6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 11 2007, 09:09 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Please get a bigger Star.... you will regret getting those cheap ones.... 2 inch stars are highly sensitive and something wrong, say bacterial infection or a slight cold can cause death.... I have gone through that before, that is why I dare say out.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 12 2007, 08:47 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Apr 12 2007, 08:12 PM)
erm.. i wanna ask something bout my ST..

the skin near his head area seems like peeling off...

izit normal ?
Well.... around the head is normal. Means shedding.... you can soak your ST once a day for 10 minutes to soften the skin and shed easily. But of course make sure once soaked in water, must place in tank with a basking light or some place warm so it won't catch a cold.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 10:13 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Apr 15 2007, 09:49 PM)
yes, very true
all my 5 baby star die one by one. the last one just died sad.gif

so sad...
i've done all i can and the necessary to keep them healthy.
they just don't want to eat

and all died with soft shell. problem is not eating the food

now left my sulcata (which touch wood, healthy)
Really? Wahhh.... sorry to hear bout all your loses. RIP to the 5 stars.... bought from ikano rite? Mine was from ikano....

Mine died after 1 year.... it didn't eat but I made it drink babyfood soup and isotonic water to live along with calcium supplements. Also died from soft shell...
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 16 2007, 07:27 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jcs_5 @ Apr 16 2007, 11:15 AM)
Hi titan, crazymouse & others,

thanks for sharing your experiences.

Looks pretty grim for the babies ...

Then who has some sucessfully stories on stars  ?
If you get 3 inches.... can survive... I got 1 which is now 5 years old already because I got it around 2.5 inches.... still it was risky to keep such a young star. Also, it is natural for tortoises to be solitary unless breeding, so save your money, get a 3 inch one and be happy about it.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 16 2007, 08:52 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Apr 16 2007, 08:44 PM)
hun, you advice is wise indeed, yup starters better buy 3"+ specimens.

however, from experience, i'd say that captive stars are almost always communal creatures. you'd see them sleep together in one corner of their enclosure, following each other around and sometimes 'talk'. (not orally, they do that head bobbing stuff and sniff one another). most importantly, they'd be more active and even eat better with companies.

so, even if anyone start with one specimen, he/she should consider getting a second in the near future. of course got to spend more, but worth every cent i'd say  thumbup.gif
well, if can afford only 1 first then get 1 first. I do wish to keep another but space for 2 stars is gonna be hard... I don't want my current star to have less space. Also I think my mom would freak if I get another star hahaahh.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 16 2007, 09:41 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jcs_5 @ Apr 16 2007, 09:15 PM)
hi crazymouse,

how big is your 5 years old kid ? hehe
It's about 5.5inches now... that was the last time I measured lah....
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 17 2007, 10:21 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Apr 17 2007, 07:41 AM)
entice your mum to love the stars la  biggrin.gif. (maybe you should entice her to love all your other animals too)

nowadays nearly all my chelonians are taken care by my mum because i work 200km away from home.. makes life easier  thumbup.gif
cactus (specifically, prickly pear - opuntia) is their main staple in the wild. most keepers give them hibiscus, good food.
Hahaha.... she likes my Star but she said 1 is enough.... tried before... she feeds my star every morning tongue.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 17 2007, 07:08 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(fullfilth @ Apr 17 2007, 06:56 PM)
hibiscus flower or leaves?

I only give my ST long bean and sawi now.
Both the flower and leaf can be given.

Do lessen the long beans.... give only like once or twice a month. Long beans are very high in protein and can cause pyramiding on their shell.... sawi is ok.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 18 2007, 02:40 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Apr 18 2007, 02:35 AM)
lol i got my turtle long time ago those green color 1 rm5 my turtle 4years i keep de

1)I just feed my turtle pellets only izzit ok?
2)My turtle his shell not nice like many greenish thing how to remove it?
3)My tank is just water only with a big rock izzit ok?
4)Do i have to sunbath my turtle?
Please go do research on Red Eared Slider....

Your turtle would need some fiber in the diet. Give some vegie like kang kung or sawi. Sometimes a few feeder fish is good. Pellets, you must be careful coz some have too much protein. It is always good to provide some fresh food... like human lah, if we eat canned sardines everyday not nice rite? You would also like to eat freshly cooked fish once a while.... so get some fresh vegies or feeder fish for a change. You can still continue feeding the pellets.

