Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

TSH2D
post Oct 23 2015, 01:02 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Oct 22 2015, 06:44 PM)
Can the original be fitted in? If can, I'll tell my sister to get one to replace it. 😁😁😁
the concern it the length...

if the ori is longer, can solve, but if it is shorter.... sweat.gif

pretty pricey for a piece of skewer... biggrin.gif
PaulKong
post Oct 23 2015, 07:32 AM

QUOTE(ccs5243 @ Oct 22 2015, 07:45 PM)
Paul, would like like to try?
I'll suggest to my sister. See if she wants to mod or not. I think she's thinking of changing bike.
May I know your purpose of getting this bike? If just for recreation, there's so many other bikes that are available for you to choose.
Too be honest, the fold are not exceptional small. You still need to take out the front rims to be able to fold your bike.
ccs5243
post Oct 23 2015, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Oct 23 2015, 08:32 AM)
I'll suggest to my sister. See if she wants to mod or not. I think she's thinking of changing bike.
May I know your purpose of getting this bike? If just for recreation, there's so many other bikes that are available for you to choose.
Too be honest, the fold are not exceptional small. You still need to take out the front rims to be able to fold your bike.
My purpose is to do some cycling for exercise (getting fat). Mainly flat road or on taman road. I know there are many folding bikes in the market but I like my bike to look good (like MTB). Also because I am new, I don't want to spend too much just in case I become lazy. So considering getting a Hummer.
masashi89
post Oct 23 2015, 12:38 PM

殺人の意図..
916 posts

QUOTE(rkhairulrijal @ Oct 22 2015, 11:59 PM)
Tern verge X18. (Dropbar).
Tern verge X30h. (Bullhorn)
ouh that is sooooo beautiful!!but nah out of my budget *saidface*

btw guys, is this one good for newbie foldie?thanks

This post has been edited by masashi89: Oct 23 2015, 12:40 PM
etigge
post Oct 23 2015, 12:40 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ccs5243 @ Oct 23 2015, 11:17 AM)
My purpose is to do some cycling for exercise (getting fat). Mainly flat road or on taman road. I know there are many folding bikes in the market but I like my bike to look good (like MTB). Also because I am new, I don't want to spend too much just in case I become lazy. So considering getting a Hummer.
Look good! shakehead.gif I never considered the Hummer as a mountain bike. Here's the comparison !

If that's your intention, I still suggest you go for cheaper mountain bikes like Trinx or a Raleigh. At least it is a mountain bike. A hummer is neither here nor there! rclxub.gif Too flimsy to be a mountain bike and too heavy for road use. There are too many moving parts for that quality. Even the forks will get stuck after a while. Only advantage is the folding capability which is not really that great either, the folding mechanism is not strong. At least with the Trinx, you get a better drivetrain, rather than the chinese freewheel hubs which is hard to calibrate. Better still, the Raleigh, you can get 24 proper Shimano speed. Since you are not going offroad, the Trinx hybrid is the best for you. Comes with Shimano Claris roadbike gears.

If going over 1K is not worthwhile for you, I suggest you go for the 20 inch foldies. It is enough for you to get your exercise around the flats and taman. Believe me. Many newbies have the impression that the smaller the bike, the harder to ride which is not true. Actually smaller bikes rides uphill easier due to smaller wheels but slower. Penang even have a Jab group which has 12 inch wheels and they ride up to the Balik Pulau hills easily.

Quote, " I don't want to spend too much just in case I become lazy. " Unquote.

From here I can deduct that you WILL become lazy after you ride the Hummer. Hahahaaaa! It's heavy and the tires are wide! Usually we mountain bikers prefers lighter bikes, more crucial to us as the resistance on riding offroad is too great.

Still it's my humble opinion. The choice is always yours. icon_rolleyes.gif
HHCC
post Oct 23 2015, 01:14 PM

250 posts

Hi Everyone,

I have been riding a Dahon Vybe D7 for the last few months and I am loving it. Have been participating in some group rides covering distances of between 20km to 50 km each time. Very happy with the handling, built quality, folding mechanism but finds that the top speed on flat road a bit lacking in comparison to the other bikes in my group. I can hit 25km/h but will “free pedal” (I think that’s what it called) even if I increase my cadence. I think it is because it has only 1 X 7 gears.

