Smart Home, Let's discuss

celciuz
post Apr 30 2023, 10:17 AM

14,033 posts

The one with neutral cable hidden that you have mentioned, neutral is usually black color... (green is earth). Better confirm this first?
celciuz
post Apr 30 2023, 01:49 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(melvinchng @ Apr 30 2023, 10:31 AM)
Yeah, you guys made a point. I mixed up earth and neutral.

It looks like the best option here is to go with no neutral + hub?

I also plan to install smart door lock down the line. My research tell me that I should go with Agara A100 + free E1 hub, then only go with smart switch? Or the E1 hub is very basic. I do not tend to convert more switches to smart switch (maybe 2x 20A for AC I guess? That's the max I will go).

Please provide your feedback smile.gif
Aqara D1 no neutral switches are the better ones, no need use capacitor like some others.

Also to note, Aqara have 20A switches. I’m using Aqara M2 with Zigbee. Pretty solid and stable, though I’m using neutral switches which acts as repeaters for the signal.
celciuz
post Apr 30 2023, 03:48 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(melvinchng @ Apr 30 2023, 02:00 PM)
Does Aqara has rf hub? I tried looking online and they only have ir. My fan uses rf instea of ir.
Nope, I’m also looking for RF transmitter for my fans.
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 08:09 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Apr 30 2023, 04:05 PM)
Not using 433mhz rf?
I think they are 433 MHz but I don't have any hubs for it yet... or you mean the M2 Hub does support RF? hmm.gif

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 08:02 AM)
anyone using Aqara 2 switch ones? somehow the furthest one from hub which is master bedroom unable to link, reconnect or connect new

tried extending the wifi signal to no avail
D1 2 gang? or D1 wireless?
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 02:47 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 10:34 AM)
should be D1 2 gang

i have lost the box

the 3 gang near the door works, hallway single gang. living room 3 gang. kitchen should be the same 2 gang works fine. im baffled hmm.gif
Aqara D1 is Zigbee protocol, any of your switches between the hub and the furthest is neutral version?

Else it might be the limit of Zigbee, so you far my experience Wi-Fi most range… followed by Zigbee (assuming far from nearest hub/relay then shittiest is Bluetooth 😂.
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 03:27 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ May 1 2023, 03:02 PM)
I using D1 switches no neutral

Ur right the range is the shittest of all. I have to shift my hub to middle of house to make sure all working. Based on aqara app, I have a door sensor and motion sensor right beside the D1 switch and both are showing acceptable zigbee signal, but the switch is showing 100% poor zigbee signal but I have a aqara cube 2 meter even further away from the switch and it have better signal 75% poor signal.

So meaning the aqara d1 switch is bad signal maybe because is no neutral so it must connect directly to the hub
I’m using D1 with neutral (most switches around the house) and you would think all of them would have good coverage but… there’s a few switches that’s “poor” 😅 not every switch acts as relay. Only a few, and it changes depending on some “rules” I guess. Not sure how it works this Zigbee mesh thing.

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 03:16 PM)
oh lord.... i thought its like different model, keep add different ones in mi home, still cannot also
dont have bro, thats the furthest. because i put the hub in kitchen. then i need to somehow move the hub i guess... damn no more place lol
Your best bet is to move the hub to middle, or add another hub 🤣

My motor blinds and curtain using 2 hub because of the limited RF signal range.
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 04:21 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 03:34 PM)
i see, that explains it. dont think id be buying another hub. i gave up linking my curtains too lol  just use remote
I’m using life smart motor so they do have a HomeKit hub 😁 but since RF it’s quite random at times.

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 1 2023, 03:41 PM)
You use homekit or just aqara app?
If dun want to bother with homeassistant, install homebridge with broadlink plugin
I’m using HomeKit, recently just started with homebridge too. (Trying to figure out Tuya tsk).

Broadlink has RF? Will check it out.

Will test out the RM4 Pro, hopefully it works 😆. Would be nice if that hub has enough range for all fans around the house. Then I can leave the switch always on and use radio for controls instead.

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 1 2023, 04:32 PM
celciuz
post May 21 2023, 08:16 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ May 20 2023, 11:57 AM)
Samsung smartthing smart home VS aqara.. Which is better?
I watch this Singaporean YouTuber, I find smart thing is better than Aqara. But however, for Apple user like me who wants HomeKit integration… Aqara is more straightforward.

As long need tinkering with homebridge… which I’m still having issue trying to get tuya to run locally 😅. The rest that I integrated such as Panasonic, LG, Kasa, Mi Home etc is working well with local control.

Next gonna try RM4 Pro to control my fans via radio. Hopefully 1 per floor is sufficient haha. No need buy so many.
celciuz
post May 21 2023, 02:15 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ May 21 2023, 12:46 PM)
I see... I thought samsung doesn't have full range of smart device. Mostly appliances only
The SmartThings hub can connect to many other brands, not just limited to SmartThings.
celciuz
post May 22 2023, 10:01 AM

14,033 posts

Updated my Apple Home to "new architecture" and ended up all my automation stopped sweat.gif .

Rebooted everything and it worked fine... btw now that I'm curious... if I want a more advance automation... I can do HA, but still use HomeKit for interface when want to turn on manually?

My set-up now is...

Aqara, LifeSmart --> HomeKit
Kasa, Panasonic, Mi Home --> HomeBridge --> HomeKit

So if I were to do the HA..