You can scrub your turtle's shell with an old toothbrush. Gently scrub off... do not use soap and apply little pressure.

Yes, that is ok. It needs to have a rock above the water so when it wants dry land, it can be on the rock.

Yes, you have to sunbath your turtle. Good to have 10 to 20 minutes of natural sun light everyday. Since they are cold blooded, they do need heat so a normal basking lamp is good to give some heat. The sunbath will provide the ample amount of UV rays and produce Vit D3 but a basking lamp will only give heat.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 18 2007, 05:24 PM

12,047 posts

Better not cut. Males have longer nails than females, it's natural.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 27 2007, 09:21 PM

12,047 posts

No no.... don't feed kacang panjang.... it has high protein, junkfood to then.... sigh, never do research on feeding Star Tortoise? They cannot eat a lot of vegetables....

Stars should have a diet of sawi, prickly pear(opuntia), hibiscus leaf and flower, dandelion(if got), Romaine lettuce(not normal lettuce).... Ladies Fingers and carrot can be given once or twice a week, french beans and kacang panjang once awhile.... they can take a bit of tomato once a week.... Kangkung can be fed a few times.....
crazymouse_yyh
post May 27 2007, 09:36 PM

12,047 posts

When he is hungry, he will eat.... if you only feed kangkung, the shell will grow wrongly, have alot of pyramiding and if too high in protein and low in calcium, it can become stunted and deform.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 27 2007, 10:41 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(fairy @ May 27 2007, 10:29 PM)
huhuhu....so sawi is better than kangkung??...ok ok i'll gv him sawi afta this...

is the bedding is a must?...

when i put forest bark...there will be a red ant in it..i afraid it will bite my st
Forest bark? Better change... look for Breeder's Celect... it is a cat litter that is made of recycled newspaper.... of Back 2 Nature.... same company... Forest bark got trap moisture, which is not healthy for a star tortoise if you do not on a basking light for it everyday....
crazymouse_yyh
post May 27 2007, 11:20 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(fairy @ May 27 2007, 11:14 PM)
Forest bark? Better change... look for Breeder's Celect... it is a cat litter that is made of recycled newspaper
where can i find it?....b4 this i try using hamster bedding..tongue.gif
Hamster bedding? That is worst.... my goodness.... you seems like never read or do research on how to take care of star tortoise at all....

Go to Pet Safari, you can find Breeder's Celect there.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 27 2007, 11:29 PM

12,047 posts

Sigh, petshops don't know much but just sell stuff.... getting information is so easy... just google and get. If you wanna get more info, READ this whole thread and the old one.... everyone has given all their knowledge here. Don't wait to be spoon fed. I got my Star tortoise 5 years ago, nobody told me how to care for it, I did my own research before buying and make sure I can supply the right food..... also, a star tortoise less than 2.5 inches has a high risk of catching infection and dying too if the care is not given correctly... Please do more research....
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 09:53 PM

12,047 posts

People these days are seeing snakes as cool animals to keep..... well, there was once a star tortoise trend... then the hermit crab phase... soon snakes will become less as well and something new will pop up.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 07:11 PM

12,047 posts

Aquatic snails, wow.... so what species of snails? The large ones? How long have you kept the snail eating turtles?
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 11:52 PM

12,047 posts

How can they eat back the eggs? Do you give it substrate to bury the eggs?
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 23 2007, 04:53 PM

12,047 posts

Ohh... man, I think I was blur last night and thought ekiddie posted saying his turtles ate their own eggs hahah... my bad my bad.

I also have aquatic snails.... erm, dunno what species but they do not grow very big, just the size of 10 cent coins. 1 snail produced 20 snails.... realise it will only lay eggs and hatch if it has plants around.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 24 2007, 01:46 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(fullfilth @ Jun 23 2007, 08:24 PM)
got pics?
Pics of the snails? blink.gif

QUOTE(Hate_Myself @ Jun 23 2007, 10:16 PM)
Hi all! I'm new here,i just got 2 RESes (named K.S & X.K) last month (on my bday tongue.gif )

A week ago,i found out that X.K's tail became shorter,like was biten off..i suspect K.S bit it off  sad.gif

My question is will the tail grows back?
If it was bitten off, it won't grow back. They are not like geckos.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0457sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:02 AM