122 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

LEVIATHAN
post Dec 18 2006, 08:03 AM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

i also had the same problem with u damselfield. the baby RESes refuse to eat. most of the time they play dead on the log. or float halplessly. and what made they even worse was that other RESes always bite their legs. so what to do?

1. in the first place avoid from buying any slow, passive RES. insist only on the active and bright RES. the RES maybe not properly taken care of. so when u want to buy it, pick it yourself. and always check the basics. the eyes, nose, and limbs.

if u see the eyes are red, are slightly swallow or have something alien in them, avoid it because the RES probably has conjunctivitis. choose a RES with bright and shiny eyes. the nose should be clean and dry. and make sure there is no discharge from it. a discharged nose indicate a health problem. and the problem can lead to pneumonia. and u dont want it. the limbs. when u hold, it will try to escape. if u see it kicks and punches, it is a good sign. if u want feel a bit expert, check this out.

2. if already bought it (i bought 2 not healthy RES), feed with tubifex worm. it will help i suppose. tubifex worm can be considered as feed starter lah. and separate bigger RES from the smaller one especially when meal time. i always feed the smaller RES by hand. personal contact gituw. and they need water to eat. water help them to gulp the chewed food kot.

that's what i can recall this morning. rclxub.gif

damselfield
post Dec 18 2006, 09:19 AM

fuh as expected from the sifus from here,

Enferno,

tq for the info. cant wait to see ur RES tank setup.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Leviathan,
tq so much. was thinking the same as u in item No.1, check the RES itself first but talk about details ya Leviathan. r u by chance a vet sweat.gif sweat.gif .

hmm will try to ask pet shops about the tubifex worm. fed by hand?? fuh again..
dunno how it feels to hand fed the RES coz mine both died before even eating anything cry.gif cry.gif . also when i pick them up they'll try to kick n run n stuff, so it seems quite impossible to hand fed them back then. but must have been fun though to see them eat even better from ur own hands...

thanks.. anything will update u all when i finally decide to get an RES

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSuzairi
post Dec 18 2006, 12:33 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Dec 17 2006, 09:11 PM)

Nice setup, i can see effort from the tank setup. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Enferno @ Dec 18 2006, 02:39 AM)
i cannot consider as sifu,

but i can tell u how i setup my tank. i have a 2 ft by 1ft tank. i seperate the tank in to half. the 1st half, i put in stones, lots of them. stack it to around 20 cm high. the other half of the tank, i put in a filter pump.

then fill in water, to the height around 15cm. so 1 side is fill with water. the stone side is the basking area for RES. not really a basking area, cos i still not yet install any basking lamp. quite expensive though. they can swim whenever they wan. i put in some guppies also.

once read that, RES will chase small fishes and eat them. but till now i dun c any dead fish. they get along quite well. or izit the guppies have lots of hiding place?

i will try to upload pics of my tank setup next time. let all sifu comment on it.
Maybe your turtles is well feeded, that's why they never chase those fishes.

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Dec 18 2006, 08:03 AM)

Good one about the carapace, will add it to the frontpage.
kamekame8888
post Dec 19 2006, 05:17 PM

143 posts

Hi guys...went to Ikano just now and saw an Impressed Tortoise!! smile.gif Never seen before mar...but then, when a guy asked to take it out have a look, its dead!! sad.gif Pityful...such a nice tortoise! One must really see it to appreciate its beauty. The golden colour carapace is...phew!

Anyway Merry Christmas to all! Happy New Year!

Kamekame.
funkychips
post Dec 19 2006, 07:37 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Dec 19 2006, 05:17 PM)
Hi guys...went to Ikano just now and saw an Impressed Tortoise!! smile.gif Never seen before mar...but then, when a guy asked to take it out have a look, its dead!! sad.gif Pityful...such a nice tortoise! One must really see it to appreciate its beauty. The golden colour carapace is...phew!

Kamekame.

