Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

kllam
post Sep 18 2015, 11:14 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 17 2015, 07:53 PM)
It seems the Avid BB5 brake pads are too small and don't work well in the rain. Darn dangerous too as a review said. It is also reviewed that the BB5s needs constant adjustments, sometimes twice on one ride. Most of the reviewers who are also users of the BB5s recommended  that it is safer to change to hydraulics but off course in the case of foldies, this is a bit hard. The next best thing is to change the calipers to BB7s which has bigger brake pads ( sadly more expensive too but you don't change pads often ) and also in addition the BB7s can adjust both pads distance. Avid BB7s are the best mechanical disc brakes in the market now and BB5s as reviewed, said the Avids V-brakes stops even better.

Look at the size difference  shocking.gif

that is the concern but for foldie i think the BB5s is sufficient unless on MTBs then hydraulic comes in.

i try the method as shown on the site below and it works good now so won't change anything on it as my budget is on building a flat bar bike using my old MTB frame

http://www.ecovelo.info/2011/04/15/a-foolp...b5-disc-brakes/
etigge
post Sep 18 2015, 12:25 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Sep 18 2015, 11:14 AM)
that is the concern but for foldie i think the BB5s is sufficient unless on MTBs then hydraulic comes in.

i try the method as shown on the site below and it works good now so won't change anything on it as my budget is on building a flat bar bike using my old MTB frame

http://www.ecovelo.info/2011/04/15/a-foolp...b5-disc-brakes/
I am using 2 sets of those thin metal strips that car mechanics used to adjust the tappet valves instead of business cards. For 160mm rotors, it is fairly easy to adjust but for 180mm rotors, it's a nightmare adjusting without the spacers. If you are using old MTB frames, that means a rigid frame. It's much better to use hydraulics and the price is going really cheap nowadays. Even Tektro hydraulics is better than a mechanical setup. I will be upgrading my wife's Deore setup this month's end to XT. If you wish I can sell you the old Deore setup. icon_rolleyes.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Sep 18 2015, 02:10 PM

103 posts

Anyone selling used Dahon C7A or SUV? icon_question.gif
dav668
post Sep 18 2015, 06:49 PM

334 posts

Anyone using Raleigh Wrengler?
I am newbie to bike. Wonder how much difference compare to UGO.
My budget is around RM500 for foldie.. So far have been checking Oscar Imagine, Garion G2016-BC.. Have been reading comment about UGO however the price is about RM880.
Hopefully sifu2 here can guide where can get reasonable price. I am at Selangor area.
Thank you.
jfarm86
post Sep 18 2015, 07:50 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(dav668 @ Sep 18 2015, 06:49 PM)
My budget is around RM500 for foldie.. So far have been checking Oscar Imagine, Garion G2016-BC.. Have been reading comment about UGO however the price is about RM880.
Hopefully sifu2 here can guide where can get reasonable price. I am at Selangor area.
Thank you.
last week i helping my friend ask at Kimbell Jaya, UGO is rm820+ inclusive GST.
Jay Chua CC
post Sep 18 2015, 08:45 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Thank you.
Ugo is better built and more tahan lasak. Tats all i can say biggrin.gif
jnc621
post Sep 19 2015, 08:31 AM

Entry level need advise the following bikes, please justify why?
1) Java tt 7s (~RM1k)
2) Dahon c7a (~RM1k?)
3) Tern B7 (~RM1290)

This post has been edited by jnc621: Sep 19 2015, 08:32 AM
dav668
post Sep 19 2015, 09:11 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(jfarm86 @ Sep 18 2015, 07:50 PM)
last week i helping my friend ask at Kimbell Jaya, UGO is rm820+ inclusive GST.
Thanks for the info. Any idea about TRS? I called to a shopnand the introduced me this brand saying the price is about RM500+.

Thank you.
dav668
post Sep 19 2015, 09:12 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Sep 18 2015, 08:45 PM)
Ugo is better built and more tahan lasak. Tats all i can say  biggrin.gif
Thanks... thats why i am also checking the Wrengler which fit better to my budget. Wondering where i can get it from shop. ..
jfarm86
post Sep 19 2015, 09:34 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(dav668 @ Sep 19 2015, 09:11 AM)
Thanks for the info. Any idea about TRS? I called to a shopnand the introduced me this brand saying the price is about RM500+.

