I have 1 electric blue crayfish and 1 red one (what do u call them?..i think there's some fancy name). Will post more pics later.

This post has been edited by shadowcaster: Sep 5 2006, 04:48 PM
The Crayfish Thread, spread the passion!
Sep 4 2006, 11:56 AM, updated 12y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
566 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Anyone here share the same interest as me in rearing crayfish? I know all petshops call them lobsters but in fact they're crayfishes. Why? coz crayfish = freshwater; lobster = saltwater.
I have 1 electric blue crayfish and 1 red one (what do u call them?..i think there's some fancy name). Will post more pics later. ![]() This post has been edited by shadowcaster: Sep 5 2006, 04:48 PM |
Sep 5 2006, 09:25 AM
2,754 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: St. James Park |
hey can u tell me more on it, interested to have some. what u feed? how frequent need to change water and need oxygen stuff?
Sep 5 2006, 09:54 AM
i feed them sinking fish pellets that i bought from the shop. They eat those pretty happily everyday but if u want variety, try giving them other things...practically anything that u can give to hermit crabs. Or if u want it to be interesting, get some live feeding fish for them to hunt. Of course u can make it easier by slightly hurting the fish before putting them into the water.
i change the water only when it's dirty or i see lots of residue floating around. The most important part is not overfeeding..i only put in like 5 pellets max for each crayfish per day. If u want a submerged tank (coz its nicer with all the plants and maybe put in some chiclids too), then u need a pump. Filters are sufficient i guess...but pumps are better coz they aerate the water more efficiently. For me, i didnt need a pump or filter coz my water level is just 1 - 2 inches above their body when all their legs are fully on the ground. If u submerge the entire tank with water but with no pump, the oxygen will go to the top of the tank rendering ur crayfish to suffocate due to lack of oxygen. If u want extensive information go to this site - www.bluecrayfish.com. |
Sep 5 2006, 01:51 PM
thanks for your reply
looks like not too hard i might consider then. can feed them with gold fish food? haha.. |
Sep 5 2006, 01:57 PM
188 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
I saw some pet shop in melaka selling it.........but the crayfish staying with other types of fish........
Sep 5 2006, 02:01 PM
Any fish food will be fine..but most importantly it must be sinking pellets coz if the food float too high they cant reach it. Another thing to note is they need a hiding place like drift wood or something as simple as cheap pvc pipes. Btw they're pretty cheap to purchase too (about rm 5 - 15 depend on the species)...so dont get con by fancy petshops.
Sep 5 2006, 03:24 PM
188 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 02:01 PM) Any fish food will be fine..but most importantly it must be sinking pellets coz if the food float too high they cant reach it. Another thing to note is they need a hiding place like drift wood or something as simple as cheap pvc pipes. Btw they're pretty cheap to purchase too (about rm 5 - 15 depend on the species)...so dont get con by fancy petshops. wow....quite cheap ah.....RM5 only....... |
Sep 5 2006, 03:46 PM
Sep 5 2006, 04:16 PM
actually crayfish & lobster the same kind, just salt & fresh water diff? not easy to die one lar them?
eat once per day? they not hungry? |
Sep 5 2006, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(Cahill @ Sep 5 2006, 04:16 PM) actually crayfish & lobster the same kind, just salt & fresh water diff? not easy to die one lar them? yes from what i understand they're pretty much the same thing...except lobsters can grow to much larger sizes than crayfish. To answer all ur questions = yes.eat once per day? they not hungry? Later i set up my new aquarium edi then i post up new fresh pictures. |
Sep 5 2006, 05:13 PM
3,782 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Cheras |
I like crayfish too, plan to keep one someday. Do post pics when your setup is ready
Sep 5 2006, 08:19 PM
Here are the pictures as promised!
My red female crayfish named 007. I name all my pets with codenames. Lolz. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « My blue crayfish codenamed 006. She's smaller in size compared to the red one. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « My crayfish habitat. It's pretty basic...quite small coz there's no space in my house to put a bigger glass tank. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by shadowcaster: Sep 5 2006, 08:20 PM |
Sep 5 2006, 08:24 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
I had a zebra but it died of sickness... loss of appetite and it slowly died... then 3 australian red claws died from killing off all my fish in the aquarium and suffocating themselves in polluted water.... it happened over night coz my filter and pump died a day before and I couldn't get a new replacement fast... sigh....
I wanna get Purple exotic and orange ones... gonna cost RM30 over each. In Pudu market.... 3 medium size crayfish only RM10 ehheeh... large ones RM5 or RM8 each... The RM10 for 3 is the same one as 006, same size too. |
Sep 5 2006, 08:27 PM
where to get the purple and orange ones? i've never seen them before anywhere..lol. And the large ones u mentioned maximum size only about 6 - 7 inches wat...how much larger can it be? haha
Sep 5 2006, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:27 PM) where to get the purple and orange ones? i've never seen them before anywhere..lol. And the large ones u mentioned maximum size only about 6 - 7 inches wat...how much larger can it be? haha Large means reached full size... about 7 inches... the medium ones are like 5 inches... if I remember correctly... I know crayfish don't grow big, they are just nice for us to have in our aquariums but I heard the maroon can grow quite big.... and it cost Rm110 hahaha....Pet Safari got lah.... you go and see... left 1 orange only.... I wanna see when got new stock lol.... |
Sep 5 2006, 08:41 PM
oh...so sad..1 left only ar...but orange not so cool. Purple sounds cooler! LOLz .. How many pets u have man? Seems like u have everything under the sun
Sep 5 2006, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:41 PM) oh...so sad..1 left only ar...but orange not so cool. Purple sounds cooler! LOLz .. How many pets u have man? Seems like u have everything under the sun Hahaha... The purple looks real nice... I like the zebra too.... well, I wanna get a zebra and the purple when I got money.... coz now my tank is left to become dusty ahahah...Now ah? Hm... got about 50 pets.... |
Sep 5 2006, 08:47 PM
There's some zebra ones at the pet family near my house. Cost rm 18 each. How much u bought your previous one?
Sep 5 2006, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:47 PM) There's some zebra ones at the pet family near my house. Cost rm 18 each. How much u bought your previous one? I bought Rm15.... hmmm... I was at Pet family 2 days ago but I forgot to view the fish part lol.... wasted... how big are they? Mine was quite small... less than 4 inches I think... or was it 3 inches? Can't remember... |
Sep 5 2006, 08:59 PM
the one i saw is in pet family KLANG! lolz. 4 inches i guess.
Sep 5 2006, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:59 PM) Ohhhh... Klang... lol... so far for me... well, I'm trying to locate for healthy ones... near my home the fish shop sells electric blues for Rm8 each... but the thing is he breeds them himself!!! So amazing.... and his set up so simple, just a 4 ft tank with lots of drift wood and hiding pots, water that is about 6 inches high and an air pump with an air stone. |
Sep 5 2006, 09:03 PM
so simple can be used to breed ar? wow!