Was it meant for sale?
Best wishes to all, hehe...have a nice holiday season!!
TSuzairi
post Dec 19 2006, 09:13 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Dec 19 2006, 05:17 PM)

Kamekame.
I would get the dead tortoise and mummified it. Will go and take a look there. Ive seen and touched a pair of Impressed Tortoise before. Their nose is in pink colour, cute. biggrin.gif
prelude23
post Dec 20 2006, 07:06 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

Hi, anyone can tell me where can I get RES turtle? And what is the price for RES... Thanks please... Wanna start keeping turtles but need you guys help... blush.gif
LEVIATHAN
post Dec 20 2006, 08:02 PM

2,281 posts

RES is super common in pet shops. the lowest price i've seen is RM6. here in pasar presint 8 putrajaya ada.
prelude23
post Dec 20 2006, 10:21 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

RES is same as the common green turtle rite? I see at pets wonderland there sell rm12 ler... So expensive... I want to know average price so that i wont end up buy the expensive 1... thanks
LEVIATHAN
post Dec 20 2006, 10:27 PM

2,281 posts

ya. pets wonderland makap the price so much. pets wonderland EM sell RES for RM12, and the RES look not healthy, i flipped it but not trying to flip back. better go to cheap2, common pet shop. unless that RM12 come with a health certificate. haha. tongue.gif
prelude23
post Dec 20 2006, 10:33 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Dec 20 2006, 10:27 PM)
ya. pets wonderland makap the price so much. pets wonderland EM sell RES for RM12, and the RES look not healthy, i flipped it but not trying to flip back. better go to cheap2, common pet shop. unless that RM12 come with a health certificate. haha.  tongue.gif
hmmm... how should i see whether its healthy or not huh?
TSuzairi
post Dec 21 2006, 12:17 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

RES are sold around rm5-rm8 depending on the LFS. How to see whether they are healthy or not just see if they flip back when u flipped them and see whether they are active or not. Swimming here and there.
prelude23
post Dec 21 2006, 02:17 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 21 2006, 12:17 PM)
RES are sold around rm5-rm8 depending on the LFS. How to see whether they are healthy or not just see if they flip back when u flipped them and see whether they are active or not. Swimming here and there.
Sorry, I'm still a newbie... What is LFS?
TSuzairi
post Dec 22 2006, 10:47 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

LFS = Local Fish Shop.
summer_wizard
post Dec 22 2006, 11:12 AM

106 posts

sifus,
My RES didn't poop for a week already...i didn't notice any solid sh*t...but the water does get murky, but i guess it's caused by the pellets. He is still very playful and active tho...
so, is my pet normal???
jamkuwong
post Dec 22 2006, 11:32 AM

96 posts

hi, I own a star tortoise. I'm going outstation for 2 days and no one can take care my tortoise for me. Can I prepare him a lot of food and leave there? Ussually I give him apple or cabbage.
My question is:
Will he over-eating? or can he survive without food for few days? I'm very worry about him.
Thx
prelude23
post Dec 22 2006, 02:04 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 22 2006, 10:47 AM)
LFS = Local Fish Shop.
uzairi, any pet shop that you will recommend? sorry.. still new to kl... only know petsafari and pets wonderland...
max_cjs0101
post Dec 22 2006, 08:08 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(jamkuwong @ Dec 22 2006, 11:32 AM)
hi, I own a star tortoise. I'm going outstation for 2 days and no one can take care my tortoise for me. Can I prepare him a lot of food and leave there? Ussually I give him apple or cabbage.
My question is:
Will he over-eating? or can he survive without food for few days? I'm very worry about him.
Thx
Buy the automatic feeder la..Bout rm30 only.
TSuzairi
post Dec 22 2006, 08:28 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(summer_wizard @ Dec 22 2006, 11:12 AM)
sifus,
My RES didn't poop for a week already...i didn't notice any solid sh*t...but the water does get murky, but i guess it's caused by the pellets. He is still very playful and active tho...
so, is my pet normal???
Normal, as long as he's active. About the shit, u wont notice any solid shit as they are inside the water so whenever the poo comes out it will just dissolve.

QUOTE(jamkuwong @ Dec 22 2006, 11:32 AM)
My question is:
Thx
U should give your star tortoise apple and cabbage. Why ? Apple is acidic and cabbage doesnt give any nutrients at all and contains a lot of water. Why not put a water dish, some vege like sawi and leave some pellets too.

QUOTE(prelude23 @ Dec 22 2006, 02:04 PM)
uzairi, any pet shop that you will recommend? sorry.. still new to kl... only know petsafari and pets wonderland...
Pets Family SS24/8 Kelana Jaya, Natural Aqua SS19 Subang Jaya, 88 Marine SS15 Subang. You can get more at the Pets Shop lists.
prelude23
post Dec 22 2006, 10:46 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 22 2006, 08:28 PM)

Pets Family SS24/8 Kelana Jaya, Natural Aqua SS19 Subang Jaya, 88 Marine SS15 Subang. You can get more at the Pets Shop lists.
Aiya... all those place hard for me to go... Cause i'm using lrt only... No transport in kl... Anyway, thanks uzairi...

122 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:39 AM