yah! dude! this is the turtle featured in My Name Is Earl tv series. what is this tortoise? yaa.. presint 8, putrajaya.
Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...
Dec 14 2006, 07:26 PM
2,281 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Littleroot Town |
![]() yah! dude! this is the turtle featured in My Name Is Earl tv series. what is this tortoise? yaa.. presint 8, putrajaya. |
Dec 14 2006, 08:37 PM
anybody know the good and the bad having ikan bandaraya in the aquarium, together with another residents? do they halp complete the nitrogen cycle? they eat my res shits, convert them to tiny tubes. wonder the effects to my aquarium & my turtles.
Dec 14 2006, 09:50 PM
900 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: lalaland |
guy guys~~~
how much is a star tortoise that selling the pet shop? thanks ya |
Dec 14 2006, 10:46 PM
6,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: World Wide Web Status: Banned |
QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Dec 14 2006, 07:26 PM) ![]() yah! dude! this is the turtle featured in My Name Is Earl tv series. what is this tortoise? yaa.. presint 8, putrajaya. QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Dec 14 2006, 08:37 PM) anybody know the good and the bad having ikan bandaraya in the aquarium, together with another residents? do they halp complete the nitrogen cycle? they eat my res shits, convert them to tiny tubes. wonder the effects to my aquarium & my turtles. Not sure about that, but having some plants inside the tank would help about the nitrogen thingy i supposed.QUOTE(shinobikit @ Dec 14 2006, 09:50 PM) Hatchlings is around rm68 and price increases along with the size. Recommended to get the tortoise sized more than 3 inches because they are more hardy and less prone to fall sick which would costs around rm168 to rm250..This post has been edited by uzairi: Dec 14 2006, 10:58 PM |
Dec 15 2006, 08:27 PM
oh the shop i mentioned earlier don't have any extra rare turtle or tortoise. just basic RES and fishes. but u can always pre order.
Dec 16 2006, 05:02 PM
Inside the market or what ? Its really weird tho.
Dec 16 2006, 07:16 PM
ye. the pet shop is inside the pasar. level 2 dry market section. but somehow last time i went there about a week ago, the shop is having a heavy renovation.
Dec 16 2006, 08:47 PM
Owh, the market is at precint 8 rite ? I will go and have a look on this coming week.
Dec 17 2006, 01:23 AM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
Wah.... I fell in love with sulcata lah.... ish.... when it becomes a giant, it is really really adorable.... can scratch and pet the big head and tap the shinny shell... aiyoh....
Well, Reanne and I get to handle and sometimes feed 4 baby sulcatas... they are really cute and enjoy sawi and bits of carrots... |
Dec 17 2006, 02:57 AM
Wah, at the Sunway Lagoon one is it ? I understand the feeling, i always pat my Asian Giant Pond Turtle's head i feed both of them. They arent that big but still my biggest turtle i ever had.
Dec 17 2006, 03:01 AM
i want a baby sulcata. send me pls! star is very hard to be taken care of. so sulcata maybe can replace and satisfy my lust toward tortoise. im horny for a tortoise
Dec 17 2006, 03:05 AM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(uzairi @ Dec 17 2006, 02:57 AM) Wah, at the Sunway Lagoon one is it ? I understand the feeling, i always pat my Asian Giant Pond Turtle's head i feed both of them. They arent that big but still my biggest turtle i ever had. Yah... heheheh... got 1 big fella... then another tortoise I really dunno what they are hahaha.... dun look like sulcata to me but big for elongated.... how big can an elongated grow? I saw they got 6 elongateds but look smaller than the one housed with the sulcata loh... but the sulcata big and nice hahah.... aiyoh... my star so small.... ish... hard to pat his head hahahah....I want sulcata..... one day lah heheheh |
Dec 17 2006, 09:40 AM
boss i think the shop i mentioned earlier was moved lah. maybe to a larger & more strategic, high traffic shop lot. i'll update later, try to sms the owner jap.
edit: oh the shop is still there. the owner confirmed me. This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Dec 17 2006, 09:51 AM |
Dec 17 2006, 11:40 AM
how much a 2 ft or 3 ft rubbermaid tub? where to get?
