Smart Home, Let's discuss

celciuz
post Apr 30 2023, 10:17 AM

14,034 posts

The one with neutral cable hidden that you have mentioned, neutral is usually black color... (green is earth). Better confirm this first?
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 30 2023, 10:19 AM

šŸ‘ 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(melvinchng @ Apr 30 2023, 10:13 AM)
3. all with neutral switches? (Can I borrow the neutral from the AC switch next to it?)
I did this with whatever is next to switch (be it A/C or 3-pin sockets), under assumption all N goes direct to same connection point at the db mains.
dest9116
post Apr 30 2023, 10:24 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(melvinchng @ Apr 30 2023, 10:13 AM)
I am looking to DIY and replace my current home switch to smart switch and would need help on some questions.

3 switches need to replaced in total
- 2x two gang (1x light and 1x fan)
- 1x three gang (2x light and 1x fan)

This is how the 2x two gang is wired. I do have neutral hidden and unused.

For the three gang switch. There is no neutral.

In my case, what is the best setup that can work with my Alexa? Shall I go with
1. all no neutral switches
2. two with neutral and one without neutral switches
3. all with neutral switches? (Can I borrow the neutral from the AC switch next to it?)
Your 2 gang the green wire I think more like earth wire than neutral? Usually earth is green, live is red/yellow/blue, neutral is black

Depends if later u will expand your smart home or not or just going to stop at 3 switches, if 3 switches than cheapo wifi switch 2 neutral 1 non neutral can d, not recommended to borrow from ac, ac may be different phase eg. Your live is red, ac may be blue then the neutral will be diff phase, later you will headache if u want install RCD for each phase, but if u don't plan to do that usually no issue la. Non neutral cheapo switches will need to install the capacitor, for this you need to know how to disassemble your lights / fan to install the capacitor. Good thing with cheapo wifi switches is that it's cheaper by half, spoil just throw and replace
melvinchng
post Apr 30 2023, 10:31 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2023, 10:17 AM)
The one with neutral cable hidden that you have mentioned, neutral is usually black color... (green is earth). Better confirm this first?
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Apr 30 2023, 10:19 AM)
I did this with whatever is next to switch (be it A/C or 3-pin sockets), under assumption all N goes direct to same connection point at the db mains.
QUOTE(dest9116 @ Apr 30 2023, 10:24 AM)
Your 2 gang the green wire I think more like earth wire than neutral? Usually earth is green, live is red/yellow/blue, neutral is black

Depends if later u will expand your smart home or not or just going to stop at 3 switches, if 3 switches than cheapo wifi switch 2 neutral 1 non neutral can d, not recommended to borrow from ac, ac may be different phase eg. Your live is red, ac may be blue then the neutral will be diff phase, later you will headache if u want install RCD for each phase, but if u don't plan to do that usually no issue la. Non neutral cheapo switches will need to install the capacitor, for this you need to know how to disassemble your lights / fan to install the capacitor. Good thing with cheapo wifi switches is that it's cheaper by half, spoil just throw and replace
Yeah, you guys made a point. I mixed up earth and neutral.

It looks like the best option here is to go with no neutral + hub?

I also plan to install smart door lock down the line. My research tell me that I should go with Agara A100 + free E1 hub, then only go with smart switch? Or the E1 hub is very basic. I do not tend to convert more switches to smart switch (maybe 2x 20A for AC I guess? That's the max I will go).

Please provide your feedback smile.gif

This post has been edited by melvinchng: Apr 30 2023, 10:32 AM
celciuz
post Apr 30 2023, 01:49 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(melvinchng @ Apr 30 2023, 10:31 AM)
Yeah, you guys made a point. I mixed up earth and neutral.

It looks like the best option here is to go with no neutral + hub?

I also plan to install smart door lock down the line. My research tell me that I should go with Agara A100 + free E1 hub, then only go with smart switch? Or the E1 hub is very basic. I do not tend to convert more switches to smart switch (maybe 2x 20A for AC I guess? That's the max I will go).

