137 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V6, Discover Japan start here.

michlove
post May 6 2015, 02:42 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 6 2015, 02:29 PM)
End of march everywhere Also no more snow. Except Fuji Mountain.
I guess we will just have to hope to be lucky that it snows in March then... blush.gif

This post has been edited by michlove: May 6 2015, 03:12 PM
lowyatter
post May 6 2015, 03:17 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ May 6 2015, 02:42 PM)
I guess we will just have to hope to be lucky that it snows in March then... blush.gif
Actually you can still ski in Hakuba in end march.

The lower slopes will be closed but upper slopes will still be open. This year they are closing Happo-One only in May.

https://www.facebook.com/hakuba1/photos/a.2...?type=1&theater

Check out this shot from 28 March 2015.

This is from 30 March.

Now that the Hokuriku Shinkansen is open it's quite easy to go to Nozawa Onsen from Tokyo. 2 hours to Iiyama then 15 mins by taxi.

Hakuba is a little bit harder. 1 hour 45 mins to Nagano then 45 mins bus to Hakuba.

This post has been edited by lowyatter: May 6 2015, 03:20 PM
michlove
post May 6 2015, 03:20 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ May 6 2015, 03:17 PM)
Actually you can still ski in Hakuba in end march.

The lower slopes will be closed but upper slopes will still be open. This year they are closing Happo-One only in May.

Check out this shot from 28 March 2015.

This is from 30 March
Looks beautiful! Actually we don't want to ski. We just want to experience the snowy feel and soaking open air outdoor bath surrounded by snow....
lowyatter
post May 6 2015, 03:21 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ May 6 2015, 03:20 PM)
Looks beautiful! Actually we don't want to ski. We just want to experience the snowy feel and soaking open air outdoor bath surrounded by snow....
That one tak boleh, usually, snow on the ground will have mostly disappeared by end March. This year Hakuba had incredible snow and there was still a lot of snow on the ground in early April, but it's quite dirty.

Early March would be a good time to consider going Hakuba. The Aussie crowd will have disappeared by then and you can still get the occasional snowstorm.

But it's a really beautiful place. This shot was taken on 16th April:

This post has been edited by lowyatter: May 6 2015, 03:31 PM
michlove
post May 6 2015, 03:22 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ May 6 2015, 03:21 PM)
That one tak boleh, usually, snow on the ground will have mostly disappeared by end March. This year Hakuba had incredible snow and there was still a lot of snow on the ground in early April, but it's quite dirty.
aiyoo.....so sad to hear that cry.gif
dennisbklow
post May 6 2015, 08:18 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ May 3 2015, 09:29 PM)
Planning a 1 day trip to Mt Fuji frm Tokyo next month..
Any reasonable Japan online booking i can book?
Tot of going by bus. 3 adults 2 child.
Thank you
Any help please? smile.gif
lucaswjk
post May 6 2015, 09:32 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ May 6 2015, 08:18 PM)
Any help please?  smile.gif
u didnt specified wat u really need, how to help?

anyway here is general guide for diy
-> need 2days at least... coz most likely u wont b able to get the bus ticket to Mt Fuji
-> goto Odakyu @Shinjuku Station, take bus to kawaguchiko station
-> kawaguchiko station take bus to Subaru 5th Station, Mt Fuji

if u oni hv 1day, i suggest u book day tour
http://www.japanican.com/en/tour/list/?destcd=M04
absorb-d
post May 6 2015, 09:35 PM

1,115 posts

juz wondering do jp restaurants accept booking from overseas?
was told something along the lines get ur hotel receptionist to call
lucaswjk
post May 6 2015, 09:38 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ May 6 2015, 09:35 PM)
read this
http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/food/mich...9-1227325398212
alygonecrazy
post May 6 2015, 10:08 PM

28 posts

just got back from japan. i have to say, my "illusion" of japanese being the most considerate and disciplined citizen was shattered. they don't q up, they push and shove, but the most ridiculous thing is they don't give up their seat for old ppl or mothers carrying babies eventhough that is priority seat and the poor ah ma/ah kong and mothers standing right on front of them. basically the japs are no better than msian. although i respect their on time attitude.
Human Nature
post May 6 2015, 10:20 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ May 6 2015, 09:35 PM)
i made two reservations while I was still in malaysia, but not michelin star restaurants la

