241 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!

riku2replica
post Jan 2 2015, 12:30 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(langatian @ Jan 2 2015, 12:12 PM)
same happen to me. I suspected switch at steering column,
could be wiring loose or something which is suspected.
I was actually hoping for entire blue print layout of our Saga/Isawara model published. brows.gif
langatian
post Jan 2 2015, 04:46 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jan 2 2015, 12:30 PM)
I was actually hoping for entire blue print layout of our Saga/Isawara model published.  brows.gif
dont have any idea how the swtich looks like inside. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by langatian: Jan 2 2015, 04:46 PM
yewwing
post Jan 2 2015, 04:58 PM

392 posts

now only report in..haha
Albert B
post Jan 2 2015, 06:30 PM

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jan 2 2015, 12:30 PM)
I was actually hoping for entire blue print layout of our Saga/Isawara model published.  brows.gif
When the turn-signal misbehaves again try this:
immediatedly switch on the hazard lights.

If the hazard lights work, then it is not
the flasher relay unit, but could be fuse contacts, or
steering column switch, or hazard light switch.

If the hazard lights also does not work, then the flasher
relay or hazard light switch could be suspect.

Note that the hazard and turn-signal circuits share the
same flasher relay and both passes thru the hazard switch,
but uses different supply circuits and fuses.

(I also would like to get hold of a copy of Proton service manual,
now just make do with Haynes + bits from internet)

fishncatz
post Jan 2 2015, 07:11 PM

34 posts

What is the best manual transmission fluid that your iswaras currently using?

Mine currently on castrol gl-5 80W-90. The first and second gear plus reverse seems hard to get engaged. I read somewhere before that the reverse gear doesnt have a synchro.

After the car fully heat up from the journey from seremban to kl, kl to seremban, the engagement seems hard to get in gears. unlike during cold, the gears gets in easily.

What is the problems? Fail syncros or gear oil? If is the oil is the problem, is the petronas gl-5 manual trans fluid recommended?
Albert B
post Jan 2 2015, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(fishncatz @ Jan 2 2015, 07:11 PM)

Mine currently on castrol gl-5 80W-90. The first and second gear plus reverse seems hard to get engaged. I read somewhere before that the reverse gear doesnt have a synchro.

After the car fully heat up from the journey from seremban to kl, kl to seremban, the engagement seems hard to get in gears. unlike during cold, the gears gets in easily.

What is the problems? Fail syncros or gear oil? If is the oil is the problem, is the petronas gl-5 manual trans fluid recommended?
Could be due to contamination of gear oil, gear change linkages worn,
clutch cable needs adjustment, or worst case synchromesh failure.

When did you last changed the gear oil? I had this gear change
difficulty also, which was resolved by changing the gearbox oil.

(as far as I know, reverse gear has no synchro mesh, just
plain idler gear only)

This post has been edited by Albert B: Jan 2 2015, 09:54 PM
langatian
post Jan 2 2015, 11:57 PM

270 posts

how to change front left signal bulb? already kaput.
TSQuazacolt
post Jan 3 2015, 04:48 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(yewwing @ Jan 2 2015, 04:58 PM)
now only report in..haha
long time no see your post laugh.gif
chrisstse
post Jan 3 2015, 11:16 AM

Mine was a bit different. When the car was fully heated up (i/e drive long enough), then the gears engages very easily. However, when i just started the car, the gears are hard to engage. I eventually have to force them in. Will have the forman help me check during my chinese new year break lol... now just bear with the pain.
Albert B
post Jan 3 2015, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(langatian @ Jan 2 2015, 11:57 PM)
how to change front left signal bulb? already kaput.
You mean the bulb as circled? I think the whole unit
is attached by one screw, accessible thru the hole in
the headlamp (arrowed).

fishncatz
post Jan 3 2015, 06:20 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 2 2015, 09:45 PM)
Could be due to contamination of gear oil, gear change linkages worn,
clutch cable needs adjustment, or worst case synchromesh failure.

When did you last changed the gear oil? I had this gear change
difficulty also, which was resolved by changing the gearbox oil.

(as far as I know, reverse gear has no synchro mesh, just
plain idler gear only)
I just solve the hard engagement of first and 2nd gear as i changed to 2 liters of 75w-90 toyota transmission fluid. But the satisfaction is still not there. biggrin.gif. I still searching for thinner transmission fluid like the owners manual that required sae 80w or 75w-85.

