6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 2 2006, 11:06 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Sunway Lagoon got 2 big sulcatas.... and I will get to be with them soon....smile.gif and also got 6 elongated tortoise....

The staff there were shocked when I told them pet trade, hatchling sulcata can be around RM500 to Rm700...
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 3 2006, 12:11 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 2 2006, 11:37 PM)
Eujax : Yeah, what u said is true. Just that a bit upset. The tank is an Exo Terra plastic tank, i supposed he climbed on the ventilation holes and make his way out above the tank.

Hun : They got for display is it ? I didnt know coz never go to sunway lagoon. laugh.gif
Yah... for display... at the zoo there loh... see them, looks so big, a human can sit on them hahahah...
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 3 2006, 12:43 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 3 2006, 12:29 AM)
Woah, that big kah ? I saw some add ppl selling 20" SCL Sulcata last time, it was expensive tho.
Yah... they are like a little stool.... visit the zoo loh when it opens heheheh... tongue.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 17 2006, 01:23 AM

12,047 posts

Wah.... I fell in love with sulcata lah.... ish.... when it becomes a giant, it is really really adorable.... can scratch and pet the big head and tap the shinny shell... aiyoh....

Well, Reanne and I get to handle and sometimes feed 4 baby sulcatas... they are really cute and enjoy sawi and bits of carrots...
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 17 2006, 03:05 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 17 2006, 02:57 AM)
Wah, at the Sunway Lagoon one is it ? I understand the feeling, i always pat my Asian Giant Pond Turtle's head i feed both of them. They arent that big but still my biggest turtle i ever had.
Yah... heheheh... got 1 big fella... then another tortoise I really dunno what they are hahaha.... dun look like sulcata to me but big for elongated.... how big can an elongated grow? I saw they got 6 elongateds but look smaller than the one housed with the sulcata loh... but the sulcata big and nice hahah.... aiyoh... my star so small.... ish... hard to pat his head hahahah....

I want sulcata..... one day lah heheheh drool.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 23 2006, 11:22 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(prelude23 @ Dec 23 2006, 06:50 PM)
New to KL... I dunno where is Tmn Mayang
You take Putra, take until Taman Bahagia.... then get out of the station, look at opposite side of the road, cross it. Got shop houses... follow the shop houses straight up till come to another junction. Cross the road again and you will see a bengkel kereta I think.... and Secret Recipe.... Opposite(front) or Secret Recipe you can see Pet Family
crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 29 2007, 09:25 PM

12,047 posts

From experience.... woodchips is better. Tortoise tend to pee alot, when corn cob become wet, it will harbour bacteria and mold.... also, corn cob is small and can get stuck on wet genitals. Another fact is that corn cob can accidently be eaten by tortoise, so kinda dangerous since can cause impaction.

For me, I use a mixture of woodchips and wood pellets. Gives good results and I do spot cleaning once a week while major cleaning only when the wood pellets become mushy.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 15 2007, 08:39 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(khaneys @ Feb 15 2007, 02:03 PM)
i want try this hobby too?is star totis doesn't need water in his tank?
Star tortoise is a sensitive tortoise.... those below 3 inches got high risk of getting sick and dying....

They do drink so they do need a water bowl in their tank to drink. All living animals need to drink water. Try this hobby? You better do research first before trying a hobby coz a pet is a life....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 21 2007, 11:28 AM

12,047 posts

Don't you guys think this is nice?

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 21 2007, 11:34 AM

12,047 posts

Yah, I took atht pic in aquaria heheheh.... the turtles were awesome there... mesmerizing to me. This is the best pic out of dunno how many.... hahah.... the 2nd best pic is too blue...

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 21 2007, 09:16 PM

12,047 posts

The sea turtles are displayed at Aquaria.... cannot be kept as pets loh.... only to be admired at certain licensed aquariums... LFS also cannot have I think....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2007, 02:57 PM

12,047 posts

The best is never free them.... Red eared slider is from America, not local terrapin. Many people do not know but doing this release method after having them can cause serious damage to our local ecosystem. Maybe we will lose some local fish species... or they damage some natural habitats....

The best is just put them for adoption or sell them to other people.... or if no choice, release in a man-made pond... I had 2 last time but I gave them to my old school's pond. At least they won't destroy the natural ponds natural habitants.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 28 2007, 05:24 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(fullfilth @ Mar 28 2007, 05:06 PM)
RM 150/pair

any recommendation for their floor? sand? wood?
Don't use sand.

You can use wood but try and get the brand called Woody Pet. Another brand would be Careline wood pellet cat litter. Woody Pet cost RM18.90 while Careline cost RM16.80... difference is the weight, very little difference.