QUOTE(alygonecrazy @ May 6 2015, 10:08 PM)
just got back from japan. i have to say, my "illusion" of japanese being the most considerate and disciplined citizen was shattered. they don't q up, they push and shove, but the most ridiculous thing is they don't give up their seat for old ppl or mothers carrying babies eventhough that is priority seat and the poor ah ma/ah kong and mothers standing right on front of them. basically the japs are no better than msian. although i respect their on time attitude.
i am surprise as i encountered the exact opposite. once, i was in a train with a cabin bag and a bag pack and someone offered me his seat. i am a healthy looking guy by the way biggrin.gif
alygonecrazy
post May 6 2015, 10:26 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 6 2015, 10:20 PM)
i am surprise as i encountered the exact opposite. once, i was in a train with a cabin bag and a bag pack and someone offered me his seat. i am a healthy looking guy by the way  biggrin.gif
it happened in trains in tokyo. so many time! they are not considerate at all shocking.gif
dennisbklow
post May 6 2015, 10:33 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 6 2015, 09:32 PM)
u didnt specified wat u really need, how to help?

anyway here is general guide for diy
-> need 2days at least... coz most likely u wont b able to get the bus ticket to Mt Fuji
-> goto Odakyu @Shinjuku Station, take bus to kawaguchiko station
-> kawaguchiko station take bus to Subaru 5th Station, Mt Fuji

if u oni hv 1day, i suggest u book day tour
http://www.japanican.com/en/tour/list/?destcd=M04
Thank you for the link. rclxms.gif and the suggestions nod.gif

TSRegentCid
post May 6 2015, 11:38 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(alygonecrazy @ May 6 2015, 09:08 PM)
Japanese dark side I see more than anyone here.
They got 2 side face. Good and bad...bad got 2 type. Money eye or racist.
Racist type are most hard to deal with. Even you offer money also cannot settle the problem.

ivzh
post May 7 2015, 12:41 AM

668 posts

finally booked almost all the accomodation for my stay in japan during autumn season in nov.. all by airbnb. 2night in tokyo, 4nights in kyoto and 3nights in osaka.
checking through agoda and etc, hotel price in kyoto so much expensive compare to normal day..some at least cost 2 times more.

need some advices here
1. i m now still looking for an onsen ryokan in kawaguchiko which is toddler friendly, any recommendation? will stay there for 2 night.

2. the shinjuku to kawaguhiko bus, do we need to pay anything to reserve the bus ticket? is it possible that i can take an earlier bus if i reach shinjuku earlier (from narita)?

3. end of november, is it advisable to reserve seat for shinkansen (tokyo to kyoto)?

many thanks
michlove
post May 7 2015, 08:56 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ May 6 2015, 03:21 PM)

Early March would be a good time to consider going Hakuba. The Aussie crowd will have disappeared by then and you can still get the occasional snowstorm.

But it's a really beautiful place. This shot was taken on 16th April:

maybe i'll head to hakuba...on 18th March still can snowboarding hor?
TSRegentCid
post May 7 2015, 09:12 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ May 7 2015, 07:56 AM)
maybe i'll head to hakuba...on 18th March still can snowboarding hor?
Give up on Kyushu already?

michlove
post May 7 2015, 09:26 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 7 2015, 09:12 AM)
Give up on Kyushu already?
so sad right I have to give up kyushu....
TSRegentCid
post May 7 2015, 09:36 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ May 7 2015, 08:26 AM)
so sad right I have to give up kyushu....
See la, That why I didn't post those Aso tips yet. If not wasted energy.

Amature / first time ski?
Prepare come back Malaysia with all bruise injured. 100% confirm
michlove
post May 7 2015, 09:45 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 7 2015, 09:36 AM)
See la, That why I didn't post those Aso tips yet. If not wasted energy.

Amature / first time ski?
Prepare come back Malaysia with all bruise injured.  100% confirm
if you have posted the Aso tips d maybe I very syiok liao and I'll mati mati go biggrin.gif
Actually my itinerary not firm yet. Hakuba is just a thinking only and I feel March is not the right time to go. If I cannot see thick and deep snow like what i saw in takayama and shirakawa-go then might as well not waste time...

137 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:42 AM