Smart Home, Let's discuss

idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 11:35 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Feb 7 2017, 09:46 AM)
The link provided by you says is float glass. Which can be self install?
Sandwhich tint film should be the one pointed out by Kiding, right?
sorry the explanation wasnt in my earlier link
try this -
https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Jiny...0420157159.html
idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 12:21 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

My Sonoff finally arrived! Weird thing is SF-Express sent it to me from Sweden via normal Swedish Post so Pos Malaysia delivers it. Its like they gave up and use the airmail ....lol

Anyway, the Sonoff is quite small, seen here side by side a portable HDD

Installing it is also very simple - just two inputs L & N and two outputs. One thing I feel is the terminal block is rather weak. Its soldered into the board but when you tightened the screws, the block will move a bit to one side. I worry that the solder connection may break and may cause some arcing. This can be solved by taking off the cover and hold the terminal block down while you tightened the screws.

I installed two Sonoff for 1 table lamp and the other I installed it in an extension cord. On this extension cord, I have three other small table lamps. So one Sonoff will control all three lamps and whatever else I plug into this extension.

For the extension, I did not cut the Earth wire but route it inside the Sonoff box - Only adjustment is that you have to cut a bit of the top cover (see pics)

Just make sure all the wires are clear of the screw holes for the two side covers. The two side covers will hold the wire in place, it has some teeth.

Extension Finished -

The other single table lamp -

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 7 2017, 12:22 PM
idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 12:21 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Next is pairing it with the EWeLink App. Press the Pairing button on the Sonoff.
You select the Sonoff to pair with

Go to your smartphone's WIFI setting and select the ITEADS......device

Then it will start pairing -

Btw ozak, I connected it to my Wifi Guest Network which has limited excess (can only go to Internet) and it works. nod.gif

You can control the Sonoff device in three ways - Countdown Timer, Timer Schedule, and Scene
Countdown timer - you set how many days, hours or minutes and it will countdown to either On or Off your device

Timer Schedule - this one you set it to go On or Off and certain dates, days and time - yes you can skip certain days

Scene - you can set either a Smart Scene or Non-Smart Scene. Smart Scene is like you got a temperature sensor and you can set the sensor to send a signal to the Sonoff. Non-Smart Scene - you can group some or all the Sonoff to trigger

Overall I am happy with it, anyway its darn cheap at only $5 each, what more can you expect?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 7 2017, 03:35 PM
Zot
post Feb 7 2017, 12:43 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 7 2017, 12:21 PM)
Next is pairing it with the EWeLink App. Press the Pairing button on the Sonoff.
You select the Sonoff to pair with

Go to your smartphone's WIFI setting and select the ITEADS......device

Then it will start pairing -

Btw ozak, I connected it to my Wifi Guest Network which has limited excess (can only go to Internet) and it works.  nod.gif

You can control the Sonoff device in three ways - Countdown Timer, Timer Schedule, and Scene
Countdown timer - you set how many days, hours or minutes and it will countdown to either On or Off your device

Timer Schedule - this one you set it to go On or Off and certain dates, days  and time - yes you can skip certain days

Scene - you can set either a Smart Scene or Non-Smart Scene. Smart Scene is like you got a temperature sensor and you can set the sensor to send a signal to the Sonoff. Non-Smart Scene - I think it uses IFTTT commands - I am not sure, I havent try this out yet
One con - I cant control a group of things - For example I have two Sonoff and it allows me to group this two devices but I cant control it like one click to turn On or Off this entire group of devices.
As you can see here, you can only toggle one device not a group

Overall I am happy with it, anyway its darn cheap at only $5 each, what more can you expect?
For $5, it is damn cheap. thumbup.gif
alucard89
post Feb 7 2017, 01:33 PM

4,454 posts

idoblu

Very nicely done review and thanks for the neutral wire tip
So still no group feature in the app
For international shipping service like sweden post/china post they usually past it to pos msia

Btw, have you tested with alexa voice command?
Assuming they've upgraded the firmware to include alexa skill

idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 01:35 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 7 2017, 01:33 PM)
idoblu

For international shipping service like sweden post/china post they usually past it to pos msia

I think you meant the Earth wire?
I got no Alexa so ....cant test
weikee
post Feb 7 2017, 02:13 PM

12,019 posts

My Sonoff finally arrived! Weird thing is SF-Express sent it to me from Sweden via normal Swedish Post so Pos Malaysia delivers it. Its like they gave up and use the airmail ....lol

Installing it is also very simple - just two inputs L & N and two outputs. One thing I feel is the terminal block is rather weak. Its soldered into the board but when you tightened the screws, the block will move a bit to one side. I worry that the solder connection may break and may cause some arcing. This can be solved by taking off the cover and hold the terminal block down while you tightened the screws.

