146 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

desastar
post Oct 19 2015, 09:57 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Oct 18 2015, 10:42 PM)
I heard a lot of good review on Brooks but the price are so expensive. Really worth it?
Million dollar question.... To me, if my butt no longer hurt even without padded shorts, it is worth it. Trouble with Brooks, it is difficult to believe something so hard can actually be comfortable. I guess they would have gone out of business long ago if the formula isn't right. The other thing is some modern bikes just don't look right with a Brooks and that's why they have now release the Cambium range.
etigge
post Oct 20 2015, 12:12 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(OMGila @ Oct 19 2015, 12:48 PM)
Saddle pricing is really subjective to how yr butt respond to the curvature of the saddle versus how much ur paying for the "pain". Unfortunately everyone's butt anatomy is different so it u can find a sample saddle to try for a week, then it's great. If not then it might be an expensive trial & error. I've had lots of friends using brooks & yes, they all seem to hv nice things to say. Initially all butts will hurt when you're new to Cycling no matter what saddle u use. I'd suggest after buying a saddle, that u tahan & use it for at least 2 months to properly judge whether a saddle fits u.
I also have many trials with saddles and till now still have not really get a fitting one. I did not try Brooks (though many have advised me to) but I just never liked Brooks. I tried the Fizik Gobi once and just 5 kilometers into riding, my butt ached and it spoils the whole ride. I did a lot of long distance rides in SR Ariel. It's OK but it still hurts after 100 km. But it is still the best for me though. I have even tried Trian Enduro by Morgaw. Incidently I saw the video clip about it and Kimbell Jaya have stocks of it, so I got a set and tried it. Cost more than a Brooks too but still hurts. It is now on my wife's MTB and she says it's good. thumbup.gif Initially the first 2 rides, it was painful but after a few rides after that, she says it fits her perfectly. So, I guess you need to break in as well, not the saddle have to break in. laugh.gif

Till now, I practically sticks to my Selle Royal Ariel (out of production as well now). It's the widest and also fairly light. A compromise between two criteria, comfort and light. I come to discover also price doesn't mean a thing in the selection of saddles. Before I transferred the SR Ariel onto my MTB, I was using a cheapo and it fits me nicely. But I have since sold off my Dash and took back the SR Ariel and put it on my MTB. SO, in MTB I don't have to sit on it all the time anyway, we usually stand on the pedal when going downhill, so, it should be OK.

Just for info, here's something about Morgaw saddles.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvN1_ja8_Og

PS/ Oh yeah! First criteria in selection is measure the width of your pelvic bone. Take a piece of paper (fairly large piece) and place it on your bed. Sit on the paper. There will be 2 indentation on the paper. Measure the distance between the deepest depression on the paper and that's the width you need to look for on a saddle. SR makes many wide saddles and many also are UGLY ! rclxub.gif Some even have gel and absorbers but they are heavy and ugly. That's why I settled for Ariel. It the lightest and widest in terms of compromise.

This post has been edited by etigge: Oct 20 2015, 12:18 AM
theotheryun
post Oct 20 2015, 01:33 AM

...a lil mini touring done last year...

...waiting for ets train at slim river...

...at batu gajah ktm station...

...my setup...
...cincai setup that is...
...hehe...

...seputeh? i must be nearby midvalley then...
...hehe...

...pekan parit...

...patin sungai perak...
...selling at RM12/kg...
...caught by pukat the night before...
...according to this pakcik la kan...
...hehe...

...sungai perak...

theotheryun
post Oct 20 2015, 01:36 AM

...somewhere before manong...
...damn this place is hilly...
...hahah...

...serene kampung life...

...banjaran titiwangsa from afar...

...yang naik pastilah ada turunnya...

...yay kuale kangsor...

...jeti kuala kangsar...

...actually the ride was until taiping...
...but unfortunately the gambar until here only...
...segala kesulitan amatlah dikesali...
...hehe...

...cheers...
... cheers.gif ...
TSH2D
post Oct 20 2015, 02:22 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Oct 20 2015, 01:36 AM)

...cheers...
... cheers.gif ...
wau kipidap bro yun thumbup.gif

this is not day trip right? biggrin.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Oct 20 2015, 02:35 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 18 2015, 12:53 AM)
I think you can. I can do it in a Kancil. Fold it as usual and then take off the back parcel top of the Myvi ( I am not sure if this is possible though! ). Then release the back seat latch but you don't have to fold it in. The passenger have to sit a bit upright, that's all. The folded bike should be able to sit upright at the back now.
QUOTE(dieoledi @ Oct 19 2015, 04:28 PM)
like etigge said, just take off the back parcel, fold you bike and put it in, get something to hold it to make sure the bike won't move when you break or cornering.
My C7S always in my Myvi, not big issue.
I'll try this and report back about how it goes soon. Thank you! notworthy.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Oct 20 2015, 08:35 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Oct 20 2015, 01:36 AM)
...somewhere before manong...
...damn this place is hilly...
...hahah...

