Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 01:32 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 01:28 PM)
Anyone know if CIMB has extended their Unfixed FD ?

UOB has stopped their 4.25% promo.

Looking for new promo. Considering PBB (but rate could change). Will decide by tomorrow.  biggrin.gif
Top Cat just mentioned that Alliance Bank offers 4.2% with monthly interest, and gift.

Yes, UOB stopped 4.25%.

Since most FD promos just expired end of March; I think more new FD promo will come out soon..
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 07:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 01:37 PM)
Oh, Top Cat. Did he mention what gift ?  smile.gif
No. Top Cat did not mention what kind of gift.

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 1 2015, 04:21 PM)
Thank you Thank you!

My version is different, I was told only placement option 2 gets interest every 6 months but I don't trust her also so I have followed Human Nature's steps to ask the customer service last night. On the web site it says I would get a response on the next business day but only today I got the SMS saying 2 working days.

Their system is so cacat, yesterday, there was a customer asking to print statement. The front desk said need to pay RM 10 for it & customer agreed, then front desk said, don't know why the print function not working  doh.gif  shakehead.gif but she still ask her to queue up & wait for the manuallly written number.
I think Penang SCB PB maybe better, I got nothing.
You are welcome.
In fact, only RM can give the accurate answer.

When did you place your SCB FD again? Was it 23 Sept 2014?

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 04:40 PM)
Called my leng lui OCBC RM. The 4.2% FD promo ended. They now have 6 mth FD of 3.85% and 12 mth FD of 4.05%.

Aiya  cry.gif , was thinking if it is 12 mth 4.2% then good excuse to go and see the leng lui RM to place FD tomorrow.  drool.gif
Oh.. These rates are not competitive.. sad.gif
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 08:05 PM

2,490 posts

RHB FD Promo with credit interest to RHB saving account

Alliance Bank FD promo , valid until end of April
4.2% with *monthly interest for 12 months
Min RM 30K

*Must be over 40 years old to entitle for monthly interest brows.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 08:39 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 08:09 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 08:03 PM)
The leng lui RM knows that also. So I don't have excuse to go and see her. Best looking RM that I have met.  drool.gif OCBC do have lots of leng lui as you said before !  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif
Oh Really..? Can you take her picture to show us..? brows.gif
How old is she..? Her height?

Yesterday, SCB help-line said would get my RM to call me, then no news.
Today, SCB help-line said would get the Service Relationship Manager to call me, then no
news also.. sad.gif
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 08:23 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 1 2015, 08:08 PM)
Yes, 23 Sep 2014.
Surprisingly the customer service just called me earlier. She said their internal form which is not stated anywhere in the FD cert, has the option to specify if the interest should be credited every 6 months or only upon maturity.
So she said will investigate & get back to me.
Let us see how many more stories they have before I go to BNM

I am now wondering if my leng lui RM will ever want to see me again, lol!
Oh.. according to my Service Relationship Manager, your FD which placed on 23 Sept 2014 is supposed to get interest every 6 months. So what she said was not true also.

It stated clearly on our FD cert that FD tenure more than 12 months will get interest
every 6 months.

I do not think your leng lui RM will want to see you again because you did not buy investment
product from her...Some more you are "bothering" her for your FD interest issue this time.. biggrin.gif

Don't count on RM lah, they make no difference from car salesman.

Better to look for Service Relationship Manager or Operation Manger; if not then look for the Branch
Manager loh...

BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 08:35 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 08:24 PM)
So, now I can consider RHB also. Before this was thinking of PBB but the possibility of lowering OPR and FD rate is a bit of concern. Need to get rid of the cash at hand !!  tongue.gif
D O M ! Cannot be lah, nanti kena censored in OCBC PB centre ! But really sui !  drool.gif  rclxm9.gif

As to the SCB interest issue, I don't intend to pursue it. Got 3 FD cert's interest (big amt) and missed out on 19/3 interest, smaller amt (1k+). So just see how it develops.  biggrin.gif
Ah Sir, you said you received your interest from your 3 FDs, you placed these 3 FDs after
22 September 2014?

