Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

BoomChaCha
post Mar 17 2015, 05:26 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 17 2015, 05:00 PM)
As I plan to terminate the FD on the maturity date and the leng lui said it is the only option for the FD promo, so do not want to argue with leng lui. Let it be.  tongue.gif

Okay.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 17 2015, 05:00 PM)
thumbup.gif Uncle Boom got so many gifts.  notworthy.gif  Must be bringing few gf or leng lui there for the Advance account ? Loaded pockets !  rclxms.gif
Ai yah, I wish i got many gf just like you.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Mar 17 2015, 06:25 PM
BoomChaCha
post Mar 19 2015, 11:01 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 19 2015, 08:51 AM)
Ah Boom Ah Sir, we have to call SCB to enquire on the 6 monthly interest for the 15 mth FD. Not credited today. So going to check with the RM today.  shakehead.gif
Ah Goat Sir,
I just checked my SCB online banking, no interest is credited.
Then I called to SCB Help Line at 1300 888 888, the leng chai asked me to
check with the branch.. sad.gif
BoomChaCha
post Mar 19 2015, 11:07 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 15 2015, 12:33 PM)
Mine supposed to be today but not in yet  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 19 2015, 10:54 AM)
Wah, yours also not credited ! I received a call from SCB yesterday and he said, by right, it is automatic and don't know why it is happening. He said will call again this morning after checking so I am still waiting for his call.
Oh.. you should receive your interest on 15th..
Now 4 days already, something is wrong with SCB.. sweat.gif
BoomChaCha
post Mar 20 2015, 09:13 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Mar 19 2015, 12:31 PM)
Oh no, mine will be due on 23rd & I haven't subscribed to their internet banking also!
Better use SCB online banking to check your money and interest...

QUOTE(okuribito @ Mar 19 2015, 01:03 PM)
BoomChaCha I just had a look back at the T&C from the first campaign (ending Feb), it says "12.1 Campaign Bonus Interest Rate on the 9m or 15m fd's will be credited to ... nominated ...Account upon maturity"

"Bonus Interest Rate" is defined as the 1.1% (for 9m) or 1.25%(15m) bonus over the board rates.

No mention otherwise ie no restriction on the Board Rate interest. And note that "Total Interest rate" is also defined as Board rate + Bonus rate.

So my interpretation is that the interest based on board rates should be credited 6 mthly according to the pre-printed notes we see on our certs. The bonus they will hold back & credit at maturity smile.gif

Let us know what their response to this is. Thanks
Our SCB FDs that not receiving interest are 4.25% for 15 months.
Thank you for checking

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 19 2015, 06:25 PM)
Ha ha ha, "one happy family" !! thumbup.gif  cheers.gif 

Called my RM who was not aware of this issue and he is away from branch and promised to check later. But as I was nearby the SCB branch in town, I went to their PB centre to enquire on this issue. The leng lui told me that they are aware of this issue and has reported to the HQ. They said it is a system issue and they are working to fix it.

However it is better for customer to inform them if they encountered this issue. The RM's were supposed to inform their customer who has placed FD for this promo. But SCB in Penang has only 5 RM who has each about a thousand or hundred's of PB customers under them !!

Anyway I also reported for my sister who also encountered the same issue so that they can fix it ASAP.

What an IT system issue !!  shakehead.gif
Thanks for the update.... thumbup.gif
It is unbelievable and quite bad for a bank to have mistake like this; SCB should compensate
for our loss of daily interest... mad.gif Otherwise... bruce.gif
BoomChaCha
post Mar 20 2015, 09:23 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(wesleycjh @ Mar 19 2015, 09:54 PM)
Correct. I have similar experience whereby Tmn Connaught SCB force me to deposit 1.5K into JustOne acc in order to participate the 4.5% FD campaign. Luckily i did read this forum, i said forget about it. Then i went to Jln Sultan Ismail, KL main branch, the lenglui who handled my case said no need to deposit single sen! And i managed to put the FD and open the JustOne acc. So dun let the incompetence (or over competence) banker miss treat u.
SCB in Taman Cannaught is a small Islamic branch (Saadiq).