Aqara, LifeSmart, Kasa, Panasonic, Mi Home --> HA --> HomeBridge --> HomeKit?
celciuz
post May 23 2023, 11:23 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 22 2023, 11:11 AM)
With HA, can skip homebridge
HA will expose all those device entities to homekit
Nice!

QUOTE(epicure @ May 23 2023, 08:48 AM)
With HomeAssistant, u no longer need Homebridge. You can control everything from HA. I installed it before, but was too over my head for the tweaking of each setting. I think im getting old, so homebridge to just route the items into Homekit is easier for me. Besides, home minister will prefer homekit, and not HA.

But if you do have the time, HA opens up a whole world of monitoring, automation and etc. Not to mention things like NodeRed.
Somehow I still prefer HomeKit's interface, I'm used to it laugh.gif . Wife also used to it.

But I mainly want more conditions etc when doing the automations... HomeKit quite limited... some things I want like on switch for 1 hour and turn off, I have to install homebridge dummy, then expose a dummy switch to enable to do that... very stupid sweat.gif

I guess eventually I will look into HA... just solely for automation.. but still use HomeKit when I want to manually on and off certain areas or certain scenes.
celciuz
post May 27 2023, 08:58 AM

14,033 posts

Broadlink RM4 Pro arrived, so I tried to pair RF to my fans (which doesn’t have any template unfortunately).

First fan I tried is the Rezo fan, so it kinda worked. These pretty much 1 instruction per button. Except the light when on or off need separate actions.

Now for this other type of remote where I can’t even learn the frequency band yet… how to proceed? 😅

I tried with my Daikin IR remote also having same issue aiyo 😅

And to expose to HomeBridge also not so straight forward (but before that need let it work natively first 🤣)
celciuz
post May 27 2023, 04:45 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 27 2023, 10:00 AM)
Feels like this might be easier to do on homeassistant with smartir & tasmota irhvac addons.

Daikin IR should be no issue, i have the same brand ac integrated

That fan remote, still can't learn the command with broadlink?
bruce.gif now I'm keen to learn HASS sweat.gif

Side now some how after trying multiple times finally the thing gotten the frequency... seems I need to do every "state" for those controls. Which will do for now la, since my main thing is to automate so my AC turns on cooling the room down before I go inside.

Now need to figure out how to work with this homebridge plugin...
celciuz
post May 28 2023, 04:50 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 28 2023, 03:16 PM)
Just give it a try, install on the same device running homebridge

For ir device, I'd recommend getting this
Broadlink's ok since it has official ha integration but you can do more with esp based remote.
My homebridge is hosted on my Synology NAS, I kinda surveyed a bit but seems a bit trickier to do it on DSM for HASS.

Tuya based items works ok with HASS? It was pretty difficult to do local control on HomeBridge (which I can’t get it on local tsk, gave up!).

I bought the Broadlink cause it has RF for my fans.
celciuz
post May 28 2023, 08:02 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 28 2023, 06:04 PM)
Seems not that hard, follow this instruction since it’s for supervised hass with extra settings

https://mariushosting.com/how-to-install-ho...r-synology-nas/

There’s tuya integration, localtuya.
Haven’t really used those since i just flash custom firmware on the wifi devices, and pair with zigbee2mqtt for the zigbee ones.

For the tuya ir/rf remotes, you’ll need to set up tap to run and the command will show up in scenes.
The tuya integration is it need to look for the local key from developer account type?

Or the plug-in settle it for you?
celciuz
post Jun 4 2023, 02:40 PM

14,033 posts

Anyone with experience with broadlink homebridge plug-in? Need some help with the json config.

I set up my audio video receiver under “tv” type, but only on and off appears. The volume, remote options didn’t appear. Not sure what am I doing wrong 😅.

The AVR is located in another room and my crappy processor don’t support Wi-Fi control, Bluetooth is quite finicky hence plan to use RF control instead.
celciuz
post Jun 7 2023, 08:35 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 4 2023, 02:40 PM)
Anyone with experience with broadlink homebridge plug-in? Need some help with the json config.

I set up my audio video receiver under “tv” type, but only on and off appears. The volume, remote options didn’t appear. Not sure what am I doing wrong 😅.

The AVR is located in another room and my crappy processor don’t support Wi-Fi control, Bluetooth is quite finicky hence plan to use RF control instead.
Ok, I found the volume, remote options are inside the control panel "remote" feature instead. The same one used to control Apple TV. Neat... laugh.gif
celciuz
post Jun 9 2023, 08:13 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 9 2023, 07:53 PM)
I thought that brand usually for americans, got uk/msian type here?
Same thought here, but they are really pricey lah 😅

180k consist how many switches and lights? How many sqft is your home btw… sounds like a mansion or Lutron is really expensive…
celciuz
post Jun 9 2023, 10:47 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(FirstNoob @ Jun 9 2023, 08:48 PM)
26x80 semi d … lutron is very expensive .. but it’s impressive from what I see..
😅 I think the looks quite subjective… but if I’m given a chance to redo my wiring… I’ll have all my switches hidden somewhere. I rarely press the mechanical switch nowadays.
celciuz
post Jun 13 2023, 08:50 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Jun 13 2023, 05:17 PM)
How you control then? Voice assistant?
Motion sensors and mostly is automate based on rules and timing.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3454sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:15 AM