Sep 5 2006, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 09:03 PM) Yah... I asked him how and he just told me and showed me his breeding tank.... the breeding crayfish so nice also, reached max adult size too.... and when I went there, can see baby crayfish swimming... so tiny and cute. |
Sep 5 2006, 09:13 PM
breeding quite tedious i thought....must remove the babies from the mother when they can climb on her back or something...lolz
Sep 5 2006, 09:25 PM
Sep 6 2006, 03:39 AM
1,546 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: botfly heaven |
how many different types are there? i used to keep australian ones, red and green. cheap. lasted quite a while. but they like killing each other. i also used to have a wood shrimp. doesnt have pincers, uses mantis folding limbs thingy. thinking of getting a mantis shrimp. beautiful, can make u bleed easily.
Sep 6 2006, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Sep 6 2006, 03:39 AM) how many different types are there? i used to keep australian ones, red and green. cheap. lasted quite a while. but they like killing each other. i also used to have a wood shrimp. doesnt have pincers, uses mantis folding limbs thingy. thinking of getting a mantis shrimp. beautiful, can make u bleed easily. where do u get green ones? And i think those wood shrimps are also known as mountain rock shrimps? lol..mantis shrimp can rear as pets wan ar? i only know they taste good |
Sep 6 2006, 02:09 PM
3,782 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Cheras |
Mantis shrimp can rear but I heard that they can hurt you, lol...
Whats the minimum size of a tank for crayfish? My spare plastic tank quite small only. |
Sep 6 2006, 04:15 PM
Aiyoh, crayfish.... max is like have 2 in a 2ft tank... they kill each other coz territorial. Never keep more than 2 in a 2ft tank.... coz they really like living solitary. Keeping a bigger one with a slightly smaller one is also a big NO NO.
Sep 6 2006, 04:21 PM
1,036 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
can eat wan ah this crayfish? i see those crayfish in restaurants quite big leh
Sep 6 2006, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(eyerule @ Sep 6 2006, 04:21 PM) You sure crayfish? Restaurant normally carry lobsters and tiger prawns... rarely or never crayfish...They eat sinking fish pellets, algea pellets, dried krill, dead fish, carrots and peas.... they can eat a lot of things. |
Sep 6 2006, 04:27 PM
aiyo. its crayfish le. stated on the menu, it's definitely crayfish cos i don't think surf and turf using lobster would be around 50bux. hehehe
Sep 6 2006, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(eyerule @ Sep 6 2006, 04:27 PM) aiyo. its crayfish le. stated on the menu, it's definitely crayfish cos i don't think surf and turf using lobster would be around 50bux. hehehe Wahhhh! Rm50 for crayfish? expensive loh heheheh.... crayfish so cheap to buy and eat. Normally the ones for eating are the Australian Yabbies and the US Red ones.... they cost like RM5 each actually. |
Sep 6 2006, 05:18 PM
it's quite big la.... it comes with a steak and veggies a bit. it's about say 8-10 inches lor... including the head and tail. so quite cheap la rm50 got crayfish n steak. cost rm5 but then to rare until that big i think take quite sometime n food for it oso rite
This post has been edited by eyerule: Sep 6 2006, 05:19 PM |
Sep 6 2006, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(eyerule @ Sep 6 2006, 05:18 PM) it's quite big la.... it comes with a steak and veggies a bit. it's about say 8-10 inches lor... including the head and tail. so quite cheap la rm50 got crayfish n steak. cost rm5 but then to rare until that big i think take quite sometime n food for it oso rite Ohhh... no wonder Rm50 lah... got steak haahha.... But crayfish are cheap to eat, a bit small but they are widely available as food and pets in other countries... my friend said that can get 1 for a few Rm in Singapore... hahaha.... too bad can't get any from there.Yes, crayfish takes time to grow. Some crayfish love mud hehehe... |
Sep 6 2006, 07:58 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
can put live fish and let them catch? but those in the lfs one seem lazy. lol. they sell the blue grey one for RM5..
Sep 6 2006, 08:47 PM
yes u can put live fish. But they will have a hard time catching those fishes unless u injure the fish beforehand.
Btw i use a 1ft tank only wor...they rarely fight unless provoked....and important thing is with small tanks u definitely need some hiding place for the crayfish like drift wood or those custom-made reptile rocks with holes. |
Sep 6 2006, 09:50 PM
Mine fought... even though I put 2 in the tank... and my tank is about 1.3ft, they fought and tore each other's limbs and pinchers... so now I only limit 1 tank with 1 crayfish if I were to get new ones soon.
Only give live fish when needed. Coz fierce crayfish will kill all the fishes you put in sometimes and then you will have polluted water and it can suffocate. Better give frozen fish. I buy Rm1 of guppies or feeder goldfish and freeze them. |
Sep 6 2006, 11:35 PM
oh..freeze dried guppies...sounds delicious! LOL. anyway, my red crayfish kinda weird leh...she always like to stand like senget one side. I thought died edi...but when i go near she goes back to normal standing position. swt.
Sep 7 2006, 02:22 AM
623 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: somewhere over the rainbow.. |
how do u guys keep the water in the tank clean? since the water level is less than half a tank, do u guys use filters for it??
Sep 7 2006, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(andriel @ Sep 7 2006, 02:22 AM) how do u guys keep the water in the tank clean? since the water level is less than half a tank, do u guys use filters for it?? If you fill up the tank then u can use filters, but for me i just simply change the water when it gets dirty since it's just half tank and my aquarium is not big. Also to reduce the possibility of the water getting dirty, don't put in too much food when feeding. |
Sep 8 2006, 03:21 AM
623 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: somewhere over the rainbow.. |
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 7 2006, 08:48 AM) If you fill up the tank then u can use filters, but for me i just simply change the water when it gets dirty since it's just half tank and my aquarium is not big. Also to reduce the possibility of the water getting dirty, don't put in too much food when feeding. Ic, i was thinking wat about a bigger tank like say 3 or 4 feet, with bog wood, rocks and so on, how isit possible to keep it clean without having to change water everyday..it would be fun to set up a really large place for the lobsters to live and breed maybe, yet keeping the water clean and visible.. |
Sep 8 2006, 08:37 AM
if the tank's big and filled with many things...very likely it's gonna get dirty. lol. use a filter system then. Of course if the water level is high (tank setups look nicer when it's filled with water..
Sep 8 2006, 05:45 PM
Yah, a large tank needs a filter and an air pump. Coz my crayfish were fine until my filter died... then all my crayfish died... coz they go pollute the water with their uneaten food... well, they are very hardy to keep, easy lah, I think it's good to change the water every few days if there is no filter... well, still experiementing on what's the best way to keep them in.