...serene kampung life...

...banjaran titiwangsa from afar...

...yang naik pastilah ada turunnya...

...yay kuale kangsor...

...jeti kuala kangsar...

...actually the ride was until taiping...
...but unfortunately the gambar until here only...
...segala kesulitan amatlah dikesali...
...hehe...

...cheers...
... cheers.gif ...
Taiping my hometown thumbup.gif

jfarm86
post Oct 20 2015, 08:38 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(nizamsulaiman @ Oct 19 2015, 07:56 PM)
Java decaf is it? I think it is more than my budget. Huhu
Ya, you need to find old stock if really want.
Previous price around Rm880...now already RM1k plus alittle bit
nizamsulaiman
post Oct 20 2015, 08:41 AM

Btw guys, anyone knows any good bicycle shop in seremban area that can give good price? Or is it better to go buy at cheras or klang valley area?
nizamsulaiman
post Oct 20 2015, 08:42 AM

QUOTE(jfarm86 @ Oct 20 2015, 08:38 AM)
Ya, you need to find old stock if really want.
Previous price around Rm880...now already RM1k plus alittle bit
Wah..bicycle price also cepat naik..haiyooo
o.d
post Oct 20 2015, 10:12 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Oct 20 2015, 01:33 AM)
...a lil mini touring done last year...

...waiting for ets train at slim river...

...at batu gajah ktm station...

...my setup...
...cincai setup that is...
...hehe...

...seputeh? i must be nearby midvalley then...
...hehe...

...pekan parit...

...patin sungai perak...
...selling at RM12/kg...
...caught by pukat the night before...
...according to this pakcik la kan...
...hehe...

...sungai perak...
wow nice rclxms.gif I saw there is part you are in train. When touring with the touring bags on your bike front and back, may I know how do you fold it when it need to go into train, do you have to take them off? I saw you cover it with the black bag, do you just fold it with the bags on, and if that is the case, how do you carry it into the train? lift or sorong the bike?

thanks for answer.
theotheryun
post Oct 20 2015, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(o.d @ Oct 20 2015, 10:12 AM)
wow nice  rclxms.gif I saw there is part you are in train. When touring with the touring bags on your bike front and back, may I know how do you fold it when it need to go into train, do you have to take them off? I saw you cover it with the black bag, do you just fold it with the bags on, and if that is the case, how do you carry it into the train? lift or sorong the bike?

thanks for answer.
...when folded i took them off since its just two bags only...
...one is a large pouchbag so i sling it on my back and the other bag is actually a common dslr bag which i either hand carry or sling on the other shoulder...
...cuz the dslr bag fits the rear rack just nice so i using them packing my clothes n stuff...
...hehe...
...but that just me...
...cincai method...
...hahah...

...the bike i sorong it whenever in folded+covered mode...
...i rarely bagged the bike fully cuz i ned to take front wheel off to zip the bag fully...
...fully bagged is only last resort...
...in case anybody insist me on doing it...
...which is quite a few occasions in the past...

...ets/komuter/intercity they insist on at least cover the bike with bag...
...lrt not necessarily bagged/covered...just fold them nicely will do (so far lah)...
...klia erl...ermmm...i used to not bagged the bike...but then got one time one fella there insisted me to fully bagged it...
...but just that one time...after that i just cover the bike like the pix u see and no problem...

...cheers...
... cheers.gif ...
o.d
post Oct 21 2015, 09:24 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Oct 20 2015, 11:20 PM)
...when folded i took them off since its just two bags only...
...one is a large pouchbag so i sling it on my back and the other bag is actually a common dslr bag which i either hand carry or sling on the other shoulder...
...cuz the dslr bag fits the rear rack just nice so i using them packing my clothes n stuff...
...hehe...
...but that just me...
...cincai method...
...hahah...

...the bike i sorong it whenever in folded+covered mode...
...i rarely bagged the bike fully cuz i ned to take front wheel off to zip the bag fully...
...fully bagged is only last resort...
...in case anybody insist me on doing it...
...which is quite a few occasions in the past...

...ets/komuter/intercity they insist on at least cover the bike with bag...
...lrt not necessarily bagged/covered...just fold them nicely will do (so far lah)...
...klia erl...ermmm...i used to not bagged the bike...but then got one time one fella there insisted me to fully bagged it...
...but just that one time...after that i just cover the bike like the pix u see and no problem...

...cheers...
...  cheers.gif ...
thank you so much for comprehensive reply. I was looking for all those information thumbup.gif

very helpful.

cheers!
ccs5243
post Oct 21 2015, 09:36 AM

Hello everyone,

Newbie here and is thinking of getting a China Hummer bike for normal flat road riding, inside taman or maybe a bit of off-road. Mainly for exercise.

