hi everyone, for folding bikes, most ppl get 20" or 26" ?
which one you all prefer ?
Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Mar 26 2015, 02:59 PM
32 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
hi everyone, for folding bikes, most ppl get 20" or 26" ?
which one you all prefer ? |
Mar 27 2015, 10:04 AM
13 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(id3d @ Mar 26 2015, 02:59 PM) I own a 20" foldie (20 speeds) and my personal finding on this small wheel bike:Pro - easier to carry around and put in your car boot. - faster acceleration compare to bigger wheel size, due to lower rolling resistance. Cons - Steering a bit twitchy/sensitive during high speed (>40+km/h) - Lower top speed (compare with same gearing, bigger wheel bike) That's are based on my own experience. |
Mar 27 2015, 10:20 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(boxerawd @ Mar 27 2015, 10:04 AM) I own a 20" foldie (20 speeds) and my personal finding on this small wheel bike: Hahahaa. Sensitive on 40km/h. Careful loh at this speed. A small twig will send you rolling. I can attain this only when coming down Genting Peras. Usually cruising , I can do 28km/h max. Measure your shoulder width and cut the handle bar at the same width. Try to eliminate too wide handle bars and this will cut off the twitchiness to a smaller extent. Anyway, twitchiness is a matter of getting used to it. After a year or two riding, it never occurs in my mind at all. But after 2 years riding the foldie, after I shifted back to mountain biking, the mtb seems super stable. Pro - easier to carry around and put in your car boot. - faster acceleration compare to bigger wheel size, due to lower rolling resistance. Cons - Steering a bit twitchy/sensitive during high speed (>40+km/h) - Lower top speed (compare with same gearing, bigger wheel bike) That's are based on my own experience. |
Mar 27 2015, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(id3d @ Mar 26 2015, 02:59 PM) This is just my opinion! If you want to go for 26 inch foldie or 24 inch for that matter, might as well go for non foldable ones. Then again, you must also consider why you want a foldie, because it is in trend nowadays? If storage is the concern, the 26 inch doesn't make sense. One cannot have the cake and eat it as well. All have their pros and cons. Dahon do make 26 inch folding bikes but I don't see the logic in it. when it folds, it cannot fit into most car's boot, only a certain few models which has car boot that fits 3 corpses. My experience, when I used the 20 inch, I usually ride with my wife, and we can fit 2 of the bikes into my car boot. No problem at all. Then when we packed the bike for a train ride to Penang, I was struggling to carry the bike, although they say it is portable and so on, and so on. we are riding Dahons, one of the most compact 20 inchers and my friend's Java FIT was even ridiculous! BUT another 2 friends, use XDS 16 inchers. And the bike was inside the IKEA Dimpa bag. Also as compact as the Bromptons. We were actually considering to buy another 2 16 inch folding bikes. But we are not happy with Trink or XDS and we were hunting for better 16 inch. Then we just gave up. But I did presented the idea to another lady and she requested me to assemble one for her but it must be less than 9kgs. I did but it cost 3.5K. So, my advice is ,consider your needs, why do you want the bike for? |
Mar 27 2015, 10:36 AM
13 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 27 2015, 10:20 AM) Hahahaa. Sensitive on 40km/h. Careful loh at this speed. A small twig will send you rolling. I can attain this only when coming down Genting Peras. Usually cruising , I can do 28km/h max. Measure your shoulder width and cut the handle bar at the same width. Try to eliminate too wide handle bars and this will cut off the twitchiness to a smaller extent. Anyway, twitchiness is a matter of getting used to it. After a year or two riding, it never occurs in my mind at all. But after 2 years riding the foldie, after I shifted back to mountain biking, the mtb seems super stable. Heheee agreed, putting fatter tire help too. But that will reduce aerodynamic, heavier and to me, this is not worthy.This post has been edited by boxerawd: Mar 27 2015, 11:07 AM |
Mar 30 2015, 10:14 AM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
happy morning u alls!
![]() |
Mar 30 2015, 01:52 PM
124 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Mar 30 2015, 04:47 PM
Mar 30 2015, 05:01 PM
Mar 31 2015, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(saviola47 @ Mar 30 2015, 05:01 PM) nope..but weekend sumtimes went back to my in law house in Jelapang. always bring my bike together n kayuh alone saturday/sunday morning. thats near to my place.i live in Meru.every weekend i also cycle around meru raya and also sometime to jalong near sg siput.if u interested, we organizing cyclo-camping to ulu kernas this week (4th April 2015) here is the detail in RSVP https://www.facebook.com/events/1573120672935558/ next week we will be at pangkor for cyclo-hunt program with MB Perak (11th April 2015) here is the info http://www.perakforestry.gov.my/index.php/...-hunt-2015.html ![]() ![]() drop me a message in whatsapp at 012.692.0150 |
Apr 1 2015, 03:22 PM
Another forummer who rides the Tern Link N8 modded his to N20 now. He got Shimano 105 groupset with Tiagra 10 speed straight bar shifters. His FD was a new model one though, just like the Ultegra unit and the Lite pro adapter was not suitable. So, I got the Gang adapter which is more FD friendly BUT has no cable housing stop , so has to improvise and make one. Check the pixs.