I was wondering who forced you to deposit RM 1.5K to your JustOne
account? The Malay big & tall guy who is sitting outside?
Or the Chinese female RM (a bit fat and not a lung lui.. sad.gif )?

Next time, if you visit SCB in Taman Cannaught, you can look for
the bank officer Mr. Lau, he is friendly & helpful.
BoomChaCha
post Mar 20 2015, 09:41 AM

2,490 posts

UOB FD Promo for School Holidays - Today is last day

(1) 12 Months at 4.25%
(2) 6 Months at 4.05%
(3) 3 Months at 3.95%

UOB FD Promo starts from next week Monday until end of March

(1) 12 Months at 4.20%
(2) 6 Months at 4.00%
(3) 3 Months at 3.95% (no change)

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Mar 20 2015, 09:43 AM
BoomChaCha
post Mar 20 2015, 10:36 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 20 2015, 09:59 AM)
Yes, for a so called foreign international bank to have this type of issue is simply unbelivable !  doh.gif  mad.gif

You better call the branch so that they can fix this for you ASAP. The leng lui in SCB PB centre told me to give the ic number of my sister to look into the issue also. But if they fix their IT system, so all similar issues should be fixed.

However SCB was into some issue lately and they are going thru' some retrenchment exercise if you follow the news.  smile.gif
Ah Goat Sir,
I have nobody to call since my previous RM left SCB last year December.

But anyway, the service level of SCB RM (the same as OCBC) is based on if we buy
any investment products from them or not; in other words, we will get good service
from RM if we buy investment products; otherwise, no service... sad.gif

For example like SCB's Bonus Saving promo, this promo is quite attractive to me but the
T&C are very very confusing, and only RM can explain the T&C. So for my case, I have to
study the T&C by myself.

About to fix no interest issue, I called to SCB help line yesterday, the leng chai asked me
to talk to branch..
I have the shortie branch manager mobile phone number, but he never pick-up calls.
So, it seems I have to visit the branch which is far away from my place..

I did a google search for SCB retrenchment, and accidentally found this on lowyat:

Start of recession?, Standard chartered Malaysia retrenching
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3463284/all

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Mar 20 2015, 10:44 AM
BoomChaCha
post Mar 20 2015, 06:27 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(alexace11 @ Mar 20 2015, 06:09 PM)
and PRUhorizon (SCB savings plan) is it worth it?
Investment Golden Rule:
If you are not sure and do not know how does it work to make money, then don't touch it. sweat.gif
BoomChaCha
post Mar 26 2015, 11:13 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Mar 24 2015, 06:13 PM)
I have recently started to work again after 10 year hiatus. For the past 2 years have been contributing under EPF 'Self Contribution'. Can I still continue to contribute under "Self", will there be any conflict? Thanks in advance smile.gif
Yes, you can.
It is not necessary for you to do "'Self Contribution' to your EPF account every year.
You can do "On & Off"..

BoomChaCha
post Mar 26 2015, 11:23 AM

2,490 posts

Update on the SCB interest issue

2 days ago, I called and sent sms to the SCB Service Manager (just found out he is a service manager, not a branch manager as previously mentioned). As usual, no pick-up call and no
reply from him.

So I had to go to the SCB branch and talked to this service manager, he promised would
credit interest; but so far no interest is shown in my saving account. I think I have to
sms him again.. sad.gif
BoomChaCha
post Mar 26 2015, 11:26 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Mar 26 2015, 10:55 AM)
Previously interest for FD placed above rm100k was taxable (not rm100k interest).  It is now exempted as per the lhdn website.
Interest earned from FD no need to pay tax, even the earned interest is few millions..
This is the bigger contribution from Ah Gib Gor.. thumbup.gif

BoomChaCha
post Mar 26 2015, 11:51 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Mar 26 2015, 11:42 PM)
SCB seems no better than AmBank. Went there yesterday to check on my interest & open a 4.5% promo FD.
RM desperate for sales until talked to me for about an hour, wanted to yawn out loud!
After knowing I am persistent on FD, she didn't even bothered to check if my interest was credited.