I installed two Sonoff for 1 table lamp and the other I installed it in an extension cord. On this extension cord, I have three other small table lamps. So one Sonoff will control all three lamps and whatever else I plug into this extension.

For the extension, I did not cut the Earth wire but route it inside the Sonoff box - Only adjustment is that you have to cut a bit of the top cover (see pics)

Just make sure all the wires are clear of the screw holes for the two side covers. The two side covers will hold the wire in place, it has some teeth.

Extension Finished -

Nice toy. How is the build quality? Hope is good.

After yesterday incident in USJ2 fire (just 2 row from my house) , i want to have good build quality things.
weikee
post Feb 7 2017, 02:13 PM

12,019 posts

Extension Finished -

Nice toy. How is the build quality? Hope is good.

After yesterday incident in USJ2 fire (just 2 row from my house) , i want to have good build quality things.
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 02:16 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 7 2017, 02:13 PM)
Nice toy.  How is the build quality? Hope is good.

After yesterday incident in USJ2  fire (just 2 row from my house) , i want to have good build quality things.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3777583/+40

Short circuit ?
idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 02:24 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 7 2017, 02:13 PM)
Nice toy.  How is the build quality? Hope is good.

After yesterday incident in USJ2  fire (just 2 row from my house) , i want to have good build quality things.
OMG 😲 just two rows away?
Build quality is okay except as I said the terminal block not so solid only.
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 02:24 PM

17,018 posts

Extension Finished -

Wei, dangerous la that earth wire didn't connect it.

Use the straight joint connector la.

idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 02:25 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 02:24 PM)
Wei, dangerous la that earth wire didn't connect it.

Use the straight joint connector la.

The single lamp got no earth, just two wire only wor
The extension cord got earth
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 02:45 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 7 2017, 02:25 PM)
The single lamp got no earth, just two wire only wor
The extension cord got earth
I see the sonoff joint to the extension wire ?
weikee
post Feb 7 2017, 02:51 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 02:16 PM)
No idea yet, don't want to speculate. Is really sad. He is our committee leader.
weikee
post Feb 7 2017, 02:51 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 7 2017, 02:24 PM)
OMG 😲 just two rows away?
Build quality is okay except as I said the terminal block not so solid only.
Yeah, house on fire is 1st row, mine is 3rd row.
idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 03:15 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 7 2017, 02:51 PM)
Yeah, house on fire is 1st row, mine is 3rd row.
Check this YouTube
He didn't say anything about bad quality so I think should be good

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_389pQPLyr8
idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 03:17 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 02:45 PM)
I see the sonoff joint to the extension wire ?
Extension power outlet have Earth wire. The Sonoff itself got no connection to Earth. Actually the Neutral also just pass thru only. Watch the YouTube video one post above

See here

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 7 2017, 03:20 PM
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 03:28 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 7 2017, 03:17 PM)
Extension power outlet have Earth wire. The Sonoff itself got no connection to Earth. Actually the Neutral also just pass thru only. Watch the YouTube video one post above

See here
Is your joining is 3pin plug -> sonoff-> whole role socket ?

If yes, than the whole role of socket earth side don't have earth.

The earth wire got to joint and pass thru the sonoff.
idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 03:32 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 03:28 PM)
Is your joining is 3pin plug -> sonoff-> whole role socket ?

If yes, than the whole role of socket earth side don't have earth.

The earth wire got to joint and pass thru the sonoff.
Yes 3pin plug -> sonoff-> whole row switches
Got Earth pass thru, I didn't cut it. Can see the green/yellow wire on top of the relay?
idoblu
post Feb 7 2017, 03:33 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 7 2017, 01:33 PM)
idoblu

I found out how to group them - using the scene setting. Setting it up wasn't intuitive that's why I confused sikit

Alexa commands will be implemented first quarter of 2017 according to Iteads

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 7 2017, 03:37 PM

656 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:18 PM