> Military Thread V16

HangPC2
post Apr 20 2015, 05:27 PM

408 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Apr 20 2015, 05:26 PM)
Japanese Air-Self Defense Force (JASDF) induct new type into service...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

PATLABOR
waja2000
post Apr 20 2015, 05:33 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(HangPC2 @ Apr 20 2015, 05:27 PM)
PATLABOR
you got watch this Movie/drama ....?

This post has been edited by waja2000: Apr 20 2015, 05:35 PM
bai1101
post Apr 20 2015, 05:44 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Apr 20 2015, 05:33 PM)

Got watch few EP

The CGI really powerful not power ranger version.
BorneoAlliance
post Apr 20 2015, 07:06 PM

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Apr 20 2015, 09:40 AM)
Are you trying to show the news or are you trying to sell the house? You agent or what?
Hehehe biggrin.gif
LTZ
post Apr 20 2015, 07:12 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Apr 20 2015, 05:33 PM)

Pakai revolver je
ayanami_tard
post Apr 20 2015, 07:15 PM

40 posts

since when we have 54 astross?

QUOTE(yinchet @ Apr 20 2015, 05:24 PM)
I have already said it was light frigates to begin with.
so dun expect much of its.
so what up with all the aster 30 vls lah, RAM CIW lah, et cetera?
BorneoAlliance
post Apr 20 2015, 07:23 PM

Changsha research team develops brain-controlled robot

Researchers from National University of Defense Technology test the brain-controlled robot. (Photo/CCTV)

A Chinese research team has developed a robot whose movements can be controlled by the human brain, reports the Chinese-language Changsha Evening News.

The award-winning team of researchers at the National University of Defense Technology in Changsha, the capital of south-central China's Hunan province, recently tested the self-made brain-controlled robot, which was able to move forward and backwards and make flexible turns with its body through brainwaves sent from an electrode cap worn by the controller.

According to Jiang Jun, a doctoral student on the team, the cap strengthens weak brainwaves before sending them back to their computers, which effectively reads the mind of the controller from the brainwave signals.

"The computer will turn human thoughts into control instructions and send them back to the robot through wireless facility so that we can control it to finish the movements, including moving forward and turning left and right," he said.

The experiment has been compared to the technology in the 2009 film Avatar, in which a paraplegic marine was able to control an alien avatar body with his brain.

It is hoped that the breakthrough will eventually allow people to drive cars without using their hands and for handicapped people to control their wheelchairs with just their minds. It could also make daily life more convenient by enabling people to open doors and operate kitchen appliances without physical interaction.

"We have combined human and cars through a brain-machine interface. On the one hand, we want to develop the preciseness of computer driving. On the other, we want to include human intelligence," said Liu Yadong, an associate professor at the university, who added that brain-controlled weapons and vehicles could one day be used in war.

China will continue to explore the power of the brain in the future after the "China Brain Project" received approval from the State Council. The project's three main aims are to learn how to better understand, protect and simulate the brain.

http://www.wantchinatimes.com/news-subclas...000025&cid=1101

This post has been edited by BorneoAlliance: Apr 20 2015, 07:24 PM
BorneoAlliance
post Apr 20 2015, 07:35 PM

Asia needs new military balance, says top Indonesia general

As the region becomes increasingly concerned over China's rapid expansion in the South China Sea, Moeldoko said on Monday that Asia needs "a new balance."

"There are significant changes in the stable and calm conditions that existed in the region a decade ago," he added.

As a result of heightening tensions in the region, Indonesia plans to upgrade its military forces in Natuna and Tanjung Datu, areas near China's claims in South China Sea.

The potentially energy-rich areas are at the center of ongoing disputes between China and the Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia, Brunei and Taiwan. China denies, however, that its actions in its own territory are provocative.

Moeldoko, who retires as military commander in July, wants to bring together the US, Japan, China and Southeast Asian nations at a regional defense summit next year in the hopes of easing tensions.

Anti-'Islamic State'

Speaking from Indonesia's military headquarters on Monday, Moeldoko also announced that Indonesia's military has launched its first counter-terrorism operation since the Jakarta hotel bombings. The offence will focus on the eastern island of Sulawesi in a bid to track down suspected 'Islamic State' (IS) militants.

"We have one battalion now stationed there to observe and understand the terrain," Moeldoko said, adding that the operation would last for six months.

