others countries pipu I donno
ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD
Jul 8 2015, 10:58 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
48,441 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
What I know more Singapore pipu crossing over to spend more $$ here..
others countries pipu I donno |
Jul 8 2015, 11:51 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Jul 9 2015, 02:50 AM
9,353 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
How much does tourism and medicl tourism contribute to the GDP ofMsia ? Do we have the numbers ?
Jul 9 2015, 08:17 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 9 2015, 02:50 AM) About 15% based on the report.http://www.wttc.org/-/media/files/reports/...alaysia2015.pdf |
Jul 9 2015, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(xftwww @ Jul 8 2015, 10:12 PM) I think you're looking at this the wrong way. It is not a case of weak or strong currency = better, it is more a case of cause and effect. On the one hand you have a weak currency being one of the CAUSES why China is super competitive, combined with lower wages and standard of living, operating cost is cheaper despite exports of goods, therefore EFFECTING it's high growth. On the other hand, Japan's weak currency is an EFFECT of it's almost 0 inflation rate and 0% in gdp growth for the past decade, the cause of which is declining fertility rates and population growth. Why we want GDP growth? Malaysia is currently facing something more like the Japanese problem but not exactly. The Chinese government PURPOSELY held down the currency, until the US government launched an investigation. But we are facing a fall in our currency due to a 'crisis of confidence'. No one trust our banks or government, so they RUN to safer currencies. It doesn't matter if our semiconductor contributes to a 3rd of GDP or not. Unless you can tell me that it was 10% this year and GREW to 33% BECAUSE of a fall in currency, I don't really see the difference. I don't believe the growth in semiconductor manufacturing as a function of a GDP shows anything other than we have HISTORICALLY been a cheap producer. If you want a good example of what is happening to Malaysia. Look at Russia over the last year, and it's currency. We look more like THAT than China. Because we want to build up wealth, increase per capital income, increase purchasing power so that people are better well off across the nation and prosperous. If the country need a weak currency to grow, indirectly means purchasing power is sacrificed, which in the end of day, you have GDP growth but no increase in purchasing power, it is like a zero sum game already. |
Jul 9 2015, 08:33 AM
4,258 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
After BNM intervention for 3 days, looks like the USD has stabilised at ~3.80. That could be the figure BNM is interested to maintain.
Hope BNM has enough reserve to fight the negative perceptions on the RM with all the hoo-haa currently happening. Stability is good for business and personal spending like education and imported gadgets. But still, the domestic drama will continue to dent the confidence in RM. The RM will only be valued fairly if those drama is settled. |
Jul 9 2015, 08:46 AM
40 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 9 2015, 08:24 AM) Why we want GDP growth? I have no problems with anything u are saying. From an economics perspective ure mostly right. Because we want to build up wealth, increase per capital income, increase purchasing power so that people are better well off across the nation and prosperous. If the country need a weak currency to grow, indirectly means purchasing power is sacrificed, which in the end of day, you have GDP growth but no increase in purchasing power, it is like a zero sum game already. But that isn't what's happening atm. It isn't a case of weak currency leads to increase growth in GDP. Now it's a case of a depreciating currency AND a reduction in GDP growth. So... Using your game theory terminology, it's more like a negative some game. In out payoff is negative no matter what hahahaha |
Jul 9 2015, 10:21 AM
222 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
The legend is here who predicted.
Jul 9 2015, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 8 2015, 11:51 PM) No ah... same theory applies... Medical tourism and tourism, although different industries have the same economic impact. Whether the tourist are coming over to buy coconut or medicine, it still is inflow of foreign currency, and thus theoretically help the economy. |
Jul 9 2015, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 9 2015, 09:24 AM) Why we want GDP growth? If the currency is wek, the purchasing powr will be sacrificed ONLY IF the nation affected imports most of her everyday items. Othrwise, no. Thn this leads to personal inflation - if one uses mostly overseas items, thn his/her purcjasing power wil be affected.Because we want to build up wealth, increase per capital income, increase purchasing power so that people are better well off across the nation and prosperous. If the country need a weak currency to grow, indirectly means purchasing power is sacrificed, which in the end of day, you have GDP growth but no increase in purchasing power, it is like a zero sum game already. |
Jul 9 2015, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(xftwww @ Jul 9 2015, 09:46 AM) I have no problems with anything u are saying. From an economics perspective ure mostly right. I would call it everything negative for us now, don't know how to apply economics principles to wht that is happning to Msia. Corect in that point about us being in a 'negative sum game' now. But that isn't what's happening atm. It isn't a case of weak currency leads to increase growth in GDP. Now it's a case of a depreciating currency AND a reduction in GDP growth. So... Using your game theory terminology, it's more like a negative some game. In out payoff is negative no matter what hahahaha |
Jul 9 2015, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 9 2015, 09:17 AM) Is a 15% component supposedly growing later be able to offset the slacks in the othr exports and industries, hence being able to maintain our GDP growth and trade surplus ? How long wil this 15% tourism and medical tourism industry take to offset ? |
Jul 9 2015, 02:04 PM
Jul 9 2015, 02:11 PM
lol. it was a joke.
Jul 9 2015, 02:12 PM
Jul 9 2015, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 9 2015, 01:56 PM) If the currency is wek, the purchasing powr will be sacrificed ONLY IF the nation affected imports most of her everyday items. Othrwise, no. Thn this leads to personal inflation - if one uses mostly overseas items, thn his/her purcjasing power wil be affected. Even you don't buy import items, there may be inflation on local export goods, (set aside the issue that we won't able to escape from import goods, as in today world it is impossible to be self sufficient in every aspect of goods and foods)Eg. Palm oil is produced here and an export item. When USD vs Rm was RM3.00, palm oil price may be RM2000. Now USD vs Rm become Rm3.80, there may be increase in demand for palm oil, as it become 20% cheaper. Increase demand potential higher price. So export items also may become expensive due to market force. Goods price is not dictating locally nowadays but overall demand/internationally. If local price is too low and not profitable as compared to a better price in export, business will export the goods or elsewhere that have better price, so you have no supply locally until local up the price. |
Jul 9 2015, 04:58 PM
48,441 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
1.00 USD = 3.7966 MYR
Jul 9 2015, 06:11 PM
24,454 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 9 2015, 04:58 PM) it's ok la...3.8 is something our minds are used to. something "fixed" is better for biz, people can now go about doing their thing in calmness rather than nervousness. sure, prices of many things with imported content or value added will go up in price soon as old stocks no more, new stock will cost more. bottomline - wallets shrink, again. |
Jul 9 2015, 06:31 PM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
How long will BNM support MYR @ 3.80 considering its international Reserves is dropping?
| Change to: | 0.0298sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:55 AM |