But seems all my FDs last year was placed on option 3 so I hope I do not have to put up a fight for it.  sweat.gif
Today I also heard there is a 10% requirement in savings for 4.5% FD even for fresh funds

Btw, SCB priority banking at uptown only gives instant 3-in-1 coffee / tea but Ambank TTDI has changed to Lavazza  drool.gif
My SCB FD 4.25% is under instruction 3 also, did you receive your interest on 23 March?

BoomChaCha
post Mar 27 2015, 12:33 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Mar 27 2015, 12:13 AM)
Ok, now I know I am still eligible for it, I did not get it yet.
I will complain to my RM tomorrow.
SCB FD cert stated that FD more than 12 months tenure will get 6 monthly interest.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Mar 27 2015, 08:22 AM
BoomChaCha
post Mar 27 2015, 09:06 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 27 2015, 08:28 AM)
It looks like all renewal instructions have the same issue.  shakehead.gif
Ha ha, you edited the post. I was trying to add that there are complains about BR, yet BR in interest crediting is better than other banks.  rclxms.gif Service wise cannot complain too much also.  biggrin.gif
It seems to me they fixed their system so my later FD interest was received right on the day it reached 6 months. But earlier FD still not yet as they need to manually key it in.

So need to get back to them so that they can do it earlier. I heard that they are doing this manually and those that complain will get it earlier.  biggrin.gif
Ah Goat Sir,
This SCB is ridiculous, owe my FD interest since 19 March 2015.
I just checked SCB online banking, no interest so far.

Since the SCB shorty service manager does not pick-up call or reply to any sms, so every time
I need to travel to the branch when I have issue. I do not understand why he is a manager?
Some more his job position is a service manager... sweat.gif

I need to go out-station now. Talk to you later smile.gif
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 09:53 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 29 2015, 11:47 AM)
Will wait until Tues and complain if my March 19th interest still not yet in. You should try the IBFT (instant xfer), can see the fees shown before you proceed. The last time I tried, it showed RM0 fees.

Ah Boom, have you got yours already ?  hmm.gif
Ah Sir, As of today, I still got zero FD interest in my account.

I talked to the Service Relationship Manager yesterday about this no interest
for my FD issue.

She said: SCB has two types of T&C for this 4.25% FD promo.
(1) For all FDs that placed on or before 19 September 2014, these FDs would receive interest upon maturity.

(2) And for FDs placed on or after 22 September 2014, these type of FDs would receive 6 monthly interest.

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Mar 31 2015, 12:33 PM)
Anyone still facing problems with SCB?

Apparently, the branches will not take phone calls & call centre said must physically go to the branch to check. And my useless RM is avoiding me. Is been the 3rd working day since reporting the issue & no status at all! Looks like I have to go to the branch which is a hassle!

Maybe I should complain on their Facebook
RM are hopeless, sad.gif unless if we buy investment products from them.

You can ask for help from Operation Manager or Service Relationship Manager in your branch.
Service Relationship Manager is taking care of all RM issues.
Operation Manager is in charge of normal customer issues.

Service Relationship Manager reports to Operation Manager,
and Operation Manager reports to Branch Manager.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 11:41 AM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 10:11 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 31 2015, 07:30 PM)
Wasai, you are really persistent. Same as our Almighty Magician !  tongue.gif

Luckily  tongue.gif all my SCB FD certs are renewal instruction 2.  biggrin.gif
Ah Boom, yours renewal instruction 3 ?  hmm.gif
Ah Sir, according to the Service Relationship Manager,
our FD interest has nothing to do with the Instruction (1), (2) OR (3)..

Whether to receive interest upon FD maturity or 6 monthly interest, it depends
on the date we placed our FDs.

I am contacting the Service Relationship Manager to email me the T&C...