Sep 9 2006, 11:06 AM
i just realise my tank also get dirty very easily after i put in the driftwood. My tank only 1ft...water gets yellowish.
Sep 9 2006, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 9 2006, 11:06 AM) i just realise my tank also get dirty very easily after i put in the driftwood. My tank only 1ft...water gets yellowish. yellowish water is the driftwood effect loh.... heheheh.... but you no need to worry coz I think yellowish water is normal when you got driftwood and crayfish likes it. |
Sep 10 2006, 01:00 AM
1,546 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: botfly heaven |
driftwood doesnt kill crayfish as far as i'm concerned. crayfish are the hardiest types of shrimps available. other shrimps are very sensitive to dirty water.
Sep 10 2006, 01:14 PM
today i realise there are algae growing on my driftwood. haha...will that be an issue?
Sep 11 2006, 05:31 PM
170 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Klang |
my crayfish, dr zoidberg (blue) and fry (red).
![]() ![]() |
Sep 13 2006, 09:00 AM
nice pictures. crayfishes seem to be more popular nowadays and it's getting cheaper and cheaper. Althought all those are just rather common blue/red ones.
Sep 13 2006, 02:17 PM
The common blue and read ones easy to breed... also it is widely available as food in other countries. Well, still make great pets to see and keep.
Sep 14 2006, 06:52 PM
Sep 14 2006, 07:06 PM
949 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
Sep 14 2006, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(funkychips @ Sep 14 2006, 07:06 PM) no, all are easy breeders and can have any type of water condition to breed, as long as not too soft or hard. You are right.... I just think the blue and red people breed more coz easier to get stock... Oh well, I'll never know till i meet a supplier heheheh... |
Sep 14 2006, 08:35 PM
yup easier to get stock. Until now i havent seen a single purple or orange crayfish around.
Sep 16 2006, 09:53 AM
734 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Penang |
Can I keep a crayfish with my two crabs?
The crabs are in a 2 1/2 feet tank, half filled with water, has a driftwood and a lava rock, and an air-driven sponge filter. This post has been edited by xecton: Sep 16 2006, 09:57 AM |
Sep 16 2006, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(xecton @ Sep 16 2006, 09:53 AM) Can I keep a crayfish with my two crabs? crayfishes are territorial creatures...i wouldn't mix them with crabs if i were you. If fishes can la coz fishes are fast and they can swim around the tank. Crabs on the other hand are just like the crayfish and they're smaller, making them easier targets. I'm not sure on their compatibility but to be on the safe side i suggest you dont mix them.Its a 2 1/2 feet tank, half filled with water, has a driftwood and a lava rock, and an air-driven sponge filter. |
Sep 16 2006, 01:28 PM
Har? mix crayfish with crab? Die loh.... crayfish will tear the crab to pieces and eat it.
Sep 16 2006, 02:05 PM
Sep 16 2006, 02:55 PM
Sep 16 2006, 03:01 PM
Isn't in cruel to make them fight? Also, their pinchers is for defending againts predators and also to catch food, not fight. So a crayfish would catch the crab to eat and the crab cannot fight back coz it's not as fast as crayfish.
Sep 16 2006, 03:17 PM
Nolah... I don't want them to fight.
I just want to know why the crayfish is portrayed as Godzila-like while the crab is like a little hamster. So the crayfish is faster than the crab and that is why they got more powah. Okay This post has been edited by xecton: Sep 16 2006, 03:17 PM |
Sep 16 2006, 03:19 PM
Yups.... crab is like... I dunno how to say, you see them walk, side ways and slow.... if crayfish, they can shoot away, they got this spring effect from their body, so they can swim fast but mostly backwards. Still, they are faster and their pinchers more painful and powerful than crab. I personally experienced before hahahh...
Sep 16 2006, 03:38 PM
yeah but then also crayfish easier to catch than crabs coz their body longer. lolz. thats what i think la.
Sep 16 2006, 04:01 PM
1,162 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: museum of kopitiam |
my friend cousin ate his housemate lobster ....
Sep 16 2006, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(xecton @ Sep 16 2006, 03:17 PM) Nolah... I don't want them to fight. not only that, crayfish are naturally aggressive compared to crabs. crabs will most of the time runaway if adversaries are stronger. they will only fight with the same species.I just want to know why the crayfish is portrayed as Godzila-like while the crab is like a little hamster. So the crayfish is faster than the crab and that is why they got more powah. Okay QUOTE(jinkinz @ Sep 16 2006, 04:01 PM) o.0 lobster or crayfish? |
Sep 16 2006, 08:23 PM
Sep 26 2006, 10:45 AM
just saw some zebra crayfish in pet safari for rm 14...and one miserable orange one for rm 30.
Oct 5 2006, 04:43 PM
308 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: PENANG ISLAND |
is it possible to breed cray fish in captivity ?
Oct 5 2006, 04:44 PM
can anyone pm me the ways ... of breeding them ... ocz i have a pair ... very sure about that ... heheheh
Oct 5 2006, 04:45 PM
they wont fight lar ... if u were to purchased them at the same time and introduced them at the same time ... plus ur tank must have lots and lots of hiding areas ... lol
Oct 5 2006, 04:46 PM
hiding areas for then to hide when they are shedding their shell ... hehehehe
Oct 5 2006, 09:40 PM
Please restrain from posting like this (spamming in multiple posts) from now on. Merge your posts.
And it is very possible to breed crayfish in captivity. You just need a large tank (maybe 4ft or more) with the correct environment (substrate, hiding places, water condition, temperature, etc.) |
Oct 5 2006, 09:54 PM
688 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
really? can breed kah?
so ... how old must they be before u can eat them? i gave up rearing rabbits after we grew sick of eating them ... |
Oct 5 2006, 09:58 PM
2,309 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 9 2006, 05:00 PM
39 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
crayfishes are the way to go! i have 4 crayfishes in a 2ft tank and they seem to get along nicely, except for the once-in-a-while u-come-to-my-spot-so-i-pinch-u antics. i used to have another crayfish in the tank with them, but it ran away. so i guess 4 is the right number for a 2ft tank.
it's okay to keep fishes in the tank, as long as you fill up the aquarium with water and have pumps or filters in it. i have 3 mini filters in my tank and the fishes and crayfishes seem fine with it. the crayfishes will usually hide in the driftwood or behind plants while the fishes will be swimming around them or above them. as long as the fishes are fast enough, they will be safe. crayfishes are also laggy creatures. i have a few comets, guppies, mollies, algae eaters, 2 snails and a fighting fish in the tank. oh, i even have some feeding fishes in the tank. not as food. but to add color to my tank. my snails were fine and crawling around the tank until recently when they just stopped crawling, and dropped off from the aquarium wall. any idea why is this happening? i think they're sick. one of my crayfishes has a cracked claw and satu antena putus but it just molted and now it looks like a brand new crayfish! that's all i guess. if you want to find out more about crayfishes and how to take care of them, i would be more than willing to give advice and help! ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() kthxbai! |
Oct 9 2006, 05:15 PM
688 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Oct 10 2006, 09:38 PM
nice crays matt!!
