Smart Home, Let's discuss

Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 09:24 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jul 23 2018, 09:11 AM)
Hello all,
I'm starting to venture into smart home system for my house now. It's not for the novelty of it, but more for the control especially when I'm not at home or about to reach home as I don't like having a bunch of remotes or keys dangling around me.

I'm now searching for a 4 way control for my new auto gate but so far, I've only came across Senzo until now. But Senzo only have 2 momentary switch, but I need 4.

Can someone advise or recommend any reliable brands that I can look into?

Thanks in advance.
You mean you want to put those switches inside the house so that you do not need to use remote for 4 auto-gate functions?
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 09:41 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jul 23 2018, 09:32 AM)
No, my intention is to replace the main switch inside the house to a smart switch, where I can use that as the master switch to operate the gate. Which is why I'm looking for a smart switch with 4 momentary controls. And with the smart switch as the gateway, I'll then be able to use phones to control the gate thru wi-fi.

My apologies that I did not state clearly what I'm looking for.
You main switch panel for the gate has 4 momentary switches built onto it? I have never come across smart switch with 4 momentary switch function. However, you can find a momentary switch in module form that can be controlled by WiFi. You can use this module to connect in parallel with existing switch you have.
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 09:54 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jul 23 2018, 09:52 AM)
You mean something like Sonoff?
Yes. I think sonoff have. Many here use sonoff for same reason I think. You can put the module else where.
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 10:33 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jul 23 2018, 10:12 AM)
Sonoff does have a 4 gang interlockig switch. but not sure that can be use for momentary switch. I wonder if any here used it for auto gate.
You think you can do this?

Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 11:31 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jul 23 2018, 11:22 AM)
Interesting, will look into it tonite. at work cannot view youtube video.

Thanks Zot
Probably this will work

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/SONOFF-4CH-...2827812984.html
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 11:50 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Jul 23 2018, 11:39 AM)
Yeah, this one is about the same as what I saw in Lazada.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/itead-so...TeXDsL&search=1

Additionally to the above, I'm also worried that if I were to expand the use of smart switches in the future, I might be stuck with the specific brand as these are currently still very proprietary. I don't really fancy switching between apps to control my appliances or lightings.
Beats me. I don't have any device that require me to control using WiFi or phone. I don;t see much reason to remotely control many things remotely laugh.gif
Zot
post Jul 24 2018, 11:55 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jul 24 2018, 11:25 AM)
You can install Alexa on your phone & integrate all the supported devices with voice command. In fact I just use my broadlink to learn my auto gate but currently have  problem. Alexa will not recognised learned remotes so most probably have to treat my auto gate as "Lamp" as recommended in YT videos.
So you have two voice sets? One normal and the other one when you catch cold? biggrin.gif
Zot
post Jul 30 2018, 08:14 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 29 2018, 12:26 PM)
Time. Still using ipv4. No one using internet at all
I'm not the one who has devices like you at home smile.gif

All these devices are not continuously updated but through polling the status from the hub. Devices that runs on battery would be sending status to hub even rarely to preserve the battery. That's why the battery can last long long time. If you switch OFF the light, the status on your phone might be still ON.

SmarThings for example was said to poll every 5 minutes. SO, if the status has just been updated, the latest status will not be shown until 5 minutes later. However, some people said that the device only update after 15 minutes doh.gif

So, I don't know what is the real problem but I believe the TIME or IPv4 IPv6 and Internet things are not the reason for your delay in getting status. This is from what I know.
Zot
post Jul 30 2018, 08:40 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 30 2018, 08:36 AM)
ya i dun believe these are the problems as well. Just that after the latest updates, I noticed my devices going offline more frequently. They do come back online after a few minutes though. I dun see it as a problem. Just curious if others are seeing this or is it just mine
No update history log on their website, like what update is for? There should be.
Zot
post Jul 31 2018, 12:08 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Jul 31 2018, 11:25 AM)
hi sifu here, i got a question on how to automate aircond.
situation as follow:
im doing airbnb in one of the condo, and guest tend not to switch off the aircond when they leave the house (the worst is after check out) which cost me a bomb in electricity bill.

so im thinking how can i switch off the aircond when im not in the condo.
is it possible to use smart plug on the aircond? if yes, any recommend smart plug to used? i saw xiaomi got one aqara smart plug for aircond but that is china plug n need to use convertor.
Some hotel use hotel key card as main circuit breaker. Remove the card, you have no power to the room. Well, they can put any card, but most likely not smile.gif
Zot
post Jul 31 2018, 02:38 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Jul 31 2018, 02:28 PM)
using hotel type will cost more to do the wiring and the device. try to get some smart device that can DIY so can achieve the remote control function.
It is not hotel or home, but the methodology. If you use heat sensor to detect whether the person in room or not, you need to sense occupants in many area like bathroom(s), hall, kitchen, bedrooms(s).