Please provide your feedback smile.gif
Aqara D1 no neutral switches are the better ones, no need use capacitor like some others.

Also to note, Aqara have 20A switches. I’m using Aqara M2 with Zigbee. Pretty solid and stable, though I’m using neutral switches which acts as repeaters for the signal.
melvinchng
post Apr 30 2023, 02:00 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2023, 01:49 PM)
Aqara D1 no neutral switches are the better ones, no need use capacitor like some others.

Also to note, Aqara have 20A switches. I’m using Aqara M2 with Zigbee. Pretty solid and stable, though I’m using neutral switches which acts as repeaters for the signal.
Does Aqara has rf hub? I tried looking online and they only have ir. My fan uses rf instea of ir.
celciuz
post Apr 30 2023, 03:48 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(melvinchng @ Apr 30 2023, 02:00 PM)
Does Aqara has rf hub? I tried looking online and they only have ir. My fan uses rf instea of ir.
Nope, I’m also looking for RF transmitter for my fans.
alucard89
post Apr 30 2023, 04:05 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2023, 03:48 PM)
Nope, I’m also looking for RF transmitter for my fans.
Not using 433mhz rf?
christ14
post May 1 2023, 08:02 AM

1,567 posts

anyone using Aqara 2 switch ones? somehow the furthest one from hub which is master bedroom unable to link, reconnect or connect new

tried extending the wifi signal to no avail
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 08:09 AM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Apr 30 2023, 04:05 PM)
Not using 433mhz rf?
I think they are 433 MHz but I don't have any hubs for it yet... or you mean the M2 Hub does support RF? hmm.gif

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 08:02 AM)
anyone using Aqara 2 switch ones? somehow the furthest one from hub which is master bedroom unable to link, reconnect or connect new

tried extending the wifi signal to no avail
D1 2 gang? or D1 wireless?
christ14
post May 1 2023, 10:34 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 1 2023, 08:09 AM)
I think they are 433 MHz but I don't have any hubs for it yet... or you mean the M2 Hub does support RF?  hmm.gif
should be D1 2 gang

i have lost the box

the 3 gang near the door works, hallway single gang. living room 3 gang. kitchen should be the same 2 gang works fine. im baffled hmm.gif
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 02:47 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 10:34 AM)
should be D1 2 gang

i have lost the box

the 3 gang near the door works, hallway single gang. living room 3 gang. kitchen should be the same 2 gang works fine. im baffled hmm.gif
Aqara D1 is Zigbee protocol, any of your switches between the hub and the furthest is neutral version?

Else it might be the limit of Zigbee, so you far my experience Wi-Fi most range… followed by Zigbee (assuming far from nearest hub/relay then shittiest is Bluetooth šŸ˜‚.
dest9116
post May 1 2023, 03:02 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 10:34 AM)
should be D1 2 gang

i have lost the box

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 1 2023, 02:47 PM)
Aqara D1 is Zigbee protocol, any of your switches between the hub and the furthest is neutral version?

Else it might be the limit of Zigbee, so you far my experience Wi-Fi most range… followed by Zigbee (assuming far from nearest hub/relay then shittiest is Bluetooth šŸ˜‚.
I using D1 switches no neutral

Ur right the range is the shittest of all. I have to shift my hub to middle of house to make sure all working. Based on aqara app, I have a door sensor and motion sensor right beside the D1 switch and both are showing acceptable zigbee signal, but the switch is showing 100% poor zigbee signal but I have a aqara cube 2 meter even further away from the switch and it have better signal 75% poor signal.

So meaning the aqara d1 switch is bad signal maybe because is no neutral so it must connect directly to the hub

This post has been edited by dest9116: May 1 2023, 03:11 PM
christ14
post May 1 2023, 03:16 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ May 1 2023, 03:02 PM)

Ur right the range is the shittest of all. I have to shift my hub to middle of house to make sure all working. Based on aqara app, I have a door sensor and motion sensor right beside the D1 switch and both are showing acceptable zigbee signal, but the switch is showing 100% poor zigbee signal but I have a aqara cube 2 meter even further away from the switch and it have better signal 75% poor signal.

