I am thinking of buying a foldie and was looking at the Doppleganger FX13.
Anyone using this bike here?
Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Jun 27 2015, 11:21 AM
1,228 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
I am thinking of buying a foldie and was looking at the Doppleganger FX13. Anyone using this bike here? |
Jul 28 2015, 09:56 AM
Jul 28 2015, 10:07 AM
Aug 2 2015, 10:22 PM
Aug 5 2015, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(o.d @ Aug 5 2015, 07:55 AM) Yeah there's nothing can hold to the front part. Ok, will try that, I think when in bag not many people would know what's inside. I'll buy the bag and try and see what happens. I take LRT from Taman Bahagia, last time always see a guy carrying a foldie and timing around 0830 to 0930. He didn't used any bag. |
Aug 6 2015, 12:05 AM
Aug 15 2015, 04:39 PM
Aug 17 2015, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 15 2015, 05:04 PM) Yes, and also the train ride back to KL. hopefully i got a chance to do this one day...Before I parted with my foldie gang, I have actually planned a ride from Klang to Penang and at that point there were 21 participants. In fact most of the recce has been done. The idea was a slow relaxing ride. Doing maximum 75 to 90 kilometers a day and riding only in the mornings. After noon, we will have already checked into a hotel and explore the places. Seems KK (who was initially one of the riders who has agreed to join) followed up and went through the plan. Syabas! to him. At least our recce did not go to waste. KK was in most of the trips. The original plan was, 1st day, Klang to Sekinchan - mainly isolated kampong roads and some stretches fireroad by the seaside (can be seen on the pictures) Ths kind of road stretches from Tg.Karang till Sekinchan and straight on till Pasir Panjang. 2n day , Sekinchan to T.Intan - Sekinchan >> Sg.Besar, using an old main road which is quite deserted nowadays. Sg.Besar to Bagan Datoh , might use the main road, once in a while. 3rd day, T.Intan to Sitiawan -First part s main road across the bridge over Perak River till a point, detoured into kampong roads all the way till the Sitiawan temple. Then from, travel into village road through Kg.Cina and ends in a home stay near the main traffic light junction. 4th day, Sitiawan to Trong - Main road till detour into Teluk Senangin and from there,there's an small offroad thru oil palm plantation to Segari turtle hatchery. From there to the main road and then main road to Pantai Remis and then straight to Trong. In Trong there's a nice homestay / motel which s right at the estuary (Kuala) of the river with ikan bakar. 5th day, Trong to Nibong Tebal - Trong > Kuala Sepetang (secondary roads) > boat ride from Sepetang to Kuala Gula > Kuala Kurau (on the man road but very little traffic) > Tg.Piandang (coastal road passing pantai Ban Pecah and finally to Nibong Tebal (all the way coastal sandy trail through Sungai Burong and Bagan Tiang and after Bagan Tiang, the border road between Penang and Perak) I considered Nibong Tebal Penang already and a bus will pick us up there to cross the 2nd bridge (cyclist not allowed although there's a motorcycle lane). Seems KK has cut some time off their schedule as they are riding in a pair only (easy to manage as my group then was about 20 to 24 riders Maybe someone here wants to organize such a ride http://ahpekbiker.blogspot.com/2014/09/per...llages-day.html btw, can i join u guys ride? This post has been edited by kllam: Aug 17 2015, 03:10 PM |
Aug 26 2015, 10:58 AM
Aug 29 2015, 08:41 AM
Sep 16 2015, 11:15 AM
Sep 17 2015, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 17 2015, 08:37 AM) Thanks for your explanation on the hydraulic brake. I thought when two caliper moves, it's called twin piston. As for java fit, only one side of the caliper moves. i saw the bike on sale too, but current got other things to mod. i did try the new Dash D18 and it feel smaller the Dash P18I've pay attention to the way the hydraulic cables fold, it looks OK. Hopefully it can last. The rd cable is the one worry me, it pull long after fold and when unfold, the cable doesn't go back in place, have to push it back in position. I've see the new dahon dash routing for the rd cable goes thru top tube instead of bottom tube. Maybe they realise the problem. for hydraulic brake, it's not advisable to fold the brake hose, the same is with cars and motorcycle, the bent cause by the fold will effect the brakes in long run and the folded area might crack |
Sep 17 2015, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 17 2015, 12:09 PM) Most welcome ! Java foldie and mini velo is using Avid BB5 disc brake set. Means the Java FIT is fitted with a cheap disc brake mechanical calipers. When only one side moves, it means the piston on one side is pushing the rotors outwards , also bending the rotors. If it gets hot, the rotors may stay in that shape after cooling and then you have a warped rotor. If mechanical brakes are concerned, only the Avid gets my thumbs up. It's ball bearing assisted but the price per set, you can get a Shimano Deore set and even those 4 series Shimano hydraulic sets are better which is even more cheaper. I have another fellow rider who use the Dash 2010 model (same as mine) and every time she folds, she crimps the gear cable , rendering it unusable. I don't understand it as she didn't let me see the bike. I don't know why, everytime I go see the new Dash, they look so small |
