What to do in an accident in Malaysia, Everything about m/vehicle insurance

Sean77
post Jun 17 2017, 06:52 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(buggie @ Jan 20 2017, 07:54 AM)
No need. Let them do it. Later got time can claim uninsured losses from TP insurer (if result in your favour). Can claim loss of use. Even loss of ncd. Got 6 years to do it. Keep your options open.
6 years? We can claim within so long period?
I had same problem, after police send letter to the guy hit from the back, he came but wanted to settle offline, meaning without making report. We agreed n it had been 3 months, he has not paid the repair cost. Can i still claim? But no report since police allow to settle outside.
TSloui
post Jun 17 2017, 11:46 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Jun 17 2017, 06:52 PM)
6 years?  We can claim within so long period?
I had same problem,  after police send letter to the guy hit from the back,  he came but wanted to settle offline,  meaning without making report. We agreed n it had been 3 months,  he has not paid the repair cost. Can i still claim?  But no report since police allow to settle outside.
6 years is for filing civil claim, means go to court and fight

in your case, out of court settlement

1st thing 1st, you need a police report

without police report, insurance will not layan you at all

2nd thing, even if police report, any police report lodge after 48 hours (without any injury involve), police will saman you for lodging police report late and your insurance might resist claim on ground of late reporting

same thing goes to making a TPPD claim
Sean77
post Jun 18 2017, 12:52 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 17 2017, 11:46 PM)
6 years is for filing civil claim, means go to court and fight

in your case, out of court settlement

1st thing 1st, you need a police report

without police report, insurance will not layan you at all

2nd thing, even if police report, any police report lodge after 48 hours (without any injury involve), police will saman you for lodging police report late and your insurance might resist claim on ground of late reporting

same thing goes to making a TPPD claim
I went to report. Within 24 hrs, but police allow offline settlement . Should not consider i dint report isnt it?

TSloui
post Jun 18 2017, 11:29 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Jun 18 2017, 12:52 AM)
I went to report.  Within 24 hrs,  but police allow offline settlement . Should not consider i dint report isnt it?
then there shouldn't be any problem to file a claim then

you can do either OD-KFK or TPPD

check my early post to find out whether you entitle to OD-KFK or TPPD claim
Jc_1111
post Jun 18 2017, 12:00 PM

Sorry if this post is lengthy and poor english, need some advice here really bangwall.gif confused.gif

My friend involved in an accident recently.

During the rush hour, when stuck in the traffic jam (standstill traffic), the bus parked at the bus stop (beside my friends's car) suddenly turn right and bang, reverse and bang the car. When the bus driver got down, he immediately defend himself and say it was my friend's fault. My friend manage to find witness from car behind and to prove the bus driver wrongdoing. The witness agree to help out my friend. At that point of time, the driver was scare and say sorry whatsoever. Then, they manage to exchange info and promised to file police report later.

Then, the thing got worst. When making the police report, the sarjan seems acting funny by pointing such case will end up my friend is at fault, saying it was due to careless driving, and threaten to say nothing can be done even with witness. Later on the bus driver says that he already make the police report went MIA and blocked my friends number. My friend received sms saying that the witness report that is my friend went into the bus lane and bang the bus. At that point of time, the witness havent even go to report the whole incident.

After the witness report at police station, my friend thought that there is hope and now we found out that the report has some mistake where the incident date was written 2015 instead of 2017. I think the witness also felt troublesome and didnt bother to amend the report.

haizz.. what can we do when something happen like this?

TSloui
post Jun 18 2017, 12:05 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Jc_1111 @ Jun 18 2017, 12:00 PM)
Sorry if this post is lengthy and poor english, need some advice here really  bangwall.gif  confused.gif

My friend involved in an accident recently.

During the rush hour, when stuck in the traffic jam (standstill traffic), the bus parked at the bus stop (beside my friends's car) suddenly turn right and bang, reverse and bang the car. When the bus driver got down, he immediately defend himself and say it was my friend's fault. My friend manage to find witness from car behind and to prove the bus driver wrongdoing. The witness agree to help out my friend. At that point of time, the driver was scare and say sorry whatsoever. Then, they manage to exchange info and promised to file police report later.

