ck=pdp

alucard89
post Jan 1 2024, 11:42 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 1 2024, 11:22 AM)
no capacitor is a myth...
all LIVE power need NEUTRAL to return the power back to the grid.

it is either ur capacitor is located at
1. external, used as bypass
2. internal in the switch, as mini battery
Hi bro, got this no neutral zigbee switch (with no neutral wire input)
If replace with esp chip, it would still boot up?
Already done esp swap on zigbee switch with neutral that obviously works but this I’m not too sure

alucard89
post Jan 1 2024, 01:30 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 1 2024, 12:25 PM)
bruh! u r the sifu here.
i learned most of it from u.

ur modding too advance for me 😅
It’s disconnecting randomly now which kinda messes with my automation.
Thinking of just replacing with wifi chip if it works without neutral wire. In us got this moes wifi switch that doesn’t need capacitor

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B099KFQT6B?flyingspaghettimonster=pp...ct_details&th=1

Wonder why tuya don’t make more of this

56 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.3043sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:35 AM