Oct 10 2006, 11:38 PM
i just saw some really huge pure blue crayfishes at a lfs today. They're like 7 inches long. Looks very cool indeed...even saw one with egg sacs under her. I wonder if they'll pop soon. Hmm...
Sep 28 2007, 02:20 PM
1,170 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: all over malaysia |
hey hey,i have one escaper crayfish, anyone know how to find it back ar...
by the wya, where u all get the red and thoe purple crayfish, coz wat i found jus is blue one and i found got 2 big one, around 7-10 inches, blue one, damn nice, selling rm 50 each... |
Sep 28 2007, 05:15 PM
517 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Borneo ISLAND |
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Oct 11 2006, 12:38 AM) i just saw some really huge pure blue crayfishes at a lfs today. They're like 7 inches long. Looks very cool indeed...even saw one with egg sacs under her. I wonder if they'll pop soon. Hmm... The mother will only release / pop the " eggs " when they hatch and developed into tiny baby crays If eggs turn white - meaning infertile the mother will sort them out to eat or throw away ...Neat pet to have around the tank to do cleaning up job |
Sep 28 2007, 05:36 PM
3,706 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
any pic of those eggs...seems interesting..
Sep 28 2007, 05:56 PM
Sep 28 2007, 10:00 PM
how to sex the crayfish ar ?
Sep 28 2007, 10:20 PM
7,258 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i used to have a few of this
but it seems tat they can die very easily but mayb its juz me not knowing how to sustain their life. the longest one i kept is roughly around 6 months ++ |
Sep 28 2007, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Sep 28 2007, 11:00 PM) If got pic of the underside easier to teach ppl how to sexBut basicaly Female have a pair of openings on the 2 pair of legs ( exclude big pincher / claws , 4 pairs of legs ) Male - "penis " near the last pair of legs in the middle at the begining of the tail where the swiming legs are |
Sep 28 2007, 10:30 PM
7,258 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 5 2006, 09:01 PM) Ohhhh... Klang... lol... so far for me... well, I'm trying to locate for healthy ones... near my home the fish shop sells electric blues for Rm8 each... but the thing is he breeds them himself!!! So amazing.... and his set up so simple, just a 4 ft tank with lots of drift wood and hiding pots, water that is about 6 inches high and an air pump with an air stone. got meh ?which shop ? i would like to try keeping them once more in the future |
Sep 28 2007, 11:22 PM
1,415 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Reality World |
The crayfish can eat or not ??
Sep 29 2007, 02:08 AM
Sep 29 2007, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 29 2007, 12:22 AM) http://www.cambinatayabbies.com.au/http://www.aquaculturecouncilwa.com/marron http://www.marronmarket.com.au/ http://www.fish.wa.gov.au/sec/aqua/species/index.php ( look for red claw - commonly sold in Malaysian Aquarium shop) http://www.homestead.com/atlaspubs/atlas1.html They are farm for the table and excess sold to Aquarium shop for pet So you think can eat or not ??? |
Nov 23 2007, 04:23 AM
463 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Penang |
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 6 2006, 04:23 PM) You sure crayfish? Restaurant normally carry lobsters and tiger prawns... rarely or never crayfish... yes crayfish can eat 1 They eat sinking fish pellets, algea pellets, dried krill, dead fish, carrots and peas.... they can eat a lot of things. 1kg is RM20++ my fren is breeding it to sell they said the meat is nice, but i never tried before they tried it in overseas i saw fishshop sellin RM12 for a roughly 600g clayfish =p im stayin in penang btw...i think kl price is higher ? |
Jun 14 2008, 03:00 PM
90 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
where can i get crayfish in KL found some interesting recipes for this crayfish
Dec 6 2008, 12:13 AM
414 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
i got 2 crayfish as pet now .. (those pond de .. )
any1 got tips for me how to raise them ? |
Dec 6 2008, 10:59 PM
what you mean by 'those pond"?
got any picture of your crayfish? |
Dec 8 2008, 12:41 AM
Hm... those river de...
i'll update my crayfish's photo soon ... 1 big and 1 small , big is aggressive 1 , small de still ok .. but they are so shy >"< |
Dec 9 2008, 12:16 AM
hmm, you just post up some picture for us to see over the thread here.
Dec 9 2008, 10:15 AM
If you wanna keep more than 1 crayfish in a tank, just get some PVC pipes, cut them up and glue them in stacks to make a crayfish condo.
Dec 10 2008, 03:48 PM
Well ... these are the photos of my crayfish . Took it jz now when i change water for them.
![]() *I don't have an oxygen pump, so i set the water level jz 1~2 cm above them .. ![]() *the 2 pipes are currently their banglo home .. (do they recognize their own home ? becoz everytime i change the water , the red 1 seems like he know which are his home.. if the blue 1 goes inside his home , red will pull/push out the blue 1 and ocupy it.. pity blue , always get bullied by the red 1..) *they like to collect batu and stuck their own pintu .. =.= anyway .. it's kinda cute .. *they will scare if i watch them from on top of the aquarium. they will swim backwards quickly or hide in their banglo. Instead , they will try to pinch me if i watch them thru beside of the aquarium .. (same height with them) ![]() i already separate them with batu when i wanna wash the tank ![]() the red 1 seems scared and wanna find his partner .. ![]() finally they're together .. but sometimes they like to fight each other *anyway .. gv some comment that what should i change or move ? but pls dun flame me gao gao for anything i did wrong this is my 1st time bela these crayfish This post has been edited by hseyrann00: Dec 10 2008, 04:00 PM |
Dec 10 2008, 05:24 PM
Nice. Long time I no keep crayfish already. Anyway, the best is having a larger tank. Crayfish like lots of hiding places so a few PVC pipes like what funkychips said is good.
