The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

NightFelix
post Aug 2 2015, 12:28 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Aug 1 2015, 11:15 PM)
got around RM 300 for ssd. what's the best bang for buck 128 ssd gb right now?

is lite on s900 good? or should i just go for evo 850?
I would top up to get 256GB of Liteon 900S because the read/write speed is faster than 128GB Liteon 900S. RM380++ iinm.
sixshot
post Aug 2 2015, 10:02 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 2 2015, 12:28 AM)
I would top up to get 256GB of Liteon 900S because the read/write speed is faster than 128GB Liteon 900S. RM380++ iinm.
can we actually feel the difference between having 200+ read/write compared to 500+ read/write in real life?

what about the samsung oem ssd, pm871 256gb? any good? i tried google, not much info on his ssd.
skylinelover
post Aug 2 2015, 11:00 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jul 26 2015, 02:03 AM)
I have a Plextor M6 PRO 512GB SSD used for around 6 months old. PM me if you're interested but sorry, no cheap price; only reasonable price biggrin.gif
haha ok...i let you know when i interested...now need money 2 feed myself more than buying big chunks of shining new hardware every month LOLZ doh.gif
NightFelix
post Aug 2 2015, 12:58 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Aug 2 2015, 10:02 AM)
can we actually feel the difference between  having 200+ read/write compared to 500+ read/write in real life?

what about the samsung oem ssd, pm871 256gb? any good? i tried google, not much info on his ssd.
The moments when you try to do heavy work, you will thanks to the fast read/write. Unless you are just casual surf, word sheeting, watch movie.. Also you don't use USB 3.0 port at all. laugh.gif
NubPro
post Aug 2 2015, 01:15 PM

397 posts

I have noticed that my HDD's speed degraded exponentially.
It took 3 mins to boot up and to load all the programs and files.

What if I were to install a new SSD but to continue using the same drive as a storage drive, do you think i can still benefit from the speed after formatting the drive?
KoYuKii
post Aug 2 2015, 02:01 PM

1,979 posts

any1 updated to windows10 ? do u tweak or optimized your SSD ?
horns
post Aug 2 2015, 02:07 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Aug 2 2015, 01:15 PM)

What if I were to install a new SSD but to continue using the same drive as a storage drive, do you think i can still benefit from the speed after formatting the drive?
that's how ssd is used, i.e. as boot drive. hdd as storage drive will not post a lot of performance impact to your system.

hdd is relatively slow as boot drive, compared to ssd. it's physical so optimizations will not gain anything better.

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Aug 2 2015, 02:01 PM)
any1 updated to windows10 ?  do u tweak or optimized your SSD ?
the optimization should be the same. i did that too.
clawhammer
post Aug 2 2015, 03:30 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 2 2015, 11:00 AM)
haha ok...i let you know when i interested...now need money 2 feed myself more than buying big chunks of shining new hardware every month LOLZ doh.gif
No problem boss, sold all anyway biggrin.gif
elliot_WD
post Aug 4 2015, 09:27 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Aug 2 2015, 01:15 PM)

OS will only boot up faster with a solid-state drive. If you perform any operating system related task that needs to retrieve data from the drive, it will be much faster rather than the HDD. That being said, if you only care about loading subsequent programs (or logistically prefer keeping your OS separate), you can easily keep the SSD as a secondary drive, only using it for certain programs/tasks.

The whole point of a solid-state drive is to decrease application loading times. This is more due to the lower seek time rather than the faster transfer rate, which makes it more like RAM. In fact, some users would be better off getting more RAM than a solid-state drive - but that always depends on your needs.

The main storage device (SSD or HDD) is always the bottleneck of any computer system. While SSDs help to alleviate this bottleneck, new ones are still only ~1/40th the speed of RAM. For example, some memory bandwidth in newer computers has reached over 20,000 MB/s versus some new SSDs which top out at just over 500 MB/s.

You can also use it for the increased sustained transfer speed, but that only applies if you deal with very large file transfers with, for example, video encoding.

For the fastest experience with your computer, install your OS on the solid-state drive, but do remember to make frequent backups.

