129 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

myway1985
post Jul 23 2015, 08:51 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Jul 23 2015, 08:27 PM)
Good enough for college usage.
Dell vostro already use low voltage ram. Adding SSD only increase battery life around 30 minutes. i think some Dell Latitude can survive longer than vostro. Any specific reason why you want Vostro?
Latitude price like Inspiron high end.. Mayb him budget limited
AthrunIJ
post Jul 23 2015, 09:11 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(hxleo1 @ Jul 23 2015, 08:30 PM)
Hi guys, just wanted to ask for my brother on gaming laptop.

1. Preferred brand: none but with good after sales support
2. Budget: 4000 - 6000
3. Usage: Gaming and Movies
4. Preferred laptop size: 15" - 17"

He was looking at alienware 15.6" and 17" both around 6469 and 6799.
Was wondering if there are any better alternative comparable to alienware.
Considering reliability, cooling and after sales support.

Thanks for helping! Hoping to get some good comparison here.
The only one i could think of is Illegear.

Check it out. Clevo chassis and good after sale service.
hxleo1
post Jul 23 2015, 10:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jul 23 2015, 09:11 PM)
The only one i could think of is Illegear.

Check it out. Clevo chassis and good after sale service.
Clevo chassis means?
Yea i was checking illegear but not sure if it is reliable or the cooling part.
alienware seems to be getting good reviews on the net.

thanks for helping!
myway1985
post Jul 23 2015, 11:00 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(hxleo1 @ Jul 23 2015, 10:22 PM)
Clevo chassis means?

thanks for helping!
2015 aw u must get gtx 980m 1.. 970m I receive complaint... hot.
AthrunIJ
post Jul 23 2015, 11:05 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(hxleo1 @ Jul 23 2015, 10:22 PM)
Clevo chassis means?

thanks for helping!
Cooling is good.

Clevo is a company who makes bare bone laptop chassis/casing. It has the quality you seek and from illegear thermal management it has one of the best cooling too.
FaezFarhan
post Jul 23 2015, 11:57 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Thanks for all the replies, but sorry to have caused an argument. The reason why I wanted it with UHD was that this could be my laptop for the next 3-4 years, so in the future I could play UHD contents like movies etc on it. And also, not sure if it's true, read that if I downscale the screen to 1080p the screen will display 1080p things a bit sharper compared to normal 1080p screens?

Also about the GPU, how much of a difference it is comparing GTX960m to GTX970m? RM800 difference over the two.

Right now I'm probably down to two. Illegear Z5 & Asus G551JM. Haven't seen Cyberforge yet. Other models doesn't come up to specs.
AthrunIJ
post Jul 24 2015, 12:01 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 23 2015, 11:57 PM)
Thanks for all the replies, but sorry to have caused an argument. The reason why I wanted it with UHD was that this could be my laptop for the next 3-4 years, so in the future I could play UHD contents like movies etc on it. And also, not sure if it's true, read that if I downscale the screen to 1080p the screen will display 1080p things a bit sharper compared to normal 1080p screens?

Also about the GPU, how much of a difference it is comparing GTX960m to GTX970m? RM800 difference over the two.

Right now I'm probably down to two. Illegear Z5 & Asus G551JM. Haven't seen Cyberforge yet. Other models doesn't come up to specs.
970m is around ~64 percent more performance compared to 960m.

You might encounter black bars if you downscale to fullhd from uhd.
FaezFarhan
post Jul 24 2015, 01:23 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jul 24 2015, 12:01 AM)
970m is around ~64 percent more performance compared to 960m.

You might encounter black bars if you downscale to fullhd from uhd.
I see, the Illegear Z5 with 970m, RM4999, worth it?
TSpandera999
post Jul 24 2015, 08:38 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 24 2015, 01:23 AM)
yes.. worth thumbup.gif
AthrunIJ
post Jul 24 2015, 09:52 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 24 2015, 01:23 AM)
For me it is.

