The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

joshhd
post Feb 28 2020, 01:53 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(lockmunk @ Feb 28 2020, 10:34 AM)
you can request for relocation to address that don't have unifi/maxis infra. then you can terminate without penalty. but need to provide them utilities bill as a prove.

in my house (old condo), its only have VDSL which maximum 30mbps only. but TM offer to their customer to upgrade to fiber (TM bear the cost). its not applicable to maxis customer. so i did the above trick and today my house can use unifi with fiber 100mbps.

Oh? If u inform them you wanna relocate, just show them any utility bill (water or electricity bill) will do? No need other documents?

If the utility bill shows a different owner name, how? Or they don't care the name, as long the address is the new address that you tell them to relocate?
joshhd
post Apr 9 2020, 05:12 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Apr 9 2020, 10:51 AM)
cause my unifi 800 mbps
they charge me rm 309
for me is super expensive
thinking change to maxis

If you have no outstanding contract, and you don't watch Unifi TV, then what's stopping you from converting to Maxis Fibre now?
joshhd
post Apr 13 2020, 12:28 PM

7,799 posts

Maxis:

TM:
*legs are shaking*
Nvm. We got Unifi Air cool2.gif
joshhd
post Apr 13 2020, 06:07 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Apr 13 2020, 01:40 PM)
guys my friend tell me maxis ISP
keep on dc
is it true?
i thinking to get the 500 mbps

I use Maxis Fibre, no such issue also...
Tell your friend to report the issue to Maxis, and keep on follow up the case until the issue is solved. Don't just "file a complaint and then forget about it".
joshhd
post Apr 15 2020, 09:40 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 15 2020, 04:49 PM)
for the 1st month only... if 100mbps for rm89 the ofc yes...

interesting... upgrade and downgrade don't need contract(unless need to change router)

joshHD, for Astro IPTV/astro&broadband, any upgrade(to the speed) will require a contract right also what about switching from Astro internet plan to maxis plans?

Astro Broadband/Astro IPTV and Maxis Fibre works separately in terms of its billing system and stuff, so as you switch in between the two services, contract of 24 months will definitely restarted.
Usually if you switch from Maxis Fibre to Astro Broadband while you still have remaining 24 months contract on your Maxis Fibre, Maxis will just your penalty and let you switch to Astro Broadband with a new 24 months contract.
But if you want to switch from Astro Broadband/Astro IPTV to Maxis Fibre while still have remaining contract, can also, pay prorated penalty only mah. biggrin.gif
Then once you're on Maxis Fibre again, 24 months contract will restart on them.
joshhd
post Apr 16 2020, 08:54 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 16 2020, 08:02 AM)
What about upgrading plan in astro IPTV/Astro & broadband?

any upgrade in Astro will restart your contract?

If upgrade, I think won't restart contract.
Maxis also same.

If downgrade speed on Maxis Fibre, contract period won't be affected. But...
If downgrade speed on Astro Broadband, if still got remaining contract, prorated penalty.

So up to you lo, is it worth it to enjoy some tens of ringgit savings per month, in exchange for such contract terms and also uncertainty of after sales support.
joshhd
post Apr 16 2020, 12:50 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 16 2020, 09:01 AM)
😅, it seems like "here at Astro, we would like to welcome you with great deals, great saving with some well-hidden  devil.gif "

Looks like I'm going to stick to Astro IPTV 30 Mbps for now then(no way to move up or down already).... Any move will incur 24 months contract, to switch from astro I guess just call Astro to transfer to maxis?

Yeah I think so.
It's more like you want to separate your account, make it as standalone Astro and Maxis Fibre accounts.
If you do, contract of 24 months will restart on both services.
joshhd
post Jun 2 2020, 01:35 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jun 2 2020, 12:36 PM)
Want to ask.....

Do you all having maxis line super slow when nearing 9pm~12am.... youtube become not able to jalan smooth... need down until 144~240 only can smooth.. same for home fibre and maxis 4g... kedah area...