And your only FD that has not received interest is 19 Sept 2014, right?

About CIMB FD promo, I went to the branch this afternoon, they said no FD promo now.

Can yon invite her out..? brows.gif
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 08:41 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Apr 1 2015, 04:05 PM)
wow, what gift? drool.gif
Top Cat did not say what kind of gift wor..

This afternoon I went to Alliance Bank, Alliance bank staff said no
gift for placing FD.
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 08:50 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 08:44 PM)
Yes, no interest one 19/9/2014, same date as you. Then 25/9 & 1/10/2014 got interests.  smile.gif
But do not understand why Gary did not get his interest since he placed his FD
on 23 Sept 2014..? hmm.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 08:44 PM)
Hehe, say say only. Enough trouble with opposite sex. Look see, look see only. Eye see only eyetertainmentdrool.gif  rclxm9.gif
You said the same thing when you met your wife during the first time.. brows.gif

I am thinking to place FD in Alliance Bank... hmm.gif
Alliance Bank is nice, because they did not charge me RM 10 for not using my saving account
for slightly more than a year.
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 09:13 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 08:56 PM)
I think likely NOT 19/9 as cut off date, more like closer to 25/9. @Human Nature has FD around 25/9, I think. So could be 24/9 or even 25/9 as cut off date.  biggrin.gif

Maybe you are right.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 08:56 PM)
I have Alliance Bank platinum card which pays back 1.5% on the amt we spend. Captain Gen-X can verify that.

But Alliance Bank location a bit way off for me, has FD account there which has not been used for few years.
Are you having an Alliance Bank platinum credit card? Or debit card..?.. hmm.gif

Alliance Bank FD will pay monthly interest to saving account for depositors who are
over 40 years old.

According to RHB branch, RHB also pays monthly interest..

How about SCB Islamic 4.5% for 15 months?
It is still available until this month end..

But I think most likely I will give this opportunity to Alliance Bank this time..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 09:16 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 10:11 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 1 2015, 09:56 PM)
i put mine on 8.10.2014 for that 4.25%, all my 4 certs are option 2.

Reading here you guys had to complain only can get, i also sent out an email. And true enuff,
CS called back to inform int  will only be paid at maturity 18 months!

Realllly disappointed with this so called branded bank, 1st time put FD with them.
Already told them from day 1 i want 6 monthly int. Now they said, i must go back and sign a form,
then only can get 6 monthly??

I think SCB did this on purpose. a real cilakak bank. trying to hold back people's money. mine may be only rm8+k,
but if SCB managed to 'cheat' us all, in the millions i think it will add up.
So.. Ah Goat Sir, the "cut off" date on 25 Sept 2015 is no correct since Guy3288
placed his FD on 8 October 2014..

Go back to sign a form..?
I suggest you to talk to the Operation Manager, RM is useless..

When I met the Operation Manager last week, he said this could be the SCB system error
because this is the first time he sees SCB offers 15 months FD since he has been working
for SCB for 11 years..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 10:12 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 10:41 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 10:31 PM)
Debit card as I do not want to pay RM50 per year. Hehe.
I think the same way.. biggrin.gif

I have enough eggs in SCB and bit of disappointed with them.  tongue.gif
Okay..

But his FD is NOT due yet. So he may still receive it on 8/4.
Oh..you are right..I was not aware of this until you pointed it out.. doh.gif
Ah Guy, Let's wait until 8 April and see...

I was thinking whether also first time for SCB to offer this 15 mths FD. But no excuse as the IT guys should have set the system right.  biggrin.gif
I would say a Lao Kiap bank with a Kwai Lun Operation Manager & realistic RMs

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 10:48 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 2 2015, 11:16 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 2 2015, 10:54 AM)
Btw, I saw your recent update on a person called Gary, do you mean me? tongue.gif

Today just got another call from customer service, this time she acted dumb & said I got my interest already today.
But that is for another FD which was placed on 2 Oct 14.

So she said will revert in the next 30 mins, let's see.