Dec 17 2006, 03:50 PM
576 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -SafeR Trader- Senior Liao.. |
i also got 2 little turtle ..will post up the pic..soon,,, yeah ..thanks
Dec 17 2006, 04:04 PM
576 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -SafeR Trader- Senior Liao.. |
hahaha ..tis is my stupid turtle ..i got 2 of them ..but hor .. very funny things happen everymorning ... they will knock the aquarium where i put them for food ..
they will wake u up by using their leg to knock the plastic surface .. then u will wake up by them .. ahahha .. but is fun to have them ..as they does not really act like turtle ..they act like dog .. when u giv them food ..they will stand high and catch the food that you r giving to them .. is it all turtle like tat .. ![]() But i still love them ... wil upload more pic in future.. |
Dec 17 2006, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 17 2006, 03:05 AM) Yah... heheheh... got 1 big fella... then another tortoise I really dunno what they are hahaha.... dun look like sulcata to me but big for elongated.... how big can an elongated grow? I saw they got 6 elongateds but look smaller than the one housed with the sulcata loh... but the sulcata big and nice hahah.... aiyoh... my star so small.... ish... hard to pat his head hahahah.... You want big turtles and cheap ? I saw 3 Asian Giant Pond turtle for sale at Jalan Pasar, i wanted to buy but no money lah. Sad case.I want sulcata..... one day lah heheheh QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Dec 17 2006, 09:40 AM) boss i think the shop i mentioned earlier was moved lah. maybe to a larger & more strategic, high traffic shop lot. i'll update later, try to sms the owner jap. Owh, i wonder how's the business there.edit: oh the shop is still there. the owner confirmed me. QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Dec 17 2006, 11:40 AM) Its around rm100-rm150 and depends on the quality. They have 2 version which is plastic and another one is fiber.QUOTE(bee1927 @ Dec 17 2006, 04:04 PM) hahaha ..tis is my stupid turtle ..i got 2 of them ..but hor .. very funny things happen everymorning ... they will knock the aquarium where i put them for food .. Most of the RES are like that. they will wake u up by using their leg to knock the plastic surface .. then u will wake up by them .. ahahha .. but is fun to have them ..as they does not really act like turtle ..they act like dog .. when u giv them food ..they will stand high and catch the food that you r giving to them .. is it all turtle like tat .. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « But i still love them ... wil upload more pic in future.. |
Dec 17 2006, 09:11 PM
![]() hoho. this is my small 2ft acrylic tank. the log is the basking area, and also as a hidden dungeon for my ikan bandaraya. i use a cheap food timer dispenser, as i go practical in the morning and come home only at 8pm. and also there is a UV light sauce. read it from book it's bad to put the light too near with the turtle, but what can i do? no place lah. ![]() bird view of the tank. there are 2 streams of water from two pumps to increase the liquid flow rate into the filter. in the filter i have a layer of white, short cylinders with pores, plus bacteria colonies to play their parts in the nitrogen cycle (i hope my setup works. haha) QUOTE The primary source of ammonia is created when fish consume food and oxygen and create waste and carbon dioxide. The fish waste then decays into ammonia. Other sources include excess food that is not eaten as well as decaying plants and dead fish. The rise in ammonia triggers the growth of Nitrosomonas which produce nitrites. The nitrites trigger the growth of Nitrospira to produce nitrates. The nitrates and carbon dioxide are consumed by plant life which produce oxygen through the process of photosynthesis. Excess nitrates are removed by water changes. ![]() another front view. there are 2 ikan bandaraya seen here. another 1 maybe inside the log. actually they were 4. but somehow 1 of them cant endure the harassment from the turtles and died. ![]() and this one is my shit sucka. built it myself from a stainless steel (from old printer), a 2ft tube and a short tali rafia. when my turtles shit, shut the upper part of the tube, celup it towards the shit, let the shit sucked up, reshut the upper part, and flow it elsewhere. that's how my shit sucka works. and that's my setup. thanks. |
Dec 17 2006, 11:39 PM
5 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Hi all, noob here
Leviathan, nice setup u have there. last time i also bought 2 RES but died due to not eating any food that i put in. been in trauma to rear RES though i cant really resist looking at them each time i went to the pet/aquarium shop. question to all. what do u guys fed ur RES? mine last time i put in the turtle pallets but they wont eat... later i put in veggies also wont eat.. put in fish pallets also wont budge.. or is it due to the setting i've made for them to live in?? last time i just put in a little bit of water n then some wood for them to climb on. the water level is just the same as their height ( baby RES size). from what i saw some pet shop put small amount of water like i did while some other put in the amount as i saw from Leviathan's setup ( almost half tank) to all masters and sifus plssssssssss help tq |
Dec 18 2006, 02:39 AM
469 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Indigo Aurora Nutrition |
i cannot consider as sifu,
but i can tell u how i setup my tank. i have a 2 ft by 1ft tank. i seperate the tank in to half. the 1st half, i put in stones, lots of them. stack it to around 20 cm high. the other half of the tank, i put in a filter pump. then fill in water, to the height around 15cm. so 1 side is fill with water. the stone side is the basking area for RES. not really a basking area, cos i still not yet install any basking lamp. quite expensive though. they can swim whenever they wan. i put in some guppies also. once read that, RES will chase small fishes and eat them. but till now i dun c any dead fish. they get along quite well. or izit the guppies have lots of hiding place? i will try to upload pics of my tank setup next time. let all sifu comment on it. |
| Change to: | 0.0283sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:32 AM |