Travel Insurance

Human Nature
post Jun 21 2023, 07:57 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Jun 21 2023, 07:38 PM)
Hi guys, I will be going to Thailand and Japan this September... Any travel insurance company recommend? Annual one will do
Generali

Used to be AXA
RoofTopPrince
post Jun 21 2023, 08:20 PM

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
598 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 21 2023, 07:57 PM)
Generali

Used to be AXA

Their price are reasonable including pandemic coverage.
Human Nature
post Jun 21 2023, 08:39 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Jun 21 2023, 08:20 PM)

Their price are reasonable including pandemic coverage.
Yup, been getting from them all the time.
RoofTopPrince
post Jun 21 2023, 08:47 PM

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
598 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 21 2023, 08:39 PM)
Yup, been getting from them all the time.
Thanks for the recommendation
schoe
post Oct 16 2023, 09:49 PM

679 posts

can we can travel insurance for the impact due to myairlines?

flight ticket only?
how about accomodation ?
hihihehe
post Nov 3 2023, 10:40 AM

13,790 posts

anyone bought travel insurance from grab? the price seems comparable to generali
adele123
post Nov 3 2023, 05:02 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 3 2023, 10:40 AM)
anyone bought  travel insurance from grab? the price seems comparable to generali
Buying via grab means buying via chubb.

You can just compare if there is any price difference, chubb vs generali vs etiqa for example.

Can give you a feeling of what to have at what price. There are not that different usually. Can always check chubb on their own website

peigeng
post Nov 21 2023, 06:59 AM

647 posts

if we bought two seperate ticket from same airline but missed one leg due to flight delay, will travel insyrance pay for our ticket?
Par@dox
post Jan 1 2024, 08:57 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

Am shopping for travel insurance for a 1-month trip to Japan. A couple of observations / advice :-

1) Read the actual policy document. Not just the Product Disclosure Sheet. The coverage conditions / exclusions differ from one insurer to another. For example, RHB's travel insurance only cover trip cancellation due to hospitalization / home damaged. It does not cover trip being cancelled due to natural causes (e.g. earthquakes, floods), which is quite important if you are travelling to a country like Japan. Generali's policy covers natural causes / disasters but trip cancellation cover is an optional add-on.

2) Buy directly from the insurer's website and save 25% of the commission fees. Don't buy from websites like Bjak or other agents (e.g. banks, airlines, etc. as they are just agents for the insurers).

Most likely I will be going with Generali's policy. Even with the add-ons, the pricing is competitive.

This post has been edited by Par@dox: Jan 1 2024, 09:12 PM
Par@dox
post Jan 1 2024, 09:11 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 3 2023, 10:40 AM)
anyone bought  travel insurance from grab? the price seems comparable to generali
Grab is just the agent / distributor. If you are interested in the cover provided by Chubb, should just buy from Chubb directly and save 25% commission fees.
Par@dox
post Jan 1 2024, 10:48 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

After reading several policy wordings, decided to go with P&O Travel Pro instead.

Even with the optional add-ons, Generali's coverage does not pay :-
- Any claim where Insured Person cannot travel or choose not to travel because of an advisory against travel due to Pandemic issued by any authorities of the Malaysian government or the equivalent authorities in the countries to/from which Insured Person is travelling.

Yeah, so basically if there is another travel restriction arising from a pandemic, you are not covered.

P&O's coverage covers this risk and is actually cheaper than Generali.
kopiride
post Jan 1 2024, 11:00 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(Par@dox @ Jan 1 2024, 10:48 PM)
After reading several policy wordings, decided to go with P&O Travel Pro instead.

- Any claim where Insured Person cannot travel or choose not to travel because of an advisory against travel due to Pandemic issued by any authorities of the Malaysian government or the equivalent authorities in the countries to/from which Insured Person is travelling.

Yeah, so basically if there is another travel restriction arising from a pandemic, you are not covered.

