14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

AthrunIJ
post Apr 4 2015, 10:44 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(uekov @ Apr 4 2015, 01:15 PM)
just bought hp pavillion laptop cost me RM1699. i5 spec, 4gb ram, 500hdd, and radeoun graphic. preloaded with win8.1. is it worth it?
Seems fine to me if you doing basic stuff (Surfing web, watching movies and light gaming.)

EDIT : My only concern is how did you get it at such a low price. hmm.gif , being a HP and i5

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 4 2015, 10:53 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:16 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:05 PM)
Sifus pls reccomend,

1. Preferred Brand
anything will be fine

2. Budget
RM2500-3000

3. Usage
a) 20-50 tabs on Google chrome + 2-5 adobe pdf reader opened + Spotify + 1-2 excel. Everything at the same time
b) not going to play vidya games
c) Movies

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
a) screen size 13-14
b) processor(as long I can use without lag for another 2 years ok already)
c) RAM 4GB minimum
d) graphic card, doesn't matter. Not playing video games anyways, as long can play 1080p video ok oredi
e) LIGHTWEIGHT (1KG-1.6kg)
f) 256gb ssd

tl;dr I want a 13-14 inch ultrabook that does not lag when I open 30-50 chrome tabs
I suggest increase the amount of RAM instead of 4GB because of the amount of tabs your are using. I say 8GB and above (i don't even think 8Gb of RAM is enough for you. Get a second opinion on this.)
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:24 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:19 PM)
http://www.dell.com/my/p/vostro-14-5480-la...timonster=PD_OC

thinking of getting this and then sell the 4gb ram and get an 8gb one  hmm.gif

http://omglaptop.com/laptop/upgrade-hard-d...eplace-battery/

if it is possible lah
Vostro line up is a budget business class laptop. So, i think it is fine but doesn't have the SSD that you required.

How about this? Some extra choices but Asus after sales service is very bad.

http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/asu...rated-w8-1.html

EDIT : ASUS proc will not be as powerful as the DELL.

EDIT EDIT: Just realise your edit. Haha, if you get the non touch version of the DELL, the extra RM500 you can get yourself a 256 GB SSD and upgrade the RAM but will be over budget abit >>RM3000.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 5 2015, 12:29 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:35 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:32 PM)
To be honest y dun choose 7447.. quad core n full HD....

I think vostro only 1 ram slot... so far hvnt see dual channel... anybody got it?
Weight is the problem for him. Max is 1.6 KG. He is interested in the DELL Vostro 5480.

AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:37 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:35 PM)
Is it light?
It is around 2.3 KG for 7447.

I don't think Core M performance is good for your multi tasking work load looking at benchmarks. So i suggest the DELL.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:42 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:39 PM)
I know.. but vostro 5480 almost cannot upgrade.. n I can tell u the heat will make it slow... does it even hv a fan in tat thin casing...
If i'm not mistaken. He can upgrade the HDD to SSD and the RAM to max 8GB. Should be sufficient but not quite sure since the amount of tabs he is opening at once. If he don't mind some increase in weight to around 2KG then he has alot more option to consider.

