Smart Home, Let's discuss

alucard89
post Sep 18 2023, 09:47 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 18 2023, 08:07 AM)
Last time when I bought, the S1E costs about RM130 so its about the same price as 3-gang D1. But ah doi, durability no good. Now I just set them to turn off screen during standby, not so eye sore  laugh.gif
That's cheap, you bought it during sales promo?

alucard89
post Sep 18 2023, 10:25 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 18 2023, 10:17 AM)
Actually even cheaper than I recalled 😂. This was the first time I saw the S1E.

This shop quite responsive one lah, especially a few times wrong item delivery but this time kena ignored WTF 😅
Wah definitely promo price, close to 200 now
Might get one if they're doing another promo
alucard89
post Sep 22 2023, 04:22 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Sep 22 2023, 04:18 PM)
Anyone here is controlling their led strip lights based on time of day? I have a question about that.

Say i wake up in the night to go toilet...sensor picked me up, sets the lights in toilet to 25% brightness. To do this does the led strip needs to be constantly powered? and if the light switch is a dumb rocker type...if already in off position, totally no light.

My method to solve this is too complicated. Smart switch -> zigbee dimmable driver (12/24V) -> led strip.

automation: Sensor detects, sets led strip brightness to 25%, sets smart switch to ON.

any better solution?
Your smart switch is zigbee or wifi?
If you can install custom firmware like tasmota/esphome, can set to decouple mode (detach button from relay and sends click action as triggers) keeping the driver always online

alucard89
post Sep 22 2023, 04:49 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Sep 22 2023, 04:36 PM)
I have 1 zigbee aqara Z1 switch that supports decoupling. If it was not decoupled, the driver would be offline? Any other workaround to making this work without a smart switch?

I'm looking into esphome but still reading on info. Key is to make sure device has the right chip?
Then it's done, you just need to enable decouple mode on that switch then set automation for manual control (1 click to toggle on/off the led strip light).
Without a smart switch? Skip the switch and directly wire to the led driver or the old trick of locking the switch to always on and put warning labels so nobody messes with it laugh.gif

As long as it's wifi version, esphome now supports beken chip (widely used by tuya now) so shouldn't be a problem like it used to be

This post has been edited by alucard89: Sep 22 2023, 04:50 PM
alucard89
post Sep 22 2023, 09:58 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Sep 22 2023, 09:42 PM)
Warning labels difficult... Too many ppl in the house. The switch must still be open to use. Old ppl nanti terus off.

Will explore esphome soon... Since now all my devices are focused on zigbee. You use alot of esphome?
Try openbeken if you wanna avoid coding stuff on esphome.
Can still set decouple mode there.

There’s also a new device group component for esphome.

https://github.com/Cossid/TasmotaDeviceGroupsForESPHome

With this you can link several devices together without automation or ha. Useful when you have esphome flashed switch + lights

alucard89
post Sep 23 2023, 01:48 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Sep 23 2023, 12:52 PM)
Sounds good. Let me get one and experiment first.
Get this

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.6tuCV

Led & relay on dedicated pin
Most tuya switches have the red LED tied to the relay.
If your switch on detached mode, the indicator stays red the whole time but not this one.
It changes based on the smart lights/devices on or off status.
alucard89
post Sep 26 2023, 12:42 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Sep 26 2023, 12:10 AM)
【淘宝】https://m.tb.cn/h.55jSyZd?tk=oyQ8Wam07Ua CZ3457 「超薄款磁吸轨道灯智能米家涂鸦无主灯嵌入式暗明装超矮窄款导轨灯」
点击链接直接打开 或者 淘宝搜索直接打开

This is the link of the track light, by default they give xiaomi version, can opt for tuya and ZigBee version but ZigBee need additional 20 rmb for each lights so I thought just choose xiaomi since it is a reliable brand

Is it only Xiaomi has those country specific thingy? What about tuya and sonoff? I was planning to use sonoff ZigBee for home switches as well
Just xiaomi, others all open borders
alucard89
post Sep 27 2023, 05:48 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 27 2023, 05:40 PM)
can discount more...
adding neutral cable is cheap, coz most of the ppl simply tapped it from aircon's switch or water heater.

the headache part is 2ways switch, which is not available.
i have to sync the switch status for it to work.
Since our 2 way wiring usually got 1 incoming and outgoing for live. Need to loop another live wire going to the slave switch so can use with the smart relays like sonoff mini
alucard89
post Sep 29 2023, 11:06 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Sep 29 2023, 12:46 AM)
Hi,is there any smart switch that can be switched normally(physical) and by apps.Im asking because want to install for my uncle which is old.So you know,old peoples dont have much knowledge or understand the modern technologies.The switch must have few wireless option to be operated(Bluetooth,zigbee or RF) and not only IOT.
if your uncle prefers using existing switch, can get this
Small enough to fit behind the switch without spacer, and up to 3 gang
Get an rf remote, and can just control all the light/switch at home if he doesn’t like use app.

alucard89
post Sep 30 2023, 10:29 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Sep 29 2023, 07:24 PM)
Cannot view the web fully,its zoomed....any english version?
Need to use google translate, can’t find it on shopee or lazada except for the sa-018 model Max posted but no rf on that one.

Fits behind the switch so far, even the one with thick wires

There’s aliexpress link but taobao is cheaper and faster shipping

https://a.aliexpress.com/_mLGdIYO

This post has been edited by alucard89: Sep 30 2023, 10:32 AM
alucard89
post Sep 30 2023, 11:54 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 30 2023, 11:23 AM)
I wonder if i can use that alongside another smart switch, one of my switches which i have yet to change has 3 circuits with 2 seperate live wires for some reason, 2/3 use looped live.
Had one of those wiring for a 3 gang switch, 2 live incoming, 1 for 2 way, 1 for 1 way remaining 2 wires
alucard89
post Oct 10 2023, 11:09 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 10 2023, 10:45 AM)
omg.