You use WiFi or LAN?
Try connect LAN cable to make sure the problem is not from Maxis Fibre themselves.
joshhd
post Jun 28 2020, 12:37 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 27 2020, 03:33 PM)
i just installed a new maxis fiber 30Mbps.
speedtest using https://speedtest.maxis.com.my/page1.html get around 29.x to 30Mbps on wifi.
that's normal.
using Lan cable, consistently 28.5Mbps.
i ask maxis y is like that.
they said it's normal that wifi average ~30Mbps, while cable is ~28Mbps

QUOTE(jaspreettttt @ Jun 27 2020, 05:09 PM)
Ahh. The CSO not technical person lol. At 30mbps shouldn't be an issue on Lan even on a lower end pc since the CPU isn't stressed much. Try a different cable? Or a different device for lan. Windows is known to constantly use bg data for various stuff. If you have a Linux based device that might show the better result.

If I see the customer service agent say things like that to me, I'll be like "Oh okay. I understood. Thank you for your help. That's all. Bye bye" and ends the call.
If I need further assistance, I shall contact them again and make sure I speak with another agent.

joshhd
post Jun 28 2020, 12:43 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 27 2020, 09:39 PM)
probably.
but the CS answer really wtf.
actually i call to request public ip, might as well ask only.

To get such answers from customer service agents, is a very normal thing.
Just because that CS agent works in technical department, that doesn't mean he/she is well knowledge and interested in technical stuff.

Not just Maxis. Other telecommunication companies also same thing one, especially Astro.
I know this, because last time I used to call customers service hotline often... So often until I worry that all CS agents there can recognise my voice without asking my account information. rolleyes.gif

When you encounter that, no need to waste time continue talking.
Don't let that CS agent ruin your impression towards that telco company. Just hang up and speak with another agent.
joshhd
post Aug 15 2020, 10:02 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Aug 13 2020, 03:49 PM)
Hi Guys... need some advice here.

I recently changed my internet from Maxis Astro bundle to a standalone one because my parents decided to cancel Astro.
I applied for the Maxis home fibre, they sent some technician to install with a new router.
It's been a month, and I felt that the connection gets disconnected intermittently - because I am still working from home I can tell that my internet disconnected as my VPN will have a pop up that it is disconnected and reconnecting.

I called Maxis, they sent someone over.
The technician said there is nothing wrong with my internet, but my disconnection issue is probably my room is not near the router.
He explained that I never experience in the past as now we have 5g signal, so there could be interference as there are 2 signals being transmitted (2.4g and 5g)
He suggested me to get wifi booster to get a better signal.

I did some reading on wifi extender, mesh network, and also get to know that routers may also affect the connection.
So I would like to ask if anyone had similar issue, and what would be the best solution?

TL/DR version:
I experience intermittent disconnection using Maxis home fiber plan.
I stay double story, router installed in living room. My room is on 1st floor far behind.
Maxis technician suggest wifi extender - wanna ask if you had similar issue and your suggested solution.

There are only my parents and I at home, I don't really need very canggih solutions as they are not very tech-savy. I just need to work with smooth internet in my room.
In case you suggest me to work closer to the router, my job requires some privacy and my router is installed near the TV.

Any comments is very much appreciated.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Aug 15 2020, 06:56 PM)
Before you follow others' suggestions to change the router, try to set the DHCP lease time in the C5v first.  Default 60 mins, try to extend to max 2880 mins and see if that helps alleviate the dis-connectivity problem first.

Example:
joshhd
post Aug 26 2020, 04:03 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 26 2020, 03:45 PM)
Reading so many bad reviews on Maxis Fibre - was contemplating to migrate from Unifi to Maxis because of the monthly rebate + contract cash back termination for my current Unifi plan.

Bummer indeed

It is case to case basis, and depends on area... What others experienced, are not necessary it will not happen to you.
TM also have many bad reviews what... sweat.gif
TIME Fibre also have bad reviews. So does that means, you should continue using TM? biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Sep 6 2020, 01:35 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(karastree @ Sep 4 2020, 04:46 PM)
Hi All ,

Just want to ask some advice ,

Recently i juz upgraded my broadband to maxis one prime package consist of home broadband and data for phone , im having problem with my backup dongle, after test i cannot connect to internet, after some checking with maxis its revealed that my current sim card serial numb (for backup dongle) are not telly with the registered under my name in Maxis system , it is belong to another people. When i confront maxis installer, he keep giving me excuses and keep said about he give loan to another people, and he promise me to find back sim card with same serial number, i suspect installer are dishonest, where should i report this matter ?

