138 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

The Sony Alpha Thread V61, From A to E mount!

NutZ748
post Dec 23 2014, 05:57 PM

131 posts

Serious damage today... wub.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 23 2014, 07:02 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 23 2014, 05:42 PM)
Can't really have that DSLR grip when handling the A6000 with the kit lens but I have no issues with it. Honestly, the kit lens is a real gem as it's a good lens and it's really compact which is the entire point of getting a mirror less camera. Compare that to a 16-70 Zeiss which is like a behemoth lol.

That shutter speed rule of thumb varies from person to person. Just need to find what shutter speed you're most comfortable using.  But keep in mind, it's always better to have a noisier shot that a blur one smile.gif

Haha it's good if you can handhold 1/10 s at 35 mm. Not many are able to do that! But of course the OSS really helps a lot! It's like 3 stops of image stabilisation I in!
TBH, the *ability* to shoot in low light at low shutter speeds thanks to OSS is actually also a curse if you shoot people. Unless they're standing still, anything below 1/60 (or 1/30 if youre lucky) will pretty much blur the people involved... which can be a royal pain when you actually don't want them to blur out.

In which case your only option is to increase the aperture width (not practical most of the time coz of the DOF becoming paper thin), increase ISO (which is the reason people get the A7s) or getting a flash (which comes with its own bag of snakes to tame).

If you're just shooting the scene/scenery itself or just like blurring people out for the fun of it like me it's a different story however... Though the SEL35 isn't the best focal length for scene shooting IMHO, the Sig19, SEL20, SEL16 and the superlative SEL24Z is much better for that.

The kitty is fine though, FL wise, but for snapshots it takes its sweet time to turn on and extend so you might miss your moment. Otherwise it's a pretty okay kitty, all things considered... especially considering the teeny weeny size. I'm just not a fan of the slow start up and the distortion (which sometimes results in slightly weird stretched out corners with lens correction applied).

And yes, lenses being almost comically huge on the tiny A6k is the reason why I'm sticking to primes for now. It's such a waste of its tiny body to stick a huge lens in front of it...

However, I wouldn't say the 1670Z is *that* big. You should see the A6k with the SEL16105G, the *old* SEL18200 or the even huger 70200G mounted on it lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 23 2014, 07:13 PM
IwanAGP
post Dec 23 2014, 09:58 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 23 2014, 05:10 PM)
The camera chooses shutter speed this way:

Focal length * crop factor = 1/shutter speed

So if you are shooting at 35mm, 35mm * 1.5x = 52.5 = 1/52.5s where the nearest is 1/60s.

If you use flash, it will not be slower than 1/60s and not faster than the flash sync speed (e.g. 1/160s).

The ISO is assumed to be at the lowest Auto ISO will allow e.g. 200. Then the aperture is adjusted so the shutter speed is achieved e.g. F5.6.

If it is still too dark, then only will the camera increase ISO. So you don't have a case of the camera jumping to ISO1600 first then setting the aperture to F22.
biggrin.gif Never really look at those formula. New thing learnt but I doubt I will every calculate it tongue.gif Just trial and error then soon I will know at what focal length, what shutter speed should I use to get sharp images or just preview each time after a shot (which is what we usually do biggrin.gif ).

hmm.gif Flash... Another field to explore. Even the built-in flash... Don't even know how to control when I'm in Manual mode. Will explore it later.

The camera won't set it to F22 la coz that will be darker tongue.gif

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 23 2014, 07:02 PM)
TBH, the *ability* to shoot in low light at low shutter speeds thanks to OSS is actually also a curse if you shoot people. Unless they're standing still, anything below 1/60 (or 1/30 if youre lucky) will pretty much blur the people involved... which can be a royal pain when you actually don't want them to blur out.

In which case your only option is to increase the aperture width (not practical most of the time coz of the DOF becoming paper thin), increase ISO (which is the reason people get the A7s) or getting a flash (which comes with its own bag of snakes to tame).