Too much hassle. Cos all the end devices besides have their own automations in homekit

Hmm. Maybe i will just power cycle just to see what happens. Not intending to re-pair everything cos upon doing that, have to rewrite my automations.

Thanks for the reply!

Edit: i probably will end up re-pairing some of the devices soon, as im getting the Zemismart Matter M1 Zigbee hub soon to use for my ground floor. Then the Neo Tuya hub will serve the first floor. We’ll see how it goes once i receive the new hub.

Side note: my original Zemismart homekit hub no longer functioning in homekit. I guess you win some you lose some for these china devices.
One of my aqara door and window sensors also Kong.

Smart home life is a life of trial and error and repeat purchases haha
What happened to the zemismart homekit hub? Randomly working or just stop detected by homekit
alucard89
post Oct 10 2023, 02:37 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 10 2023, 01:55 PM)
It works within tuya app. Just doenst maintain connection to homekit. Always no response. The Neo is rock solid, even though i suspect they’re the same hub, just rebranded. I just got a rotten one i suppose
Looks the cheaper one prevails, using a similar one for zigbee smart lock
No fancy option like in the tuya app, homekit integration got lock/unlock option only with ha. Just wish it could expose those keypad press to ha for more automation potential
alucard89
post Oct 13 2023, 09:24 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Oct 13 2023, 09:22 PM)
Hi all, I have recently purchased MOES switch. And I used the 2 gang to connect to my room's fan and LED downlight. I also put the same setup to the other room. Funny thing was, when I adjust the fan speed using the manual rotary regulator, both rooms led light flickers.is there any way to rectify this? Thanks!
Capacitor installed on 1st gang/fan?
alucard89
post Oct 15 2023, 09:07 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Oct 15 2023, 07:08 PM)
Thanks for the explanation. I am aware of the latent consumption from the logic board. I just received feedback from MOES that this switch is not recommended for fan which doesn't make sense rclxub.gif sweat.gif. Anyway, I'll install one cap for the light and see whether the issue persist. In theory, it should smooth out the sudden fluctuation of the supply (fan inductive load).
I had similar problem but on a wifi switch with capacitor installed on L1 fan. Switched capacitor to L1 led light and no longer have that issue, but looking at other comments here might need to do some trial and error till it’s fixed
alucard89
post Oct 16 2023, 09:42 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Oct 16 2023, 09:23 AM)
I'm actually starting to look into it. Will be integrated with HA also. From initial guide review... Yes... Looks complicated. Any luck on your side getting it up? What's the roadblock you faced?

Are you planning on getting a tpu to go with it?
get the pcie version, cheap around +rm120
i ended getting a few if I needed to use on more devices
the usb version is way more expensive but at least you can use on arm devices like raspberry
alucard89
post Oct 16 2023, 09:45 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 16 2023, 09:36 AM)
I'm waiting for Rockchips to support Frigate.
it hv 6TOPs and more than 50% compared to CoralTPU with 4TOPs
did you ever get it work?
I think someone made a custom fork for it or something
alucard89
post Oct 16 2023, 03:43 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(XtraSpicy @ Oct 16 2023, 02:55 PM)
Hi all, good afternoon, newbie here, would like to ask for some info.

I just purchased a condo, and waiting to VP next Jan and start renovation. Around 1400sqft

Things I have in mind:

1) Smart lighting, integration to spotify like Phillips Hue
2) Smart switch/socket for electrical appliances, heater, etc
3) Others such as washing machine, etc that can be integrated..
My questions:
1) I am an android phone user, so I think possibly I will be comfortable with android home. Android Home is using Wifi is it? And if I want a system that is useable, have to use zigbee technology, so I will need a zigbee hub? What is the easiest integration platform?
2) Are those Aqara switches previously in previous reply suitable with Android Home/Zigbee?
3) Is there any recommended contractor that can do this integration that doesnt use their own product such as imt smart home that I found online?
4) Any tips and tricks I should be aware?
grab matter devices, you can pair with any platform out there (alexa, google home, homekit)
zemismart just released matter hub, this should make any tuya devices work with matter.

4)
add neutral wire to all your switches
for 2 way switch, extend another live wire to slave switch
extend lan cables accessible to all area, for cctv etc, mmwave sensor for presence detection etc
for smart lighting, recommended switch/relay with decouple relay feature (detach button, keeps smart lights on) like sonoff mini extreme
alucard89
post Oct 16 2023, 03:44 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 16 2023, 02:59 PM)
Geolocation should be easiest... but only thing is I need to open the home app then it will detect my location ._. sometimes it will detect quickly in background and if it doesn't I need open home app.

So I just rely on voice instead, only problem sometimes my iPhone gets buggy and Siri never respond when I say "Hey Siri".
Does that happen frequently or randomly?
I kinda expected geolocation for homekit to be perfect and not too much battery consuming with the home app
alucard89
post Oct 16 2023, 03:50 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 16 2023, 01:41 PM)
no, I haven't start to play. no time yet.
Thinking of playing during year end when i clear my leaves.

btw Orange Pi 5+ 32GB RAM released preorder. can buy now...
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005006086580089.html
If only there's some confirmation you can connect edge tpu to those pcie slot
Until then, I'd probably consider mini pc with that price tag laugh.gif

56 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:38 PM