Then, the thing got worst. When making the police report, the sarjan seems acting funny by pointing such case will end up my friend is at fault, saying it was due to careless driving, and threaten to say nothing can be done even with witness. Later on the bus driver says that he already make the police report went MIA and blocked my friends number. My friend received sms saying that the witness report that is my friend went into the bus lane and bang the bus. At that point of time, the witness havent even go to report the whole incident.
After the witness report at police station, my friend thought that there is hope and now we found out that the report has some mistake where the incident date was written 2015 instead of 2017. I think the witness also felt troublesome and didnt bother to amend the report.

haizz.. what can we do when something happen like this?
what is your main concern here?

claiming bus insurance? or try to avoid bus making claim against your insurance?

or want to make sure the bus driver kena saman

1. get witness to lodge corrective police report
2. wait for the bus driver to lodge police report
3. wait for sarjan to issue investigation outcome
4. proceed with TPPD claim if no dispute in fact
Jc_1111
post Jun 18 2017, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 18 2017, 12:05 PM)
what  is your main concern here?

claiming bus insurance? or try to avoid bus making claim against your insurance?

or want to make sure the bus driver kena saman

1. get witness to lodge corrective police report
2. wait for the bus driver to lodge police report
3. wait for sarjan to issue investigation outcome
4. proceed with TPPD claim if no dispute in fact
Yea, we want to claim the bus insurance.

The bus driver has lodge police report but we think the report is against us by saying we bang the bus.
And we tried to ask the witness to help us one more time, but no reply as at now.

So, if let say the witness didnt correct the report, nothing can be done right?
if the sarjan investigation outcome say we are at fault, the bus driver can claim our insurance?

This post has been edited by Jc_1111: Jun 18 2017, 12:19 PM
Sean77
post Jun 18 2017, 02:22 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 18 2017, 11:29 AM)
then there shouldn't be any problem to file a claim then

you can do either OD-KFK or TPPD

check my early post to find out whether you entitle to OD-KFK or TPPD claim
Quite subjective for my case, i went report but since the police allow settle outside, i m not sure how long it's valid for the guy who hit us from behind to settle the payment.

In short, in cases where police allow out side settlement, how long should we wait? Let's say after 2-3 month, the guy haven't or don't want to pay up, can i still report & claim?
TSloui
post Jun 18 2017, 10:14 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Jc_1111 @ Jun 18 2017, 12:13 PM)
Yea, we want to claim the bus insurance.

The bus driver has lodge police report but we think the report is against us by saying we bang the bus.
And we tried to ask the witness to help us one more time, but no reply as at now.

So, if let say the witness didnt correct the report, nothing can be done right?
if the sarjan investigation outcome say we are at fault, the bus driver can claim our insurance?
the minor mistake will not affect the investigation as long as both both police reports are link as under one accident

your issue now is more on pushing the police to conclude their investigation

only when the police decide that the other party is fault then you can succeed in making the claim

if the police find you at fault, bus driver can claim your insurance

to make it simple, who salah, who kena claim
TSloui
post Jun 18 2017, 10:18 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Jun 18 2017, 02:22 PM)
Quite subjective for my case,  i went report but since the police allow settle outside,  i m not sure how long it's valid for the guy who hit us from behind to settle the payment.

In short,  in cases where police allow out side settlement, how long should we wait?  Let's say after 2-3 month,  the  guy haven't or don't want to pay up,  can i still report & claim?
nothing to do with police allow settle outside or not

all you need to do is lodge police report ASAP and push for police siasatan outcome (which shows other party at fault)

my advise is don't wait

send your car to workshop, get a quotation, submit your claim ASAP to the other party insurance company and normally TPPD will take no less then 1 month to succeed

so, in between if the party pay you cash, you can withdraw the claim on spot

if he fail to do so, proceed with it

Jc_1111
post Jun 19 2017, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 18 2017, 10:14 PM)
the minor mistake will not affect the investigation as long as both both police reports are link as under one accident

your issue now is more on pushing the police to conclude their investigation

only when the police decide that the other party is fault then you can succeed in making the claim

if the police find you at fault, bus driver can claim your insurance

to make it simple, who salah, who kena claim
hmm.gif okok, im getting a clearer pic now. guess we will just wait for the investigation report. Thanks alot for the help smile.gif appreciate it
SUSLordDenning
post Jun 19 2017, 11:34 PM

peanut butter jelly
1,502 posts

rip no more pinned
kennethkee93
post Jun 25 2017, 12:56 PM

Wooooo!
1,522 posts

Got into accident yesterday, I hit someone's back. We both went to report police, got my summon.

What should I do next to claim OD? Can I send to workshop first before I get the police investigation result?