If you're just shooting the scene/scenery itself or just like blurring people out for the fun of it like me it's a different story however... Though the SEL35 isn't the best focal length for scene shooting IMHO, the Sig19, SEL20, SEL16 and the superlative SEL24Z is much better for that.

The kitty is fine though, FL wise, but for snapshots it takes its sweet time to turn on and extend so you might miss your moment. Otherwise it's a pretty okay kitty, all things considered... especially considering the teeny weeny size. I'm just not a fan of the slow start up and the distortion (which sometimes results in slightly weird stretched out corners with lens correction applied).

And yes, lenses being almost comically huge on the tiny A6k is the reason why I'm sticking to primes for now. It's such a waste of its tiny body to stick a huge lens in front of it...

However, I wouldn't say the 1670Z is *that* big. You should see the A6k with the SEL16105G, the *old* SEL18200 or the even huger 70200G mounted on it lol.
Talking about OSS... Do I actually need to turn it off while doing long exposure? I have been doing it with that ON. Maybe I should try out someday and see the difference.

biggrin.gif yeah can't agree more that the 1650 is a piece of gem. Also agree on the slow powering up part. Distortion wise still ok, not so visible for me.

I probably won't get another zoom lens other than the Kit Lens. Just legacy lenses and native prime lenses.

Also feel like doing macro but to make macro easier (for bugs that kind of thing), have to get a longer macro lens like 100mm or more. Sony hasn't got one lens for that though. Just the 30mm F3.5 sad.gif

Some photos for today but it's #throwback

DSC01394 by CJSquare, on Flickr

DSC01391 by CJSquare, on Flickr

DSC01578 by CJSquare, on Flickr

DSC01414 by CJSquare, on Flickr

For 4., don't ask me why I chopped off the ferris wheel. I only noticed it the other day~~
ClericKilla
post Dec 23 2014, 10:47 PM

1,789 posts

My favourite photo today!

weikent
post Dec 23 2014, 11:08 PM

20 posts

Newbie reporting in!
Hello everyone!
I just get a Sony A57 from my bro last few days. Here's the photo I took today, hope you guys can give me some comment

user posted imageDSC08187 by ahkent96, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC08192 by ahkent96, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC08140 by ahkent96, on Flickr

Thanks in advance... ^^

This post has been edited by weikent: Dec 23 2014, 11:09 PM
ClericKilla
post Dec 24 2014, 12:26 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(weikent @ Dec 23 2014, 11:08 PM)
Newbie reporting in!
Hello everyone!
I just get a Sony A57 from my bro last few days. Here's the photo I took today, hope you guys can give me some comment

Thanks in advance... ^^
Being honest,

1st photo ; if your subject is placed in more interesting perspective would make photo look different, i can see puddle of water and grass?

2nd photo ; not mistaken its misfocused.

3rd photo ; the color ran too greenish imho.
ClericKilla
post Dec 24 2014, 12:34 AM

1,789 posts

Side-self captured with Sony a7 under low light but pullback shadows and edit a little.

lwliam
post Dec 24 2014, 03:14 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

Technically not an Alpha family, but a distant relative.

RX100m3 with timelapse app, stretched to 30% speed. Best viewed in fullscreen 1080p

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 24 2014, 03:16 AM
ohman
post Dec 24 2014, 08:46 AM

1,178 posts

Sony one utama xmas sales. Anything there?
weikent
post Dec 24 2014, 10:16 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Dec 24 2014, 12:26 AM)
Being honest,

1st photo ; if your subject is placed in more interesting perspective would make photo look different, i can see puddle of water and grass?

2nd photo ; not mistaken its misfocused.