Hope you find this information useful. icon_rolleyes.gif
NightFelix
post Aug 4 2015, 09:57 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Hey guys, I suppose to ask at "Technical Section" for sifu help, but instead of it, I check with you guys first. sweat.gif

In short, I want to test my Laptop whether capable to run Windows 10 smoothly or not, then later decided to wipe it and upgrade from existing Windows 8.1. So now after I wipe my partition (that contain Win10) that I split from my C drive (Is a SSD), and now I no longer able to boot my existing Win8.1, did I just done something wrong here? sweat.gif

SSD:
C: Win8.1
D: Win10 (after wipe this, I can't boot back to Win8.1) doh.gif

HDD (Caddy):
E: Win8.1 OEM (Now I boot back into this using caddy)

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Aug 4 2015, 09:59 AM
horns
post Aug 4 2015, 11:11 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(elliot_WD @ Aug 4 2015, 09:27 AM)
OS will only boot up faster with a solid-state drive. If you perform any operating system related task that needs to retrieve data from the drive, it will be much faster rather than the HDD. That being said, if you only care about loading subsequent programs (or logistically prefer keeping your OS separate), you can easily keep the SSD as a secondary drive, only using it for certain programs/tasks.

The whole point of a solid-state drive is to decrease application loading times. This is more due to the lower seek time rather than the faster transfer rate, which makes it more like RAM. In fact, some users would be better off getting more RAM than a solid-state drive - but that always depends on your needs.

The main storage device (SSD or HDD) is always the bottleneck of any computer system. While SSDs help to alleviate this bottleneck, new ones are still only ~1/40th the speed of RAM. For example, some memory bandwidth in newer computers has reached over 20,000 MB/s versus some new SSDs which top out at just over 500 MB/s.

You can also use it for the increased sustained transfer speed, but that only applies if you deal with very large file transfers with, for example, video encoding.

For the fastest experience with your computer, install your OS on the solid-state drive, but do remember to make frequent backups.

Hope you find this information useful.  icon_rolleyes.gif
if a system is running without ssd, the first upgrade that they should do is to add one, at least as boot drive, not adding ram. swapping hdd with ssd gets rid of the actual storage bottleneck. adding more ram to such a system doesn't help much. hdd is good for storage, but definitely not good enough as boot drive.

in a computer, ram and storage (ssd, hdd) serve different roles and purposes (temp vs. fixed storage). we don't compare them apple to apple. i personally think 500MB/s is plenty for home computing.

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 4 2015, 09:57 AM)
Hey guys, I suppose to ask at "Technical Section" for sifu help, but instead of it, I check with you guys first. sweat.gif

In short, I want to test my Laptop whether capable to run Windows 10 smoothly or not, then later decided to wipe it and upgrade from existing Windows 8.1. So now after I wipe my partition (that contain Win10) that I split from my C drive (Is a SSD), and now I no longer able to boot my existing Win8.1, did I just done something wrong here? sweat.gif

SSD:
C: Win8.1
D: Win10 (after wipe this, I can't boot back to Win8.1) doh.gif

HDD (Caddy):
E: Win8.1 OEM (Now I boot back into this using caddy)
it sounded like boot manager issues. you can try repair the boot manager entries using windows install media.

there is a manual way to do this (restore boot manager defaults) using bcdboot or bcdedit. this part you will need to do a search at google.
NightFelix
post Aug 4 2015, 03:02 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 4 2015, 11:11 AM)
if a system is running without ssd, the first upgrade that they should do is to add one, at least as boot drive, not adding ram. swapping hdd with ssd gets rid of the actual storage bottleneck. adding more ram to such a system doesn't help much. hdd is good for storage, but definitely not good enough as boot drive.

in a computer, ram and storage (ssd, hdd) serve different roles and purposes (temp vs. fixed storage). we don't compare them apple to apple. i personally think 500MB/s is plenty for home computing.
it sounded like boot manager issues. you can try repair the boot manager entries using windows install media.

