Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

A.B.D.
post Jul 3 2021, 10:42 AM

2,365 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jul 2 2021, 11:17 AM)
I think most people are locking themselves up in home since more than a year ago... Now even the shops are closed.
yes sadly. hifi shops are usually the least crowded shop. i'm tempted by the cd6007 USB hi res and new akm dac and what hifi says it's better than cd6006 but then every 6 series is 5 stars and better than previous. it's like they are marantz cd player agent laugh.gif
TSchanhin
post Jul 3 2021, 12:42 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(A.B.D. @ Jul 3 2021, 10:42 AM)
yes sadly. hifi shops are usually the least crowded shop. i'm tempted by the cd6007 USB hi res and new akm dac and what hifi says it's better than cd6006 but then every 6 series is 5 stars and better than previous. it's like they are marantz cd player agent  laugh.gif
Anyway, with entry level budget, Marantz 6 series always the champion without any competitors (not even near). It is safe to get it without listening to it.
A.B.D.
post Jul 3 2021, 02:53 PM

2,365 posts

Let's play spot the difference laugh.gif

Left: CD6006, Right: CD6007

keithwwk
post Aug 10 2021, 10:10 PM

41 posts

The biggest improvement I see on the 6007 is dac chip now same board with audio board. Previous model the dac is on digital board then jumper wire to audio board. The sound might shifted a bit due to AMK vs Cirrus.
keithwwk
post Oct 19 2022, 09:17 AM

41 posts

Hi guys, how you all doing?

Can OP add one more Marantz NA-11S1 for me?

I recently acquired it just to use as DAC to enjoy my CD collection. It is really a good music maker. The overall improvement it bring to me is simply amazing. ๐Ÿค—
TSchanhin
post Oct 27 2022, 12:14 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Oct 19 2022, 09:17 AM)
Hi guys, how you all doing?

Can OP add one more Marantz  NA-11S1 for me?

I recently acquired it just to use as DAC to enjoy my CD collection. It is really a good music maker. The overall improvement it bring to me is simply amazing. ๐Ÿค—
Done.. impressive choice you have over there.

You guys going to KLIAV this weekend?
TSchanhin
post Oct 27 2022, 12:17 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(A.B.D. @ Jul 3 2021, 02:53 PM)
Let's play spot the difference  laugh.gif

Left: CD6006, Right: CD6007

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Aug 10 2021, 10:10 PM)
The biggest improvement I see on the 6007 is dac chip now same board with audio board. Previous model the dac is on digital board then jumper wire to audio board. The sound might shifted a bit due to AMK vs Cirrus.
Not sure if the CD player difference still matter for those having good DAC. Example like our friend, keithwwk here that own the NA11S1.

Sometime I wonder if buying a good looking BD player should give the same sound as I have the NA8005 as DAC
A.B.D.
post Oct 27 2022, 10:44 AM

2,365 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 27 2022, 12:17 AM)
Not sure if the CD player difference still matter for those having good DAC. Example like our friend, keithwwk here that own the NA11S1.

Sometime I wonder if buying a good looking BD player should give the same sound as I have the NA8005 as DAC
I believe it will still sound good after processing and audio out from na8005 and hard to tell difference vs a CD player digital out unless the listener has golden ears. Just beware the transport motor of BD or DVD player could be noisy compared to a hifi CD player. However motor noise canโ€™t be heard from distance and in the loud music. One thing for sure when BD player spin a CD, the rpm is well below capability so transport lifespan could be longer than CD player.
keithwwk
post Oct 28 2022, 04:36 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 27 2022, 12:17 AM)

I remember the 6004 sounded very big and broad. Compared to CD17mkIII (equivalent to SA15 tier), it compromised tonal color variation, decay and refinement to its given price.

Marantz is very good in sound tweak according to their product tier.

If your source is all digital files now no point to add a transport. Unless you still own significant amount of CD collection then using BDP coaxial (bettered than Optical) out to your NA8005 is good ideal.
keithwwk
post Nov 9 2022, 10:03 PM

41 posts

Been listening to new toy NA11S1 for more than a month now. Would like to share some thoughts on vocal.