Conclusion, between 19-23 Sep 14, SCB system may have been down so no interest  shakehead.gif
Oh.. doh.gif you are not Gary meh..? biggrin.gif .. just joking only..

I just checked my SCB online banking, still no interest in... sad.gif

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 2 2015, 10:54 AM)
You must insist, the interest paid every 6 months is for ANY FD longer than 12 months.
My useless RM so adamant, that's why I turned to Customer Service. Customer Service also say maybe upon maturity only I said please check & confirm.
Ya loh.
Interest paid every 6 months is for ANY FD longer than 12 months is stated clearly on the FD cert.

SCB should compensate for our interest loss based on the calculation of 4% p.a. bruce.gif

HLB Islamic FD Promo, valid until 31 May 2015
4% for 6 months
Min RM 10K fresh fund
FD can effective on the same day, no need to wait for check clearance

Am Bank, extended until 30 April 2015
4.08% for 8 Months (Additional 0.05% for Priority Banking -- 4.13%)

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 2 2015, 12:00 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 3 2015, 12:00 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 2 2015, 12:58 PM)
I think SCB RM and CS may not have the clear picture, depending on who we talk to. But I am quite sure that they have fixed the system so any FD from now on (15/18 mth FD) will get the interest. I got mine on 25/3 and 1/4. The 19/3 one about 1k+ interest, decided to let it go in view of so much confusion in SCB. The RM said will get back to me, anyway will just ignore it. Use my energy on something else.  biggrin.gif
Couples days ago, I left messages to SCB Help-Line to ask my RM (has never talked to him)
and the Service Relationship Manager to call me. But it seems they will not call me.

I prepare for the worst case that I will receive my interest upon FD maturity... sad.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 2 2015, 01:06 PM)
Oh ya, Ah Boom, forgot to mention that for RHB FD promo, not monthly interest but per the step up maturity, then FD interest will be paid out. That is 3mth, 6th mth etc. RHB officer confirmed on this.  smile.gif
Yes, Ah Goat Sir, I placed my FD with RHB in this afternoon.
Interest will deposit to my RHB saving account per step-up maturity.
And RHB FD can be withdrawn per step-up maturity.
BoomChaCha
post Apr 3 2015, 09:44 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 2 2015, 06:17 PM)
haha, nice name, wouldn't mind having it tongue.gif

Funny thing, my case is different. I keep getting routed back to my RM! Apparently the customer service called her up & scolded her saying how can she not check the docs on the spot, keep the customer waiting for so many days etc etc..
That was why she sounded quite pissed off when she asked me why I did not wait for her answer  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif But I did not have the chance to say
"Actually you closed my case that day by saying option 3 = interest credited upon maturity"

Anyway, now another story, she said 15 months FD only get interest after 1 year but I said mine is 18 months & see I got interest for my other FD today with the same option! Similar to the other day, she said her colleague may have put in the option to get interest after 1 year & very difficult to change (not sure to believe or not). So she asked me if worst case, would I accept it? So I said, what choice do I have?

Customer service told me there has been quite a lot of VSS from this Uptown branch & they too can't do much investigation as the documents are at the branch level. Maybe that is why the staff morale is so low, they are so desperate to sell unit trust & I think my RM has already been changed once in less than 6 months.
I have a feeling that may be the former SCB staff who got laid off sabotaged the SCB system..? sweat.gif

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 3 2015, 06:57 AM)
OCBC Start Saving Deal Promotion
1 April - 31 July 2015

Double Savings Deal: 4.30% p.a. for 3 months FD + equal amount in CASA (earmarked 3 months), min RM5k fresh fund

T&Cs http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...eal_general.pdf
4.30% + Smart Savers 3.05% (if deposit RM 1K early in the month for 2nd & 3rd month)
= 7.35% / 2 = effective rate 3.675

BoomChaCha
post Apr 3 2015, 09:58 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 3 2015, 08:51 AM)
Ah Boom Ah Sir,

I liked RHB in terms of the interest crediting, like BR, UOB etc. Several FD that I placed with them have been receiving interest every 3 mths for last year FD promo. Just like BR (but you have some issues with BR).  thumbup.gif

Also good relationship with RHB BM. Sending CNY cards, SMS on offers etc.  rclxms.gif
Ah Goat Sir,
UOB got monthly interest crediting meh..?