Thank you.
it depends on your usage really, and what's the purpose to own a foldie...if you're planning for a leisure ride on some taman and since you had list out your budget. TRS should be ok. But if you're planning to ride on the road with some of your buddy. I not sure TRS one can tahan or not, as I found nothing on the net. Maybe some other sifu can advise you on that
dav668
post Sep 19 2015, 10:53 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(jfarm86 @ Sep 19 2015, 09:34 AM)
it depends on your usage really, and what's the purpose to own a foldie...if you're planning for a leisure ride on some taman and since you had list out your budget. TRS should be ok. But if you're planning to ride on the road with some of your buddy. I not sure TRS one can tahan or not, as I found nothing on the net. Maybe some other sifu can advise you on that
Thanks for your prompt response. Yes, i am going to use it for leisure ride...some parks and could be FRIM occasionally...
PaulKong
post Sep 19 2015, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(dav668 @ Sep 19 2015, 10:53 AM)
Thanks for your prompt response. Yes, i am going to use it for leisure ride...some parks and could be FRIM occasionally...
Frim not easy to ride. It's hilly 😁😁😁
dav668
post Sep 19 2015, 02:31 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 19 2015, 11:29 AM)
Frim not easy to ride. It's hilly 😁😁😁
Ha.. it is true. Thats why only occasionally. Ride for leisure but preferably aluminium or alloy frame.

TRS 2025
Raleigh Wrengler (no stock everywhere)

Any other model which is about this range that worth to go?

PaulKong
post Sep 19 2015, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(dav668 @ Sep 19 2015, 02:31 PM)
Ha.. it is true. Thats why only occasionally. Ride for leisure but preferably aluminium or alloy frame.

TRS 2025
Raleigh Wrengler (no stock everywhere)

Any other model which is about this range that worth to go?

Why not try to get a second hand bike? Most people who sell their bike are quite new 😄

dav668
post Sep 19 2015, 03:46 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 19 2015, 03:01 PM)
Why not try to get a second hand bike? Most people who sell their bike are quite new 😄
Very good price. The item sold already... too bad.
desastar
post Sep 19 2015, 09:05 PM

42 posts

Mighty Dahon!

Red = Fast rolleyes.gif

desastar
post Sep 19 2015, 09:06 PM

42 posts

Mighty Dahon!

Red = Fast rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by desastar: Sep 20 2015, 07:18 PM

o.d
post Sep 20 2015, 09:05 AM

208 posts

Thank you.
I'm using wrangler, just bought about 2 months ago I think, sometime in july. The most positive review I can give is the weight, because I need to carry sometimes in komuter, so I can't imagine if having to carry 13kg Ugo coz the wrangler is just ok for me. Any heavier will put me off.
About not so great thing, the folding mechanisme falls off on 3rd time I'm going out with it. The nut falls off but it can be put again. But, it is prone to happen again and again because of the design. I brought to supplier change the nut and so far not yet fall, but only because I'm being careful with it.
Then, the folding for the handle bar is also not so firm, so while riding it moves a little. This I think can be corrected by putting rubber or something on the rim on the part that folds, but I'm yet to do that.
Having said that though, for budget folding I think it fares ok. So far I still enjoy it despite the circumstances. I have ride it to 14km in few rides, also travel to office and being into komuter sometimes. Many people likes the look and I got the red one which attracts aesthetically.

I bought from this pwpbicycle in BBS, yes, it's out of stock now, but if you really want, can contact the guy and he will let u know when supply comes.
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/280544/rale...ed-out-of-stock

Hope this helps.
dav668
post Sep 20 2015, 09:50 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(o.d @ Sep 20 2015, 09:05 AM)
I'm using wrangler, just bought about 2 months ago I think, sometime in july. The most positive review I can give is the weight, because I need to carry sometimes in komuter, so I can't imagine if having to carry 13kg Ugo coz the wrangler is just ok for me. Any heavier will put me off.
About not so great thing, the folding mechanisme falls off on 3rd time I'm going out with it. The nut falls off but it can be put again. But, it is prone to happen again and again because of the design. I brought to supplier change the nut and so far not yet fall, but only because I'm being careful with it.
Then, the folding for the handle bar is also not so firm, so while riding it moves a little. This I think can be corrected by putting rubber or something on the rim on the part that folds, but I'm yet to do that.
Having said that though, for budget folding I think it fares ok. So far I still enjoy it despite the circumstances. I have ride it to 14km in few rides, also travel to office and being into komuter sometimes. Many people likes the look and I got the red one which attracts aesthetically.

I bought from this pwpbicycle in BBS, yes, it's out of stock now, but if you really want, can contact the guy and he will let u know when supply comes.
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/280544/rale...ed-out-of-stock

Hope this helps.
Thanks, Bro.
I have just got myself the Dahon SUV D6. Although it does not have aluminium frame it serves my purpose. It comes with rack as well as the mud cover. To my surprise, it costs slightly more than my budget. I have been riding it for a few rounds in housing area yesterday taking my kid. So far so good. Most importantly, i need something easy to maintain as i am very new to foldie. Choosing foldie simply because it has smaller footprint. I carried it from shop yesterday by car. Very space saving.

Another option was TRS, i believe the model is 20-25. The shop was selling at RM580. Good in specs. However after reading so many threads and comments i appreciate the value of getting a Dahon, even with the more affordable model and lower specs compare to other models. Not many complains too.

http://dahon.com/mainnav/foldingbikes/sing...ike/suv_d6.html

azamunekurone
post Sep 20 2015, 10:55 AM

140 posts

happy holiday everyone, dont forget to get some workout with ur bike!

146 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:43 AM