They also prefer some plants, but then they do shred it, so fake plants would be nice. And becareful when they molt. Coz after molting, the freshly molted crayfish can get eaten or injured by the other crayfish. Last time I always had crayfish with missing claws.... it is caused by fighting and it wasn't even molting. I saw some red crayfish at Pet Family last week.... along with some purple ones... I think they are called Tiger crayfish or something, damn, I forgot my research already. |
Dec 10 2008, 11:19 PM
How do we know when are they ready to molt .. ?
so u know what type are my crayfish are ? haha... and btw ... how do u guys feed them ? |
Dec 11 2008, 09:34 AM
nice crayfish you have there.i like the red one, look nice.
i'm not sure when going to molt, but then i think those care sheet that you can find got write about it. last time when i keep crayfish, i can't wait till it molt, cause every time the crayfish escape, crayfish is an escape artist. |
Dec 11 2008, 12:09 PM
well ... they are impossible to escape from my tank..
haha .. too high for them.. And i don't have time for them le .. as i'm going to college next week ... My parents will feed them everyday lah .. hope they won't overfeed them.. so i will come back to see them once a week.. haiz.. |
Dec 12 2008, 11:52 AM
last time my tank water level is 50% of 2ft tank, then inside i got put water pump, so it crawl out via the pump and the cable.
haha, where's your hometown and what college you going to be study? |
Dec 13 2008, 12:59 AM
I'm staying in Wangsa Maju and going to study at Sunway College.
so i'm going to stay at the hostel as i don't have transport to travel everyday .. BTW .. my crayfish doesn't know the Art Of Escape yet.. haha ... they jz like to walking around and stay inside the pipe .. |
Dec 13 2008, 01:04 AM
ooo, last time i use to hanging out at wangsa maju there when i free on weekend, but now quite busy here in malacca, so seldom go up there.
haha, if you don't have any wiring from inside to outside tank, then should be ok lo. last time i put more water, then want to make sure the water clean so i put a pump lo. |
Jul 4 2009, 01:25 PM
52 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi everyone, here's my crayfish story
I kept a crayfish for 2 years, it was very fascinating as the creature seemed to have a personality of its own! I kept it with a pet chiclid and instead of eating it they became attached to each other, so much so during water changes, the chiclid would swim into the protective arms of the crayfish when it retracts into it's "cave" - a coffee mug with a broken handle One day the chichlid died and the crayfish started getting bored i think, because it climbed out of the tank more than 10 times despite me securing the plastic tank cover. I found it wandering around the house when waking up a few times before washing it and putting it back in the tank. It died recently of natural causes. I tried to preserve the carapace as a memory of this amazing pet but couldn't... thanks for this thread, it really brings back good memories. I intend to start rearing another crayfish soon... will share more by then |
Sep 24 2009, 10:24 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
you mean cryfish can climb up vertically?
if the tank setup is with partly a pool of water and partly gravel/ground with no water..wil the crayfish walk onto the dry part? unable to explain well..think seaside |
Sep 24 2009, 10:34 PM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
wah didnt know this thread exist... anyway here is my crayfish... currently in my housemate's tank...
![]() |
Sep 24 2009, 10:36 PM
the_catacombs, you are everywhere hahaha..yeah..crayfish interest me too..so i dug up this thread lolz..nice one there
Sep 24 2009, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 24 2009, 10:36 PM) the_catacombs, you are everywhere hahaha..yeah..crayfish interest me too..so i dug up this thread lolz..nice one there haha... later i snap more pics... my crayfish kinda shy... alwiz burrow under the woods and rocks.... so far only shed skin twice... growth rate kinda slow.... |
Sep 24 2009, 10:57 PM
i came acroos 2 lfss in melaka selling crayfish, one at jelutong, another at melaka baru..not those pretty red ne like urs la..
Sep 24 2009, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 24 2009, 10:57 PM) i came acroos 2 lfss in melaka selling crayfish, one at jelutong, another at melaka baru..not those pretty red ne like urs la.. mine is not exactly red... its the lighting... lolz... in fact the LFS label it as blue crayfish... i dont see any blue color on it anyway... i've seen nicer ones in ipoh, stripe color look something like a tiger... lolz...many LFS selling these crayfish... all look ok ok only la... i also bought for fun... no serious intention given on it, until i have it in my own tank... haha... |
Sep 24 2009, 11:12 PM
yeah..they abit semi tranluscent..would be fun to look at i bet..okla..quite cheap..
the one at melaka baru has a big one..about 4 inch long..cool aye btw..you have any idea on this? QUOTE you mean cryfish can climb up vertically? if the tank setup is with partly a pool of water and partly gravel/ground with no water..wil the crayfish walk onto the dry part? unable to explain well..think seaside This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 24 2009, 11:14 PM |
Sep 24 2009, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 24 2009, 11:12 PM) yeah..they abit semi tranluscent..would be fun to look at i bet..okla..quite cheap.. no idea about ur question... since the day i bought my crayfish, i throw him into my housemate's 3ft tank... never took him out before... so i not sure if he will survive on dry land...the one at melaka baru has a big one..about 4 inch long..cool aye btw..you have any idea on this? |
Sep 24 2009, 11:36 PM
hehe..would be fun it he does..
Sep 25 2009, 03:11 AM
attack the intruder....
![]() wah he is so much taller... ![]() omg.. retreat... ![]() |
Sep 25 2009, 11:04 AM
wow cool...oh the poison
just came back from malim lfs...they having red crayfish for rm5 each Added on October 23, 2009, 11:12 pm ![]() Sweet sour This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 23 2009, 11:12 PM |
Mar 27 2010, 12:24 PM
4 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Sabah , Malaysia |
Apr 14 2010, 07:49 PM
596 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Hi guys, I was wondering where can I get bulk quantities of crayfish for cooking?
Most crayfish found in aquarium shops are either the Loisiana Crawfish (Procambarus clarkii) or the Australian Red Claw (Cherax quandricarinatus). I was wondering if there are places selling the marron? |
Apr 16 2010, 08:25 PM
10 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Melaka |
crayfish can live with udang galah or not?
Apr 22 2010, 11:59 PM
93 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
udang galah i know it's a very good to be eaten! yummy yummy.. XD
Apr 23 2010, 05:22 AM
![]() |
Apr 23 2010, 10:50 AM
5 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
My dad have been rearing these blue crayfish for > 10 yrs.
We have been selling the 1" to 2" babies to a LFS so cheap until we stopped selling them. Now the males and females are kept apart to prevent breeding coz it is sad to see the babies kill each other..no space and not worth selling to LFS. |
Jul 18 2010, 01:10 PM
5 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: KL |
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1493845 <-------crayfish for sale here.
Aug 27 2010, 12:04 AM
89 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(Ben99 @ Apr 23 2010, 10:50 AM) My dad have been rearing these blue crayfish for > 10 yrs. hi, i started with prawning udang galahs, and recently i've wierdly developed some interests to breeding crayfish lol....come to think of it its like i wonder if udang galah and crayfish can be put together.We have been selling the 1" to 2" babies to a LFS so cheap until we stopped selling them. Now the males and females are kept apart to prevent breeding coz it is sad to see the babies kill each other..no space and not worth selling to LFS. Also, how do you breed the crayfish? any specific conditions for them to breed? |
Aug 28 2010, 05:32 AM
24 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Aug 28 2010, 01:41 PM
Sep 28 2010, 06:27 PM
9 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Anyone know where i can buy them in KL?