Mine is instruction 3, but still no interest

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 12:36 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 10:17 AM

2,490 posts

UOB FD Promo, valid from 1 April until 15 May 2015

(1) 3 months at 3.90%
(2) 6 months at 4.05%
(3) 12 months at 4.20%

SCB Saadiq (Islamic) FD Promo is extended to 30 April 2015
(1) 9 months at 4.25%
(2) 15 months at 4.50%

SCB Link:
https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/term-deposit-i/

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 11:04 AM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 11:57 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 11:52 AM)
This morning before 8am, logged in to my SCB account, the interest for the 6th mth FD in already.  rclxms.gif Used their IBFT at RM0 to xfer. No GST !! Note IBFT not normal IBG. So SCB kaki next time try using their IBFT. I used it twice already with ZERO fees. Note, could be benefits of the JustOne account.

However before 8am, my UOB 13 mth FD with 6 mth due, interest NOT in yet. Thinking same issue as SCB ? Ha ha !  tongue.gif Then after 9am, it appeared ! Used their IBG to xfer the fund. Paid RM0.10 but with GST imposed (RM0.106 ? Did not look at the exact figure).

Terminated one CIMB eFD due today. Used their IBFT to xfer fund. Paid RM2.12 for the fees with GST.

Looking for any new FD promo to place my FD's.  rclxms.gif
Ah Goat Sir, did you receive FD interest for your SCB FD that placed on 19 September 2014?
I did not receive anything.. sad.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 1 2015, 11:09 AM)
My first deposit was on Value Date : 15/09/2014
So.. did you receive interest.? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 11:58 AM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 12:33 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 12:01 PM)
Ya, I got interest for 25/3 and 1/4 FD due's. But my 19/3 one still not in yet. The RM is supposed to get back to me. He told me last week that the BM has approved the interest crediting.

So if that is true, that means for FD placed before 19/9/2014, need special approval to get the interest. SCB RM over-worked, only 5 in Penang main branch (CB has 15 or so, OCBC 10 to 15 RM's) !
Not only SCB Bonus Saving promo is confusing; now SCB FD promo is also confusing.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 12:01 PM)
Wa, your are chasing them all right up the chain of command !  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif
You suggested me to complain ma..
So I prepare first lah.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 1 2015, 12:12 PM)
Just received reply from SCB leng chai.

He said cannot manually credit in the interest. Their IT system will do it again if manually key in the interest. That is his reply. I tend to agree with what you said earlier. That those that place the FD earlier on 19/9/2014 will only get it later. The RM is blur blur on this issue.

I think I will just let this one go. Disappointed with SCB. That is part of the reason why I stopped putting more eggs there, though their rate is damn irresistible.  shakehead.gif

For @Human Nature, due to his "reputation" in SCB, they credited the interest for him. Hehe, just guessing only.  tongue.gif
I received a sms from the Operation Manager (previously interpreted mistakenly as Service Manager) this morning, he said he is working with HQ to chase back the interest and credit it
back to my Justone saving account by this week.

Hopefully can get the interest within this week..
Let's see what will happen lah..

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 1 2015, 12:19 PM)
Yes, i received them but credited manually. The cut off date thing may be correct. Both person who handled my case did not mention about it so maybe your info is the latest one. However, they need to show where in their terms. Even the bank told me the interest will be credited. This SCB really make things complicated for themselves.
I tried to contact the Service Relationship Manager this morning who gave me this latest info yesterday, but her direct line could not be reached, I think she gave me a wrong phone number; then I called to SCB Help-Line to request this Service Relationship Manager to call me back, because I want to get the T&C from her. But until now, no phone call from her yet.

By the way, I want to know if SCB conventional 4.5% for 15 months is still available or not?
I am hoping that maybe SCB extends this conventional FD promo just like what Islamic does.
But the only way to find out this answer is to drive to the branch to ask the SCB staff.. sad.gif
Stupid or not..?

Is Call centre efficient or not? I doubt it..

For UOB, I can call to one their branches to find out the latest FD promo right away... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 12:42 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 1 2015, 01:15 PM

2,490 posts

Deleted..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 1 2015, 01:23 PM

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0570sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled