186 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V), Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

Vincent9696
post Aug 13 2015, 06:23 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2015, 06:14 PM)
Sarcastic or what?

This is how I save
Clothing
My t-shirt RM5.
Shorts also RM5
Slacks RM 25-35
Cargo pants  RM25

Gadgets (going to push until they spoil)
1 x laptop (almost 5 years old). - Maximum budget to change when spoil is RM3000 so that my parents can get relief from income tax.
1 x handphone android (will never buy iphone) - (almost 2 years old) - If change will get xiaomi.
1 x ipad air 2 wifi (on promo - save about RM300) (less than a year old) The trick with ipad is JB so can get apps for free  whistling.gif  and DON'T UPDATE the ipad. Each update will cause it to slow down. After all, I am using it to just read uni textbooks. No games nothing. Why ipad? Battery life cannot be beaten by any android tablet. Why need to buy 3G when I am always on WiFi? (save another RM200-RM300)

Internet
Wifi - Go starbucks, sit down don't order anything and use their wifi.  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
Campus internet
Worse come to worse use my own 3G internet. RM68
Phone - Call & SMS using WA, Reload RM30/year

Shoes
RM72/year (cannot save as I need to have waterproof and non-slip shoes)
Sandals RM6-RM10 (can last for 2 years like that)

Lifestyle
Food & drinks
- No fastfood, no starbucks/chatime/alcohol. Just buy chapfan and lots of vege dishes. Only 1 meat dish. Total RM6-7/meal
- Groceries shopping = RM300/month (all fruits and veges, soap)
- No girlfriend yet.
- No birthday celebration. If I go for friend's birthday celebration, sure burn minimum RM50

Fun
- No cinema unless is Marvel and get recommendation from friend. That one also make sure ticket is about RM10. See post on internet  tongue.gif
- No mamak. Waste of time and unhealthy
- No clubbing/karaoke (no alcohol and karaoke will spoil your ears in the long run)

Transportation
- Walking everywhere
- Public transport

Others
- Using ebooks so no need to waste money to buy real books
- Use Maybank2Savers/Ambank True Savers and 1 month eFD from Maybank (3.25%. Results can only be known next month)
- Online business (small side income helping people to bypass internet restriction)
- Not using credit card yet as parents don't trust credit card. But when I do get one, I will be able to boost my savings further.  smile.gif

So that is how I save. My parents told me the pocket money is yours. Up to you, you want to do what with it. Kind of sad, some of my friends don't even know what is FD. Also, some of my friends by end of the month, no more money (cause alcohol/clubbing/celebrating friend's birthday). Any extra all goes into the online saving account + eFD.
I'm interesting of this

- Use Maybank2Savers/Ambank True Savers and 1 month eFD from Maybank (3.25%. Results can only be known next month)
Vincent9696
post Aug 13 2015, 06:24 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 13 2015, 05:23 PM)
so managed to open?
Definitely , if I open this few days, Is that I able to enjoy the dividen or distribution by end of August for ASX , I can't remember which of that fund.
nexona88
post Aug 13 2015, 06:25 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

wow juz wow notworthy.gif

seriously if u tis for next few years.. confirm u way better off then most of people in your age band sweat.gif
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2015, 06:42 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Aug 13 2015, 06:23 PM)
I'm interesting of this

- Maybank2savers give you interest of 2.25% provided if you have >RM2000. Unlimited withdrawal/transfer rclxms.gif
- Ambank TrueSavers 2.8% on any amount. Gives you only 3x/withdrawal a month/ which includes IBG to Truetransect/other bank and ATM.

What I do is I leave a buffer of ~RM400 inside M2Savers (no interest) to prevent closing of the account (need RM250 to maintain). This is also for in case any refunds for my customers (which until today didn't happen). I cannot touch the Ambank account or else they will charge me RM5+ if I exceed my 3x limit

Any unused money is dump into there generating 2.8% interest no matter how much the amount. What I do is ask my parents bank into my maybank account. Take what I need in cash. Any balance dump straight into Ambank until enough amount to place 1 month FD.

When amount is enough (RM5k + interest from ambank) transfer back to Maybank and put Maybank Islamic FD and leave RM100 inside Ambank. Saw this on FD thread. Most one month FD will earn you 3.15. But I happen to see a screenshot which shows Maybank Islamic FD giving 3.25%. Not mudarabah. Name is Maybank Islamic Fixed Deposit No brainer which you will choose. For me I don't care islamic ke conventional. Main point is they give high interest.

Lock up money inside there for 1 month (this require few months - accumulating RM5k). Why 1 month and not 1 year? In case I need the money next month. You never know. Besides why go for miserable 1 year FD board rates when I can go for higher promo rates? I don't believe in working for the bank. I believe in squeezing every drop of money from the bank.

After 1 month, auto credit principle + interest, back into M2Savers. Transfer savings for that month into 1 month eFD and repeat the whole process. biggrin.gif rclxms.gif BTW, I just started doing this only this month. Before this using only M2Savers.

Why not OCBC eSavers? Because although OCBC eSavers give 3.05% (now promo is 4%), you cannot withdraw money or else the account drop to 0.5% for that month. Ambank can withdraw up to 3x/month. I have yet to find other good savings account.

