QUOTE(nian1008 @ Mar 30 2018, 08:57 PM)
I did install pedal lock at Jack Lieu’s place in Seri Kembangan.Brand is Redbat from Malaysia for Rm300
Mazda CX5 Owners Club, Let's share ur CX5 Experience
Mar 30 2018, 11:41 PM
1,156 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Mar 31 2018, 05:19 PM
Apr 4 2018, 08:20 AM
Apr 6 2018, 03:30 PM
Apr 8 2018, 05:05 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Apr 12 2018, 08:26 AM
Apr 19 2018, 08:58 AM
I'm waiting for Mazda to upgrade the current infotainment system to include Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.
To install aftermarket AA module will cost you 2k while to get the pro to disassemble the dashboard to flash the current FW to enable AA will cost about rm400 for those not technically savvy |
Apr 22 2018, 09:40 AM
Apr 22 2018, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(Toshiakiz @ Apr 22 2018, 10:22 PM) I see those angmoh just copy into thumbdrive and flash the unit only wor...need cut wire? Can share link see? The latest FW (the new CX-5 all comes with latest FW) already disabled USB upgrade.Sidek Salleh who has a workshop flashing the ECU of few cars and also service some Mazda since he himself owns a CX-5 1st gen told me that it’s a labour-insentive task as need to open the dashboard, tap some cables and run the program from a laptop. That’s why some owners are willing to pay him or his staff Rm400 to enable the AA in their new CX-5. But he told me it’s not worth it for iPhones users as the hack will only enable playing videos using USB drive if you don’t own Android phone |
Apr 23 2018, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(iq_myst @ Apr 23 2018, 09:05 AM) It's possible and have been done by some MCCX5 members.Need to open the dashboard though and tap some cables, flash, untap and close back the dashboard. I was told it is time consuming and not for those non-tech savvy. Else, you can get Sidek Salleh or his staff to do it for RM400 or pay some members that have done theirs before. Useful if you have Android Auto in your phone, but waste of money if you're using iPhone This post has been edited by widget: Apr 23 2018, 09:13 AM |
Apr 23 2018, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(iq_myst @ Apr 23 2018, 01:25 PM) I thought mazda only blocked the USB port installation in firmware 59.000.502. for this fw version, yes need to use hard work to bypass the restriction. I read somewhere that in fw 59.000.504 direct installation can be done. need existing member with that fw version to confirm. huhu I was told from FW .502 onwards (including latest .504) the USB port installation already blocked.Those driving latest gen CX-5 are running .504, hence the need to open the dashboard and need serial access to flash the FW |
Apr 26 2018, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 26 2018, 02:04 PM) Thanks for the tips.. When the time comes, guess I'll have to seek out a decent SA or branch that'll allow an extended test drive of both models on different terrains. In the meantime, waiting for a refresh. Read somewhere that AA and Carplay will incur additional fees to retrofit models that don't ship with it.. That's bad news. Top priority on my list. I'm not sure if Mazda have the 2.2D Fwd test drive unit.When I went for the test drive in November last year, they only have the 2.0, 2.5 and 2.2D Awd. Hopefully they have the Fwd test drive unit as the majority of the 2.2D sales are from the Fwd model. If you're staying in Taman Melawati, you are welcome to test drive my Fwd during the weekends |
Apr 28 2018, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 26 2018, 10:05 PM) I would appreciate some real world reviews from you. Things like, how long have you had it, how's the diesel clatter in and outside? DPF regen cycle & frequency? Revs & acceleration, Smells? Finding Euro 5 stations too difficult, etc. Just strengths and weaknesses as a owner. I'd appreciate it. I think I’ve answered some of your questions a few weeks back either in this thread or in one of the topic in the F&F general column. As I’m staying in Taman Melawati, no problems in finding Euro 5 stations as there are 2 BHP, 1 Petronas, 1 Shell and 1 Petron within 5 mins drive from my place. But I’ve been pumping Petronas ever since the delivery as I’m taking advantage of the 8% cashback when using Maybank Petronas Visa during the weekend |
