The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

horns
post Oct 26 2016, 01:22 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Oct 25 2016, 10:52 PM)
Not true. Harddisks now have automatic head parking technology for at least a decade and therefore will probably have less issues with power failures compared to ssds. Consumer SSDs without power loss protection are more susceptible to extreme data loss/corruption during power failures unlike harddisks unless the user has a UPS.

Yes i am aware of the automatic head parking in hdd. Imo that tech alone just help minimize risks, but still not enough to resolve anything else which cause failures due to the mechanical nature of a hdd. Again, the comparison between ssd and hdd is relative, not absolute. Both are susceptible imo.

Most consumer ssds in retail market are without power loss protection. The real question is: how many of us actually had issues due to sudden power loss because of this missing feature? If it's that susceptible like you described, i think it will become a common issue by now, and no one will really wanna spend much on ssd to get into troubles later on.

As for tlc nand, imo as long as you're using it within their limits, they will work well. If you wanna do heavy stuff, choose something with good mlc. Also, 960 evo has bad ass speeds. It uses tlc.

Performance degradation will always happen with time. For ssd, it's about what it can still achieve when it's in the steady state. Tlc will definitely not be as good as mlc, but it's not really that bad also. I still use 840 evo in one of my laptops. From time to time i run filebench just out of curiosity. The speeds are still 450+MB/s after about 3 years of usage. Yes i don't have experience about drives other than samsung tlc drives, so i could be very wrong when you talk about tlc models from other brands.

QUOTE(imbibug @ Oct 25 2016, 11:00 PM)
The S900 isn't a plextor just because it just happened to use the same components at the time of the review. The Liteon model could switch to cheaper nand depending on market prices for memory unlike Plextor which is a more premium brand and probably have higher quality specs.
S900 is a rebrand of plextor m6s. Component wise they are the same (controller, toshiba mlc nand, etc.) Actually what happened to liteon s900 was similar to reports about plextor m6s. What went wrong? No one had the answers unfortunately.

It's kind of disappointing to learn that things didn't work well post-m5 (my plextor m5pro and m5m are still good in my old laptops)
horns
post Oct 29 2016, 01:15 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(flexus90 @ Oct 27 2016, 06:32 PM)
There are a lot power supply calculator out there but how about SSD endurance calculator? Well Intel had one.

http://bit.ly/intel-ssd-calculator

This calculator can predict/endurance the endurance of SSD at a given workload.
nice; it's about endurance ratings of intel's enterprise ssds.

.. and now i know my old s3700 400gb might live a longer life than my future builds.
horns
post Oct 31 2016, 06:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 30 2016, 09:29 PM)
whelp, i gave in and got the cheapest TLC SSD i can find laugh.gif

480GB PNY CS1311, purely as game drive and stuff

lets see how it holds up in years
nice man smile.gif

i'm still waiting; hopefully they will land here very soon.

off-topic: these days we have to wait more patiently than ever. i first thought of getting stuff from evga a few days ago, then there was this news about their gpus had vrm issues due to lack of thermal pads in those areas. they do have mid plate that covers the vrm, but i read that they didn't put thermal pads between those chips and the plate? wow.

for those who wanna mod their gpu with nzxt g10 and aio water coolers (gpu core temp is always under 50c with loads; i did this with my gtx 980ti), make sure your gpu has a metal mid plate to help dissipate heats from memory and vrm chips (or you can also buy third party heat sinks, and put them on top of the chips) not all manufacturers put mid plate to cover these parts (due to stock cooler designs) (eg. asus strix 980/1080; well, many don't have mid plate)

some will tell you it's ok without additional heat spreaders, because the chips can withstand high temperatures like 125c. while it's true in general, don't listen to them.
horns
post Oct 31 2016, 10:25 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 31 2016, 08:34 PM)
Definitely agree with your statement on waiting for electronics / gadgets to "stabilise" or work out their "bugs" first.

I was an early adopter for Samsung Note 7 because of its explosive tendency. I had to return to Malaysia twice to change this phone. I will be changing to Samsung S7 Edge and will just leave it as that.

Hopefully, VRM issues will not plague my Zotac GTX1080 AMP Extreme edition.
yes it's really become a risk to adopt early now. luckily recent cases were still ok; at least manufacturers admitted product faults and keep their promises. what i dislike most is manufacturers spitting out excuses and not to honor their part of bargains.

i think your zotac model should be fine because of its large cooler and fans. i'm considering the same model if i wanna use air.
horns
post Nov 1 2016, 01:47 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 31 2016, 11:18 PM)
Just curious to know why are you having one main rig and the another gaming rig? Both specs are very much more than enough for gaming.