Any upgrades I can do to the front and rear gears to increase my top speed and where can I get it done? My LBS that I bought the bike claims it cannot be done.

Thanks in advance guys.

ccs5243
post Oct 23 2015, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 23 2015, 01:40 PM)

Look good!  shakehead.gif  I never considered the Hummer as a mountain bike. Here's the comparison !

http://i1284.photobucket.com/albums/a566/k...zps63pbdvcm.jpg 

If that's your intention, I still suggest you go for cheaper mountain bikes like Trinx or a Raleigh. At least it is a mountain bike. A hummer is neither here nor there!  rclxub.gif  Too flimsy to be a mountain bike and too heavy for road use. There are too many moving parts for that quality. Even the forks will get stuck after a while.  Only advantage is the folding capability which is not really that great either, the folding mechanism is not strong. At least with the Trinx, you get a better drivetrain, rather than the chinese freewheel hubs which is hard to calibrate. Better still, the Raleigh, you can get 24 proper Shimano speed. Since you are not going offroad, the Trinx hybrid is the best for you. Comes with Shimano Claris roadbike gears.

If going over 1K is not worthwhile for you, I suggest you go for the 20 inch foldies. It is enough for you to get your exercise around the flats and taman. Believe me. Many newbies have the impression that the smaller the bike, the harder to ride which is not true. Actually smaller bikes rides uphill easier due to smaller wheels but slower. Penang even have a Jab group which has 12 inch wheels and they ride up to the Balik Pulau hills easily.

Quote, \" I don't want to spend too much just in case I become lazy. \" Unquote.

From here I can deduct that you WILL become lazy after you ride the Hummer. Hahahaaaa! It's heavy and the tires are wide! Usually we mountain bikers prefers lighter bikes, more crucial to us as the resistance on riding offroad is too great.

Still it's my humble opinion. The choice is always yours.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks Etigge for the opinion. I re-look some of the folding bikes in the market and found XDS AFB 710. Do you have any view about this bike compare to others?

There is a Trinx KA2627. I don't think this model is available in Malaysia. Any idea?
etigge
post Oct 23 2015, 02:01 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(HHCC @ Oct 23 2015, 01:14 PM)
Hi Everyone,

I have been riding a Dahon Vybe D7 for the last few months and I am loving it. Have been participating in some group rides covering distances of between 20km to 50 km each time. Very happy with the handling, built quality, folding mechanism but finds that the top speed on flat road a bit lacking in comparison to the other bikes in my group. I can hit 25km/h but will “free pedal” (I think that’s what it called) even if I increase my cadence. I think it is because it has only 1 X 7 gears.

Any upgrades I can do to the front and rear gears to increase my top speed and where can I get it done? My LBS that I bought the bike claims it cannot be done.

Thanks in advance guys.
That's because the smallest (Smaller means more revolutions to one crank from the front, ie. 52/14 = 3.7 turns of the rear wheels.) The 7 speed starts from 14 cogs to 28 cogs maximum. The normal smallest cogs for an 8,9 and 10 speed are 11 cogs. So that's 3 steps higher gear higher than your D7. The cheapest way that I can see here is like this ;

Presume that it is an 11T at the rear, that means 52/11 = 4.7 turns. Take this as a bench level. Let's say now, we change the front chain ring to 58 teeths. This is 58/14 = 4.14 turns. That is still lower than the bench mark! In this case, for your D7, you need to change the whole crank/chainring as they are one piece! This option is expensive and still doesn't reach your objective.

OK, another solution. I saw a freewheel cog (the type that 7 speeders use ) the other day, in Joo Ngan Son, an 8 speed one that starts from 11T to 30T. For this you just change the freewheel hub ( presuming it is still there, else you need to order ) and also another 8 speed shifter. The existing RD should be able to handle another step up. Here , your high gear goes up 3 notches and lower gear another notch.

Alternatively, change the wheelset for about 400 bucks. Get a better wheelset with sealed bearings and use the common cassette with the free wheel on the hub. For this, I am sure you will go for the max 10 speed or at least 9 speed, I mean mean why stick to 8 speed , right? nod.gif Here you need to change the RD and the shifter in addition to the wheelset.