So meaning the aqara d1 switch is bad signal maybe because is no neutral so it must connect directly to the hub
oh lord.... i thought its like different model, keep add different ones in mi home, still cannot also

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 1 2023, 02:47 PM)

dont have bro, thats the furthest. because i put the hub in kitchen. then i need to somehow move the hub i guess... damn no more place lol
dest9116
post May 1 2023, 03:21 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 03:16 PM)
oh lord.... i thought its like different model, keep add different ones in mi home, still cannot also
dont have bro, thats the furthest. because i put the hub in kitchen. then i need to somehow move the hub i guess... damn no more place lol
Why dowan aqara app? The automation have proper options and runs locally, I used to use mihome too even the hacked version that can use China made with msia region for 3 months, then I switch to aqara app, better I feel

This post has been edited by dest9116: May 1 2023, 03:22 PM
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 03:27 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ May 1 2023, 03:02 PM)

I’m using D1 with neutral (most switches around the house) and you would think all of them would have good coverage but… there’s a few switches that’s ā€œpoorā€ šŸ˜… not every switch acts as relay. Only a few, and it changes depending on some ā€œrulesā€ I guess. Not sure how it works this Zigbee mesh thing.

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 03:16 PM)
Your best bet is to move the hub to middle, or add another hub 🤣

My motor blinds and curtain using 2 hub because of the limited RF signal range.
christ14
post May 1 2023, 03:34 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ May 1 2023, 03:21 PM)
Why dowan aqara app? The automation have proper options and runs locally, I used to use mihome too even the hacked version that can use China made with msia region for 3 months, then I switch to aqara app, better I feel
because i have other appliances like TV etc which linked to mi home haha, i guess i will try out Aqara app

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 1 2023, 03:27 PM)
I’m using D1 with neutral (most switches around the house) and you would think all of them would have good coverage but… there’s a few switches that’s ā€œpoorā€ šŸ˜… not every switch acts as relay. Only a few, and it changes depending on some ā€œrulesā€ I guess. Not sure how it works this Zigbee mesh thing.
Your best bet is to move the hub to middle, or add another hub 🤣

My motor blinds and curtain using 2 hub because of the limited RF signal range.
i see, that explains it. dont think id be buying another hub. i gave up linking my curtains too lol just use remote
alucard89
post May 1 2023, 03:41 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 1 2023, 08:09 AM)
I think they are 433 MHz but I don't have any hubs for it yet... or you mean the M2 Hub does support RF?  hmm.gif
You use homekit or just aqara app?
If dun want to bother with homeassistant, install homebridge with broadlink plugin
dest9116
post May 1 2023, 03:43 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 03:34 PM)
because i have other appliances like TV etc which linked to mi home haha, i guess i will try out Aqara app
i see, that explains it. dont think id be buying another hub. i gave up linking my curtains too lol  just use remote
I see, then better stick to mihome, I don't see changing app will affect the signal.
celciuz
post May 1 2023, 04:21 PM

14,034 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 1 2023, 03:34 PM)
i see, that explains it. dont think id be buying another hub. i gave up linking my curtains too lolĀ  just use remote
I’m using life smart motor so they do have a HomeKit hub 😁 but since RF it’s quite random at times.

QUOTE(alucard89 @ May 1 2023, 03:41 PM)
You use homekit or just aqara app?
If dun want to bother with homeassistant, install homebridge with broadlink plugin
I’m using HomeKit, recently just started with homebridge too. (Trying to figure out Tuya tsk).

Broadlink has RF? Will check it out.

Will test out the RM4 Pro, hopefully it works šŸ˜†. Would be nice if that hub has enough range for all fans around the house. Then I can leave the switch always on and use radio for controls instead.

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 1 2023, 04:32 PM

656 Pages « < 569 570 571 572 573 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:32 PM