Because of the quality chassis and after sale service. I dont mind paying more for those two (My preference).
myway1985
post Jul 24 2015, 10:03 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Jul 23 2015, 07:11 PM)
1. Preferred brand: Any brand
2. Usage: Normal stuffs, surfing the internet, YouTube, some gaming
3: Budget: below RM 1700
4: Screen size: 13-15 inch

I'm on a tight budget, can't afford a laptop with great specs. This will be my first laptop, so I want a laptop with at least Intel Core i3, 4GB RAM, Nvidia or AMD graphic card, good battery life, Windows 8.1. Thanks.
refurbished hp 8440p u mind?

i7-620m
4gb ram

KambengAngkasa
post Jul 24 2015, 10:11 AM

47 posts

1. Preferred brand: Any brand with good after sales service
3: Budget: below RM 2500
myway1985
post Jul 24 2015, 10:54 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(KambengAngkasa @ Jul 24 2015, 10:11 AM)
1. Preferred brand: Any brand with good after sales service
3: Budget: below RM 2500
specific more pls.. wat sort of gaming...

ur budget can get vostro 5480, inspiron 3443, 3453, 5448, 5548...

latitude e3440. e3450... intel 5500 can play alot games de
xiiao1047
post Jul 24 2015, 11:59 AM

290 posts

Budget: rm2k max
Usage: college, browsing, watching videos
Others: good battery life, windows, no touchscreen/2 in 1 etc

DS_Legacy
post Jul 24 2015, 12:56 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(xiiao1047 @ Jul 24 2015, 11:59 AM)
Budget: rm2k max
Usage: college, browsing, watching videos
Others: good battery life, windows, no touchscreen/2 in 1 etc
Here is the models that fit your requirement. biggrin.gif

1. Lenovo G40-80 80E4005NMJ 14” , i5-5200U , 4GB , 500GB , AMD R5-M230 , W8.1 : RM1950/-
2. Lenovo Z40-70 5943-6166 14” FHD , i5-4210U , 4GB , 500GB , GT820 2GB , W8.1 , 1YR : RM1999/-
3. Asus X454LJ-VX044D VX045D (Black, White) 14” , i3-5010 , 4GB , 500GB , GT920M 1GB , DOS: RM1770/-

Do your own survey before buying ya. icon_rolleyes.gif
shoduken
post Jul 24 2015, 01:05 PM

1,741 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jul 23 2015, 07:50 PM)
Add a bit more.

MSI PE60
not a fan of MSI. is there any other? :-S
AthrunIJ
post Jul 24 2015, 01:07 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Jul 24 2015, 01:05 PM)
not a fan of MSI. is there any other? :-S
The only laptop model i know can get more than 90 percent SRGB. LOL. Might need other Sifu help.

One more would be Acer Nitro and HP Zbook or Apple but out of your budget.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Jul 24 2015, 01:24 PM
Prince J
post Jul 24 2015, 01:19 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jul 24 2015, 01:07 PM)
The only laptop model i know can get more than 90 percent SRGB. LOL. Might need other Sifu help.

One more would be Acer Nitro and HP elite books but out of your budget.
Color Range: sRGB < AdobeRGB < NTSC

100% sRGB = 72% NTSC gamut, it's within normal gamut range. Only 90% NTSC gamut and above is considered wide color gamut range.

There are many laptop screens feature 72% NTSC gamut (100% sRGB) nowadays for e.g. IPS, AHVA, PLS and IGZO displays.

I remember there was an ASUS monitor that covers 100% NTSC color gamut, that's real true-to-life color.

This post has been edited by Prince J: Jul 24 2015, 01:22 PM
AthrunIJ
post Jul 24 2015, 01:21 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 24 2015, 01:19 PM)
Color Range: sRGB < AdobeRGB < NTSC

100% sRGB = 72% NTSC gamut, it's within normal gamut range. Only 90% NTSC gamut and above is considered wide color gamut range.

There are many laptop screens feature 72% NTSC gamut nowadays for e.g. IPS, AHVA, PLS and IGZO displays.

I remember there was an ASUS monitor that covers 100% NTSC color gamut, that's real true-to-life color.
blink.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
hxleo1
post Jul 24 2015, 02:37 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jul 23 2015, 11:05 PM)
Cooling is good.

Clevo is a company who makes bare bone laptop chassis/casing. It has the quality you seek and from illegear thermal management it has one of the best cooling too.
alright, i'll suggest illegear to compare with alienware to him. Let's see what he chooses out of this 2.

Thanks! rclxms.gif

129 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:47 AM