Sep 29 2010, 01:51 PM
1,979 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Most aquarium shops would have but Crayfish are not popular due to their predatory nature and the fact that they munch up aquatic plants...
Used to keep a pair and love seeing them molt... sadly one day it got too hot and they died |
Sep 29 2010, 08:52 PM
2,716 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: The Womb |
actually they are quite readily available.. i rmb once in p indah 88marine they had so many of them... like 4 tanks full haha
Sep 30 2010, 02:31 PM
453 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Between Reality and Fantasy |
i had one last year but it develope paralysis then it died. i did an autopsy and found a small white worm in the head.
i am still thinking of restarting this hobby. |
Nov 13 2010, 11:51 PM
4 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Setiawangsa, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 5 2006, 08:24 PM) I had a zebra but it died of sickness... loss of appetite and it slowly died... then 3 australian red claws died from killing off all my fish in the aquarium and suffocating themselves in polluted water.... it happened over night coz my filter and pump died a day before and I couldn't get a new replacement fast... sigh.... in pudu market? which part of pudu? cause it is kinda hard to find aquarium that sell crayfish. or they are all same species (red claw).I wanna get Purple exotic and orange ones... gonna cost RM30 over each. In Pudu market.... 3 medium size crayfish only RM10 ehheeh... large ones RM5 or RM8 each... The RM10 for 3 is the same one as 006, same size too. Added on November 14, 2010, 12:09 ambut sadly this thread is dying. This post has been edited by alfsl: Nov 14 2010, 12:09 AM |
Nov 14 2010, 12:09 AM
2,716 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: The Womb |
Yea... The last time I saw something other than the australian yabbie was last year at pudu.. They had orange and snow white crayfish... RM25.. But now they only have yabbies...
How abt feeder crayfish? anyone came across before? |
Nov 14 2010, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(BenSow @ Nov 14 2010, 12:09 AM) Yea... The last time I saw something other than the australian yabbie was last year at pudu.. They had orange and snow white crayfish... RM25.. But now they only have yabbies... ya. orange n white are hard to find. another one is zebra type. yabbies also is a fun type to keep. heheHow abt feeder crayfish? anyone came across before? feeder crayfish? or feeder for crayfish? you said pudu aquarium? which part of pudu? This post has been edited by alfsl: Nov 14 2010, 12:18 AM |
Nov 15 2010, 10:47 PM
606 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
hey do cray fish need to gulp air from atmosphere instead under water ?
My cray fishes kept dying and everything almost perfect including the water temp . |
Nov 16 2010, 05:27 AM
cray fish dont need go to surface to glup air...
they need hiding place... especially after molting... make sure water is clean... make sure it has sufficient food... they are hardy creature... they can be out of water for long period of time... |
Nov 22 2010, 12:24 AM
yes the crayfish dont need to go to the surface to gulp air. but only when you got an airstone in the aquarium.
but if you dont have airstone, please make sure set up your aquarium likely for the tortoise setup. but i really prefer an airstone. for my recommendation, not only airstone, if you set up a water filter, it will be nicer and make your job easy for the water changing process. and ill bet your cray will be happy. just set the tank like a fish tank. the hiding place is like their shelter (after moulting or when they're scared) but if u guys dont mix them with fishes, it will be okay. |
Mar 12 2011, 12:14 AM
4,554 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
may i know how much is the price of an ordinary crayfish?..was thinkning to start a hobby with it.
Mar 13 2011, 01:27 AM
anybody can help suggest what price for a ordinary clayfish please?
Mar 14 2011, 01:47 AM
591 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Orange and White Morph Red Swamp Crayfish.
![]() ![]() |
Mar 27 2011, 01:00 AM
anybody can help suggest what price for a ordinary clayfish please?
Apr 3 2011, 12:47 AM
i saw a crayfish selling for RM6 at the pasar malam just now...its black in colour and is like 4 inches big...is that species easy to maintain?...please advice me on it..am really interested to try crayfish as new hobby...
May 19 2011, 03:19 PM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
May 27 2011, 11:40 PM
63 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(fastreader @ Apr 3 2011, 12:47 AM) i saw a crayfish selling for RM6 at the pasar malam just now...its black in colour and is like 4 inches big...is that species easy to maintain?...please advice me on it..am really interested to try crayfish as new hobby... Hey fast reader,where did you see the crayfish. Which pasar malam. I was looking for it but apparently most fish shops don't sell it. I have a mini pond and i would like to put a few crayfish inside. I live around subang jaya. Anyone knows where i can get some? |
May 28 2011, 01:33 AM
6 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Subang jaya, i noe ss2 seapark got sell quite alot. try ss17 aquarium shop (the 1st row, can see from the roadside)
May 28 2011, 01:52 AM
34 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Hi, can anyone tell me where to get cheap crayfish around PJ or Puchong? I want them as feeder. Thanks.
May 28 2011, 09:57 AM
33 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: PJ n Ipoh |
how big is the container you put them in? I have an Australian Redclaw crayfish (you call it blue crayfish XD) and I wanna get a red one.
Will the blue cray eat the smaller red cray? |
May 31 2011, 09:54 AM
606 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Sep 28 2007, 03:20 PM) hey hey,i have one escaper crayfish, anyone know how to find it back ar... DO u have sum tank behind ? if u have sum tank they prolly crawl into that ... probably still living.by the wya, where u all get the red and thoe purple crayfish, coz wat i found jus is blue one and i found got 2 big one, around 7-10 inches, blue one, damn nice, selling rm 50 each... Added on June 1, 2011, 11:45 amu guys if have budget should check pang 0162227772 . He have number of crayfish imported .. from total dark black to dark blue to yellow . But these crayfishes u need to order . Currently im keeping 2 red crayfish . This post has been edited by akidos: Jun 1 2011, 11:45 AM |
Jul 4 2011, 05:18 PM
69 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Kuantan - Ulu Kelang |
Jul 4 2011, 06:53 PM
not sure what sp that is, but for the sex, just look at the bottom, the last pair of legs. If there are little bumps there, its male
Jul 13 2011, 02:35 PM
69 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Kuantan - Ulu Kelang |
my little crayfish molted (dont have the chance to watch it! pic of my little tank, » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jul 28 2011, 01:43 AM
724 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: SEREMBAN/ KL |
Actually they are kinda tough
but very vulnerable while changing their shell..... other fish will come attack them during tht time.... mine all die cuz of this |
Jul 28 2011, 12:20 PM
Qale,
leave the molted shell in there cz the cray will eat it. usually animals will hide and not eat for a few days before molting, then have a big buffet after molting. This post has been edited by verulin: Jul 28 2011, 12:20 PM |
Sep 1 2011, 01:35 PM
885 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
my crayfish
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by leeyung: Sep 1 2011, 01:35 PM |
Sep 2 2011, 09:40 PM
Sep 2 2011, 10:18 PM
44 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Hi guys,How much is CPO?I was thinking on keeping one
Sep 3 2011, 07:47 PM
Sep 4 2011, 12:19 PM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
CPO is around Rm40/pair .. its also known as Mexican Dwarf Crayfish..