Wish to ask those who have this bike whether you have any problem(s) with the bike. If yes, do you mind sharing?

What shall I watch out for when buying the bike?

I read about the loose screw at the folding joint after few rides and need to be tighten up. Is this a hassle? So opening and folding all the time are not recommend?

Is 26er too big to be folded for the car trunk?

Overall, do you recommend this bike?

Thank you.
denyhazrin
post Oct 21 2015, 09:43 AM

RUSTORATION IN PROGRESS icon_question.gif

etigge
post Oct 21 2015, 10:31 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(ccs5243 @ Oct 21 2015, 09:36 AM)
Hello everyone,

Newbie here and is thinking of getting a China Hummer bike for normal flat road riding, inside taman or maybe a bit of off-road. Mainly for exercise. 

Wish to ask those who have this bike whether you have any problem(s) with the bike.  If yes, do you mind sharing?

What shall I watch out for when buying the bike?

I read about the loose screw at the folding joint after few rides and need to be tighten up. Is this a hassle? So opening and folding all the time are not recommend?   

Is 26er too big to be folded for the car trunk?

Overall, do you recommend this bike?

Thank you.
Be careful of getting 'hernia' when trying to carry the 'Hummer'. laugh.gif Still many newbies buys it, if it is OK to you, by all means. It's cheaper. I think that's the main criteria. If the shape appeals to you, the Montague Paratrooper is definitely much better although many users still sells it off later when they prefer lighter bikes to carry around. A normal 26 incher foldie can fit into a car boot or the back seat. You should try looking at Dahon Expresso though or better still the Dahon Cadenza.

Usually those who opts for 26 inch bikes, usually goes straight for fix bikes. Afterall, if the wheels are taken off (both front and back), they still can fit into the back seat of a car. Heck, I can carry 2 mountain bikes with 2 riders on my car. All 4 wheels and stuffs at the boot and the 2 frames in the back seat. No worries of folding mechanisms and you get better components for a sub 1K bike.

My final say is, " Peng yeh , mou hou yeh ". Translated it means, " There are no cheap good bikes ". If you are serious, spend a little bit more. A used Montague Paratrooper is now about 2K plus if you keep a lookout in BBS. Even a 5 year old Montague is better than a new Hummer. Happy riding thumbup.gif
masashi89
post Oct 21 2015, 12:33 PM

殺人の意図..
916 posts

Hi guys, im still searching for my 1st foldie, im looking for one like this

is it possible to get this one in malaysia?or is there any other brand looks similar like that one (with bullhorn handlebar)?thanks alot
ccs5243
post Oct 21 2015, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 21 2015, 11:31 AM)
Be careful of getting 'hernia' when trying to carry the 'Hummer'.  laugh.gif  Still many newbies buys it, if it is OK to you, by all means. It's cheaper. I think that's the main criteria. If the shape appeals to you, the Montague Paratrooper is definitely much better although many users still sells it off later when they prefer lighter bikes to carry around. A normal 26 incher foldie can fit into a car boot or the back seat. You should try looking at Dahon Expresso though or better still the Dahon Cadenza.

Usually those who opts for 26 inch bikes, usually goes straight for fix bikes. Afterall, if the wheels are taken off (both front and back), they still can fit into the back seat of a car. Heck, I can carry 2 mountain bikes with 2 riders on my car. All 4 wheels and stuffs at the boot and the 2 frames in the back seat. No worries of folding mechanisms and you get better components for a sub 1K bike.

My final say is, " Peng yeh , mou hou yeh ". Translated it means, " There are no cheap good bikes ".  If you are serious, spend a little bit more. A used Montague Paratrooper is now about 2K plus if you keep a lookout in BBS. Even a 5 year old Montague is better than a new Hummer. Happy riding  thumbup.gif
Hi Eigge, thank you for the reply. Due to the budget, Dahon Expresso and Cadenza are out of the question. Montague Paratrooper too. smile.gif

Owner of Hummer, could you please share your view of the bike?

TSH2D
post Oct 21 2015, 02:31 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(masashi89 @ Oct 21 2015, 12:33 PM)
Hi guys, im still searching for my 1st foldie, im looking for one like this

is it possible to get this one in malaysia?or is there any other brand looks similar like that one (with bullhorn handlebar)?thanks alot
u can mod mar .... biggrin.gif
TSH2D
post Oct 21 2015, 02:35 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(ccs5243 @ Oct 21 2015, 01:00 PM)

Owner of Hummer, could you please share your view of the bike?

search earlier post from previous versions, got few hummer owner.
they seldom post now, so don't think they can read ur post... biggrin.gif

weight very heavy lor, if u don't carry alot no problem wan.. biggrin.gif

joint copy montague style.... so not like the usual foldies..

146 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:00 PM