YoungMan
post Nov 8 2020, 10:18 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Nov 8 2020, 07:03 AM)
You can get the Sharp tv with 30mbps.

So why Maxis has to set it at 500 mbps?

How much is the price difference for 30mbps vs 500mbps?

Why should you fork extra 219-89=130 every month to get the 55” tv?
Then you got your answer there. Just sign up for Unifi and forget about Maxis. Maxis is also using TM's infra.
My point actually is that both TV are not comparable.
YoungMan
post Nov 30 2020, 02:45 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 30 2020, 01:15 PM)
LOL... Maxis did it again...

Seriously why cant these carrier offer something decent? I was going to transfer to Digi Fibre and guess what. Digi kept calling asking have I walked in. I did and on the 7th day, wasted 20minutes to call Maxis and received a counter offer. I think I will stay with Maxis Fibre for another year and then see if got better offer again.
Share share what is the offer?
YoungMan
post Nov 30 2020, 07:33 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 30 2020, 07:07 PM)
100Mbps RM129-30

For 1year, no contract

Next year back to RM129 then transfer again... LoL
That's a nice offer to stay on. Previously someone keep saying TM and Digi always secretly offer customer to stay on, without realising Maxis is also doing the same. Basically for all telcos, try to do whatever to maintain customer from switching out.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Nov 30 2020, 07:34 PM
YoungMan
post Nov 30 2020, 08:17 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Nov 30 2020, 09:01 PM)
Weird
How come when i wanna move to astro fibre maxis dont offer me
Because Astro fibre is just Maxis fibre +Astro pack.
YoungMan
post Dec 1 2020, 09:23 AM

6,792 posts

https://www.soyacincau.com/2020/12/01/maxis...peed-tv-bundle/
YoungMan
post Dec 1 2020, 03:00 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Dec 1 2020, 02:59 PM)
So meaning rm129 for 300mbps ?
Demmm i'll move to maxis after astro contract finish on may 2021
From my understanding reading that article, yes RM129 for 300mbps, RM20 rebate for 24 months, which means after 2 years price will be back to RM149. But need to take astro to qualify.
Do check with Maxis for further details and T&C.
YoungMan
post Dec 1 2020, 08:08 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Dec 1 2020, 05:19 PM)
It mention astro is add on, not a must to take
Then it is even better. 129 for 300mbps plan, Unifi subscriber can switch over.
YoungMan
post Dec 3 2020, 01:52 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 2 2020, 11:20 PM)
Not really. If you do the calculation, it's pretty much the "same thing" 😂

For this post, let's focus on this "FREE 3x speed upgrade" thing, and compare the difference with Astro & Broadband offerings:
Source from Maxis T&C page: https://www.maxis.com.my/terms-conditions/p...d/astro-bundle/
Maxis Fibre with Astro TV
100Mbps RM129 + Astro Starter Pack RM61.32 = RM190.30/month yet you get the so-called "3x speed bump" to 300Mbps

Astro & Broadband
You will get (RM20 x 24 months) or (RM30 x 24 months) rebate when you subscribe to Astro & Broadband OR Astro IPTV depending on eligibility below:
New or Existing customer?You will get additional discount of...
New Astro customerRM20/month for 24 months, regardless of which Astro box model you choose (HD/PVR/Ultra Box)
Existing Astro customerRM30/month for 24 months if you remain existing whatever Astro box you're using now
Existing Astro customerRM20/month for 24 months if you upgrade to Ultra Box
Pay your Astro bills using Auto Debit (either debit or credit card) to enjoy additional RM5/month rebate for 24 months (only applicable for Astro & Broadband OR Astro IPTV).

Since existing Astro subscribers are NOT eligible for this Maxis Fibre with Astro TV offer, therefore let's consider it as "new Astro customer" rate, which is RM20/month x 24 months.  sweat.gif 

100Mbps RM129 + Astro Starter Pack RM61.32  = RM190.30/month - Discount RM20 x 24 months = RM170.30/month
300Mbps RM149 + Astro Starter Pack RM61.32 = RM210.30/month  - Discount RM20 x 24 months = RM190.30/month

So, what is the difference?
It seems to me, with all those adding and discounts here and there, roti canai flip here and there, the result are pretty much the same, which is both Astro and Maxis in the same house, and you still get 300Mbps and Astro Starter Pack for a total of RM190.30/month no matter you choose Maxis Fibre with Astro TV or Astro & Broadband/Astro IPTV.  dry.gif  sweat.gif

It seems to me is:
Maxis Fibre with Astro TV is, you subscribe to Maxis Fibre, and then you add on Astro service.
Astro & Broadband is, you subscribe to Astro, and then you add on Internet broadband service (which you can choose either Maxis Fibre, Allo, or TIME Fibre depending on your area).