3rd photo ; the color ran too greenish imho.
Thank you. I will try to improve.
bdrc
post Dec 24 2014, 06:09 PM

1,626 posts

Some new spam in new thread!

user posted imageasd-0679 by bdrc, on Flickr

user posted imageasd-03492 by bdrc, on Flickr

user posted imageasd-03589 by bdrc, on Flickr
Belphegor
post Dec 24 2014, 08:49 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Dec 24 2014, 06:09 PM)
Some new spam in new thread!

Nice pic you got there. What lens were you using? F value?
hazril
post Dec 25 2014, 08:53 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(weikent @ Dec 23 2014, 11:08 PM)
Newbie reporting in!
Hello everyone!

Thanks in advance... ^^
1. good usage of reflection of subject...

2.i think the t-rex is abit OOF...care to upload the coloured version?

3.nothing much to comment...more like a snapshot to me...

we all been through the learning stage...dont give up ya bro.... icon_rolleyes.gif
weikent
post Dec 25 2014, 12:30 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 25 2014, 08:53 AM)
1. good usage of reflection of subject...

2.i think the t-rex is abit OOF...care to upload the coloured version?

3.nothing much to comment...more like a snapshot to me...

we all been through the learning stage...dont give up ya bro.... icon_rolleyes.gif
of course i wont... =)
this is the coloured version
user posted imageDSC08192 by ahkent96, on Flickr

This post has been edited by weikent: Dec 25 2014, 12:31 PM
goldfries
post Dec 25 2014, 12:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 23 2014, 07:02 PM)
why is it a curse? at least you GET TO SHOOT something, isn't it? smile.gif

It's just not meant for moving subjects but at least you can now have a decently sharp scenery with motion trail on objects that are moving. The photo will have a different impact.

nixonyang
post Dec 25 2014, 03:31 PM

757 posts

Merry Christmas everyone!
bdrc
post Dec 25 2014, 04:05 PM

1,626 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 24 2014, 08:49 PM)
Nice pic you got there. What lens were you using? F value?
The first is with Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8
Second and third is with Sigma 30mm f/2.8 EX DN

Aperture is f11 for the first, and f2.8 for those that follows.
All taken with a6000.

This post has been edited by bdrc: Dec 25 2014, 04:07 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 25 2014, 06:24 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 25 2014, 12:34 PM)
why is it a curse? at least you GET TO SHOOT something, isn't it? smile.gif

It's just not meant for moving subjects but at least you can now have a decently sharp scenery with motion trail on objects that are moving. The photo will have a different impact.
Ehem... "... a curse *IF* you shoot people... ... a royal pain when you *don't want* them to blur out..."

I meant that when you *intend* to get people in the scene all sharp lar...

Most people, especially when they start out, expect OSS to get EVERYTHING (moving people included) all sharp for them at low light... without considering the relationship between shutter speed and movement (and even AF, but that's nothing the OSS can help with already).

In short, OSS's 2-3 stop advantage is not a golden bullet. It helps, but there's more stuff to consider than that. It becomes a *curse* when you start thinking it is... or when you forget that it isn't.

Like I also said... if you want people to blur out or if you wanna get motion trails *on purpose* for artistic purposes or otherwise than its a different story lah...

Though I have found that the bottom end of hand holding *with* OSS (around 1/10-1/5 with the SEL35, depending on how shaky your hands are) is usually only sufficient to blur movement out by a little bit - which is again fine if that's what your intended effect is.

Well, IMHO anyway... TBH this actually holds true for most mechanical (and software) stabilisation systems as well, not just OSS.

Oh, and merry Christmas everyone.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 26 2014, 02:36 AM
mingyuyu
post Dec 25 2014, 06:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(weikent @ Dec 25 2014, 12:30 PM)
of course i wont... =)
this is the coloured version

shutter speed is too slow on this one (1/5), causing hand shake to happen smile.gif
4896la
post Dec 25 2014, 07:24 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 25 2014, 06:38 PM)
shutter speed is too slow on this one (1/5), causing hand shake to happen smile.gif
Oic...

138 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:17 AM