I didn't have any hands on experience on any marantz reference series prior to NA11S1. Heard older model donkey years ago like SA14S1, SA11S1 in friends there. But due to unfamiliarity of their setup, I got no ideas how the players contributed to overall sound presentation. Sound good in total I remember.

Now in my own setup, with all things equal, the NA11S1 as a DAC to decode PCM from my CD17MK3, let me tasted how it really contributed to overall sound. The very first thing strike me deeply is vocal. It could be due to Ken Ishiwata's hand and ears of tweaking, the vocal sound just more believable and truer: great dynamic range, sentimental, focus, fleshy, liquid and alive. Feel of singer presence right in front the listener is solid with right proportion. It lived up Live at Blue Alley presented with ease, catches very good color and dynamics range within Eva voice reflects how she really phrases very songs regardless down low or go high, loundly, softly or whisperly. The liveliness and presence of the overall band is solid. The NA11S1 do tell me how Eva really can sing, her voice can be low deep, can be high raised, like roller-coaster, thick and fleshy. She singing become so effortlessly with total control truly enjoying. Rest or silent between note, the swing of rhythm among the band, air or atmosphere of the live event are simply special...

That's all for now about vocal...I will share more regarding low level resolution, tonal color dynamic, airiness, staging, imaging, high, bass, etc in later time....thank for reading ya..๐Ÿค—

ktek
post Nov 15 2022, 12:22 PM

ๅฐๅ–‡ๅญ
13,195 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Nov 9 2022, 10:03 PM)
Been listening to new toy NA11S1 for more than a month now. Would like to share some thoughts on vocal.

I didn't have any hands on experience on any marantz reference series prior to NA11S1. Heard older model donkey years ago like SA14S1, SA11S1 in friends there. But due to unfamiliarity of their setup, I got no ideas how the players contributed to overall sound presentation. Sound good in total I remember.

Now in my own setup, with all things equal, the NA11S1 as a DAC to decode PCM from my CD17MK3, let me tasted how it really contributed to overall sound. The very first thing strike me deeply is vocal. It could be due to Ken Ishiwata's hand and ears of tweaking, the vocal sound just more believable and truer: great dynamic range, sentimental, focus, fleshy, liquid and alive. Feel of singer presence right in front the listener is solid with right proportion. It lived up Live at Blue Alley presented with ease, catches very good color and dynamics range within Eva voice reflects how she really phrases very songs regardless down low or go high, loundly, softly or whisperly. The liveliness and presence of the overall band is solid. The NA11S1 do tell me how Eva really can sing, her voice can be low deep, can be high raised, like roller-coaster, thick and fleshy. She singing become so effortlessly with total control truly enjoying. Rest or silent between note, the swing of rhythm among the band, air or atmosphere of the live event are simply special...

That's all for now about vocal...I will share more regarding low level resolution, tonal color dynamic, airiness, staging, imaging, high, bass, etc in later time....thank for reading ya..๐Ÿค—
congrats owning a high end marantz i wish for.
usually these live performance singer grab microphone very close to lips ?
keithwwk
post Nov 24 2022, 10:47 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 15 2022, 12:22 PM)
congrats owning a high end marantz i wish for.
usually these live performance singer grab microphone very close to lips ?
Thanks man. For whom listen to CD and don't really care of it's dated streaming capability, now is good time to get used one. My friend bought one too after he listened mine. He is a tube guy and used to own an electrocompanient emc-1up mkII utilized cdpro2 pickup mechanism which he sold not long ago due to spare parts shortage. He then get a YBA heritage CD100 and not happy with the sound. Now he use the YBA as transport to NA11S1, he said this combo sound is another level up compared to emc-1up. I had successfully poisoned him into marantz's sound devil.gif rclxms.gif

Yes, I do notice some singer very close to mic..almost like kissing.