From what I see, this Maxis Fibre with Astro TV compared to Astro & Broadband offerings is merely just to seek public attention, and nothing else.
Seriously, the only difference is the way they do the marketing and promoting to customers, that's all.

** All prices shown above excludes 6% SST
Thank you. So sitescope do take note.
YoungMan
post Dec 22 2020, 11:11 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(afdhalzaed @ Dec 22 2020, 08:54 AM)
Hello sifus and friends! 🥳

Need your help here!

I'm moving into a new house and REALLY am having a hard time on choosing what broadband to subscribe to. Can u guys give me a good honest suggestions on which telco should i go with? For now, I'm 50% on Maxis Fibre side but please, need your experiences and suggestions. 2nd on my list is Celcom Fibre but can't really find a review for it. I'm going for the 500mbps plan btw and will be moving to Puncak Alam (Selangor) area.

Hope you guys can really help. REALLY really need the help right now 😂😂
For 500mbps go for Maxis. It is much cheaper compare to Unifi, and you can request public IP should you need to host CCTV.

QUOTE(Poret @ Dec 22 2020, 10:57 AM)
Hello,
I am interested to subscribe maxis home fibre + astro bundle package. How much is the monthly commitment for 30mbps internet + basic astro package?

I asked 2 different maxis branch and they give me 2 different answer.

Branch A : 30mbps (RM89) + Astro (RM61)
Branch B : 30mbps (RM89) + Astro (RM10)

So, which one is the correct price?
Both are not wrong. Branch B offers you Maxis Fibre plus Astro Family pack which is the cheapest. You can combine the broadband with any astro pack, from family to super value.
YoungMan
post Jan 3 2021, 10:57 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(Kiddzx @ Jan 3 2021, 03:53 AM)
Hi All sifu ,

need your advise , as currently im maxis postpaid user 128 maxis postpaid plan , also im using UNIFI RM 199 plan but got boosted to 800mbps since contract already more than 24 month , what is the alternative i could get from maxis ?
You can combine Maxis postpaid with Maxis fibre and get unlimited data on your postpaid line. The 500mbps plan will cost RM219, while 800mbps RM299. Also, if you sign up Maxis 500mbps and above with your postpaid 128, you can get a 65 inch TV for RM1 for 24 months.
If you are looking for cost saving and not planning to go for high speed, just go for 300mbps or 100mbps. The postpaid plan maybe you can adjust it to postpaid 98 since still can get unlimited data.
YoungMan
post Jan 3 2021, 03:00 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(Kiddzx @ Jan 3 2021, 03:32 PM)
Ok thanks for the info , I guess I will take the 219 plan plus rm1 tv monthly
Remember to use switching method, which is you register the Maxis package and bring the transfer ID to TM.
YoungMan
post Jan 15 2021, 02:49 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(Ivancck @ Jan 15 2021, 03:26 PM)
Hi Sifu,

1 thing I notice that, the WAN port connection speed (that connect from AX88u to BTU) is only 100Mbps. Previously theWAN port speed was indicating 1Gbps when the wifi and LAN speed was (capped) around 300mbps during the first 2 weeks (after switched from unifi in mid dec 2020) speedtest checked.

The WAN port (and other LAN ports) speed could be read thru Asus router WRT software - Ethernet Port status.

