Smart Home, Let's discuss

Max
post Jul 29 2023, 11:54 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 28 2023, 10:42 AM)
Got these errors here but I just set to ignore it

Still don't get what could impact the system since my ha is working just fine
Mine also got the unsupported error.

'System is unsupported because Systemd Journal and/or the gateway service is missing, inactive or misconfigured . Use the link to learn more and how to fix this."

Something journal log cannot access.. i tried follow the guide.. but can't fix.
Its something ha cannot log..
So ignored also.. since any update can be installed.

This post has been edited by Max: Jul 29 2023, 11:56 AM
Max
post Jul 29 2023, 12:03 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 28 2023, 10:24 AM)
What is the best way to run HA? How are you guys running HA ya?

Pi4?
Im on "recycled" hardware.
Celeron J1800. With Debian.

Max
post Jul 29 2023, 03:03 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 29 2023, 01:31 PM)
Last time I was running my antique i7-3770K PC 24/7… electricity kaolat 🤣

I then migrated my stuffs running 24/7 to my Synology DS920+, saved about RM 30-50 šŸ˜…
Good stuff u have something that run 24/7 that can install HA.

I got hold of dell micro pc. i5 4590. Not sure wanna migrate to that or not.. šŸ¤”
Max
post Sep 29 2023, 09:28 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Sep 29 2023, 12:46 AM)
Hi,is there any smart switch that can be switched normally(physical) and by apps.Im asking because want to install for my uncle which is old.So you know,old peoples dont have much knowledge or understand the modern technologies.The switch must have few wireless option to be operated(Bluetooth,zigbee or RF) and not only IOT.
i think u mean mechanical click ?
yes, there is some models with mechanical click.. but iinm, doesn't have rocker type like normal switch.

or u can install smart switch module behind the normal rocker switch.

most smart switch only have limited "wireless" operation. mostly only wifi+RF
Max
post Sep 30 2023, 10:17 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Sep 29 2023, 07:24 PM)
Cannot view the web fully,its zoomed....any english version?
I got the glimpse of the device.
I think he meant this one.
https://shp.ee/gnu29zv

I used this type also.
Can barely fit inside box back of normal switch (depends on ur current switch, some bulky, some slim at back)
Max
post Oct 19 2023, 03:13 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 19 2023, 10:32 AM)
Ya, saw some cheaper version.

Might get 1 to play around. Wonder got the 1 use ewlink.

Maybe want to use to switch ON my laptop earlier before I go in the office. So boss sees me very rajin.Ā Ā  tongue.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 19 2023, 01:40 PM)
Actually, I’m thinking if I could use to switch on my PC 🤣

I use my PC as media player in my movie room. Now I just have it on sleep mode, so when I press my wireless keyboard and it wakes up. But if can do shutdown even better la and use this bot to turn it on.

Or actually, can those relay switch like for smart gate be used to trigger a pc motherboard to startup?
sonoff and tuya got this pcie card for waking up / turn on remotely.

btw, u can use auto schedule power on, if u want ur office pc turn on automatically .. or some script to wake it up.. whistling.gif

and current pc nowadays doesnt consume much power in sleep/standby mode.. if shutdown, the psu still in standby mode.. unless plug switch off lah.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Max: Oct 19 2023, 03:16 PM
Max
post Dec 28 2023, 04:13 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(mental007 @ Dec 28 2023, 03:31 PM)
Thanks for all the responses here. My electrician charging me RM90 for each neutral cable. Is the charges make sense?
pulling N from each point to the switch?
surface /casing wiring ?
Max
post Jan 2 2024, 09:25 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 1 2024, 11:42 AM)
Hi bro, got this no neutral zigbee switch (with no neutral wire input)
If replace with esp chip, it would still boot up?
Already done esp swap on zigbee switch with neutral that obviously works but this I’m not too sure

theoretically should work.. if possible u might wanna measure the voltage input at the zigbee module.. unsure.gif
should be min 3v available..
Max
post Jan 12 2024, 11:41 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 12 2024, 07:47 PM)
thread, need border router
BT, need bluetooth gateway
Zigbee, need zigbee gateway

basically all this low power protocol requires additional hub.
haiz... too many choices, for end users

fyi recently i surveyed for euro cylinder lock, non of them hv wifi and almost all need BT.
I really want my devices to run on Wifi only.  šŸ˜®ā€šŸ’Ø
haiz, haiz...
if anyone of you found wifi only lock, pls let me know.

example
From what i read.. battery powered wifi iot devices cannot last long.
Wifi drained the battery fast..

