126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V36, celebrating 35th anniversary!

amosai
post Apr 6 2015, 06:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(mdshaman @ Apr 6 2015, 05:38 PM)
While your 1st statement is true, the 2nd is arguable since people did manage to produce this:

100% fully handpainted.
You can, but it'll take a lot of effort and money like nazrul said. It really depends on the person's preference, skill and how many hours he is willing to spend on it. I've tried brush painting since last year till now, I am barely covering up the stroke lines LOL but it's a sense of pride when I do.

I think you learn different things while you do full brush paint and airbrush painting. But efficiency (whether materials or time) wise, I think airbrush wins any day.

@nazrul, YES, I would do that some day! It's a waste of time and money like you said but then again, I would be proud of my masterpiece when I do xD.

This post has been edited by amosai: Apr 6 2015, 06:24 PM
mdshaman
post Apr 6 2015, 07:54 PM

15 posts

Maybe there's a misundersanding here. I'm not arguing the efficiency of paint brush vs air brush. We all can agree on that, air brush wins on all account.
But ONLY for detailing small parts? THAT is arguable.

This post has been edited by mdshaman: Apr 6 2015, 07:54 PM
chyll2
post Apr 6 2015, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(mdshaman @ Apr 6 2015, 07:54 PM)
Maybe there's a misundersanding here. I'm not arguing the efficiency of paint brush vs air brush. We all can agree on that, air brush wins on all account.
I tried vallejo for hand brush painting some test parts (it works great by the way). But tbh, I rather spray paint for big parts and do hand brush for detailing. Handbrushing just consume lots of PATIENCE.
amosai
post Apr 6 2015, 08:41 PM

22 posts

My bad, I've misunderstood your post. Well, again it's a matter of preference.

It's reasonable to assume that paint brush is only for small part because it's almost impossible to air brush small parts detailing. For big parts, due to the efficiency, it's logical that people will choose airbrushing. Hence, paint brush is only used for detailing small parts.

I disregard the efficiency though, pride of work xP.

This post has been edited by amosai: Apr 6 2015, 08:43 PM
Lurker
post Apr 6 2015, 08:53 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

MODELER: ankw22
MODEL TITLE: N/A
MODIFICATION TYPE: chrome painted, custom color scheme
KITS USED: Perfect Grade 1/60 Strike Gundam

chrome PG...
awesomeness!
xein
post Apr 6 2015, 08:59 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Apr 6 2015, 08:53 PM)
MODELER: ankw22
MODEL TITLE: N/A
MODIFICATION TYPE: chrome painted, custom color scheme
KITS USED: Perfect Grade 1/60 Strike Gundam
chrome PG...
awesomeness!
Chrome painted? How?
TSnazrul90
post Apr 6 2015, 10:51 PM

302 posts

how thats arguable? how to paint 1/100 figure pilot with spray can and airbrush?
if you can control the paint brush stroke on big part easily, its gonna be great
but thats wasting lots of retarder, thus not recommend way to painting whole part

not that I'm saying I dont appreciate hand painted works
but I pretty sure most of us here dont have much time with gunpla, even with straight build
let alone the time used on painting, hand painting take lots of time and patience to do it, something that even I and you cant archive
but some people willing to do it, then its up to them,

this is my latest work
1/700 plane, hand painted and took like hours to get somewhat good

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Apr 6 2015, 11:01 PM
TSnazrul90
post Apr 6 2015, 10:59 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(amosai @ Apr 6 2015, 06:22 PM)
@nazrul, YES, I would do that some day! It's a waste of time and money like you said but then again, I would be proud of my masterpiece when I do xD.
well, some of us here like to custom mod their gunpla
and other may think its a waste time or money to do so,

I dont think I gonna get hurts by that, after all it is a hobby; so its natural to spend more time or money on hobby right?
so if my word somehow may get some misunderstanding please ignore it

TSnazrul90
post Apr 7 2015, 12:41 AM

302 posts

Super Fumina in planning

https://twitter.com/figsoku/status/585051608804827136
mf_yamato
post Apr 7 2015, 07:41 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Apr 6 2015, 08:59 PM)
Chrome painted? How?
mostly an electroplating...
they have service of small item over there...
but not cheap.. hahaha
xein
post Apr 7 2015, 07:59 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Apr 7 2015, 07:41 AM)
mostly an electroplating...
they have service of small item over there...
but not cheap.. hahaha
And here I thought there's a cheaper and easily available alternative. Hahaha.
mf_yamato
post Apr 7 2015, 08:25 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Apr 7 2015, 07:59 AM)
And here I thought there's a cheaper and easily available alternative. Hahaha.
haha coz chroming use real silver with chemical reaction... hence the price....
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Shiniz
post Apr 7 2015, 09:15 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Apr 7 2015, 12:41 AM)
yohohohohoho

AGP project eh?
naith
post Apr 7 2015, 10:19 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Apr 7 2015, 08:25 AM)
haha coz chroming use real silver with chemical reaction... hence the price....
tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
I thought Alclad can achieve that effect as well?
SUSadvocado
post Apr 7 2015, 01:00 PM

2,948 posts

you waste so much paint when airbrushing.

for handpainting you need to sand them more to get rid of brush marks.

QUOTE(amosai @ Apr 6 2015, 06:22 PM)
You can, but it'll take a lot of effort and money like nazrul said. It really depends on the person's preference, skill and how many hours he is willing to spend on it. I've tried brush painting since last year till now, I am barely covering up the stroke lines LOL but it's a sense of pride when I do.

I think you learn different things while you do full brush paint and airbrush painting. But efficiency (whether materials or time) wise, I think airbrush wins any day.

SUSadvocado
post Apr 7 2015, 01:06 PM

2,948 posts

use bigger brush? and make sure your paint is mixed with right proportion. too thin you end up wiping the paint everytime u brush on leaving uncovered areas, too thick the paint won't stick also, with right mixture the strokes will go away when the paint fuse together, but still need to sand off uneven paints.

anyone used those wall painting rollers? i wonder if it will give out Cast Metal effect?

QUOTE(cacin @ Apr 6 2015, 04:22 PM)
how do you use paint brush to paint large pieces? wouldn't it leave brush strokes?
This post has been edited by advocado: Apr 7 2015, 01:06 PM
mf_yamato
post Apr 7 2015, 03:52 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Apr 7 2015, 10:19 AM)
I thought Alclad can achieve that effect as well?
yess you can too...
forgot bout alclad since it was hard to get here.. hahaha tongue.gif tongue.gif

u undercoat must be GLOSS BLACK, and chrome alclad must be sprayed mist a few layer...
works best on low pressure...

Lurker
post Apr 7 2015, 09:00 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

haihh.. seems like BTS still out of stocks for cement, guess i need to order online liao
HxiiiK
post Apr 7 2015, 09:16 PM

well, this one seems like it's not show accurate.. Bandai, i'm disappointed whistling.gif

xein
post Apr 7 2015, 09:29 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Apr 7 2015, 09:16 PM)
well, this one seems like it's not show accurate.. Bandai, i'm disappointed whistling.gif

126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:15 AM