If you just need to slot in access card when enter the room and take out card when leaving the room, now you have only a switch at entrance. The switch can be connected to air-con control wirelessly. Why hotel way need to install wire? wink.gif
Zot
post Jul 31 2018, 03:14 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Jul 31 2018, 03:09 PM)
If there is only 1 live input for the whole room load there is no need for additional wiring.
It can have switchable main input at master circuit breaker. Yes, the high amp switch is not cheap but best alternative. Perhaps cheaper than accumulated cost
Zot
post Jul 31 2018, 03:31 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 31 2018, 03:29 PM)
It is a magnetic contactor that cost less than RM30.
I see. not expensive at all smile.gif
Zot
post Jul 31 2018, 08:03 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 31 2018, 05:47 PM)
That consider expensive liau.

Max is 10A. So better use a relay to control big amp. You can control anything.
Except for that one unit, others are 16A. Sure not enough for entire house. I'm not sure why that particular one more than twice the price hmm.gif
Zot
post Aug 1 2018, 10:21 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 1 2018, 10:14 AM)
Why so low tech that angmoh switch ?

China wan already can handle 30A and only cost RM40.  tongue.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Well, Fine print cannot be trusted sometimes. Maybe the measurement is 30A for 3s. Even Sonoff 16A WiFi switch does not perform as rated according to one customer I read. The PCB even get burned over prolonged usage. wink.gif
Zot
post Aug 2 2018, 07:55 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(pmaxv @ Aug 1 2018, 10:32 PM)
Hmmm odd. The manual and specs says it specifically only detects methane.
Also just tested it. No reaction.
Yes the manual said so. Since you've tested and it was not working, then no choice to buy normal gas detector.

Now you need to find a device, WiFi enabled, that can listen to the yelling from the gas detector biggrin.gif
Zot
post Aug 11 2018, 10:12 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 11 2018, 09:32 AM)
Morning saw my posh car light didn't off. Login to ewlink but fail.

I think Ewilink down.

Why their server always down wan.
This is why I don't like external service laugh.gif
Zot
post Aug 16 2018, 10:09 AM

7,934 posts

How are you able to install light sensor switch, like power on when detect human, with bypass switch without additional wiring?
Zot
post Aug 16 2018, 11:52 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Aug 16 2018, 10:30 AM)
There is few way to do it, if what u mean is u bypass wall switch circuit to keep the light circuit power on 24/7 & install a wireless relay near the light on the ceiling.  U may need homeassistant (hassio) as bridge & automation setup between sonoff basic (wireless relay) at the circuit connected to light. Zigbee xiaomi or aqara motion censor. Aqara motion censor hv extra lux sensor to detect darkness.

Other way is buy expensive brand that all their accessories work together & not require bridge
Want to avoid separate wireless remote or replacing the switch with wireless one. Just depend on existing switch and wiring. Looks like have to find a sensor that has bypass feature through signalling sad.gif
Zot
post Aug 20 2018, 09:16 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(trustno_1 @ Aug 20 2018, 08:44 AM)
Help with Aqara wall switch. Just bought one and want to replace my current normal light switch. I’m stumped as Aqara only have L and L1.

Do I connect my current switch wiring L to L and N to L1?

What about the original earth wiring? Do I just ignore this as in wire tape it and not use?

Current switch are on surface mount PVC box.
Even normal switch now do not have N wire. The L from ceiling (wherever) comes down to switch, then go up to the lamp socket(1) and then from the lamp socket(2) to N to complete the loop.

So, in order for a direct replacement to wall switch, you need a switch with no N required. Normally labelled as L, L1, L2, etc. The L goes to L and the L1 goes to the other wire (which is not N actually) smile.gif

46 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:06 AM