there is a manual way to do this (restore boot manager defaults) using bcdboot or bcdedit. this part you will need to do a search at google.
Thanks, will try it out tonight. smile.gif
horns
post Aug 4 2015, 03:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 4 2015, 03:02 PM)
Thanks, will try it out tonight. smile.gif
while i tried to refresh myself about your issues, i came across this little tool that might help you. i never used this before so please read about other most probable fixes also.

http://www.boyans.net/dual-boot-repair-too...8.1-update.html

good luck.
NubPro
post Aug 5 2015, 05:42 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(elliot_WD @ Aug 4 2015, 09:27 AM)

Hope you find this information useful.  icon_rolleyes.gift
Will 200GB suffice my needs?
Consider that I already has maxed up my RAM. (8GB)
My hdd is dramatically slow, whenever its in the use, everything seems to slow down.

Maybe its really time for an upgrade?
NightFelix
post Aug 5 2015, 10:45 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Aug 5 2015, 05:42 AM)
Will 200GB suffice my needs?
Consider that I already has maxed up my RAM. (8GB)
My hdd is dramatically slow, whenever its in the use, everything seems to slow down.

Maybe its really time for an upgrade?
If you tight on budget, buy the Liteon 900S 256GB @ RM380++ not sure got hike price or not lar.

Then, all your important productivity software like ms-office or adobe etc or converter or premier blabla etc goes to your C Drive (SSD). Games all install on D Drive (HDD). (assuming you use caddy)

Turn off paging file if you don't always full load your RAM (some people have 16GB RAM on their lappy), if you do always full load your RAM, then set between max paging file same as your RAM size (eg. 8GB = initial:4096MB - max:8192MB), but I let it be automatic manage since I don't always full load my 8GB RAM, Turn off System Restore (save space), if you skeptical about it, put 1-2%.

Move all your Documents, Music, Video, Downloads, Pictures and Desktop directories to your HDD.

My Setup on my Lenovo Z400T: Core i5 + 8GB RAM + 256GB SSD + 1TB HDD

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Aug 5 2015, 10:52 AM
NubPro
post Aug 5 2015, 03:44 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 5 2015, 10:45 AM)
If you tight on budget, buy the Liteon 900S 256GB @ RM380++ not sure got hike price or not lar.

Then, all your important productivity software like ms-office or adobe etc or converter or premier blabla etc goes to your C Drive (SSD). Games all install on D Drive (HDD). (assuming you use caddy)

Turn off paging file if you don't always full load your RAM (some people have 16GB RAM on their lappy), if you do always full load your RAM, then set between max paging file same as your RAM size (eg. 8GB = initial:4096MB - max:8192MB), but I let it be automatic manage since I don't always full load my 8GB RAM, Turn off System Restore (save space), if you skeptical about it, put 1-2%.

Move all your Documents, Music, Video, Downloads, Pictures and Desktop directories to your HDD.

is this good news? hmm.gif
NubPro
post Aug 5 2015, 03:44 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 5 2015, 10:45 AM)

is this good news? hmm.gif
- JaY -
post Aug 5 2015, 05:14 PM

t(^.^t)
1,031 posts

Judging from past few pages, seems like most ppl are recommending the Liteon S900 256gb? I am actually kinda tempted to try SSD.. Ever since i got my XPS13 with SSD, i felt my desktop is crap sweat.gif eventhough the specs are much better.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Aug 5 2015, 06:21 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Aug 5 2015, 03:44 PM)

is this good news?  hmm.gif
That's acceptable for a conventional hard drive. SSDs boast much better random, i.e. 4K, read/write speeds which is why they are quicker than HDDs.
horns
post Aug 5 2015, 11:38 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Aug 5 2015, 05:14 PM)
Judging from past few pages, seems like most ppl are recommending the Liteon S900 256gb? I am actually kinda tempted to try SSD.. Ever since i got my XPS13 with SSD, i felt my desktop is crap  sweat.gif  eventhough the specs are much better.
do it. a desktop rig is not a crap if its specs are much better than xps 13. take away that obvious hdd bottleneck and you will fall in love with it again hehe

126 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:12 AM