Smart Home, Let's discuss

Max
post Aug 9 2021, 03:40 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(vcheewei @ Aug 9 2021, 03:21 PM)
Thank you sifu Max. But do u have any idea, why the electrician do a live looping there? I thought usually 1 switch box will have 1 live ?
that 1 loop to another nearby switch.
u can find which switch 'unusable' by disconnecting the looping.

nope. we live in development where we can cut cost here and there.. whistling.gif tongue.gif

Max
post Aug 10 2021, 08:44 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Aug 10 2021, 05:22 PM)
I got fed up on waiting and since all my house is using aqara ecosystem, what I did was instead of the switches are normal 5 gang, I just joined a few switches for my lights and fans then it becomes back again 3 gang switch  flex.gif

Just have to accept it that 3 gang switches now for automation. Once aqara have come out with their 4 or 5 gang then I’ll open it up and sell the 3 gang switch.
Another option use 2 set of switches.
But need hack wall, hack aside to accommodate 2 set of switches.
😁
Max
post Aug 12 2021, 09:09 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Aug 11 2021, 03:32 PM)
I need some ideas from you smart guys, I have a Sonoff Basic R3 but I want to use it along side a light switch so that I can sometimes also control it manually by myself instead of using the eWelink app. But looks like tak boleh, rite?
Cuz if setup that way, when i manually off the light switch, then it will lost power to the Sonoff Basic R3, so meaning no WiFi already and so i can't control it anymore from the eWelink app, rite?
Can change to Basic with RF. So u will have RF remote to control.

Or this small wifi switch module. This can 'selit' inside switch back box.
Need use capacitor thou.

https://shopee.com.my/product/35202258/1062...53-1628730713.9

This post has been edited by Max: Aug 12 2021, 09:13 AM
Max
post Aug 17 2021, 09:28 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 17 2021, 08:58 AM)
I meant you disconnect the copper tubing between outdoor and indoor unit? Will not that release the gas?  hmm.gif
Can close the gas valve at compressor there... but surely some (inside cooling coil n piping) will be lost..
Need topup.
Max
post Oct 11 2021, 04:29 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Agathon55 @ Oct 11 2021, 02:30 PM)
Oh sweet. The Alexa app is available on the Malaysia App Store now. When did that change?
Got it installed 2-3 days back.. trying the alexa integration with smart devices..
Me will be getting fire cube tv..
Max
post Nov 30 2021, 02:56 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Nov 30 2021, 02:19 PM)
Just received my tuya zigbee switches and gateway. Going to try them out later tonight.
I bought only 2 switches. Just to test them. If success.  Will order the rest of them..

Wish me luck.

aih.. why tease box only... sweat.gif
show la the switch and stuff pictures... laugh.gif
Max
post Mar 21 2022, 11:47 AM

1,705 posts

just ventured into HA.
tried running in VM (debian + HA) on my laptop.. just for venturing in HA 1st.. see how to use, programmed it, integrate smart switches.
manage to run it basically.

looking for Raspberry Pi 4 to run it.. minimal power usage for 24/7.
but problem is to get the Pi... if available, the price is also dem on high side.. doh.gif

Max
post Mar 27 2022, 12:47 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Mar 26 2022, 02:00 PM)
Use x86 Windows server and run hyper-V to run home assistant.
Way way faster.
I can try to run on my micro atx pc .. but to leave on 24/7 will consuming electric.
Prefer to run on tiny consuming device.
Max
post Mar 28 2022, 11:14 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Mar 27 2022, 08:01 PM)
I see, thanks for clarifying.

Ok, in this case I will just connect a wire into my aircon's neutral port myself then.

Since I am connecting the switch to ceiling fan, I think it is better to use smart switch w neutral (or so I heard).
need to make sure the ac switch using 'same' neutral line/busbar with the lights at DB.
else u will 'trip' the rrcb.

Max
post Apr 11 2022, 10:58 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Apr 11 2022, 03:39 PM)
I was looking for rpi4 for my HA... till I want to add Frigate with about 8 cameras...and now I'm looking for a mini desktop or nuc equivalent to host HA + Frigate (future with coral).

Anyone got good deal or has installed HA with refurbished mini desktops?
Mine wont have so much cpu usage.
Just switched and monitoring graph.. etc..
Might be 1/2 cctv later.
Im considering the power consumption. Thats y wanted to use rpi4.
And basically im still new to this HA. Just venturing..

Try tested Debian on Intel J1800/2gb ram... But seems lagging to trigger.

Max
post Apr 14 2022, 02:47 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 14 2022, 11:38 AM)
I have no idea bro. From my casual observation, those non-smart air conditioners can be connected to wifi only if they have a 3 pin plug to connect to a wifi enabled power socket. All the air cons I have I see no such 3 pin plugs, unless the installer modified it or something?

Which is why I'm curious if air conditioners these days come with 3 pin plug?
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 14 2022, 11:59 AM)
I remembered seeing an article mentioning to connect the aircon to a smart plug with WIFI but I can't even see the air con 3 pin plug. Is it hidden somewhere?

These are the old air conditioners at my place right now. I can't see any 3 pin plugs.

