175 Pages « < 156 157 158 159 160 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v9, QE feeds the bull. Ride along...

guy3288
post Apr 27 2015, 10:12 PM

5,922 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 27 2015, 04:23 PM)
Sexy fund has a volatility factor of 18% averagely based on 3 year tracking. This means it can swing +18% or -18% on its mean up to 2/3 of its tracking time or it may even swing wilder 1/3 of the time.

So far, in one month, my Sexy has dropped i.e., -7% and it can actually go lower or swing the other way because it is still within its volatility band of +/- 18%. So, Sexy is behaving "normally". If you find that you cannot tahan its spiciness, go get a less exotic one e.g., a plain vanilla flavoured Ponzi 2.0.

Why then do you ask, still got crazy people go for such "risky" fund wan? Well, based on its fact sheet again, it has an annualised return of around 18% p.a. So, higher risk tolerance individual such as myself may want to include this fund in my portfolio as a booster or for the thrill factor. I gambled that it may gain +18% (averagely) +18% (additional upside gain) = 36% p.a. If I am right, then I gain extra $$$, and if I am wrong, I lose some money, but since I cap it to a max of 20% of my total portfolio, my total loss will never be more than 20% of 18% = 3.6% averagely of my total portfolio.

That is why, buying fund can be fun when you know how to manage the rate of return and its corresponding risk.

Hope you guys learn something new today.

Xuzen
SO it is good time to buy this Manulife India fund now, no risk no gain.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 27 2015, 10:13 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:12 PM)
SO it is good time to buy this Manulife India fund now, no risk no gain.
His crystal ball currently points to China. whistling.gif
nexona88
post Apr 27 2015, 10:14 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,552 posts

QUOTE(dirtinacan @ Apr 27 2015, 10:07 PM)
I myself follow 50%. 50% follow the feedback in this forums and during the seminar.

I'm now
asia ex japan 48.2%
malaysia 34% (26% PRS + 8% cash)
global 17.7%

right now thinking of either adding in asia ex jap or greater china fund
I think maybe can add greater china fund hmm.gif

others sifu can help hmm.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Apr 27 2015, 10:15 PM

3,541 posts

Stay the course. Block out the market noise. Have a bond portfolio of at least 20% if we cannot tolerate the fluctuations in the market. Practice DCA or Value Averaging.

Did I miss out anything? I am beginning to sound like a broken tape recorder. doh.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 27 2015, 10:16 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:14 PM)
I think maybe can add greater china fundĀ  hmm.gif

others sifu can helpĀ  hmm.gif
He's quite heavy in Asia ex Japan.

Let's say those Asia ex Japan funds have 15% of exposure in China & HK, that attributes to 7% of exposure in China market.

This post has been edited by David83: Apr 27 2015, 10:16 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2015, 10:19 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(dirtinacan @ Apr 27 2015, 10:07 PM)
I myself follow 50%. 50% follow the feedback in this forums and during the seminar.

I'm now
asia ex japan 48.2%
malaysia 34% (26% PRS + 8% cash)
global 17.7%

right now thinking of either adding in asia ex jap or greater china fund
go see the latest fund factsheet of your Asia ex Japan fund to see how much they have allocated for China/Hk region.
are they enough to you?
are the % allocated comfortable to you?
if this region were to correct 15%...ok tak for you?
just a thought to consider too.
Vanguard 2015
post Apr 27 2015, 10:24 PM

3,541 posts

If we cannot tolerate a dip of 10% or more in any of our funds in the short run, then please do not invest one lump sum but practise DCA instead. For eg if we have RM10K, just divide it into 4 payments and dump in RM2500 every month. In this way, we will not buy at the highest NAV or at the lowest NAV.