Now I do not have issue with BR, so far okay, receiving interest on time... rclxms.gif

Actually I was thinking to place FD in Alliance Bank for 1 year at 4.2 with monthly interest.
But suddenly found out that RHB FD at 4.21 for 1 year can be uplifted per step-up maturity,
so I changed my mind to put in RHB.

Quite surprised Alliance Bank still keeps my FD account active even I have not placed my FD
there for more than 3 years. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 3 2015, 09:39 AM)
BoomChaCha and bbgoat
I checked yesterday while updating my Fixed Deposit Page at my blog, OCBC website stated Fresh Fund Deal Effective 1st April:

6 Months - 3.8%
12 Months - 4%

Can refer link cybpsych provided above to OCBC website for T&C.

To ALL:

HLB Live Chat pretty cool, can ask them what FD promo they have. Was told none. Then asked about Islamic which BoomChaCha reported they have extended. And then only was informed they have 4% for 6 Months TD-i only, i.e. no more 12 or 13 months promo.
Thanks for the update.. Captain. thumbup.gif
Link:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...eal_general.pdf

Captain is always Captain.. biggrin.gif Very steady..

Top 5 FD info Contributor as of 3 April 2015 since Version 8 thumbup.gif
(1) cybpscyh - 20 contributions (Last update: 3 April 2015)
(2) bbgoat - 18 contributions (Last update: 1 April 2015)
(3) gsc - 9 contributions (Last update: 12 January 2015)
(4) dEviLs - 8 contributions (Last update: 18 March 2015)
(5) cklimm - 6 contributions (Last update: 8 March 2015)

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 3 2015, 10:23 AM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 6 2015, 10:17 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 3 2015, 12:11 PM)
Whatever it is, is SCB's fault. I remember when I started going to SCB again around Sep 2014 after about a year,  I almost didn't recognise anyone in the normal banking hall.

I can see everyone's instant move away from SCB now tongue.gif though the nearest promo is 0.29% (RHB 4.21%) difference which is quite a lot.
ii) It is stated clearly on SCB FD cert, for FD more than 12 months, interest will pay
every 6 months..
Can SCB not to honor this?? hmm.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 3 2015, 02:01 PM)
Ah Boom Sir, I said interest crediting. For UOB, the 13 mth FD credit interest on the 6th month. Received it on 1/4 for 13 mth 4% FD placed on 1/10/2014.

So UOB at least do not have the same issue as SCB.  rclxms.gif
Okay.. nod.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 3 2015, 05:42 PM)
Ah Boom Ah Sir, I found that once we go into RHB's step-up, difficult to get out as their initial few step-up rates are low. So for us to terminate it, unless we need the cash, difficult to find a high enough FD rate to turn to. Especially the latest one, they lure you to stay on until 12 mth ! Very smart of RHB !

Just like we got suck into a quicksand, cannot get out as time goes by ! Ha ha.  tongue.gif
Agree..Most likely will stay with RHB FD until to the end lah..
Unless if need cash urgently for heart bypass operation then can withdraw the RHB FD immediately.
That's why I like I like RHB FD better than Alliance FD.

BoomChaCha
post Apr 6 2015, 10:30 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 3 2015, 06:31 PM)
Luckily I did not go for the SCB Promo, else I will be pissed off big time. Service bad is one thing and maybe expected as SCB has many customers. But being conned (like being lied about needing to open Just One Account) and "cheated" (interest not paid) is another thing. For those who have several hundred thousands to deposit PLUS got the time to go waste at SCB to get things sorted out, maybe the extra 0.25% is worthwhile and get some thrill in the same time. But for most people, the last thing they expect is that the bank to con them and can't give them a straight forward answer.