What about the amount of coverage for other things besides just this " advisory against travel due to Pandemic"

Is P&O compensation better?
Things like delay x hour, luggage lost/delay. (the hours required and compensation same?)
Par@dox
post Jan 1 2024, 11:26 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Jan 1 2024, 11:00 PM)
What about the amount of coverage for other things besides just this " advisory against travel due to Pandemic"

Is P&O compensation better?
Things like delay x hour, luggage lost/delay. (the hours required and compensation same?)
It varies lar. Have to compare the policy wordings and the benefits / exclusions, and ascertain which benefits are important to you. There will be some benefits that are better, some worse.

For example, RHB actually has a generous coverage of RM6,000 for loss of personal money and travel documents. If you kena pickpocketed / robbed, you can claim back up to RM6,000.. that's a lot compared to most other policies (P&O is between RM700 - RM1,000 depending on plan).

For me, after kena once from my trip being cancelled due to covid, and not knowing when covid / another pandemic will rear its ugly head again or even a natural disaster (especially for Japan), comprehensive trip cancellation coverage is crucial for me.
kucingfight
post Jan 2 2024, 09:52 AM

5,784 posts

have not been updated for some time with comparison amongst insurer. is etiqa still the only one that allows hospitalization without self paying first? aka cashless medical
Sitting Duck
post Jan 3 2024, 04:30 PM

473 posts

Hi All,

For flight that was cancelled due to weather condition, and the airline then arranged/scheduled another flight on the 2nd day. How do you guys deal with it when this situation arise?

1. Go along with what the airline has arranged, and claim for flight delay. Since the flight was cancelled due to weather condition, the airline wouldn't be providing any free accommodation/meal. In this case, all the expenses incur (accommodation/meals/ground transport) would have to be cover under the claim from flight delay (Generali travel delay is RM200/6 hours). I don't think travel insurance would foot for the bill for the accommodation/meals/ground transport).

2. Cancel the flight ticket and get a full refund from the airline. Buy a new flight ticket and claim it from travel insurance. I think the Travel insurance would only pay out for the new flight ticket. Any other cost incur like accomodation/grond transport/meal isn't claimable.

Any sifu has experience on last minute flight cancellation/delay on foreign country?

sawhueijye
post Jan 24 2024, 05:18 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Par@dox @ Jan 1 2024, 10:48 PM)

I am also looking at travel insurance to Japan. So P&O Travel Pro from Pacific & Orient Insurance is your recommendation?

I have read both the policy disclosure sheet and policy document sample by Tune Protect as I consider Airasia X, it didn't state clearly whether covers trip cancellation due to weather conditions. Do you have any idea?

anndroid
post Jan 27 2024, 02:37 PM

148 posts

I'm more concerned on which Insurance is easier to contact when there is an issue overseas. Especially hospitalization overseas. Best to be able to chat immediately. Things like delay, luggage, flight all are minor things imo.
adele123
post Jan 29 2024, 02:05 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(anndroid @ Jan 27 2024, 02:37 PM)
I'm more concerned on which Insurance is easier to contact when there is an issue overseas. Especially hospitalization overseas. Best to be able to chat immediately. Things like delay, luggage, flight all are minor things imo.
If that is really your main concern, etiqa is the only choice. Because etiqa can issue GL overseas...

You can check out other companies but i think i am 90% confident i am right.
lowyat101
post Mar 5 2024, 09:23 AM

2,548 posts

Is the travel insurance from credit card sufficient for typical travel needs? Or will there be anything not covered that we need to purchase those standalone travel insurance?

Here's the T&Cs:

https://www.ambank.com.my/ambank/Documents/...rancePolicy.pdf

adele123
post Mar 8 2024, 08:29 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Mar 5 2024, 09:23 AM)
Is the travel insurance from credit card sufficient for typical travel needs? Or will there be anything not covered that we need to purchase those standalone travel insurance?

Here's the T&Cs:

https://www.ambank.com.my/ambank/Documents/...rancePolicy.pdf

Take this insurance policy and compare it with the usual travel insurance you bought.

What coverage do you appreciate and want?

95% of the time, the free version cant be compared with the paid version.

34 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 >Top

0.0267sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:49 AM