Apr 29 2018, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 29 2018, 12:25 AM) Recently? Cuz couple weeks back, I asked around and wasn't available. Thanks for the heads up. For journey across states, just watch out for your speed Yeah, you probably did.. I'm just gathering as much info as possible to add to what's known and keep track of changes. For KL folks like us, Euro 5 diesel isn't an issue, my question was geared towards longer journeys across states. So I'll assume no new pet peeves about the car. That's good to know. Also for those who'd like to know, the CX-5 is now available in Jet Black color. I’m getting about 12km/l with the speedo around 140km/h. But if maintain within speed limit and rpm below 2k, 17-19km/l is achievable. For my case, the major issue with Euro 5 is when travelling to the east coast. My in-laws hometown is in Kuala Terengganu and there’s only 1 fuel station that sells Euro 5 in KT. I shudder the thought if that station runs out of Euro 5 during the festive season like Hari Raya or CNY and have to travel to the nearest Euro 5 station is in Kerteh. I just had my first drive up to Genting yesterday and the torque delivery for hill ascent was smooth. No problem overtaking those normal saloon cars and I was using D mode all the way to the summit. Only on the way down I wish I was driving a saloon car as had to use the brake pedal a lot |
May 1 2018, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(thebottlefly @ Apr 29 2018, 02:26 PM) I believed many that own the 2.2D opted for the FWD as it is Rm10k cheaper and have better FC over the AWD.Just be mindful of the torque steer as it can cause front wheels spin. The initial acceleration is also sluggish, almost like CVT rubber-band effecf, hence I tend to step on the gas pedal harder which can lead to the wheel spin. Most probably I’ll do ECU remap after 10k sevicing as few 2.2D owners did the remap and are happy with the results in improving the initial acceleration. There is one guy who even opted for piggyback ECU. If you need to know more on the FWD, just shoot your queries here |
May 2 2018, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(thebottlefly @ May 1 2018, 08:00 PM) RM350 for Stage 1RM700 for Stage 2(i), inclusive K&N or HKS filter RM850 for Stage 2(ii), inclusive K&N or HKS filter and Auto.exe air ramp Can check FB for SS Engineering and Tuning or pm bro Sidek Salleh once you join CX-5 whatsapp group |
May 2 2018, 05:46 PM
May 2 2018, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(nanakofukada @ May 2 2018, 09:56 PM) Normally dealers can give you better pricing and can throw more freebies, whereas Bermaz might be able to get your choice of car faster.But you need to shop around and compare their prices and their customer service too |
May 7 2018, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(thebottlefly @ May 7 2018, 03:59 PM) I have had my 2.2 FWD machine grey since last Thursday and have clocked up 200km to date. So I thought I'd just share my humble and honest opinion on the car. Excellent choice What I dislike. - Things stripped off by Bermaz. I mean when I bought the car I knew that bermaz took out the head up display, power boot, bose sound system, etc. But because my wife was going to use the car most and she really like this car so we got it. However, I really think bermaz should at least kept the power boot. - The sound system. It may be just me, but i feel like the sound system is really bad that it came from my 1.4 getz i had when i just got out of university. For a car in this range and at this price point, we can at least have decent speakers. I'm not saying we need the bose, but anything from a c-segment car you get in a market today will suffice. I'm really looking at changing the speakers. ...... Just my 2 cents. I also agreed that Bermaz should have kept some of the good stuff that they stripped out considering the Thai-version assembled in Kulim is almost fully loaded like the Aussie high-specs. The sound system is really not up to standard for a Rm170k SUV. Even my 2011 Sportage GT sounds more decent than the CX-5 What I don't like about the stock sound system is the recessed mid and high. No matter how much I toggled with the equalizer, the vocal is just too lacking. Both me and the missus are particular with the sound as we used to own Focal Beryllium floorstanders and active studio monitors for our home hi-fi before we had our kid. As I'm not into ICE, I'll see how long can I tahan the sound before I start looking for an affordable but better speakers set-up. |
May 7 2018, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(thebottlefly @ May 7 2018, 07:25 PM) I’ve never heard how the BLAM speakers sound like as Jack Lieu has no demo unit in his shop but if they do sound like Focal since their founders were ex-Focal staff, I might be interested.Maybe I’ll join few TT sessions and hope have members that already installed BLAM can let me savour their sound |
| Change to: | 0.0310sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:59 AM |