Reg
Ivan
Try connect BTU directly to your PC and check if it is 100mbps or 1gbps? If still 100mbps then your BTU is cap at the wrong speed. Use a few different CAT5E or CAT6 cable to test.
YoungMan
post Jan 27 2021, 08:42 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 27 2021, 12:08 PM)
I also encounter speed issue but mainly with Youtube. Even streaming 1080p60 hard after upgraded to 100Mbps. Not sure why.. either Google throttle or Maxis throttle.
If Google throttle sure everyone will be affected. Me on Unifi here no problem. Can't test Maxis line at night since it is office internet.
YoungMan
post Jan 28 2021, 07:58 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(utusan@gmail @ Jan 28 2021, 10:05 AM)
Got Maxis Fiber (before this used Unifi)
Im really regret changing to Maxis...
My wifi always disconnect...
Suck and shit...
Worst desicion i made so far for this year...
After changing to my old router (ac68u)
Same problem... Facebook... Shoppe and lazada no fully load image... But much better from stock router Maxis give... Ac68u max wifi speed around 150-170...
Really annoying.
If Unifi slow ppl usually suggest you report to MCMC. You could do the same to get Maxis to wake up and fix the problem at your area.
YoungMan
post Jan 30 2021, 02:59 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jan 29 2021, 02:39 PM)
Eh they also give AX20?
Should really ask them if can upgrade my c5v lol
But you don't get to choose the router. The tech may just bring another C5V and change, which defeats the purpose of you renewing contract just to get a new router. Might as well you buy the AX20 which cost less than RM300.

QUOTE(SpectacularButter @ Jan 29 2021, 08:06 PM)
I am using Maxis 100mbps but getting 30Mbps download speed in speed test. They gave me Archer C5v router. Since changing, every few days later the internet will suddenly disconnect and i just need to on/off the router to make the internet come back. Any ideas how to improve the situation? Been calling Maxis but ask me to call when problem happens... but it is so hard to get through when it happens.
Report to MCMC. They promise to send their officer to check in 24 hours. Maybe it could even be that TM cap your BTU to less than 100mbps speed.

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jan 30 2021, 03:36 PM)
Wow AX20, welp Maxis still hasn’t responded to my query lol
Bro, let's put the MCMC words to the test. Report to them and see if they can handle in 24 hours.

YoungMan
post Jan 31 2021, 07:41 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jan 31 2021, 05:51 PM)
They just called me today, I'm on the Hotlink Postpaid and Fibre 99 Plan and they say cannot it's for Maxis Fibre

They did tell me if I did want to change to contact their technical department at another number, I didn't bother, I'll rather just buy on my own a better router
Then you can just forget about it. It's not like you could choose which router to have. What if the tech bring the same model and change for you, that won't make any difference.
Just get your own router and monitor the connection. If got connection problem only you report to SKMM.
https://aduan.skmm.gov.my/

YoungMan
post Feb 9 2021, 02:08 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Feb 9 2021, 01:06 PM)
Maxis
This is interesting. We need more ppl on Maxis infra to confirm whether they have problems with their connection at night. If those on Maxis infra have no such problem, probably TM side playing some trick.
YoungMan
post Feb 11 2021, 02:02 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(stryfox @ Feb 11 2021, 12:48 PM)
i am on 500Mbps plan.

first Maxis gave ax10 (technician test got 700Mbps capability) but then my speed around 200Mbps.

technician come take ax10 (said it not stable) and replace with c5v (test and get around 450Mbps).

But then still dropped speed 200Mbps. Fed up I bought ac3150 set as AP router. still 200Mbps.

Maxis said give rebate RM219 this month.

also said already open case to TM. still waiting report. so, should complaint to MCMC as speed average 200Mbps and lower lately to 30 Mbps....

almost everyday call Maxis CS and do speedtest morning noon night and midnight 3 times each session.
Time to report to MCMC. How could this happen that TM miscap so many accounts. You should demand rebate for each additional days that your speed do not reach the subscribed speed.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Feb 11 2021, 02:02 PM
YoungMan
post Mar 7 2021, 07:17 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(ad2000 @ Mar 7 2021, 07:54 PM)
I did call up Maxis. It seems that after the new subscriber sign up campaign end this month, they will call existing subscriber if they want to upgrade to the new wifi6 router....at a price ..new 2 year contract.  shakehead.gif Those who want to upgrade without having to wait can call 123
AX router can buy below RM300. Unless you are dead sure to stick with Maxis for the next 2 years.
YoungMan
post Mar 13 2021, 05:19 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(CuriOu5 @ Mar 13 2021, 04:59 PM)
I am currently on the old 300Mbps package with unlimited voice calls. The contract has expired 4 months ago. The new wifi 6 upgrade is for new plans above 100Mbps without unlimited local voice calls. That means I have to pay an additional RM250 (RM10 x 24 x 1.06) to upgrade to the wifi 6 modem.

What do you all think. Upgrade and pay the additional RM10 per month of just buy a new wifi 6 modem. If buying the wifi 6 modem, which model to get and easy to setup.

Just buy your own. I suggest TP-Link AX20 or, if you could go higher on budget, the AX73.

19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:36 PM