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 14 2022, 12:05 PM)
Yes it is hidden in this case. Looks like you have faux wall.
most probaly 'doesnt' have the 3 pin plug top.
usually old AC just direct wiring from 'switched' point. (the 20A double pole switch + indicator)
only new (not all) comes with 3pin plug top, and these mostly not more than 1hp.

if u need to use smart switch device, find the 'inline' type. this device put in between supply and AC.

btw, this will control only power to the AC. u still need to press remote button [unless u invest in smart IR control (something like that, forgot the name)].
some olskool AC, can be powered on/off directly, it remember last state.

This post has been edited by Max: Apr 14 2022, 02:50 PM
Max
post Jun 24 2022, 03:15 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 24 2022, 12:40 PM)
Speaking of aircon
Anyone with midea aircon using midea wifi dongle?
Need to subscribe any premium features like daikin?
im using midea (inverter 1.0). seems doesnt have any subscription plan.
im using Midea Air . this is the original app before they make new one.. MSmartHome. i havent try this one yet..
Max
post Jun 24 2022, 08:18 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 24 2022, 05:15 PM)
Thanks, have you tried the midea integration in homeassistant?

https://github.com/mac-zhou/midea-ac-py

Also, is your midea ac recent model?
Nope. Haven't try HA integration.
My HA also not ready yet.. still doesn't have dedicated platform to run.

My midea is not recent model.
I think its MSMB model.
Max
post Jun 28 2022, 04:06 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jun 27 2022, 11:20 AM)
hi guys, currently i have a 2gang switch.
one to control light, one to control the fan.

i wish to add 2 types of light here to the same power source for the existing light. one pendant lamp, one for eyeball.
but i only have 1 swicth for light.
how do i make the light switches idenpendant and can control both pendant lamp and eyeball indenpently?

i dont wish to hack the wall. can i branch off the power source from the existing light and power another pendant light ?
and install a wireless switches or something ?
such as
https://shopee.com.my/Wireless-Switch-RF433...ad-b282e8acc006

Can use something like sonoff 4chpro. (4 channels)
But switch need to ON and control on/off of the lights/fan using phone or RF remote.

Switch ON state also can default to which ever channels/light to be turned ON.
(Power ON selected channel when switch triggered to ON)
Max
post Jun 28 2022, 04:14 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Jun 28 2022, 10:17 AM)
Has anyone installed Aqara Switch (with Neutral) on a water Pump or an AirCon before?
Wonder if the switch is able to take the load? I read that the Aqara website says it supports ≤800W
Need 20A support switch or if u handy with electric diagram/able to diy electric... can use Contactor Relay (CR)
Smart switch turn ON CR, CR will direct power to Pump/AC.
Max
post Jun 29 2022, 10:38 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Jun 29 2022, 07:57 AM)
Morning Guys,

For those who uses Aqara Switch No Neutral, can I know how do you guys wire it?

My current wall switch wiring:

As for the Aqara switch, there is only L, L1, L2 & L3.
Those RED cable is live looping. so both will go in L.
the other top 3 cable (load) goes to L1 L2 L3

QUOTE(adamw @ Jun 29 2022, 09:51 AM)
Seems like you have 2 live incoming? The red cable
actually only 1 Live incoming.. the other is just looping to somewhere else switch.. laugh.gif
Max
post Jun 29 2022, 10:48 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 29 2022, 10:39 AM)
Haha... red doesn't necessary mean Live though... haha... our local electrician never follow wire colour code.
Best is to check with a test pen  biggrin.gif
yes RED doesn't mean live necessarily.. but in this Corrupted Spirits case, got 2 some more, where 1 is incoming 1 is outgoing to another switch/loop.
it can be noted that in this 'case' the RED cable is incoming live.
Max
post Jun 29 2022, 11:58 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 29 2022, 11:25 AM)
It is hard for me to determine by just looking at those wire from the picture.

Looks like fron inside the wall you have Yellow, Red and White. There is even 1 white wire being taped, not being used. There is even Blue wire to the other switch. So, I would say this is a 3 phase wiring.
if he's just rewiring it back to other switch, no need to touch other wiring. only the one at the current switch.
the red cable can be seen looping to all other switch using yellow wire.. sweat.gif

btw, with limited info, maybe the white 1 going to fan ? the taped black white might be going to fan regulator (if using conventional regulator).

quite rare also to find developer putting all phases inside switch box, no? unsure.gif
Max
post Jul 5 2022, 03:20 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 4 2022, 10:29 PM)
Anyone installed these wifi/zigbee module?
I see the thickness 18mm - 24mm
Can still fit nicely without adding spacer?
Trying to smart-ize my parents home but i intend to stick to old switches

from my experienced, cant fit. our default rear box for switches is very narrow... plus with the switch back board and cables.. surely cant fit... unless u korek the box and wall cement.. biggrin.gif
and also u need N for this devices.. unsure.gif
Max
post Jul 6 2022, 03:05 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 6 2022, 02:00 PM)
For the 1- 3 gang, i ordered this

【淘宝】https://m.tb.cn/h.fEquwZP?tk=KkO82pKokrB「易微联WiFi单火智能开关模块手机远程语音控制一路两路三路双控」
点击链接直接打开

The 1 gang fit nicely, so the other 2 should be i think
Just need to flash tasmota later since it has esp chips

As for the 4 gang, got neutral next to the switches.
Might need to try print some of those 5-10mm spacer at least not as thick as normal ones
oh this 1.. i also use. currently got at use at toilet switch.
nicely ngam fit at the 'side'.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3643sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:44 AM