Sep 18 2015, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 17 2015, 07:53 PM) It seems the Avid BB5 brake pads are too small and don't work well in the rain. Darn dangerous too as a review said. It is also reviewed that the BB5s needs constant adjustments, sometimes twice on one ride. Most of the reviewers who are also users of the BB5s recommended that it is safer to change to hydraulics but off course in the case of foldies, this is a bit hard. The next best thing is to change the calipers to BB7s which has bigger brake pads ( sadly more expensive too but you don't change pads often ) and also in addition the BB7s can adjust both pads distance. Avid BB7s are the best mechanical disc brakes in the market now and BB5s as reviewed, said the Avids V-brakes stops even better. that is the concern but for foldie i think the BB5s is sufficient unless on MTBs then hydraulic comes in. Look at the size difference ![]() i try the method as shown on the site below and it works good now so won't change anything on it as my budget is on building a flat bar bike using my old MTB frame http://www.ecovelo.info/2011/04/15/a-foolp...b5-disc-brakes/ |
Sep 20 2015, 03:09 PM
Sep 21 2015, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 18 2015, 12:25 PM) I am using 2 sets of those thin metal strips that car mechanics used to adjust the tappet valves instead of business cards. For 160mm rotors, it is fairly easy to adjust but for 180mm rotors, it's a nightmare adjusting without the spacers. If you are using old MTB frames, that means a rigid frame. It's much better to use hydraulics and the price is going really cheap nowadays. Even Tektro hydraulics is better than a mechanical setup. I will be upgrading my wife's Deore setup this month's end to XT. If you wish I can sell you the old Deore setup. haven't decide which type of brakes yet, the BB5 mentioned is on my Java Fit. just got my hands on a used Tern Link C7 for a really good price, most probably will mod the C7 first and put the MTB frame on hold first. was thinking of either mod to 18 or 20 speed. which do u think is more suitable? thanks QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 20 2015, 10:35 PM) Wah... Genting sempah. Actually, I want to know, how hard is the ride there? Are there only one route or there are easy, medium and hard route 😁😁😁 i stop many times, lost count of it before reachingThis post has been edited by kllam: Sep 21 2015, 04:28 PM |
Oct 7 2015, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(theotheryun @ Oct 6 2015, 11:14 PM) ...nice... Look like mtb...it turn out might need it sooner than i thought... ...another lidi gave up just now... ...hehe... ![]() ...sudah rongak... ... ...thanx etigge... ...realy save my time surveying kedai basikal for it... ...will update when i replaced them later... ...cheers... ... |
Oct 8 2015, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 21 2015, 05:08 PM) To mod the Tern C7 to 18 or 20 speed, you have to change the wheelsets as well. You can change the hubs alone if you want to save but the rims are also not a good one. Usually they pair the rims with single walled rims which are soft and broad as well. You can't fit the Duranos or any narrow tires on it. So, it makes better sense to just change the whole wheelset. A sealed bearing set can be had for RM400 , give and take 50 bucks. As for 18 speed or 20 speed, that depends on you. i'm aware of the price when we mod stuff as i mod my carFor 18 speed, it means 11T/32T or 34T rear cassette (cogs) and you can use mountain bike RDs. This means shifters, chains and RDs are aplenty to choose from. The front most definitely be road bike set up. A 52T or 53T/39T chainrings. You can't find mountain bike FDs that can fit the big diameter seat tube anyway. So, roadbike FDs are used. It will be much cheaper, but not much. For a 20 speed, means you use roadbike components all over. 10 speed mountain bike components are already 34T or 36T for the rear cogs which are a bit big as the cage of the RD will hit the ground. So, roadbike components are more suited for 10 speed. The biggest is 30T at the rear which should suffice for a 20 inch foldie. It will cost a little bit more, namely the Shimano Tiagra is the cheapest 10 speed outfit, then comes the Shimano 105s and then Ultegras and off course the top Dura Aces. All the latest models of the top 3 models are now 11 speed already and that requires different hubs, I did manage to fit in 10 speed SRAM X5 mountain bike components on the 20 inch foldie though as SRAM X5 RD has a shorter cage. Also you need to shorten the length of the chain in such a way that when you engage the lowest 36T, the cage is pulled to the front and not vertical to the ground. This makes going uphills .........hyper easy. It's going to cost as much as what you paid for the Tern but buying a ready made Tern with similar specs are even much more pricier. i'm thinking of going to 20 speed, i've check and the wheelset need to be changed in order to fit the cassette. either shimano 105 or tiagra component. can i mixed the part? cassette and rd is tiagra with the crankset and fd from 105? |
Oct 8 2015, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(theotheryun @ Oct 7 2015, 08:08 PM) ...front is cheap mtb fork... can fit foldie?...hehe... ...still got... ...or why not both... ...hehe... ...since i ned to go to kimbel jaya anyway... ...i ll drop by ur house after... ...myb on my nex offday... ...i ll text u nexweek to confirm... ...try kuala lumpur foldies in facebook... ...they do night ride in kl on wekends... won't the front be too tall? |
Oct 21 2015, 03:54 PM
hi all sifu,
can a shimano 105 53-39t crank with fd pair with tiagra 11-32t 10 speed cassette and rd? |
| Change to: | 0.0493sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:28 PM |