If you are already riding the way you describe, I would rather go for the third option, though expensive, it's the ultimate need. Sealed bearing hubs makes a lot of difference in ride performance, so it is worthwhile. First option you have to spend quite a lot too as a cheap crank will set you 150 bucks but the 58 teeth or 60 teeth chainring will be expensive. So, not worthwhile! If you don't want to spend on wheelset, then option 2 suits you.

I saw an 8 speed freewheel sold in BBS but it still starts from 13T and this does not fit your criteria. Usually riders have problems on the lower gears but yours is on the higher gears. laugh.gif
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/300708/sunr...el-free-pos-w-m
etigge
post Oct 23 2015, 02:07 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ccs5243 @ Oct 23 2015, 01:46 PM)
Thanks Etigge for the opinion. I re-look some of the folding bikes in the market and found XDS AFB 710. Do you have any view about this bike compare to others? 
There is a Trinx KA2627. I don't think this model is available in Malaysia. Any idea?
I don't think they brought in the Trink KA2627 but I am not sure but Cronus has got one. Here ,
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/321564/cron...oy-folding-bike

Anf then there's this Java which I think is the Trinx KA2627. Look at both of them carefully, looks the same.
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/282920/java...ot-folding-bike
ccs5243
post Oct 23 2015, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 23 2015, 03:07 PM)
I don't think they brought in the Trink KA2627 but I am not sure but Cronus has got one. Here ,
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/321564/cron...oy-folding-bike

Anf then there's this Java which I think is the Trinx KA2627. Look at both of them carefully, looks the same.
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/282920/java...ot-folding-bike
Thanks! Any idea about the quality of these bikes? Do you know anyone using them?

Are there copy like Hummer to Montague?

Are Cronus and Java reputable and produce good bikes?

etigge
post Oct 23 2015, 02:27 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ccs5243 @ Oct 23 2015, 02:19 PM)
Thanks! Any idea about the quality of these bikes? Do you know anyone using them?

Are there copy like Hummer to Montague?

Are Cronus and Java reputable and produce good bikes?
Better still, visit Kimbell Jaya. He has stock of the Java and also many Hummers there. Go feel it there and the answer will be easier for you to judge first hand. Also many, many other foldies there as well.
HHCC
post Oct 23 2015, 02:51 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 23 2015, 02:01 PM)
That's because the smallest (Smaller means more revolutions to one crank from the front, ie. 52/14 = 3.7 turns of the rear wheels.)  The 7 speed starts from 14 cogs to 28 cogs maximum. The normal smallest cogs for an 8,9 and 10 speed are 11 cogs. So that's 3 steps higher gear higher than your D7. The cheapest way that I can see here is like this ;

Presume that it is an 11T at the rear, that means 52/11 = 4.7 turns. Take this as a bench level. Let's say now, we change the front chain ring to 58 teeths. This is 58/14 = 4.14 turns. That is still lower than the bench mark! In this case, for your D7, you need to change the whole crank/chainring as they are one piece! This option is expensive and still doesn't reach your objective.

OK, another solution. I saw a freewheel cog (the type that 7 speeders use ) the other day, in Joo Ngan Son, an 8 speed one that starts from 11T to 30T.  For this you just change the freewheel hub ( presuming it is still there, else you need to order ) and also another 8 speed shifter. The existing RD should be able to handle another step up. Here , your high gear goes up 3 notches and lower gear another notch.

Alternatively, change the wheelset for about 400 bucks. Get a better wheelset with sealed bearings and use the common cassette with the free wheel on the hub. For this, I am sure you will go for the max 10 speed or at least 9 speed, I mean mean why stick to 8 speed , right? nod.gif  Here you need to change the RD and the shifter in addition to the wheelset.

If you are already riding the way you describe, I would rather go for the third option, though expensive, it's the ultimate need. Sealed bearing hubs makes a lot of difference in ride performance, so it is worthwhile. First option you have to spend quite a lot too as a cheap crank will set you 150 bucks but the 58 teeth or 60 teeth chainring will be expensive. So, not worthwhile! If you don't want to spend on wheelset, then option 2 suits you.