If not mistaken again the Vostro is using the ULV proc. So the heat management should be OK but looking at how thin it is, it might get hot abit but not to the extreme.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:43 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:41 PM)
u n y series worst in multitasking... m is better.. but core m is slow..
I always thought Atom < M < i3 < i5 < i7. hmm.gif
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:51 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:48 PM)
ram max 1 x 8GB kua... dell not working todaY. Can't ask them.. but I always against vostro... wif tat price tag I rather take latitude.. more tahan.. 2800RM.. I can get latitude i7 de
Post the latitude model and spec with budget of RM3000. Looks interesting. Yes latitude is better from what I have read.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 12:55 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:51 PM)
Tat is speed rite...clock speed of coz I5 better... But ULV known bad for multitasking... tat y I say m better for "multitasking" only... but speed slow...
I don't think it is about the clock speed. You can find benchmarks for i5 and i7 with same clock speed but i7 performs better.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 01:03 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:59 PM)
Well... we not expert in tat rite... but I oso suggest PPL take i7 most of the time if their budget allows... i5 is lukewarm... not fastest nor slow... tat wat I dun like
In the end, it is the customer choice. We only can suggest and gives fact. I say happy hunting to adix4.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 03:20 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 01:10 PM)
willing to sacrifice some tabs for a lighter laptop sad.gif
As i have said, proc is not the issue but the ram and because you want light weight means small size laptops which also means reduce RAM slot. Since your i3 only using 20-30 percent usage, i can say that it is the RAM problem. Windows 8.1 (for me already uses 2.5-2.8 GB OS alone with chrome it will escalate to around 3.5 GB with a few tabs.)

If you are willing to sacrifice some tabs then upgrade to the maximum amount of RAM that the system can handle.

If you replace your HDD to SSD, OS loading time would be faster and any application that is installed in your SSD also will load faster. Example would be loading your excel data.

There will always be trade off. Just take the one that is within your budget and the one you prefer. All i can offer is my advice to you. Cheers mate, happy hunting. biggrin.gif

EDIT : Anymore question, i would be delighted to answer and also please do some research as my information might not be right all the time. icon_rolleyes.gif

EDIT EDIT: If it is not urgent to upgrade your laptop, i suggest you save up to get the XPS 13.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 5 2015, 03:25 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 03:40 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 5 2015, 03:36 PM)
you are right on this that RAM (everything need to be loaded into the memory) and SSD (source of data) would be the best performance improvement with any decent processor  thumbup.gif
this is why the newer Intel mobile processors are on efficiency over speed.

one last thing is that 4gb ram is more than enough but make sure your OS is a 32-bit OS.
in fact, no average joe would ever need a 64-bit OS and if you do ever get 64-bit OS then at least 6gb ram would be recommended.
anything 4 or less, stick to 4gb ram as 64-bit OS would require more memory for the same process as when it is ran on 32-bit.

I see. I totally forgot about the 32 bit and 64 bit thingy. LOL, thanks for bringing it up. Will be doing some reading on the 32 bit and 64 bit. But isn't 64 bit better than 32 bits in term of performance (RAM performance, 64 bit, able to access more RAM).
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 04:11 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 5 2015, 04:09 PM)
not really as there are still a large amount of programs that do not utilize all 64 bits, but since everything would need to be 64 then there would be wastage as everything would require 64 bit in the memory
Yea, just read up one of the article stating that due to hardware not all 64 bit can be utilize. But overall most of the article do state that performance do improve generally (I suppose placebo effect?).

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 5 2015, 04:12 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 04:19 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 5 2015, 04:17 PM)
it is more to software than hardward nowadays (hardwares should be able to handle it).
still when you are lacking memory (<4gb) then you do not really have the luxury.
it is always a trade-off between memory and time (performance).
thus, if you require a lot of memory then a 32 bit would be more efficient for now unless you have programs that require 64 bits (example Cities:Skyline)
True. smile.gif , thanks for your explanation.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 04:32 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 04:27 PM)
looks like the epic battle will be either UX305 and XPS13 then smile.gif

since you have said that Pentium M will be no problem, I will be inclined to getting the UX305 MY501 with 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD

but you know, spending RM4100 for a laptop just for reading, writing and surfing does feel funny to me

it's a huge amount  sweat.gif tbh XPS13 was my first choice but after looking at the price  sweat.gif
Well, XPS 13 uses premium material (adds into the cost) and yes forgive me about the proc. Surprisingly, The Core M is on par with the U processor albeit the U slightly edges better.

But now the problem would be ASUS after sale service. So good luck!!!!

