PILOT, PILOT

tarvin
post Jun 10 2008, 12:32 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Kaerna @ Jun 6 2008, 09:31 PM)
Hi guys,

I've applied a position for a cadet pilot in Air Asia and I've just received a e-mail requiring me to attend the paper test on 15th June. I need directions on how to get to the Air Asia academy. I'm driving by the way. I would also like to know if they will test us on the entire SPM syllabus for my Maths and Physics paper or only certain topics?

Thank you very much.
its around the lcct terminal if in not mistaken....and yea..i went to THE TUN HUSSIEN ONN NATIONAL EYE HOSPITAL..and i got my report as well..all came to rm80(rm60 for specialist + rm 20 for optometryunit(consultation))..so..in the report its written that im fit..act got three words in the remarks area...i can only read out two front words which is FIT FOR..thats all...the third word i dnt understand coz the dr. wrote in cursive writting,which i hate it!!!...and i got 6/6 on my right eye and 6/5(which is weird btw) on my left eye..im still worried sick coz for military pilot, the eye test is different..i got 6/9 and 6/12..i dnt knw how....the specialist name is Dr. George Thomas..class 1 medical...blur rite noe..only hope they dnt kick me out bcoz of my eyes..or mayb they will place me in other course/class...not pilot but mayb engineering or something...

and my results for the optometry..

right:
distance.. sph.= +1.75, Cyl = -0.50, Axis 180, V/A = 6/6, reading, V/A= N5

left :
distance.. sph.= +0.50, Cyl = -1.00, Axis 180, V/A = 6/6, reading, V/A= N5

wierd!!!!!!!... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
cezanne
post Jun 10 2008, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(cezanne @ Jun 9 2008, 04:57 PM)
erm...I wanna ask some question, if I want to take a degree before the piloting..what degree should I take?
aviation degree?
Some1 please reply me .....
icon_question.gif
thank u
tarvin
post Jun 10 2008, 12:49 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(cezanne @ Jun 10 2008, 12:44 PM)
  icon_question.gif
thank u
i dont see whats the point...y do u need a degree anyway?..im goin to KTU(Kolej Tentera Udara),there i'll be learning Diploma in Mechanical Engineering(Aeronautics)...and i think mas or airasia only gives sponsorship to a certain age limit if im not mistaken...so if u do ur degree,u will be above the age limit..so u will have to do ur license privately which will cost u another 100k-200kMYR..

(correct me if im wrong)tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tarvin: Jun 10 2008, 12:50 PM
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jun 10 2008, 02:12 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(cezanne @ Jun 10 2008, 12:44 PM)
  icon_question.gif
thank u
I think if you are going to fly anyway my as well use the money to get your flying license be it locally or overseas. You wanna try Massey University in NZ - they have the bachelors of aviation where u get your flying license as well as the degree. I am not sure how the licensing is done in malaysia but u wanna check the requirments to convert when u get back
cezanne
post Jun 10 2008, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Jun 10 2008, 02:12 PM)
I think if you are going to fly anyway my as well use the money to get your flying license be it locally or overseas. You wanna try Massey University in NZ - they have the bachelors of aviation where u get your flying license as well as the degree. I am not sure how the licensing is done in malaysia but u wanna check the requirments to convert when u get back
well, I plan to study in Australia, Melbourne U which is next yr..
my mother wants me to get a degree b4 I sign up to be cadet pilot.
@.@

Added on June 10, 2008, 7:02 pmwell...I tot getting a degree or diploma will be better than those SPM leavers...

@.@, Im this yr's SPM leavers too..
lol

This post has been edited by cezanne: Jun 10 2008, 07:02 PM
gtqr68
post Jun 15 2008, 08:59 PM

68 posts

Ive got an interview next few weeks for the SIA cadet pilot position.

Where can i go for my eye test? Hospital can?

need advice...
-Teddy-
post Jun 21 2008, 02:13 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(tarvin @ Jun 10 2008, 12:49 PM)
i dont see whats the point...y do u need a degree anyway?..im goin to KTU(Kolej Tentera Udara),there i'll be learning Diploma in Mechanical Engineering(Aeronautics)...and i think mas or airasia only gives sponsorship to a certain age limit if im not mistaken...so if u do ur degree,u will be above the age limit..so u will have to do ur license privately which will cost u another 100k-200kMYR..
(correct me if im wrong)tongue.gif
Age limit is 26 if not mistaken. Should be enough for your to complete your degree I suppose.
hasyir
post Jun 24 2008, 10:05 PM

244 posts

max age for MAS cadet is 26y.o whn u go for ur psychomotor..
if somehow d process take more thn a year n by thn u already 27, no worries coz d age limit wont affect u anymore...

thres no different either u only hav spm or degree...IMHO,i think d best time to apply for MAS cadetship is right after ur spm...so by 19/20,ull b called a MAS pilot already...isnt tht great?

btw,Open University Malaysia does offer degree in aviation management..
hlchan84
post Jun 24 2008, 11:24 PM

The age limit for pilot is 26. I am now 24, just finished my Degree in Engineering last August. I applied for SIA, and they shortlisted me for interview. I manage to get through their 1st and 2nd interview as well as the Medical. Nothing wrong with getting a degree first, I have got a Degree, but make sure you have an Engineering Degree I suppose. Always have a backup plan for yourself and you can handle the stress of the interview well. I met a cadet pilot undergoing his training in Singapore telling us that he finished his degree as well as master and went to work for 3 years before applying for pilot. As long as they feel that you are qualified, they will want you. But as I heard from the cadet pilots as well, the drop out rate from their training program is around 20-25%. If you have a Degree, even if you dropped out, at least you can find other alternative jobs. smile.gif
mrfido
post Jun 27 2008, 04:50 PM