This is my 2nd Zotac GPU, I think my first Zotac GPU was Geforce Ti4600 which was many many years ago.

My Samsung Note 7 (after recalled) is now downloading an update which will limit the battery to 60% again. Hopefully, I can still tweak it to be 80%.
those were results of bad plannings and brainless purchases :/

wow zotac is not bad eh? i should check it out later.

well hopefully everything will be fine for you after this. to me i think manufacturing these days are too fast-paced; their deadlines to reach markets are damn short. i'm not sure if this affects qc in general. sometimes i also wonder why they can build and distribute goods so fast, yet almost all of them fail to do a good rma hehehe

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 31 2016, 11:22 PM)
Performance consistency wise, im abit disappointed thou. I cant sustain top writes speed compared to my Intel 530, its like a roller coaster. Only good thing its still faster than HDD, though my WD Red can output constant 120MB/s sweat.gif

The VRMs are partially cooled if you see from diassembly of said culprits. EVGA puts thermal pads on the VRMs but not on the chokes. Althou those parts are designed for max 125C, silicon lottery comes into play and it could be lower even for high grade parts

EVGA also shot themselves in the feet by not employing heatsinks to contact on any of the VRMs directly as opposed to Asus and Giga's version
well, as long as it's faster than hdd. intel 530 is not a bad drive compared to many new ssds within same range today. it's just that we had better options at the time of purchase only.

yes, the point of having a mid plate is to cool parts that get heated quickly. thermal pads must be in place to make sure proper contacts are maintained between the plate and components to be cooled.

oh they're chokes? from thermal images, they labelled the hottest areas as vrm. all in all, i just hope experienced manufacturers like them can build things without taking away basic stuff like thermal pads and heat sinks.

sources:
http://www.tomshardware.de/nvidia-geforce-...e-242137-2.html
https://nl.hardware.info/nieuws/49734/overv...biedt-oplossing
horns
post Nov 1 2016, 02:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 1 2016, 01:52 AM)
i think theyre just simplifying it for the sake of convenience

people keep saying the chokes dont need cooling at all, but im not sure

but EVGA is currently offering current users free thermal pads from them if they asked.. so...
yes now i agree about simplifying stuff for convenience hehe (if you asked me to point out which chip is what, i honestly cannot tell hahaha!)

imo evga did it right; however if they did it right during production, there is no such fuss now. cost cutting is a good practice in business, just don't cut the wrong one because doing so will have side effects.
horns
post Nov 1 2016, 03:31 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 1 2016, 02:52 AM)
not everyone is taking kindly to that measure though, most prefer EVGA to offer refunds or replacements with thermal pads, properly fitted this time sweat.gif cant blame them though, and expensive toy getting smoke aint cool
yeah exactly, especially they pay good money for these gpus.
horns
post Nov 2 2016, 03:53 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sonixmedia @ Nov 1 2016, 01:46 PM)
Guys, need some advice. I am thinking to replace my still working 3+ years Crucial M4 128GB Boot Drive with Samsung 750 EVO 250GB Drive. What I wanted to know.
1) Will there be much speed difference?
2) Since M4 still working should I just wait for another year or so for SSD price to drop down more?

Any advice is much appreciate. Thank you.
1. speed wise, maybe it's not noticeable to you (because this is depending on your usage), even though samsung 750evo should be faster than crucial m4 in many areas;
2. if it's still working fine, its speed is still ok for you, and you don't need larger capacities than 128gb, then it's ok to wait.

horns
post Nov 2 2016, 06:43 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sonixmedia @ Nov 2 2016, 11:18 AM)
Thank you.. thumbup.gif yup I guess i'll be wait a bit more... I read somewhere that 2017 SSD price will drop more... hmm.gif and get the 500GB instead.
ok haha

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 2 2016, 03:02 PM)
due to ringgit inflation. we are hardly notice the difference of price drop.
hopefully the fluctuation will get stable soon. i have some upgrade plans very soon too; can get more stuff if the value of our money is better hahaha!

horns
post Nov 7 2016, 11:46 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 7 2016, 10:42 AM)
Anybody has any experience with Crucial SSDs? I am planning to get their 1TB SSD which is going for around RM1,000 over here.

Also, does anybody have any experience with Patriot's NVME M.2 Sata  SSD? It is also going for slightly more than RM1,200 for 500gb version? I am also considering this.
i have 2x crucial m500 960gb in a laptop, mainly for storage purposes (op at 25%). in terms of performance it's good for my usage; so far i haven't faced any problems with them after 3++ years of usage. myr1k is cheap; when i got mine it's like 1.8k each.

er there is no sata ssd with nvme support. most nvme implementations are using pcie.

horns
post Nov 7 2016, 06:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 7 2016, 02:49 PM)
Yeah, you are right.