Economic enticement

The region's geopolitical tensions were also a key theme at Asia's edition of the World Economic Forum in Indonesia on Monday. Some 700 business chiefs and government leaders were due to descend upon the event, known as "Asia's Davos." President Joko Widodo hopes to use the forum to lure investors and show his commitment to reform.

Indonesia has enjoyed strong growth in recent years, driven by demand for its natural resources, foreign investment and a fast-emerging middle class. But there are fears that tensions in the South China sea could undermine the hard-won economic gains.

Indonesia is currently 114th in the World Bank's latest rankings on the ease of doing business, out of 189 countries.

http://www.dw.de/asia-needs-new-military-b...eral/a-18393332
BorneoAlliance
post Apr 20 2015, 07:40 PM

Philippines Starts South China Sea War Games With U.S.

More than 11,000 soldiers from the Philippines, U.S. and Australia will take part in joint drills in the South China Sea, as the Philippines’ military chief called China’s building work on disputed reefs “worrisome” and a source of friction with its neighbors.

The reclamation “will cause tensions among claimant countries not only because it could deter freedom of navigation but also due to its possible military purposes,” General Gregorio Pio Catapang told reporters in Manila on Monday. China must “stop the reclamation activities and be mindful of its responsibilities as a claimant state and an important member of the international community.”

The comments come as 11,600 Filipino, U.S. and Australian soldiers -- twice as many as last year -- are set to join the war games off Palawan province near contested South China Sea islands. Disputes over the sea, of which China claims about four-fifths under a so-called nine-dash line drawn on a 1940s map, have escalated as China expands the reach of its military to back its territorial interests.

China’s actions have caused uneasiness for neighbors such as Vietnam and the Philippines who also claim some of the waters. It has also raised concern among countries that use the sea lanes for trade and commerce, Catapang said. “The size of this reclamation is making us wonder what the real intention is,” he said.

‘National Defense’

The military drills, which run until April 30, seek to “improve our interoperability and enhance our national defense capability,” Foreign Affairs Undersecretary Evan Garcia told reporters after the opening of the annual Balikatan -- shoulder-to-shoulder in Filipino -- war games on Monday. “Our armed forces needs to improve its own capacity in order to better serve and protect our country.”

Catapang said the drills are not directed against China. He said a U.S. plan to deploy advanced air force and naval equipment in the Philippines is in the works.

“We will offer them facilities that we can jointly use because of the situation now obtaining in the West Philippine Sea,” Catapang said, referring to the South China Sea.

Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert del Rosario last week said the Philippines is seeking increased support from the U.S. “in terms of being able to take a stronger position.” “The Philippines is saying we should get together and study how we can uphold the rule of law together,” he told ABS-CBN News Channel.

China has often stated its right to carry out construction work in the South China Sea, with recent satellite photos showing images of Chinese dredgers at work at Mischief Reef in the Spratly Islands, a feature also claimed by Vietnam, the Philippines and Taiwan.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...hilippines-says
BorneoAlliance
post Apr 20 2015, 07:44 PM

Taiwan to send P-3C on surveillance missions over South China Sea

Taipei, April 20 (CNA) The Ministry of National Defense (MND) confirmed for the first time Monday that the military will dispatch P-3C submarine-hunting aircraft on surveillance missions to the country's territory in the South China Sea in the future.

In a report to the Legislative Yuan, the MND said the military has already taken delivery of eight U.S.-made P-3Cs, and another four will be delivered by the end of this year.

At present, the aircraft are mainly engaged in anti-submarine reconnaissance and joint surveillance in Taiwan's surrounding waters and air defense identification zone (ADIZ), the MND said.

The military will gradually expand the deployment of the P-3Cs to areas outside the ADIZ, which include Taiwan's southeastern waters as well as the Pratas Islands and the Spratly Islands in the South China Sea, the ministry said.

Taiwan currently occupies Taiping, the largest island in the Spratly Islands, as well as Dongsha in the Pratas Islands.

In 2007, the U.S. government approved the sale of the 12 P-3Cs with T-56 turboprop engines and related equipment and services, a package that cost an estimated US$1.96 billion.

The P-3Cs, said to be the most capable of Lockheed's P-3 sub-hunters, are replacing the Air Force's fleet of 11 S-2T anti-submarine aircraft that had been in service for more than 40 years.

http://focustaiwan.tw/news/aipl/201504200010.aspx
MilitaryMadness
post Apr 20 2015, 07:49 PM

1,302 posts

First batch of Saudi-sponsored $3 Billion USD in French military equipment arrive in Lebanon

Lebanon has received its first shipment of $3 billion USD worth of Saudi-sponsored weaponry from France in a ceremony marking the delivery of the arms at the airport in the nation’s capital of Beirut.