94 posts

i just received a letter from MAS yesterday rclxms.gif ....
i ve to attend a psychomotor test on 2nd july next week....
can someone share ur experience here pls....
y4ng
post Aug 1 2008, 02:48 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(DeathWing @ Aug 4 2006, 09:27 AM)
sorry to say this but you dont choose to be an airline pilot. many people worked hard for years before achieving that. and to be an airline pilot is not as easy as you think. i just hate that the fact people keep cocking about why they didnt choose to be a pilot and got into the engineering or IT field blah blah blah.

i would like to say this again. it takes a lot more than you think to chase the flying dream. so please pay some respect.

until you get greenlight for a cadet pilot programme, dont say you're in a dilemma

ps: if you're only considering piloting because you get to travel, just forget it. i can imagine senior pilots reaction if you say that in the interview.
hello, im new to this forum =)

ive just graduated from some degree in engineering, and i would really really really want to be a pilot....

the question is, what else would someone want apart from driving big planes n seeing the world by being a pilot? i mean, pilot is all about being in the sky right? if the senior pilot ask then wat to answer ar? =)

oh btw, when's the intake for SIA and MAS?

it's my childhood dream, and my degree is just to satisfy my dad's wish....
Supreme Allied Commander
post Aug 1 2008, 07:23 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(hlchan84 @ Jun 25 2008, 12:24 AM)
  The age limit for pilot is 26. I am now 24, just finished my Degree in Engineering last August. I applied for SIA, and they shortlisted me for interview. I manage to get through their 1st and 2nd interview as well as the Medical. Nothing wrong with getting a degree first, I have got a Degree, but make sure you have an Engineering Degree I suppose. Always have a backup plan for yourself and you can handle the stress of the interview well. I met a cadet pilot undergoing his training in Singapore telling us that he finished his degree as well as master and went to work for 3 years before applying for pilot. As long as they feel that you are qualified, they will want you. But as I heard from the cadet pilots as well, the drop out rate from their training program is around 20-25%. If you have a Degree, even if you dropped out, at least you can find other alternative jobs. smile.gif
Which course r u?

hurricanemax
post Aug 3 2008, 12:37 PM

23 posts

it is a fallacy that u need a degree to become a pilot nowadays. Last time yes...now, the airlines have options (hence cutting down their own internal training cost) to recruit flying school graduates (minimum entry SPM, 17 yrs old, and the usual normal thingy - not blind, handicapped, idiotic behavior, aids patient, loony outburst etcetc rclxub.gif

Many airasia co-pilot/newly graduated pilots are from the training school in langkawi...remember the aasia 1st female pilot? she is only 19yr old! went there after her spm lah.

To enter the pilot training academy/school/center (alor star, langkawi, melaka, subang T3 and also overseas, u will need a minimum investment of rm200,000 course fee...if u have the money, u can be a pilot. Else, u join the very very long and competitive Q of being selected to be a bonded trainee pilot with an airline.

With the current rejuvenation of many airline cos (Aasia, emirates, qatar, other budget airlines), they tend to pinch qualified pilots (both captain and co-pilot) lah...

The best deal is of course to be selected as a trainee pilot and tend get bonded for X yrs and then u can go fly with any other airline in the world. Its a rewarding career.

good luck.

This post has been edited by hurricanemax: Aug 3 2008, 12:39 PM
BuLLs10
post Aug 5 2008, 11:49 AM

355 posts

i've just received call from airasia for psychomotor test(stage2). anyone here have the experience mind to share with me?

Thank you
weirdull
post Aug 6 2008, 01:59 PM

17 posts

yo bulls10..u'r ere also ar? hahaha...im piphunter11 @ FDI
AskarPerang
post Aug 6 2008, 02:02 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

yes be a fighter pilot
BuLLs10
post Aug 6 2008, 03:36 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(weirdull @ Aug 6 2008, 01:59 PM)
yo bulls10..u'r ere also ar? hahaha...im piphunter11 @ FDI
yalo..
piphunter..any idea how's the test will be?
alvinsim_cy
post Aug 17 2008, 01:58 PM

353 posts

i wanna ask aa....how many stages of interviews are there? as in how many do i have to go through? including psychomotor tests

somehow next year i heard there wouldn't be any MAS cadet pilot and SIA requires STPM/A Levels...therefore i have to settle for STPM first as i wait for the next MAS cadet pilot...frankly speaking, which one does SIA prefer? STPM or A Levels?
reconer
post Aug 17 2008, 07:39 PM

88 posts

i went for interview for SIA cadet pilot that morning, i got the rejection letter that night itself.

i remembered i overheared the HR talking to another trainee HR, cadet pilots are all 'handsome looking'. Cialat! No wonder i failed!

laszlo
post Aug 17 2008, 11:59 PM

Have... you met me?
1,473 posts

QUOTE(reconer @ Aug 17 2008, 07:39 PM)
i went for interview for SIA cadet pilot that morning, i got the rejection letter that night itself.

i remembered i overheared the HR talking to another trainee HR, cadet pilots are all 'handsome looking'. Cialat! No wonder i failed!
huhu like that also have... laugh.gif

47 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:12 AM