I saw an 8 speed freewheel sold in BBS but it still starts from 13T and this does not fit your criteria. Usually riders have problems on the lower gears but yours is on the higher gears.  laugh.gif
HHCC
post Oct 23 2015, 02:57 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 23 2015, 02:01 PM)
That's because the smallest (Smaller means more revolutions to one crank from the front, ie. 52/14 = 3.7 turns of the rear wheels.)  The 7 speed starts from 14 cogs to 28 cogs maximum. The normal smallest cogs for an 8,9 and 10 speed are 11 cogs. So that's 3 steps higher gear higher than your D7. The cheapest way that I can see here is like this ;

OK, another solution. I saw a freewheel cog (the type that 7 speeders use ) the other day, in Joo Ngan Son, an 8 speed one that starts from 11T to 30T.  For this you just change the freewheel hub ( presuming it is still there, else you need to order ) and also another 8 speed shifter. The existing RD should be able to handle another step up. Here , your high gear goes up 3 notches and lower gear another notch.

Alternatively, change the wheelset for about 400 bucks. Get a better wheelset with sealed bearings and use the common cassette with the free wheel on the hub. For this, I am sure you will go for the max 10 speed or at least 9 speed, I mean mean why stick to 8 speed , right? nod.gif  Here you need to change the RD and the shifter in addition to the wheelset.

I saw an 8 speed freewheel sold in BBS but it still starts from 13T and this does not fit your criteria. Usually riders have problems on the lower gears but yours is on the higher gears.  laugh.gif
Thanks Etigge for your clear explanations. Looks like my options are limited by the size of my wallet. I will talk to Joo Ngan bike shop on your second option. Would Kimbell Jaya be able to do the freewheel cog upgrade too?
TSH2D
post Oct 23 2015, 03:23 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(HHCC @ Oct 23 2015, 02:57 PM)
Thanks Etigge for your clear explanations. Looks like my options are limited by the size of my wallet. I will talk to Joo Ngan bike shop on your second option. Would Kimbell Jaya be able to do the freewheel cog upgrade too?
there are plenty of freewheel 7 speed, 11-28/30 even megarange 34t over in taobao.

u can change the crankset too to get more teeth,... biggrin.gif
if u know what to look for...
won't cost u alot....

cybersim2
post Oct 23 2015, 03:39 PM

503 posts

Talking about gear, may I know what is the maximum gears we can upgrade for our foldies ? Crankset x Freewheel
HHCC
post Oct 23 2015, 03:39 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 23 2015, 03:23 PM)
there are plenty of freewheel 7 speed, 11-28/30 even megarange 34t over in taobao.

u can change the crankset too to get more teeth,...  biggrin.gif
if u know what to look for...
won't cost u alot....
Another good suggestion. Thanks H2D. If I were to change to this megarange 34T, what other components do I need to change? Can I reuse my existing RD, chain ring, shifters?
PaulKong
post Oct 23 2015, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(HHCC @ Oct 23 2015, 03:39 PM)
Another good suggestion. Thanks H2D. If I were to change to this megarange 34T, what other components do I need to change? Can I reuse my existing RD, chain ring, shifters?
I'm too face same problem with you with my dahon route. If this option works, I wouldn't mind getting one too. Just change the cassette gear only.
etigge
post Oct 23 2015, 05:53 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(HHCC @ Oct 23 2015, 02:57 PM)
Any LBS can do the mods but the problem is getting the freewheel cogs , 7 speed or 8 speed. The one I saw was in Joo Ngan Son in Bandar Uptown and I think it is a used one but I am not sure. It's 8 speed. I think the cogs are not readily available, especially the 11T ones. Like H2D said, order from Taobao first. If you can get 7 speed, you don't need new shifters as well too.
etigge
post Oct 23 2015, 05:55 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Oct 23 2015, 03:39 PM)
Talking about gear, may I know what is the maximum gears we can upgrade for our foldies ?  Crankset x Freewheel
As much as the technology limits. For now it is 33 gears. Just how much is one willing to fork out.
Blackbird
post Oct 23 2015, 07:28 PM

291 posts

I will be going to Frasers Hill and thought of bringing my foldie to cycle around Frasers Hill(not up Frasers Hill ya.. biggrin.gif ), anyone done that before? Worth bringing my foldie there?

146 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 135 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:33 AM