The ceremony on Monday was attended by Lebanese Defense Minister Samir Moqbel and his French counterpart Jean-Yves Le Drian, Lebanese Army Commander Jean Kahwagi and Saudi Arabia’s Ambassador to Lebanon Ali Awad Asiri as well as many other officials, the Lebanon-based news outlet Daily Star reported.

According to the report, a senior Lebanese military official said the first weapons shipment would mostly include anti-tank guided missiles.

“The delivery of the anti-tank missiles shows that the [Saudi-French military] agreement is on the right track. More arms and equipment will be shipped later to the Lebanese Army,” the unnamed official added as quoted in the report.

Meanwhile, press reports from the French capital of Paris said that France is additionally expected to deliver to Lebanon 250 combat and transport vehicles, seven Cougar helicopters, three small corvette warships and a range of surveillance and communications equipment over four years as part of the $3 billion modernization program.

The arms deal further includes seven years of training for the 70,000-strong Lebanese Army and 10 years of equipment maintenance, the report adds.

Saudi Arabia is keen to reinvigorate and strengthen the Lebanese military as the sole national armed force and at the same undermine the Hezbollah Shiite militant groups', and by extension, Iranian influence in the Lebanese state.
BorneoAlliance
post Apr 20 2015, 07:53 PM

U.S. military hopes violent video games can serve as teaching tool

“I’ve got to find something that’s going to prepare my Marines for something that many of them probably haven’t done before, and that we can’t really reproduce that they are going to feel in combat in training,” said Col. Kurt Sanger, a judge advocate and law instructor in the U.S. Marine Corps. “That’s why I think adding technology and video games and virtual reality is such a valuable tool the Department of Defense can now count on, because it can get closer to reality.”

Col. Sanger was on a panel of speakers who met this month to discuss how video games could be redesigned to address issues like the Law of Armed Conflict and the standards of international humanitarian law at the the American Society of International Law’s annual meeting in Washington.

With video and computer games now a $45 billion-plus global industry, and with a huge number of gamers among the young, members of the panel argued that video games can be a serious business — for good or ill.

Read more: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2015/a.../#ixzz3Xqjppsz7
Follow us: @washtimes on Twitter

This post has been edited by BorneoAlliance: Apr 20 2015, 07:57 PM
BorneoAlliance
post Apr 20 2015, 08:03 PM

The U.S. Air Force is determined to junk half its best jammers

The U.S. Air Force is winnowing down its fleet of EC-130H Compass Call electronic attack planes.

The 15 high-tech jammers belong to the 55th Electronic Combat Group at Davis-Monthan Air Force Base in Arizona. But if the flying branch has its way, it will retire seven at the turn of the fiscal year in October, according to the Pentagon's budget request.

They're few in number, but highly important planes. These are same EC-130Hs that twice shut down Saddam Hussein's air defenses, and helped American pilots and troops return home alive from the conflicts in Kosovo, Haiti, Panama, Serbia and more recently Libya, Afghanistan, Iraq, and Syria.

Compass Calls are heavily-modified C-130s that carry advanced jammers and counter-radar equipment to shut down just about any wavelength on the electromagnetic spectrum.

This allows U.S. warplanes to penetrate sophisticated air-defense systems and avoid detection by early warning radars. The EC-130H can even take down enemy command-and-control networks.

http://theweek.com/articles/548683/air-for...lf-best-jammers
TSyinchet
post Apr 20 2015, 08:11 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Apr 20 2015, 07:15 PM)
since when we have 54 astross?
so what up with all the aster 30 vls lah, RAM CIW lah, et cetera?
Given the price tag I think it would be reasonable with proper ciws not those kesian ds30.
besides who said light frigates cannot have ciws? At least get millennium ciws though it would be best we go for searams.
I do prefer we go for essm but dun think we can afford it given the maximum of USD2.8bil on the sgpv budget.
ayanami_tard
post Apr 20 2015, 08:32 PM

40 posts

when in doubt, buy another 18

thpace
post Apr 20 2015, 08:38 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Apr 20 2015, 08:11 PM)
Given the price tag I think it would be reasonable with proper ciws not those kesian ds30.
besides who said light frigates cannot have ciws? At least get millennium ciws though it would be best we go for searams.
I do prefer we go for essm but dun think we can afford it given the maximum of USD2.8bil on the sgpv budget.
tu lah...