Another type of bedding for Star can also be Breeder's choice or Breeder's Celect. They are Recycled newspaper made into pellets and absorbs pee and smell very well. Rm19.90 to Rm22...

Sand is a big no no coz can cause impaction if eaten. Soil the same thing also and soil has a lot of parasites in it. Beach sand also has bacteria and is too fine.

Peat soil or coconut fiber soil or forest bedding is a bit too moist, stars need to be kept dry but they must have a bowl of water in their tank for drinking and soaking once a while.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 28 2007, 06:07 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Mar 28 2007, 06:01 PM)
my gf just get a  star tortoise today cuz its my birthday.. im 19.. woohoo

i read the 1st page bout how to make a tank but izit suitable for my ST ?
-i need to put alot of water inside or just a small bowl of water?
-do i still need to get some lightning for them if i can keep them near my window tat will give them sunlight everyday?
You only need to put a bowl of water in. They are not turtles lah... tortoise hahahah.... Also, the bowl must be heavy so that it will not over turn and it must be low enough to climb in. Get those exoTerra water bowls as it is heavy and low.

Yes, you need lighting. You still need to give natural sun light. Window only provides light, not sun rays that contain Vit D3 and also UV rays. You can get a SunGlo bulb and lamp coz it would be handy on rainy days. On sunny days, just bring your star to have natural sun light. Near the window won't be that sufficient.

Tank, just get a large Storage box or class aquarium... about 2ft in size is good.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 29 2007, 09:32 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Mar 29 2007, 09:19 AM)
erm.. i just find out tat my ST have some injury at her back leg..

looks like his skin is tear off... izit cause by the shell ? cuz got abit sharp at the place his leg goes in and out..

should i do anything ?

and i read tat lettuce is not so good for ST.. can i feed cactus leaf instead ?

last thing is wat can i feed ST for calcium besides cuttlefish bones?.. cuz i dunno wher to get -.-
No, the shell won't cause injury unless the tortoise is over weight or got deformity. How about getting a picture to show us the wound?

Lettuce is not good. We are feeding our stars with sawi, a bit of kang kung once a while, lady fingers. You can feed cactus leaf like the prickly pear... but other cactus I don't think safe... even aloe vera is not good.

Calcium, you can get it from petshops.... just ask them for Reptile calcium and vitamin powder, they will show you where. Pet Safari, Pets Wonderland and Pet Family got stock. You just sprinkle a pinch onto the food and that's enough.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 1 2007, 08:53 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Apr 1 2007, 08:46 PM)
Tis is my new ST.. we named it bubu
[img=http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/6061/28032007007zk8.jpg]

here is how i put my ST.. izit ok like this or i need anything else??

i dun need a light cuz i will put him out in the sun everyday for about 30 minutes or so..
Hmmm... it looks fine but its small... this kinda set up won't last lah.... Also, do use a bowl for it to eat its food. It is dangerous for it to eat off the corn cobs coz corn cob when get eaten can cause impaction. Also it is cleaner and more hygenic lah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 2 2007, 03:51 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hwa107 @ Apr 2 2007, 07:52 AM)
this is where i put my betty, of course not the best one but i hope u get the idea. the enclosure is kinda small though.

sun bath at balcony...
Ah... that's quite a good setup. The tank is larger than mudz.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 2 2007, 04:29 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Apr 2 2007, 04:18 PM)
wat are those white boards tat looks like pavements ?

and how long does those corn cob last ?

1 more thing.. why does my ST looks so afraid ??
always hide inside shell and sometimes his head in out in out like ate "feng tau yun" -.-
Well, you can use newspaper if you do not have any type of boards to make into a clean zone... I don't do that anymore since my Star is almost 6 inches hahaah... but young ones would need it in their eating area coz it is safer for them. But then this is up to you lah.

Corn cob can last a few weeks, depending on how frequent you clean the poo out. Corn cob has 1 drawback is when it gets wet, it can turn moldy and the mold can be toxic... so this is why we use wood chips or recycled newspaper cat litter.

Tortoises, especially Stars are shy lah.... it will take some time to get it used to you.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 2 2007, 09:50 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Apr 2 2007, 08:00 PM)
er... something strange with my ST -.-

i cant find any poo in those corn corbs instead my ST do his/her business inside the bowl tat i fill water -.-"""
It is natural for tortoise to do its business inside the water bowl. You will need to clean the water bowl very often. Why they do it inside? Well, I'm not very sure but it could be easier to pass their "stuff" out and also hygenic for them hahaha...
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 2 2007, 10:17 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Apr 2 2007, 10:15 PM)
means tat those water are not for drinking but for him to poop ? -.-"
Well, he will drink first... after drink then only poop hahaha.... yah, it sounds gross but this is natural for tortoises.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0427sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:29 PM