Max
post Jan 30 2024, 10:26 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jan 29 2024, 04:47 PM)
Just use the normal zigbee door sensor, but 3d print out a cover to protect from rain.
All of these door sensor uses magnet so it's quite simple.
QUOTE(eagle7 @ Jan 29 2024, 07:06 PM)
Before this, I thought of using contact sensors, but the gap between the two gate tips after closing is quite wide (e.g., 5 to 10mm). This, coupled with outdoor heat and humidity, may cause the sensor to randomly send out a false signal or not send it when we expect it to do so.

I think your suggestion will work for an indoor door or gate, but not for an outdoor gate that is subject to strong wind, thunder, and shocking waves.
im using zigbee door sensor too at my outdoor gate.
i re-used a small electronic box that i have.. had to removed the entire module from the original case and put inside the box.. the box that i had quite small.
magnet use neodymium that i have laying around..

seems to function well even in heavy rain.

btw, im moving away from button CR batteries.. seems not last long and 'difficult' to get.. sweat.gif
im getting AAA battery type zigbee sensor after this.. seems much more reliable..

Max
post Feb 29 2024, 03:16 PM

1,705 posts

for ZigBee wall switches with neutral, not all support as repeater.. even with Neutral.

i bought 1 from MOES (should be from Tuya), with Neutral, it doesn't act as repeater... only end device.
so be sure with certain products before getting it..

luckily i can return back the switch.
Max
post Jul 1 2024, 09:51 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 30 2024, 01:06 PM)
Hi, anyone knows what sensor to detect open close for outdoor autogate Swing type.

I'm using Sonoff ewelink door sensor and doesn't  do so well as there will be multiple detection when gate open close

Currently I connect the gate like this:
[attachmentid=11498228]

[attachmentid=11498230]
looks like too far the sensor and magnet.
last time i use sonoff gate/window sensor also (zigbee) with CR button battery (forgot the CR code), but seems not reliable.. always 'missing' from zigbee map.

i changed to Tuya zigbee sensor with 2x AAA batt. much better.

just stick to gate and use small neodymium magnet stick to gate lock (i did not use the supplied magnet, as its too big)
ive open the sensor casing and look inside, seems "waterproof" enough to be use vertical at gate

btw, the sonoff temp & humid sensor (zigbee) with CR battery also not reliable in my usage.. change to tuya (2x AAA batt) much better.
and im using Home Assistant.

Max
post Jul 3 2024, 08:39 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 2 2024, 01:57 PM)
Just curious, what AAA batteries you normally use?
Nice energizer Lithiums, normal alkaline or Rechargeables.
Mr diy voniko alkaline batt.
Forgot when i start use it. But seems last long also..
Max
post Oct 31 2024, 11:08 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Oct 31 2024, 09:35 PM)
I just had another incident with 3 of my smart switches. One 2 gang and the other were 3 gangs switches. MOES Zigbee smart switch.
1. The 2 gang gave out a black smoke and both devices are in OFF state upon failure
2. The 3 gangs both have blown caps and devices that are being controlled remained in ON state after despite blue LED is off (live in leaked into live out) rclxub.gifrclxub.gifrclxub.gif

Now comes the question, is there any sirim certified smart switch available? If we purchase house insurance, will they check the switches we use (sirim/ce certified...)?
Looks like the switches using transistor/mosfet for switching load.
Do u happen to wired it for ceiling fan?
Max
post Nov 1 2024, 03:09 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Nov 1 2024, 06:24 AM)
Yes. Got 1 ceiling fan connected to every switch. Inductive load no good for thus switch?
From what i know, inductive load is not good for transistor switching. But, im not too sure about this . Needs more digging..

I use sonoff switches for fans, but its ' relay' type switching.

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0433sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:01 PM