Smart Home, Let's discuss
adamw
Jun 29 2020, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(corad @ Jun 29 2020, 04:15 PM) thanks ! will look into it. How long have you been using it for ? this is interesting. are the smart switches from the same manufacturer ? yes, otherwise difficult to match the color/design. seems they have 3 & 4 gang with zigbee.
adamw
Jun 30 2020, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(corad @ Jun 30 2020, 02:36 PM) can share the manufacturer or seller ? PM me your QQ or Wechat
adamw
Jul 10 2020, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(apalexar @ Jul 10 2020, 11:30 PM) Planning to use quite a lot different devices like sensors, switches, lock, CCTV, etc. Will try to check which apps can support all the devices later. Thanks for suggestion. Thanks for sharing  Can also consider Tuya.
adamw
Jul 13 2020, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Jul 13 2020, 11:10 AM) For AC, use an IR blaster with temperature sensor or Sonoff POW R2 to make sure it is on. For water heater, use Sonoff POW R2/TH or Tuya 20A wall switch to turn it on. Can use geofencing for the water heater switch. Near home auto on. BTW, can sent link for 20A Tuya? I only find 16A.
adamw
Jul 13 2020, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Jul 13 2020, 11:21 AM) Yup, Sonoff can geofencing with IFTTT or Home Assistant or Alexa. Eh, you Tuya supporter asked me for Tuya link?  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Tuya got so many suppliers, products, sometimes I also blur already. Looking into a 4" touch screen that fits type 86. Attached thumbnail(s)
adamw
Jul 14 2020, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Jul 13 2020, 02:39 PM) What is this? Looks powerful and complex I don't know if this guy simply put the Tuya badge there. Ask for instructions or video how it integrate with tuya and the idiot/conman says buy sample and instruction is inside. I found out this is actually from those AV system supplier. This post has been edited by adamw: Jul 14 2020, 11:58 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
adamw
Jul 14 2020, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 14 2020, 07:34 PM) Haha hello all 😅 Cause got no new toys to play with so no new reviews and no new problems to solve. Wait la, I am getting Tuya lock and Tuya roller blind motors. Maybe will have many questions to ask later on 😅 Btw TIME broadband is now down. Anyone suffering because of no internet for their smart home devices? 😅 Come let me poison you a bit. Good for AV room. Smart curtainThis post has been edited by adamw: Jul 14 2020, 09:19 PM
adamw
Jul 14 2020, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 14 2020, 09:38 PM) Lock is Zigbee but blinds are WiFi or Zigbee. Just got to choose which. Good thing about Tuya is they will make the same thing for different protocols so everything can be what you wish Not necessary, so damn difficult to get 16-20A Zigbee water heater switch.
adamw
Jul 14 2020, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jul 14 2020, 10:06 PM) Looking forward, am considering a Tuya wifi grill lock I would advise you to go for Zigbee, Wifi is a real battery drainer.
adamw
Jul 15 2020, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(freakerz0id @ Jul 15 2020, 12:39 AM) thanks bro! Any alternative option for a cleaner look? haha.... the symbol and everything like abit messy but if no other choices then guess ill just have to go for it. Was hoping that i can find something like the link i provided. Very clean and modern switch look. I got a spare Tuya wifi unit similar to the AliExpress but 16A only.
adamw
Jul 15 2020, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 15 2020, 07:36 AM) I didn't change any of my AC/Heater 20A switches. My AC switch is always On. As for the water heater switch, this is normally just outside the bathroom. Just turn it On manually when you enter the bathroom. Don't tell me you still want to fish out your phone, open app, tekan tekan to turn the heater On/Off? There is no automation needed there as far as I can see. Instant water heater?
adamw
Aug 2 2020, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Aug 1 2020, 10:51 PM) Looks exactly like both the Tuya and Ewelink ones, even the brochure looks the same. For the normal WiFi switches can see quite a few different types, but the 20a I only see these ones. I suspect same manufacturer. Even if the switch stated 16A or 20A it's better to open and check to make sure. I got 1 rated as 16A but when open up it's only using a 10A relay QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 1 2020, 10:24 PM) I see. I thought both way... need to order something but probably take long in current situation  Within 1 week can reached MY, just order some 4gangs + 16A, arriving early next week. This post has been edited by adamw: Aug 2 2020, 10:39 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
adamw
Aug 3 2020, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 3 2020, 02:25 PM) Looks like good idea. You try first, I need to know how effective  Hope his house have fire insurance 😉.
adamw
Aug 3 2020, 03:40 PM
Double post
This post has been edited by adamw: Aug 3 2020, 03:41 PM
adamw
Aug 4 2020, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Aug 3 2020, 06:33 PM) Tuya have an integration in HA where you just provide your Tuya account username and password For eWeLink, you need to install an integration in HACS (Home Assistant Community Store) which also need to install in HA for it to work. Only for Tuya Wifi devices or now is everything Tuya? Got RPI but still hesitating to touch it after so long.
adamw
Aug 4 2020, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Aug 4 2020, 09:16 AM) Except that there is a solution for Zigbee hub users at this forum thread here, so maybe you can try it on a minimum RPI 3B Guess I can cold storage my RPI until somebody link the Zigbee hub to HA. BTW, just got my hands on a 4 Gang Tuya Zigbee that work with or without neutral. Looking good but if only 1 gang is wired need temporary setup with a neutral in order for it to be detected. Once detected & pair can fix it on the wall. According to the supplier if 2 or more gang is connected then totally don't need neutral for pairing but too lazy to test. This post has been edited by adamw: Aug 4 2020, 10:07 AM
adamw
Aug 4 2020, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Aug 4 2020, 10:23 AM)  Just create the On Off scenes in my Smart Life app and it gets imported to my HA to use. So, the work around for Tuya Zigbee hub is usable or you may get a Sonoff Zigbee USB dongle to replace the Tuya Zigbee hub. Easy peasy and it's a waste to cold storage the Pi.  Can Sonoff USB Zigbee dongle auto detect all Tuya Zigbee devices without flashing the devices?
adamw
Aug 4 2020, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Aug 4 2020, 12:03 PM) Yup, pretty much everything without flashing the devices Got local seller@shopee or lapsapla? TIA for the help.Today a bit busy otherwise will Google it myself.
adamw
Aug 4 2020, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Aug 4 2020, 01:59 PM) Local seller don't have lah. At least if you buy through China supplier in Shopee also can arrive in less than a week. Don't be like me go buy from Aliexpress even though very cheap. Until now still not on the plane yet.  Correct? Attached thumbnail(s)
adamw
Aug 6 2020, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Aug 6 2020, 11:23 AM) guys, wanna ask those LED Downlight, can it be dimmed with some device?? If the LED is dimmable but have 2 types of smart dimmer. The AC type dimming need special LED driver. If you google a lot of info on this, very confusing to layman like rocket science!