QUOTE(chrisstse @ Jan 3 2015, 11:16 AM)
Mine was a bit different. When the car was fully heated up (i/e drive long enough), then the gears engages very easily. However, when i just started the car, the gears are hard to engage. I eventually have to force them in. Will have the forman help me check during my chinese new year break lol... now just bear with the pain.
I'm sure you are using mono-grade transmission fluid that likely to be Sae 90w as this are not all season multi-grade gearbox fluid. Wait for the sifus to clarify blush.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Jan 3 2015, 10:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(fishncatz @ Jan 3 2015, 06:20 PM)
I just solve the hard engagement of first and 2nd gear as i changed to 2 liters of 75w-90 toyota transmission fluid. But the satisfaction is still not there. biggrin.gif. I still searching for thinner transmission fluid like the owners manual that required sae 80w or 75w-85.
manual specified 75w85? perhaps can consider redline MT85 or give a shot to MTL (75w80)

that's what my inspira manual is using as the viscosity specification by Mitsubishi is 75w80 smile.gif
Albert B
post Jan 3 2015, 11:44 PM

You were using GL5 oil? I looked up on the gear oil characteristics, and it seems that GL5 oil is not suitable for synchromesh in manual transmissions. And also cause damage to "yellow metals" in the gearbox.
TSQuazacolt
post Jan 4 2015, 12:35 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 3 2015, 11:44 PM)
You were using GL5 oil? I looked up on the gear oil characteristics, and it seems that GL5 oil is not suitable for synchromesh in manual transmissions. And also cause damage to "yellow metals" in the gearbox.
yeah that is correct and that's why i am sticking to GL4 gear oils for my inspira biggrin.gif
chrisstse
post Jan 4 2015, 02:00 AM

QUOTE(fishncatz @ Jan 3 2015, 06:20 PM)
I'm sure you are using mono-grade transmission fluid that likely to be Sae 90w as this are not all season multi-grade gearbox fluid. Wait for the sifus to clarify  blush.gif
I need to check back the oil I am using. I changed my gear linings recently and I am not too sure what oil the mechanic used.

Does it makes a big difference, I mean when you used the Toyota gear oil?
Albert B
post Jan 4 2015, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(chrisstse @ Jan 4 2015, 02:00 AM)
I need to check back the oil I am using. I changed my gear linings recently and I am not too sure what oil the mechanic used.

Does it makes a big difference,  I mean when you used the Toyota gear oil?
LUBRICATION OIL FOR MANUAL GEARBOX
Beware of the oil that you are using for your manual transmission.
Gearbox oil is unlike engine oil where higher rating is better, this
does not apply to gearbox oils.

Proton specified GL4 oil for Iswara manual gearbox, and using GL5 oil
will harm your synchronizer bronze/brass and also cause difficulty
in gear shifting.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Transaxle_oil.pdf ( 1.63mb ) Number of downloads: 50
langatian
post Jan 4 2015, 11:10 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 3 2015, 01:49 PM)
You mean the bulb as circled? I think the whole unit
is attached by one screw, accessible thru the hole in
the headlamp (arrowed).
yes. i will DIY for it. rclxms.gif
Albert B
post Jan 4 2015, 11:29 AM

If is the oil is the problem, is the petronas gl-5 manual trans fluid recommended?
Extract from Proton user manuals regarding the fluid specs:

TSQuazacolt
post Jan 4 2015, 12:23 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 4 2015, 11:29 AM)
Extract from Proton user manuals regarding the fluid specs:
thanks for the pictures thumbup.gif

i believe the HUGE confusion is the statement:
"6. API classification GL-4 or higher"

since they specified 75w85 with era of API SG, i believe 75w80 can be applied as well and that can easily eliminate many cold shifting issues nod.gif
Albert B
post Jan 4 2015, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 4 2015, 12:23 PM)

i believe the HUGE confusion is the statement:
"6. API classification GL-4 or higher"

Agreed, Proton was not careful in using the words "or higher" which is
very misleading. (Probably the manual author was thinking along the
lines of engine oil ratings)

However, the LMST version did not have these misleading words.

241 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:00 AM