Bro, your case is the worst, besides not getting the interest, your RM refused to answer and return your calls. And when you complain to CS, she calls you immediately and turn the entire episode in such a way that it's not her fault but you cannot wait for an answer, hahahaha. This RM of yours one day sure will be appointed as a Director of SCB with her excellent Tai Chi skills
Where can compare SCB to UOB. UOB is a class above.

UOB service is the best. Freshly brewed coffee and biscuits served by tea-lady and bought to you wherever you are. As some of you are aware, my daily attire is like a VCD seller, wear t-shirt with jeans with sling bag and slippers. Last week while I was about to enter my UOB branch, the security guard actually opened the door for me to enter! I tell you, it's not part of his scope of works that's for sure and it was the first time I saw him.

The moment I walk into the UOB PB centre, someone is sure to ask me how they can be of assistance. SCB, you enter the PB Centre, stand there 1 hour also nobody cares, hahaha.

SCB, you got RM1M to deposit and ask them for special rate (when there is no promo) also not bothered to entertain you.

Being a "Singapore" Bank, UOB is kiasu to the max and as such everything is well planned and executed to the dot. The moment you place a FD with UOB, their system immediately works out when and how much interest is due to you. If you got many FD with them, ask them to print all your FD details, and you will get a statement showing all your FDs with the relevant information, i.e. tenure, interest rate, maturity date (public holiday, Saturdays and Sundays all taken into account) and the amount of interest to be paid.

And I tell you, UOB's communication between their RMs and HQ (Bosses) is really fast. You request for something, within less than an hour sure you get a response - yes, no or counter offer by HQ (well at least from my experience).
Sorry, Captain, I think based on what you described about your attire, I think you look more
like Ah Long rather than VCD Seller.. hmm.gif
Sorry ah..Captain, I did not mean to offend you, I just speak out what I feel only.. sweat.gif

UOB's communication between their RMs and HQ (Bosses) is really fast ---> Agree

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 6 2015, 10:46 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 6 2015, 10:43 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 6 2015, 10:30 PM)
Yeah, I have RHB step-up locked in, last one on 1/1/2016 !!

Quote:
"Unless if need cash urgently for heart bypass operation then can withdraw the RHB FD immediately."

Add:
unless need urgent cash to layan C. D. who threaten to depart ......  cry.gif
unless need urgent cash to layan C. D. who threaten to depart ...... cry.gif ---> Oh.... now I understand already.. brows.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 6 2015, 10:34 PM)
Aiya, no more VCD seller, DVD seller lah !

But Captain is the opposite of those people who pretend, pretend. Ever heard of super rich people pretending to dress up poorly ?

Poor people pretend to be rich, rich one opposite lah !  tongue.gif
I agree... Just like you lah.. biggrin.gif

This morning I received one sms from the SCB Operation Manager, he said failed to credit FD
interest to my saving account, he said he would try again.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 7 2015, 12:06 AM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 7 2015, 08:42 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 7 2015, 12:15 PM)
Guess our worst case is to report to BNM since there are so many stories from SCB staff.
Agree.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(mamamia @ Apr 7 2015, 06:32 PM)
SCB 4.5% FD still available? See at post 2 stating until 30 April 2015. But SCB website show until 31 March 2015 only
Post #2 stating SCB 4.5% for 15 months FD is Islamic/Saadiq, it is still available until the end of this month.

About the "Enjoy 4.5% p.a. on 15-month Fixed Deposit" listed on SCB website, it is conventional FD which ended last month.

When you scroll down to the almost bottom of SCB website, you will find "Saadiq Term Deposit-i Campaign is extended until 30 April 2015", this is the 4.5% Islamic FD.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 7 2015, 08:46 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 14 2015, 11:46 PM

2,490 posts

From Top Cat RO Player:

Alliance FD Gold...AUM RM200k, auto eligible for PB

-monthly interest 4.2% credited into ur acc hybrid
- FREE 20" trolley bag
- PB customer can get pewter photo frame like gold art (see photo) so depends on branch, some give better items, some not.
-PB benefits

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:04 AM