![]() The GANG FD adapter. This adapter can adjust left-right , up-down and also adjust position of the FD over a small arc. Drawback, no housing stop! ![]() I advised him to change to Tiagra 12/30T cassette for much lower gear ratios. Naik bukit, easier! ![]() The improvise cable housing stop ! ![]() ![]() |
Apr 1 2015, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 31 2015, 10:54 AM) thats near to my place.i live in Meru.every weekend i also cycle around meru raya and also sometime to jalong near sg siput. Thanks bro for sharing. Will text u if I'm joining.if u interested, we organizing cyclo-camping to ulu kernas this week (4th April 2015) here is the detail in RSVP https://www.facebook.com/events/1573120672935558/ next week we will be at pangkor for cyclo-hunt program with MB Perak (11th April 2015) here is the info http://www.perakforestry.gov.my/index.php/...-hunt-2015.html ![]() ![]() drop me a message in whatsapp at 012.692.0150 |
Apr 2 2015, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 1 2015, 03:22 PM) ![]() anyway ettige, can u share where to get this fd adapter?scouting for one like this to mod my friend trinx 7 speed i do noticed that this new link already built in the rd hanger for it insted using neos rd QUOTE(saviola47 @ Apr 1 2015, 06:38 PM) gladly help my friend This post has been edited by azamunekurone: Apr 2 2015, 09:02 AM |
Apr 2 2015, 10:47 AM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
I want to upgrade my java TT to 14 speed, i planning to install 53/39 crank, some information i get is when change the crank, i need to change the BB also, is it true?
other thing if i use the 8 speed shifter on a 7 speed freewheel would it work? do i need to change the RD also because of the shifter? how about the chain? do i need to change also? or should i change bike? lol any advice/suggestion? |
Apr 2 2015, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Apr 2 2015, 08:58 AM) nicely dude,.this is the new 105 11speed crank!! Most Trinx frames already have a FD braze welded on. Check and see. I got those FD adapters from Kimbell Jaya. There's 3 type of FD adapters sold there. The one in the picture is the most user friendly one and also the latest. It adjust all ways, front/back, up/down and also the angle of the braze. Too bad they did not make a hole for the cable housing but I use a lug nut to clamp between it as a cable housing stop. anyway ettige, can u share where to get this fd adapter?scouting for one like this to mod my friend trinx 7 speed i do noticed that this new link already built in the rd hanger for it insted using neos rd gladly help my friend |
Apr 2 2015, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(dieoledi @ Apr 2 2015, 10:47 AM) I want to upgrade my java TT to 14 speed, i planning to install 53/39 crank, some information i get is when change the crank, i need to change the BB also, is it true? Depends on what type of BB your Java is using. Most probably it is a square taper. Then get a square taper crank, no need to change BB. Usually here , I noticed , most use Shimano hollow tech, that's why they all change BB. Anyway the BB is not expensive. other thing if i use the 8 speed shifter on a 7 speed freewheel would it work? do i need to change the RD also because of the shifter? A 8 speed shifter is for 8 speed cassette and a 7 is for a 7, period! But all 7 speed uses the old model freewheel where the bearings and freewheel is on the cassette where else the newer 8 speed and above uses the freewheel hub where the bearings is on the hub. So they are not compatible with each other. That means, you need to change the wheel hubset if you want to go 8/9/10 or 11 speed! how about the chain? do i need to change also? YES or should i change bike? lol Depends on your wallet. I feel sometimes you need to be passionate about biking to actually understand why many riders spend so much on components. Else, if you just ride once in a while and around the Taman, it is hard to explain. When I was on folding bikes, I really can't afford a good bike. I started off with a used Dahon Eco C7, but after a year, my components on the bike was like RM3000.00. But those components stayed with me when I changed to Dahon Speed. So you don't really lose out when you change bike. Now another lucky forummer is riding it, very very happily too. any advice/suggestion? Start slow and gauge your passion for riding. Get a bike with a good frame first. Many go gung-ho in the beginning and then starts to neglect the sport altogether. If they invested in a Dahon or Tern initially, it is easy to sell off but if they get something cheaper, then they just leave it out in the porch and get stolen by Banglas for their factory commuting. Hahahaa! |
Apr 2 2015, 02:03 PM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
Apr 2 2015, 02:07 PM
66 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 2 2015, 12:12 PM) Start slow and gauge your passion for riding. Get a bike with a good frame first. Many go gung-ho in the beginning and then starts to neglect the sport altogether. If they invested in a Dahon or Tern initially, it is easy to sell off but if they get something cheaper, then they just leave it out in the porch and get stolen by Banglas for their factory commuting. Hahahaa! Good one sifu.. mine currently collecting dust, as now still having knee problem ride 1 time pain whole week stop 2 mths... c doc got advice got med then can ride again 1 time then the cycle come again.. |
Apr 3 2015, 12:11 AM
4 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Hello;)
i would to like ask any bicycle shop selling dahon ard kl area? Looking for dahon landing gear. looked up usj cycle rm59+rm10 for installation. any shop cheaper than this? thanks;) |
Apr 3 2015, 11:40 AM
which shop selling bern helmet around klang valley?
| Change to: | 0.0294sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:40 PM |