15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

Kiding
post Jul 7 2021, 11:19 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(danielmckey @ Jul 7 2021, 12:51 AM)
You dun like, then I just delete the message. Simple...
you dun like, then don't come here and said it is useless, simple shakehead.gif

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jul 6 2021, 09:35 PM)
Smart device do consume some energy while it is on standby waiting for command and communicating with hub. But the objective of a smart device is not so much about energy conservation but making the hardware/device available on demand or automating the process to save time and provide comfort to user. And forummers here share information and knowledge about it.

Your way of saying don't be lazy if put to extreme can be like don't be lazy, just walk don't use cars. Or don't be lazy, please hand write your document instead of using computer/PC.

Just something to pounder on, technology advancement do push our society to consume more energy. But at the same time as the technology mature, the efficiency can be improve but there is no way that it can consume 0 energy.
Laziness drives innovation ! so lazy is good! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
Kiding
post Jul 7 2021, 07:31 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wailing81 @ Jul 7 2021, 04:27 PM)
i went through the home assistant webpage and found out that it said not supporting aqara hub. currently i am using aqara m2.
anyone had tried to link it to home assistant?

if can't link the hub, should i get something like the congee 2? if so, how can i find my devices? haven't buy any rasp pi yet.. need to know more before invest in it.

currently i have 1 hub, 49 devices connect to it.
You can use homekit to integrate aqara hub, Home Assistant will discover the aqara hub as home kit controller.
Kiding
post Jul 7 2021, 10:58 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wailing81 @ Jul 7 2021, 10:45 PM)
oh, thanks.
but i don't have a iphone nor ipad.
using android currently.
You don't need to have iphone or apple product in order to use homekit.

Home assistant app/web and automation can control all homekit contoller devices even you are using Android phone
Kiding
post Jul 8 2021, 09:46 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wailing81 @ Jul 7 2021, 11:17 PM)
one more question. is it after integrated into home assistant, i still able to use aqara app like usual? then those automation, it will follow both home assistant and aqara app?

do i understand correctly?
Yes, you still can use aqara app, you can also use aqara automation. Aqara hub run two separate systems, homekit controller and aqara hub

homekit enables home assistant to discover and manage aqara hub devices, automation can be set on homeassistant and aqara app, it is up to you.
Kiding
post Sep 28 2021, 11:29 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(pizzamilk @ Sep 27 2021, 11:20 PM)
smart is quite convenient for people, but it making people become lazy

hahaha
Laziness is the driving force of innovations brows.gif biggrin.gif
Kiding
post Nov 8 2021, 11:59 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(syapl @ Nov 6 2021, 06:52 PM)
hi, does this mean if i buy all the aqara device from china, and pair it using aqara global version hub then all can be used in malaysia already?
Yes, I have many aqara devices from China but able to pair it to Aqara hub global version.
Kiding
post Nov 16 2021, 06:48 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Nov 15 2021, 10:59 AM)
How to know quality if don't buy & test? I am still looking for the elusive Zigbee no neutral no capacitor Tuya Smart switch that is stable after 2years+
I'd say xiaomi/Aqara device quality is good, I have one live wire only single gang Aqara wall switch, installed 3 years ago and still running fine, other Aqara devices such as neutral and live wire switches are working for many years without failing

I also used Broadlink swtiches, all gone within 2 years. some z-wave switches and sensor, all don't last long, the only last one brands are Xiaomi/Aqara/Sonoff

The only drawback is Xiaomi/Aqara devices are getting more expensive, almost 20-30% increased over past 5 years!
Kiding
post Dec 13 2021, 01:30 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Agathon55 @ Dec 13 2021, 10:18 AM)
Aqara switches are nice but they are pricey. I've never tried the updated D1 and H1 but the older model had a really nice tactile look and feel to the switch.

That said, the only benefit I see Aqara having over other platforms is that they have HomeKit support out of the box. You don't have to fiddle with Home Assistant or Homebridge to get your Home set up.

But if HomeKit isn't something you need, then it's hard to justify that price tag. Sure Aqara's switches may feel better to press, but with your smart home all set up, you probably won't be pressing them all that often anyway.
Homekit is crucial in home assistant integration, even if you are not the Apple users.

With Home Assistant HomeKit controller, different types of hub/devices regardless it is from Xiaomi/Aqara/YeeLights or others, as long as it is HomeKit compatible, it will be supported by Home Assistant.

Therefore, Home Assistant app running on IOS/Android are able to manage all types of HomeKit devices regardless of what brand it is

Kiding
post Jan 17 2022, 11:50 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(adamletham @ Jan 17 2022, 03:20 PM)
There’s one going around RM900, but installation is a further RM300+.
What do you think of it? Any major flaws/annoyances?
Considerations when buying smart locks

1. Security: the lock must pass high security standard, it should not be easily hacked, if it can be remotely open, connection to lock must be highly secured.
2. Reliability: it can always be opened and closed without any technical issue, no one want to be locked outside
3. Resiliency: Multiple ways to lock/unlock: NFC, passcode, fingerprint, key, bluetooth etc.