even put a phalanx ciws would good enough, the rain of 20mm lead will scare the attackers more than the kesian ds30

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Apr 20 2015, 08:32 PM)
when in doubt, buy another 18

why not get 18 Self-propelled howitzer rolleyes.gif
azriel
post Apr 20 2015, 08:41 PM

QUOTE(LTZ @ Apr 19 2015, 08:30 PM)
Some TLDM pilots sent to familiarize with seahawk.
Looks like Malaysia & Indonesia are interested with the same helicopter. According to this article the Indonesian Navy is interested with the MH-60R "Romeo".

FRCSE hosts Indonesian military for familiarization visit.

Photos by Kaylee LaRocque
HSM-74 pilots and maintenance personnel gather near an MH-60R "Romeo" helicopter with a group of Indonesian naval officers visiting the squadron on Nov. 3. The guests toured several facilities at NAS Jacksonville including the Center for Naval Aviation Technical Training Unit Jax, Fleet Readiness Center Southeast and HSM-74.

http://jacksonville.com/military/jax-air-n...arization-visit
ayanami_tard
post Apr 20 2015, 09:12 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Apr 20 2015, 09:38 PM)
why not get 18 Self-propelled howitzer rolleyes.gif
I don't think the army will satisfied until we have at least 5 regiments (1 regiment: 18 launcher) of them astross II, 2 stationed in east malaysia while 3 stationed in peninsula.

at this rate i think the hueland will even throw blueprint on how to make munitions for our launchers for free. we're one of biggest astross user after all

still, sph juga tidak dilupa

This post has been edited by ayanami_tard: Apr 20 2015, 09:13 PM
thpace
post Apr 20 2015, 10:40 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Apr 20 2015, 09:12 PM)
I don't think the army will satisfied until we have at least 5 regiments (1 regiment: 18 launcher) of them astross II, 2 stationed in east malaysia while 3 stationed in peninsula.

at this rate i think the hueland will even throw blueprint on how to make munitions for our launchers for free. we're one of biggest astross user after all

still, sph juga tidak dilupa

'ceh apa jawapan tu.. macam ada tak ada doh.gif doh.gif

wait a few year get astros 2020 with mtc-300 missile

This post has been edited by thpace: Apr 20 2015, 10:42 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 20 2015, 10:48 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(BorneoAlliance @ Apr 20 2015, 07:35 PM)
Asia needs new military balance, says top Indonesia general

As the region becomes increasingly concerned over China's rapid expansion in the South China Sea, Moeldoko said on Monday that Asia needs "a new balance."

"There are significant changes in the stable and calm conditions that existed in the region a decade ago," he added.

As a result of heightening tensions in the region, Indonesia plans to upgrade its military forces in Natuna and Tanjung Datu, areas near China's claims in South China Sea.

The potentially energy-rich areas are at the center of ongoing disputes between China and the Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia, Brunei and Taiwan. China denies, however, that its actions in its own territory are provocative.

Moeldoko, who retires as military commander in July, wants to bring together the US, Japan, China and Southeast Asian nations at a regional defense summit next year in the hopes of easing tensions.

Anti-'Islamic State'

Speaking from Indonesia's military headquarters on Monday, Moeldoko also announced that Indonesia's military has launched its first counter-terrorism operation since the Jakarta hotel bombings. The offence will focus on the eastern island of Sulawesi in a bid to track down suspected 'Islamic State' (IS) militants.

"We have one battalion now stationed there to observe and understand the terrain," Moeldoko said, adding that the operation would last for six months.

Economic enticement

The region's geopolitical tensions were also a key theme at Asia's edition of the World Economic Forum in Indonesia on Monday. Some 700 business chiefs and government leaders were due to descend upon the event, known as "Asia's Davos." President Joko Widodo hopes to use the forum to lure investors and show his commitment to reform.

Indonesia has enjoyed strong growth in recent years, driven by demand for its natural resources, foreign investment and a fast-emerging middle class. But there are fears that tensions in the South China sea could undermine the hard-won economic gains.

Indonesia is currently 114th in the World Bank's latest rankings on the ease of doing business, out of 189 countries.

http://www.dw.de/asia-needs-new-military-b...eral/a-18393332
corrupt bugger... under pockets of cia

121 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0230sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:58 PM