My car is just 1 year old myvi, wish to bring back to Perodua SC. Do I need to call my insurer first before going? Thanks.
TSloui
post Jun 25 2017, 08:30 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Jun 25 2017, 12:56 PM)
Got into accident yesterday, I hit someone's back. We both went to report police, got my summon.

What should I do next to claim OD? Can I send to workshop first before I get the police investigation result?

My car is just 1 year old myvi, wish to bring back to Perodua SC. Do I need to call my insurer first before going? Thanks.
1. call up the perodua service centre to confirm whether they are panel workshop for your insurance

2. if yes then send it to them

OD don't have to wait for police investigation outcome

Main issue on making OD claim is to ensure the workshop you send is of panel workshop of your insurance
kennethkee93
post Jun 25 2017, 11:22 PM

Wooooo!
1,522 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 25 2017, 08:30 PM)
1. call up the perodua service centre to confirm whether they are panel workshop for your insurance

2. if yes then send it to them

OD don't have to wait for police investigation outcome

Main issue on making OD claim is to ensure the workshop you send is of panel workshop of your insurance
Ok thanks loui. The police investigation outcome is the report that has photos taken right?
TSloui
post Jun 26 2017, 07:29 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Jun 25 2017, 11:22 PM)
Ok thanks loui. The police investigation outcome is the report that has photos taken right?
nope

is a letter stated who kena saman under what type of offense
kennethkee93
post Jun 26 2017, 11:50 AM

Wooooo!
1,522 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 26 2017, 07:29 AM)
nope

is a letter stated who kena saman under what type of offense
Ahh, but I already kena saman on the spot when meeting the inspector, they said the report can be taken next week (now raya week). Looks like it's not needed then. Thanks!
isr25
post Jun 27 2017, 08:12 AM

1,259 posts

Maybe you should do a section on accident with foreign registered vehicles loui. It is very hard to claim against their insurance (no cross border agreement), and if they don't buy third party insurance when they drive in Malaysia, you are forced to claim against your own insurance, or demand money from them which they may, or may not agree with.

I had the pleasure of both being hit, and hitting Singaporean registered vehicles. At first I didn't know it's damn hard to claim against their insurance, so I had to claim against my own - RM2k worth of damage, so it's worth it to burn my NCD - so when it's my turn to hit a Singaporean registered vehicle, I didn't pay on the spot, and did police report on my own carelessness - RM3K worth of damage...

Same thing applies when you visit Singapore - you are not required to get 3rd party insurance, so if you get involved in an accident there, claim against your own insurance as well.

Both Singapore and Malaysia should enact a law like Thailand which requires foreign registered vehicles to have at least 3rd party insurance when they drive in their country to protect their citizens...
TSloui
post Jun 27 2017, 09:58 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Jun 27 2017, 08:12 AM)
Maybe you should do a section on accident with foreign registered vehicles loui. It is very hard to claim against their insurance (no cross border agreement), and if they don't buy third party insurance when they drive in Malaysia, you are forced to claim against your own insurance, or demand money from them which they may, or may not agree with.

I had the pleasure of both being hit, and hitting Singaporean registered vehicles. At first I didn't know it's damn hard to claim against their insurance, so I had to claim against my own - RM2k worth of damage, so it's worth it to burn my NCD - so when it's my turn to hit a Singaporean registered vehicle, I didn't pay on the spot, and did police report on my own carelessness - RM3K worth of damage...

Same thing applies when you visit Singapore - you are not required to get 3rd party insurance, so if you get involved in an accident there, claim against your own insurance as well.

Both Singapore and Malaysia should enact a law like Thailand which requires foreign registered vehicles to have at least 3rd party insurance when they drive in their country to protect their citizens...
not really

both Malaysia and Singapore did have an agreement that our policy coverage does extend to cover accident on their soils, vice versa, hence you don't have to buy another insurance policy while driving into those countries

Some even cover up to Brunei & Thailand

print screen from Etiqa website ( https://www.etiqa.com.sg/wp-content/uploads...1042015EIPL.pdf )

Print screen from Allianz website

isr25
post Jun 27 2017, 10:43 AM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 27 2017, 09:58 AM)
not really

both Malaysia and Singapore did have an agreement that our policy coverage does extend to cover accident on their soils, vice versa, hence you don't have to buy another insurance policy while driving into those countries

Some even cover up to Brunei & Thailand

print screen from Etiqa website ( https://www.etiqa.com.sg/wp-content/uploads...1042015EIPL.pdf )

Print screen from Allianz website

It only covers your vehicle, not the 3rd party vehicle which you hit.

41 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:53 AM