This post has been edited by keithwwk: Nov 24 2022, 10:53 AM
ktek
post Nov 24 2022, 11:52 AM

ๅฐๅ–‡ๅญ
13,195 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Nov 24 2022, 10:47 AM)
Thanks man. For whom listen to CD and don't really care of it's dated streaming capability, now is good time to get used one. My friend bought one too after he listened mine. He is a tube guy and used to own an electrocompanient emc-1up mkII utilized cdpro2 pickup mechanism which he sold not long ago due to spare parts shortage. He then get a YBA heritage CD100 and not happy with the sound. Now he use the YBA as transport to NA11S1, he said this combo sound is another level up compared to emc-1up.  I had successfully poisoned him into marantz's sound devil.gif  rclxms.gif 

Yes, I do notice some singer very close to mic..almost like kissing.

wah separate components. not easy to find a perfect matching.

i staying all in one only.
professional move. less delay, wont waste energy (ๆ™’ๆฐ”)
keithwwk
post Nov 24 2022, 02:52 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 24 2022, 11:52 AM)
wah separate components. not easy to find a perfect matching.

i staying all in one only.
professional move. less delay, wont waste energy (ๆ™’ๆฐ”)
Yeah, you are right about integrated. I did owned trpt+Dac conmbo in early Y2k, then I fell in love with marantz, changed to all int amp and cdp. There is some magic in the music where separated combo can't match especially those KI signature marantz. When I saw the launch of NA11S1 in 2013, which is fine tweaked by KI, I think wah like that then regardless of what trpt/source I use, I shall have KI signature sound come out, isn't wonderful? But another side of me think otherwise is too much variable in the matching path, trpt, cable, etc between the trpt to dac right? better don't touch.

That's it, music is so nice a long the years, I almost forgot the NA11S1. Until one day, after I bought a CD6004, upgrade path strike me, then sold it to get a SA8005, I accidentally saw a used NA11S1 for sell in very good px and yet it too quite some time to be sold. I wondering why? I started to ask ah Goo to look for some opinions...

Without doubt, as a streamer, it is quite dated explained why it not a first choice for streamers in today market even used. But, for me who don't care of streaming, it seem a good vfm Dac in used px. I didn't have any chances to audit it, never heard it in a shop too, based on owner opinions who like it's sound, they have a same conclusion regarding it sound: whatever source it played, it just sound nice, typical Marantz 11 series sound with KI's touch added more magic in term of musicality. Wow..really?

So I took the plunge to buy the NA11S1 to try out...Ya..they are right, I tried 4 trpts now at home, CD17mk3, 6000KI, SA8005 and friend YBA Heritage CD100, regardless of which trpt I used, it just really nice..it sound very KI which is what I love for... thumbup.gif lust.gif

Another bonus to me is can listen to local internet radio, sound good too tongue.gif
piscesguy
post Dec 16 2022, 06:48 AM

็งใฎๅๅ‰ใฏใ‚Šใ‚…ใ†ใงใ™
3,963 posts

I have been using SR6003 since 2009 and it's still working perfectly but now it's more use for listening to stereo music and TVB drama.

voscar
post Dec 16 2022, 10:24 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 16 2022, 06:48 AM)
I have been using SR6003 since 2009 and it's still working perfectly but now it's more use for listening to stereo music and TVB drama.
Vintage Marantz AVR yo
piscesguy
post Dec 17 2022, 07:48 AM

็งใฎๅๅ‰ใฏใ‚Šใ‚…ใ†ใงใ™
3,963 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Dec 16 2022, 10:24 PM)
Vintage Marantz AVR yo
ya, but I think the design still looks modern. laugh.gif
ktek
post Dec 20 2022, 10:31 PM

ๅฐๅ–‡ๅญ
13,195 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Dec 16 2022, 10:24 PM)
Vintage Marantz AVR yo
he got hdmi u cannot say vintage even newest tv r using hdmi
unless it totally obsolute baru we call vintage

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 17 2022, 07:48 AM)
ya, but I think the design still looks modern.  laugh.gif
timeless look by botak jp guy
voscar
post Dec 21 2022, 10:44 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 20 2022, 10:31 PM)
he got hdmi u cannot say vintage even newest tv r using hdmi
unless it totally obsolute baru we call vintage
timeless look by botak jp guy
HDMI 2.1 current standard already, many players only look for AVR with HDMI 2.1 liao.
keithwwk
post Jun 20 2023, 11:41 AM

41 posts

Hey guys, how you all doing?

Can op add one more Marantz PM-KI Ruby for me?

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š

66 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 >Top

0.0405sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:47 PM