EDIT : It is not pentium M but Core M if i'm not mistaken. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 5 2015, 04:33 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 04:44 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 04:37 PM)
anyways do you reccomend getting a touch screen laptop?

in my opinion I won't use it much  nod.gif  hmm.gif
I'm using one though 15 inch. It does help when some days i forgot my mouse, Haha. If you wont be using much, then get the non touch as it is lower in price.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 6 2015, 10:10 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Apr 6 2015, 10:03 AM)
hiya guys, first time asking for guidance here

recently i am planning to get portable machine for werk and gaming, but know less about it compared to desktop

i'm a long winded person (refer to peeps in RWI, i write sh!tty suffs... i sh!t u not...), so i'll try to keep it short...

- programming sh!t, so it has to be powerful enough, and being a sh!tty pro gamer, i know good graphic card is essential
- i plan to do some mid to heavy virtualizationand dump all werk related files into virtual machines so i can keep the pc clean for development and testing
- currently i use a 13" and sometimes i feel i'm in need of wider monitor

as criteria mentioned above:

- 1TB of storage for roughly 4-6 Virtual machinesand the rest are either for games or documentations about creating life, SSD not a necessity but still good for booting up OS and GAMES!!!
- 8GB of ramz (upgradable... hopefully), for simutaneuos virtual machines (that would means the OS should be 64 bit... *sigh*)
- good warranties and support, not like TMNut... 'try and flip ur modem... working ah... ok, case close!!!'
- screen size should be either 15" or 17" and touch screen is optional
- good graphics, i'm a ATi Fanboi but from reviews i know about how bad they are performing in portable gaming machines... so... any recommedation on Nvidia?

budget wise, it should be from 3.5k to 4.5k (could be in higher spec if it aint for extra 6%... *sigh*)

ok, enough descriptions about my requirements and my hidden agenda of making it a portable gaming device, other than just mere platform for werk. feel free to enquire more information for my blurry specification

in b4 opti-dude comes here and yell, 'OMG!!! r*d b*an army getting a betta machine!!!'
I'm confuse as to do you still game on the laptop?

If so check out illegear.

EDIT : Was slow. Damn it... doh.gif

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 6 2015, 10:11 AM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 6 2015, 10:17 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(ValityMental @ Apr 6 2015, 10:15 AM)
So would that be a problem if i keep plugged in and play the whole day?
Nope, with lithium ion battery. it is fine. Older battery nickel based might have problems.

Source : http://www.howtogeek.com/124715/should-i-l...n-all-the-time/

Another source : http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article...based_batteries

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 6 2015, 10:22 AM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 6 2015, 10:32 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Apr 6 2015, 10:26 AM)
imma do some google and research 1st

well, the machine is for werk but playing games with few buddies in CC is just meh!! dirty toilet, smokers, trash talkers, sticky keyboard and mouse, crappy lighting, etc... it's better to be sitting in mah buddy's house and play there, so higher spec for mobility is quite important.
You cant go wrong with illegear with their after sale service and top notch specs.

I still don't get you...

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 6 2015, 10:37 AM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 6 2015, 12:09 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Apr 6 2015, 11:57 AM)
checked the link, the product site and the spec, basically good reviews about the machine but the obvious casing makes it obvious to the other workers that i am using a blaardy gaming unit, and that made me look unprofessional, in a sense...
i know it sounds might be nitpicking, but i also concern about the built-in battery. i dun use much battery (for environment sake) and even dun carry battery for the current machine that i use (no power = no werk). it is treated more of a backup than the main power source.

i'm not saying it is a bad unit; it is well-built powerhouse for werk and gaming with a reasonable price.

anymore more recommendations?
MSI GE62/72 (do note the model number, it is the lastest afaik should be better at cooling.)
Alienware?

EDIT : Still look like a gaming machine doh.gif . Dell top of the range inspiron model, HP (Cooling not so good for Envy model (Using one tongue.gif )) or Lenovo Y50.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 6 2015, 12:28 PM

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0577sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:06 PM