The above method may profit less as compared to a one lump sum investment since we have less money working for us at the beginning. But based on my observation thus far, I think the majority of the members here falls under the DCA category. There is nothing wrong with that. Just a matter of risk tolerance.
Kaka23
post Apr 27 2015, 10:24 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 27 2015, 11:09 PM)
"Fitch assigned a negative outlook to Malaysia’s rating in July 2013,

- See more at: http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...h.w5pop9o3.dpuf

from that...most probably in July this year too.

if july...then good....the new list of recommended funds would be out...SC discounts on offer again?  rclxms.gif
hmm... July! 2+ months away, how can keep enough bullets lei for the SC discounts.
nexona88
post Apr 27 2015, 10:26 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,552 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:16 PM)
He's quite heavy in Asia ex Japan.

Let's say those Asia ex Japan funds have 15% of exposure in China & HK, that attributes to 7% of exposure in China market.
what u recommend?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 27 2015, 10:28 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:26 PM)
what u recommend?
Increase global or developed market exposure.
IvanWong1989
post Apr 27 2015, 10:29 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:24 PM)
If we cannot tolerate a dip of 10% or more in any of our funds in the short run, then please do not invest one lump sum but practise DCA instead.  For eg if we have RM10K, just divide it into 4 payments and dump in RM2500 every month. In this way, we will not buy at the highest NAV or at the lowest NAV.

The above method may profit less as compared to a one lump sum investment since we have less money working for us at the beginning. But based on my observation thus far, I think the majority of the members here falls under the DCA category. There is nothing wrong with that. Just a matter of risk tolerance.
I'll be practicing this from the start.

partly due to not much savings available anyway. xD freshieeeeee
SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2015, 10:30 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:24 PM)
hmm... July! 2+ months away, how can keep enough bullets lei for the SC discounts.
switch all you have now to China regions then sell all in July?
good idea leh.... tongue.gif
if it did not work out...back to square 1....that is you don't have enough bullets ready for the sc discount in 2 months. biggrin.gif
nothing to lose right? tongue.gif
nexona88
post Apr 27 2015, 10:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,552 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:28 PM)
Increase global or developed market exposure.
dirtinacan sifu recommend for u icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 27 2015, 10:33 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 27 2015, 10:30 PM)
if it did not work out...back to square 1....that is you don't have enough bullets ready for the sc discount in 2 months.  biggrin.gif
nothing to lose right?  tongue.gif
Why sell in July?

Anything big is going to have in July at China or Greater China region?
SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2015, 10:36 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:33 PM)
Why sell in July?

Anything big is going to have in July at China or Greater China region?
get back the monies then buy into the recommended lists that would be out in July.....
hmm.gif you dun get what I said meh?
Kaka23
post Apr 27 2015, 10:36 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 27 2015, 11:30 PM)
if it did not work out...back to square 1....that is you don't have enough bullets ready for the sc discount in 2 months.  biggrin.gif
nothing to lose right?  tongue.gif
blink.gif telur kecut bro...

Later insomia and cannot sleep now!

Better save few hundred in these 2 months for the sc discount la.. wink.gif
Kaka23
post Apr 27 2015, 10:37 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 27 2015, 11:36 PM)
get back the monies then buy into the recommended lists that would be out in July.....
hmm.gif you dun get what I said meh?
Normally recommended funds SC is 0.80%?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 27 2015, 10:38 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:36 PM)
blink.gif  telur kecut bro...

Better save few hundred in these 2 months for the sc discount la..  wink.gif
He cannot tolerate higher than risk, bro!

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:37 PM)
Normally recommended funds SC is 0.80%?
1% IIRC.

0.5X or 0.8X% is usually for special occasion or celebration.
SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2015, 10:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 27 2015, 10:36 PM)
blink.gif  telur kecut bro...

Better save few hundred in these 2 months for the sc discount la..  wink.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif that is the idea...
have to train the balls to be harder than steel... biggrin.gif
I already no balls sudah "shrink" lor tongue.gif

wondering will india still be on the list by then?

SUSDavid83
post Apr 27 2015, 10:40 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 27 2015, 10:40 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  that is the idea...
have to train the balls to be harder than steel... biggrin.gif
I already no balls sudah "shrink" lor  tongue.gif

wondering will india still be on the list by then?
Let them analyze and calculate the PE and potential upside. whistling.gif

175 Pages « < 156 157 158 159 160 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:30 AM