So it is wise not to buy those cheap smart locks, pick a well known brand such as yale, schlage, Aqara.
Kiding
post Jan 21 2022, 05:54 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wurz @ Jan 21 2022, 04:11 PM)
I heard the latest E1 sensors may not work for Global/Malaysia hubs?
The E1 devices are zigbee 3.0, it needs to pair with zigbee 3.0 hub, Aqara hub (first hub) is not zigbee 3.0 compatible, hence, it cannot pair with Aqara hub, nothing to do with global or china hub., zigbee 3.0 device need to pair with zigbee3.0 capcable hub.

So far I never heard china version of Aqara devices failed to pair with Aqara global hub.
Kiding
post Jan 26 2022, 06:26 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Agathon55 @ Jan 26 2022, 05:38 PM)
I had issues with some of my smart home devices last night. Seemed to be some kind of unifi issue but could have also been a tuya issue too.

Having a smart home is maddening when your internet goes down.
Unifi routing having issue yesterday, Astro and Netflix streaming also get affected.

That is the reason I don't like smart devices managed by cloud, slow response and depending on internet connectivity.

Home assistant and home kit are better, all run locally.
Kiding
post Feb 24 2022, 12:22 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 24 2022, 11:45 AM)
Got price hike also right?
Also, anyone here tried using radar sensor (RCWL-0516) for room occupancy?
I have Radar sensor (non smart version, used it to trigger ligtht in bath room), it is pretty sensitive, but if you stand still, it will turn off light, you must move a bit from time to time to make it work
Kiding
post Feb 24 2022, 12:24 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Feb 24 2022, 12:04 PM)
You want to know when your pretty next door neighbour came back is it? laugh.gif
My research on this sensor indicates that it is very sensitive until can detect outside house presence.
Yes, because it is using microwave, the frequency is 5Ghz, it can penetrate wood, ceiling, 5Ghz also means it could interfere with the WIFI 5GHz spetrum.

Kiding
post Feb 24 2022, 07:38 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Feb 24 2022, 12:50 PM)
Good for sensitive motion detection.
Don't think it can differentiate between sitting down or lie down
Doubt that it uses 5Ghz, the 5Ghz wifi also cannot pass the wall. Higher frequency, shorter the waves.
That sensor use Doppler effect to detect motion. No need high frequency for what is essentially a radar
Microwave has capability to penetrate wood, ceiling, for concreate wall, it decay quickly. the one that I used is 5Ghz frequency, the RCWL-0516 is 3.18 Ghz, it has even more powerful penetration capability.

It can differential between sitting down and lie down, actually if you just move your hand slightly, it will be able to detect.
Kiding
post Feb 24 2022, 07:41 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 24 2022, 12:44 PM)
I see, so the solution would be to add longer time delay at least before turning off the lights
Is it the same radar sensor i listed?
I’m looking into some non invasive presence detection
Like the thermal camera, maybe not enough cover wide room
Even with ai on frigate, still needs some movement to trigger detection
no, the one I used is from Taobao, it use 5Ghz frequency, it has quite severe interference with very my old WIFI router, after changing to new WIFI-5 router, than interference is much lesser.

Kiding
post Feb 27 2022, 06:00 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 27 2022, 02:56 PM)
The interference, does it impact the router or the radar device
Impact the WIFI, bad connection to WIFI and keep disconnecting device from WIFI
Kiding
post Mar 14 2022, 11:34 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Boneny @ Mar 14 2022, 10:46 PM)
Hi guys, have anyone connected a cctv to a smart home system? The developer pulled a cat5 cable and now I need to source a camera, and need it to display some where, i wonder how to output it to bedroom TV, not sure if it's even possible, thanks
If you are a tech guy, try below

https://github.com/blakeblackshear/frigate
Kiding
post Mar 28 2022, 12:36 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 28 2022, 11:29 AM)
Anyone here using smart fan controller that has more than 3 speed control?

Also, if you guys are using sonoff ifan03.
Speed 1 & 2 works normally?
Seems like most complaint i see speed 1 is too slow & speed 2 is too fast

Trying to replace the capacitor like this aussie fella did but the solders are a bit too thick to remove

https://www.breznet.com/sonoff-ifan03-home-assistant/
I'm using Xiaomi Smart Fans, Hoemkit and Home Assistance can control the speed directly.
Kiding
post Mar 30 2022, 08:06 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Mar 30 2022, 03:59 PM)
hi all sifus, i bouhg t a xiaomi circulation fan.  during the first 2 month, the wifi function is working.
i can ask XIAOAI to turn on or turn off with voice command.
but on the 3rd month, the wifi module inside the xiaomi circulation fan suddenly not working. i cant manage to register this into xiaomi MI HOME Apps anymore.

Anyone know the solution ?

did you reset the fan to factory settings and join to your wifi access point?
Kiding
post Mar 31 2022, 11:58 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Mar 31 2022, 10:02 AM)
hi bro, yes I had reset it.
but when I try to reconnect back to MIJIA, it will get stuck

Does your wifi router configure with 5Ghz band? if yes, try to disable it first before joining your fan to Wifi network

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.3756sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:47 PM