Sep 8 2011, 04:41 PM
120 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Ipoh, Perak |
Suddenly think keeping cpo is better than keeping so many tanks of fish. Maybe just one for my girl to watch. hihi
Jan 16 2012, 11:14 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(fastreader @ Sep 2 2011, 09:40 PM) Nice. just wonder, your crayfish didnt destroy your moss ball meh? Added on January 16, 2012, 11:15 pmwhere did you guys gone? This post has been edited by modatee: Jan 16 2012, 11:15 PM |
Feb 7 2012, 07:21 PM
3,116 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
new comer here!!
![]() This post has been edited by yeelin04: Feb 7 2012, 07:23 PM |
Feb 20 2012, 03:03 PM
276 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: mmu melaka |
Metallic blue,platinum White and super orange for sale soon.. Do check it out..
Feb 22 2012, 10:10 PM
873 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Got guide for this crayfish about the set up and everything? i see people dont put pump or anything o,o!
Feb 24 2012, 08:04 PM
Mar 3 2012, 02:33 PM
18 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Hey guys, i wonder is it ok to not have any water filter and oxygen pump.
Will the crayfish survive in a closed top aquarium? |
Mar 9 2012, 07:17 PM
742 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
can this crayfish be sold to chinese restaurant ? thinking of rearing it in bulk and sold for chinese restaurant / hotel hehehe
Mar 10 2012, 06:30 PM
Mar 11 2012, 01:34 AM
and u needa get it to be a huge size first..a lot of investment in tat.
May 20 2012, 03:35 PM
3,116 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
This is Mine
FEB 7 - Now ![]() ![]() |
May 27 2012, 11:13 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Jun 11 2012, 10:41 AM
676 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Full Penang Lang...~ |
QUOTE(mecharoni @ May 27 2012, 11:13 PM) I saw blue crayfish in Taman Aman, nxt to the tmn paraomut LRT station. can catch n rear? will they die faster than petshop 1, Depends on the first few days. Usually wild catch are a lot healthier..as in they are used to the cooler and faster moving water as well as richly oxygenated surrounding. So unless u can try to simulate close/exact environment, else they wouldnt last long.So long they could last 1 week in ur tank, then it's good to go...else within first 1-2 days they will go off d. All the best bro! |
Jun 11 2012, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(ArmorFiend @ Jun 11 2012, 10:41 AM) Depends on the first few days. Usually wild catch are a lot healthier..as in they are used to the cooler and faster moving water as well as richly oxygenated surrounding. So unless u can try to simulate close/exact environment, else they wouldnt last long. tq So long they could last 1 week in ur tank, then it's good to go...else within first 1-2 days they will go off d. All the best bro! |
Jun 12 2012, 09:21 AM
676 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Full Penang Lang...~ |
Jun 13 2012, 12:39 AM
Jul 16 2012, 09:53 PM
87 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
hi, do anyone here keep dwarf crayfish?
Jul 16 2012, 10:12 PM
53 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Jul 16 2012, 10:19 PM
87 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
how big can it get? plan to get one.
Jul 16 2012, 11:42 PM
Sep 20 2012, 02:43 AM
155 posts Joined: Apr 2012 From: Shah Alam |
hey there crayfish peeps!
i just started out this as a hobby and also to make my tank pretty to all sifus out there, i salute you this is my tank of 30cm (L) x 22cm (H) x 20cm (W) consisting of some plants and my family of marimos used ADA amazonian soil and 4w submersible filter ![]() then my older sister decided to colour my tank with an orange reddish 2inch dwarf crayfish, which i named Ebi ![]() a very shy Ebi ![]() a close up picture of him/her ( i have not been successful in sexing my little Ebi, yet) ![]() just a week ago, i thought it was suffocating at the bottom of the tank, wriggling around... turns out, to my relief, it was molting then it buffet on its own shell and retreat back to its driftwood home ![]() now Ebi is doing fine and i am deciding to get it a new partner to make some mini Ebis thing is, i do not know how to sex it and it is very difficult for me to catch it so maybe i just get a female to be on the safe side or any word of advice? furthermore, Ebi has this huge appetite and it has started eating my water plants even though i have fed it twice a day lucky me, Ebi does not munch on my marimo family... |
Sep 23 2012, 07:41 PM
Sep 23 2012, 08:02 PM
66 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: currently in Malaysia |
QUOTE(jess7 @ Sep 20 2012, 02:43 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « nice CPO!! I really wanted them, but got no space hehe and scared to own them since i heard they are more 'mushy' than cherry shrimps. well, i do have some crayfish in my tank. But these are normal crayfish, used as a clean-up-crew for my Ebikko's Tank. Cherax destructor(if im not mistaken) really like to dig, eat my plants, snip my beloved ebikko's tail and the best tank decorater. He even reposition my big driftwood lol. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Procambarus clarkii - a shy and obedient group. They tend to stay together and only comes out at night and loves to climb during night time to watch the blue light » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Oct 3 2012, 04:10 PM
my little ebi's 3rd molt in less than a month!
![]() wanna ask all crayfish experts out there, is this normal? and now i'm not really sure if i own a CPO... cos when my sis bought it for me, it says neon orange lobster on the tank and it is growing really fast! Added on October 4, 2012, 9:42 pmalright confirm ady... i own a female neon red lobster... it jz molt again and this is it's 3rd time in less than a month anyone know whr i can get a male companion for it? Added on October 15, 2012, 10:56 pmso i finally got myself a male crayfish to mate with my female one got him from nilufar pet shop at scott garden, old klang road. male size 1.5inch, female grew to 2.5inch! crossing fingers to see some berries soon anyways, i saw tt they were also selling snow white crayfishes anyone keeping them? looks like this: ![]() and this: ![]() This post has been edited by jess7: Oct 15 2012, 10:56 PM |
Oct 24 2012, 10:06 AM
105 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
the blue is nice. u know where to get it and CPO?
Nov 21 2012, 11:40 AM
5 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
a) anyone know whether marbled crayfish (Procambarus marmorkrebs) is available in malaysia ?
b) which LFS sells mexican dwarf crayfish and how much ? Thanks. This post has been edited by Ben99: Nov 22 2012, 08:29 AM |
Dec 31 2012, 10:13 AM
did any1 know what wrong with my crayfish?
it berried for 2 days then it dropped all the eggs on the floor. |
Jan 14 2013, 06:31 PM
7 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Jan 30 2013, 03:07 PM
279 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: KL |
hi all. i how to differentiate the sex of the crayfish?