You can call Maxis customer service hotline at 1800-82-4663 to complain.
joshhd
post Sep 22 2020, 11:39 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Sep 22 2020, 09:39 PM)
Maxis's international routing is totally in the mess now.

The IPv4 routing path to some SG servers now starts from Cyberjaya(NTT MSC)-> HK -> US -> SG via Cogent

M247 (AS9009)
IDC Frontier Japan (AS4694)
Singtel (AS7473)

No doubt Maxis's main international bandwidth provider is NTT Asia. But it's connectivity now to Japan is very lousy getting even worst for the past few weeks.

Hmm why? NTT Asia no good?
joshhd
post Sep 23 2020, 11:51 PM

7,799 posts

Just sharing... One of my friend residing in Maxis ADSL area, he received this heart-breaking letter from Maxis, saying that Maxis will be switch off its ADSL copper Internet service in his area.
Letter in Malay version:
Then, my friend told me that Maxis told him that they'll switch it off on end of September instead (not 31 Aug), so meaning no more Maxis ADSL Internet from October 2020 onwards, for his apartment.
That apartment, is just a 5 storey apartment/flat, like a low cost housing kind. And that apartment, is exclusively Maxis only, and under Maxis ADSL territory. TM Streamyx and Unifi never exist there at all.

Maxis do not plan to install/provide fibre Internet in his apartment, and 3G/4G signals from pretty much all telcos are very weak due to coverage blind spot (possibility partially blocked by a small hill/slope), so he's kinda headache now.

4G signals outside the apartment; open air carpark area are about -100dBm, but as you enter into the apartment unit, signal becomes weaker and pretty much unusable (Basically, you'll have to go out of the apartment, not even at any balcony or corridors, in order to use 3G/4G Internet).
Complained to MCMC, reply from Maxis is basically "no plans for offering fibre", and then case closed. Got complain equal to no complain.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 23 2020, 11:56 PM
joshhd
post Sep 24 2020, 12:30 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(hjack @ Sep 24 2020, 11:20 AM)
Try write to Multimedia ministry and your ADUN rep.

During Gorbind era, internet is classified as essential services.
Just imagine if one day TNB tells you your house electricity will be cut in a month, ask you to use generator onwards. Or Air Selangor wants you to dig your own well.

Got use meh?
Alternative solution is already stated there, use 4G wireless broadband service.
4G cellular signals around the area are already poor, let alone using 4G wireless broadband service?
joshhd
post Sep 24 2020, 10:24 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(hjack @ Sep 24 2020, 03:31 PM)
All you need is a pegawai from somewhere tells Maxis CEO >> "Maintain the ADSL there,  or pull fiber."
Never try never know.

However if you have accepted their proposed alternative then different story... by all mean stay quiet.

The thing is, who to find?
All telco signal there are bad, no fibre, and ADSL is shutting down soon, what to do oh? It's like a coverage dead zone. sweat.gif
joshhd
post Oct 10 2020, 05:42 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(hjack @ Oct 10 2020, 03:41 PM)
Just cirious, where does Maxis plug the VOIP phone to? The mesh unit, or ?

Maxis's WiFi router.
The TP-Link Archer c5v WiFi router
joshhd
post Oct 11 2020, 04:45 PM

7,799 posts

Anyone here subscribe or upgrade from Maxis Fibre to Astro & Broadband? How's the overall experience? Any difference?
joshhd
post Oct 11 2020, 08:42 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Oct 11 2020, 06:38 PM)
Me
1yr aldy so far so good

You switch from Maxis Fibre to Astro & Broadband when your maxis fibre contract is not over, or already over?

And during the migration process, do you experience any disruption in Internet service?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1896sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:48 PM