I am considering Patriot Hellfire M.2 NVMe SSD as it slightly cheaper than the Samsung 950 Pro. What are your thoughts on this?

I am going thru some reviews at the moment.
from my previous review readings about patriot hellfire, for common user workloads it should be the better option (it was said to priced cheaper than competitions). honestly, any pcie x4 nvme ssd will run at jaw-dropping speed compared to sata-based options. (os bootup, running applications and games should be relatively faster)

however for work purposes, i still pick samsung and intel.
horns
post Nov 7 2016, 10:32 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 7 2016, 06:43 PM)
Is it due to reliability that you pick Samsung and Intel for work purpose?

I am very tempted to buy soon.

I want to put some of the AAA games I have into SSD to have that almost zero load time kinda of feeling.
yes, mainly because of that. for casual/personal use on the other hand anything goes hehe

yeah the feeling is not bad tbh lol

horns
post Nov 20 2016, 09:23 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 19 2016, 02:02 PM)

yeah that's why for game libraries i still rather use larger capacity sata ssds smile.gif
horns
post Nov 20 2016, 10:56 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 20 2016, 10:06 AM)
Cube shape SSD all the way laugh.gif rclxms.gif
haha

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 20 2016, 10:20 AM)
I am contemplating to either get the Samsung 950 pro or wait for the Samsung 960 Evo either end of this year or next year.
if you don't need anything immediately, it's better to wait.
horns
post Nov 21 2016, 12:18 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 20 2016, 11:15 AM)
Yeah, I totally agree with you on this.

I will still stick with my current SSD (ie. Samsung 840 Evo)
840evo is still decent. (in general anything mainstream that is younger than samsung 830 should work fine for many years to come) it can still be used as dedicated application drive, or an external storage (with an usb type-c enclosure)

horns
post Nov 21 2016, 12:05 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 21 2016, 10:45 AM)
Yeah, it is.

I plan to get the 1TB 850 Evo normal SATA version for my AAA games sometime this month.

I will hold off the other 900 series until 960 Pro / Evo is out.
Nice; I have some 850evo 250gb m.2 for laptops. I have no complaint so far smile.gif
horns
post Nov 21 2016, 06:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 21 2016, 12:33 PM)
Do you have any of the 850 pros edition?

If so, how much "better" is the pro edition. Based on specifications, looks about the same with Evo.

Although I don't think I will get the pro edition, I am interested to know.
yes i have samsung 850pro 512gb; the relative differences are consistent speed when transferring large files in 850pro without rapid mode, and its 10-year warranty hehe (for its relatively better endurance).

other than that they are about the same for normal usage.

edit:

Samsung NVMe Driver 2.0

http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minis...load/tools.html

.. and they must be in a hurry until skipping qc for proof-reading:

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 21 2016, 08:21 PM
horns
post Nov 21 2016, 11:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 21 2016, 08:47 PM)
LOL.

Name also spelled wrongly.

I think I will stick with Evo as I think 5 years warranty is plenty. In 5 years time, we will probably have like affordable 10TB SSD, hopefully.
hehe yeah let's hope for those super large capacity ssd. by then, i guess most of us are running full-ssd computer setups biggrin.gif
horns
post Nov 22 2016, 03:57 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 22 2016, 07:57 AM)
I definitely look forward to having full SSD setup.

I find my current SSDs in a few setups generally more durable than my HDD. Mostly at least 10% to 20% of the HDD I bought have to go thru RMA process.

None of my SSDs need RMA to date. I believe it will stay that way.
For the relative comparisons between hdd and ssd, it really depends on which areas you are looking at.

I still think hdd is a better choice for long term storage (large and cheap; that means you can do multiple backups with different physical disks). On the other hand, you can carry ssd around without worrying about data loss even if you drop it hehe (depending on how you define durable)

For my personal use i mostly use wd.green (mainly for storage and archiving only; multiple copies). For my usage with hdd, which is light, it's ok eventhough green is one of the slowest. I do apply ram cache for those i access frequently. For downloads i use wd.black. The rest is in ssd.
horns
post Nov 22 2016, 04:01 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 22 2016, 03:22 PM)
2018 will be the day HDD is dead and everyone running full capacity SSD laugh.gif laugh.gif
Haha hopefully. Hdd is slow for today's personal computing. However it's still good for data storage smile.gif

37 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0641sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:16 PM