I am in the process of transferring FD into ASM. Just hope that's crisis is not resolve until I transfer 80% of my FD into ASM. Or else later no chance. tongue.gif

When do I put ASM?
1) When I am on holiday. So if got holiday, all money dump into Ambank if maturity date cannot fall on the day when I go back. If can, eFD with Maybank and autocredit into M2Savers. Use money in ASM to top up. Any FD matured during my holiday, uplifted and place into ASM. Early morning on the day I go back, transfer from Ambank into M2Savers.
2) When FD matured and I am not around, my mother will uplift and dump into ASM (FD account joint account) . Mother not working so can help me. Father is working. Same time she try luck for AS1M/ASM.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2015, 07:00 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2015, 06:56 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Aug 13 2015, 06:24 PM)
Definitely , if I open this few days, Is that I able to enjoy the dividen or distribution by end of August for ASX , I can't remember which of that fund.
Nope. You can only earn dividend when you deposit on say 31/7 or 1st/8. Deposit on 2/8 - 31/8 won't earn you dividend for the month of august. But they will earn you dividend starting Sept.

But seeing that opportunity like this does not always come, I recommend you to just taruh. Don't wait biggrin.gif rclxms.gif No dividend also nevermind. Main point is you know you will get dividend starting the next month. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2015, 06:57 PM
my44
post Aug 13 2015, 07:05 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2015, 03:02 PM)
Buy only what is needed. Shop for clothes at pasar malam,  bundle and tesco only when needed. No car. So no petrol cost. Cinema also like 2x/year. No loans.

Same lor. My main shoe for jalan2 is from bundle. A bit buruk but branded & comfortable. I also got tonnes of bundle shorts & t-shirts. Good quality if ppl can get past the fact they are bundles.
chienx
post Aug 13 2015, 07:33 PM

205 posts

I would like to open Asn 3 account. Is it advisable ? Or there are alternative? We t to Cimb today to ask about pRS but they suggest asn3. I m new in this.. Need advice
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2015, 07:45 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(chienx @ Aug 13 2015, 07:33 PM)
I would like to open Asn 3 account. Is it advisable ? Or there are alternative? We t to Cimb today to ask about pRS but they suggest asn3. I m new in this.. Need advice
1. Are you bumi or non-bumi?
2. Did CIMB try to sell you any products? Don't buy from banks. You can buy online as FSM and save the service charge. Why want to give the agents free holiday/new car/new house?

Read Post 2285

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2015, 08:09 PM
chienx
post Aug 13 2015, 07:53 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2015, 07:45 PM)
1. Are you bumi or non-bumi?
2. Did CIMB try to sell you any products? Don't buy from banks. You can buy online as FSM and save the service charge. Why want to give the agents free holiday/new car/new house?

Read Post 2280
I m non bumi.
How to buy online? And is asn3 ok or I should consider other? Mainly to put in over time some amount for saving for retirement
Vincent9696
post Aug 13 2015, 07:56 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2015, 06:56 PM)
Nope. You can only earn dividend when you deposit on say 31/7 or 1st/8. Deposit on 2/8 - 31/8 won't earn you dividend for the month of august. But they will earn you dividend starting Sept.

But seeing that opportunity like this does not always come, I recommend you to just taruh. Don't wait biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif No dividend also nevermind. Main point is you know you will get dividend starting the next month.  icon_idea.gif
Bro, the so call dividen are declare once a year, correct me if I made mistake
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 13 2015, 07:58 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2015, 06:22 PM)
Talking to me or Hansel?
To all. Health is important.
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 13 2015, 07:59 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Aug 13 2015, 07:56 PM)
Its pro rate.

Yea. Now is the best chance...
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2015, 08:07 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(chienx @ Aug 13 2015, 07:53 PM)
I m non bumi.
How to buy online? And is asn3 ok or I should consider other? Mainly to put in over time some amount for saving for retirement
See my edited post regarding which want you should buy. Sorry. I point you to the wrong post All funds EXCEPT ASX can be bought via FSM. Charge you only 1% SC. Buy from banks will be charged about 5%
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2015, 08:10 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 13 2015, 07:58 PM)
To all. Health is important.
Couldn't agree more. If you are of poor health, it could wipe out your savings. That's why I don't smoke and drink. Eat lots of fruits and veges.
wil-i-am
post Aug 13 2015, 09:13 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2015, 08:10 PM)
Couldn't agree more. If you are of poor health, it could wipe out your savings. That's why I don't smoke and drink. Eat lots of fruits and veges.
U need to sign up medical Insurance to cover unexpected events
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2015, 09:22 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 13 2015, 09:13 PM)
U need to sign up medical Insurance to cover unexpected events
I do not use medical insurance as both parents are working in the government sector.

Also, any unexpected events, we use government hospital service.

I agreed with supersound on this. Medival insurance, easy to pay, hard to claim. More trouble than worth it.

Medicine also same. You are paying for personal waitress, and hotel room.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2015, 09:25 PM
wil-i-am
post Aug 13 2015, 09:26 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Aug 13 2015, 07:56 PM)
Yes
In addition, each Fund have different financial year end
ohcipala
post Aug 13 2015, 09:27 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2015, 08:07 PM)
See my edited post regarding which want you should buy. Sorry. I point you to the wrong post All funds EXCEPT ASX can be bought via FSM. Charge you only 1% SC. Buy from banks will be charged about 5%
1% SC? I thought 2%?
wil-i-am
post Aug 13 2015, 09:34 PM

10,001 posts

By default, 2% for equity Funds except during promotion
chienx
post Aug 13 2015, 10:14 PM

205 posts

Sorry, what is FSM?

186 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top