Jan 30 2013, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(hdd-corrupted @ Jan 30 2013, 03:07 PM) http://iz.carnegiemnh.org/crayfish/phpbb3/...c.php?f=2&t=300usually by googling the image many will pop up! all the best! |
Jan 30 2013, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(jess7 @ Jan 30 2013, 03:58 PM) http://iz.carnegiemnh.org/crayfish/phpbb3/...c.php?f=2&t=300 thanks. u keep crayfish too?usually by googling the image many will pop up! all the best! |
Jan 30 2013, 04:16 PM
Jan 30 2013, 04:26 PM
Feb 3 2013, 06:49 PM
4 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Feb 4 2013, 09:06 PM
161 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
yup.. thats male..
Feb 4 2013, 10:22 PM
thanks for the info...time to get female for him..
any suggestion where to get it? coz most LFS dont know how to id the sex.. |
Feb 5 2013, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(shark1006 @ Feb 4 2013, 10:22 PM) thanks for the info...time to get female for him.. i got my female from Nilufar (http://nilufar.com.my/)any suggestion where to get it? coz most LFS dont know how to id the sex.. during tt time most of them were females... and when i gotten my male, 2 weeks later she ate him up! |
Feb 5 2013, 02:56 AM
so sad to heard the news...
so u gave her a new male already? |
Mar 11 2013, 05:40 PM
80 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
YO ALL.
INTERESTED IN KEEPING PRAWNS (CRAYFISH, MANTIS, YABBY, ETC), CRABS, SEAHORSE OR ANYTHING ELSE UNIQUE. NOT INTERESTED IN FISH AT ALL. MY LOCATION IS SS 2. CAN ANYONE RECOMMEND ANY PLACE NEARBY & THE PRICING TO GET THE ABOVE? BTW, ALREADY VISITED THE FISH SHOP OPPOSITE THE YONG TAU FOO RESTAURANT NEAR THE TMN BAHAGIA LRT (ONLY HAS 1 ALBINO CRAYFISH) & WILL SOON GO TO THE PET SHOP NEXT TO MING TIEN IN TAMAN MEGAH. SO, PLS RECOMMEND ALT PLACE. I'M EVEN INTERESTED IN KEEPING THE FRESHWATER CRABS & PRAWNS SEEN IN RESTAURANTS IF ANYONE KNOWS WHERE I CAN GET LIVE ONES. |
Mar 11 2013, 06:14 PM
185 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
you can try this place. Aquatics International Sdn. Bhd, last time i when there they got alot of different type of crayfish, prawn. Crab also got. but for seahorse, i am not pretty sure, but they do sell marine fish there. |
Mar 30 2013, 12:38 PM
80 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
May 4 2013, 08:41 PM
313 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: 5 ★ Hotel |KAyHeLl| |
My 8 inch dark red lanky
![]() |
Jul 1 2013, 03:26 PM
hi all, my friend is giving up her 7inch crayfish as she has too many pets to care for, therefore i'm currently helping er to house it awhile till someone wants to adopt it.
free for adoption, make sure bring pail for transportation, hopefully can find crayfish keeper as well. anyone interested, pls pm me! http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-52/...-1372506010.jpg |
Nov 10 2013, 04:49 PM
1,369 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Terengganu & Taman Shamelin Perkasa |
my wild catch crayfish (2 male and 2 Female) :
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Nov 11 2013, 10:02 PM
Feb 18 2014, 11:57 PM
255 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KLaNg |
Sifus out there.. Can crayfish be kept in a Amazonia soil tank? Will it dig a lot? Thanks in advance for the advice. |
Feb 20 2014, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Nov 10 2013, 04:49 PM) Amazingly huge crayfishes you have there.Also, i'm amazed that this thread is still alive after 7+ years. This post has been edited by shadowcaster: Feb 20 2014, 05:09 PM |
Apr 1 2014, 12:50 PM
224 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
bump for the thread, I seek the info about crayfish as my housemate keep this tiny creatures as pet... quite entertaining... I do some research about crayfish. They will eat the small fish if we put them together, later my housemate buy small species of fish (as food), but the crayfish didn't manage to catch them.. the fish swim quite fast... now the fish as decoration for the tank, swim here and there very active... how to know that myhousemate crayfish is healthy, enough supply of oxygen, comfortable with the water environment.. etc ?
This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Apr 1 2014, 12:51 PM |
May 11 2014, 05:27 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2014 |
anyone heard about yabbie-blue-crayfish ?? is it possible to found in malaysia I wonder @@
Sep 2 2014, 05:44 PM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
I have a few dwarf crayfish, same size as mini mexican crayfish(CPO)
Common Name: Brazos Dwarf Crayfish / Blue Texanus Dwarf Crayfish Scientific name: Cambarellus Texanus Origin: North America (this one from german blood) Current Size 1.5 cm Maximum Size: 3-4cm Brazos Dwarf Crayfish Care: Tank Parameters Required: pH – 6.0-8.0 gH – 5-18 kH – 1-15 TDS – 100-500 Temperature – 16-28C or 60 – 82F Temperament: Omnivore/Can be placed with similar sized and larger fish Breeding: Easy, just got to let them do their thing. Difficulty: Easy Interesting Notes* Omnivore, however plant based food is best. This post has been edited by plastik_beg: Sep 2 2014, 05:48 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Oct 7 2014, 09:24 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
Those interested to know more about crayfish/crawfish(Australian Redclaw), see my blog below:-
http://crayfishmalaysia.blogspot.com Any nice photos of Australian Redclaw crayfish, I'm much appreciate if you can contribute here |
Oct 13 2014, 07:00 AM
2 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
i have australian red claw,, interested?
016 5688969 |
Dec 3 2014, 10:56 AM
143 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Jan 16 2015, 08:32 AM
Emergencies... need help here... my crayfish molt last night, but I realized that the tail part is not come off as usual ( he has molting before and everything goes well)... and currently lays on his side... is there anything I can help with... I don't want to lose him...
Jan 16 2015, 03:43 PM
4 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
I got 1 that just died. it climb out of the aquarium.....];
Jan 16 2015, 03:53 PM
Me too.. he just died... he cant survive... Crayfish is an escape artist... you must secure your tank so they does not escape... as for me.. they do try once via filter tube inlet but failed, then never bother to escape from my tank...
Jan 17 2015, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Jan 16 2015, 03:53 PM) Me too.. he just died... he cant survive... Crayfish is an escape artist... you must secure your tank so they does not escape... as for me.. they do try once via filter tube inlet but failed, then never bother to escape from my tank... provide some calcium rich food for them and if water ph low , put in some coral stone.some delicate mini crayfish like CPO and texanus require cooler water temperature like 27-28c. |
Jan 17 2015, 11:43 PM
1,458 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: BumiRaja🦸 |
woo sure delicious to eat
Shrimp mix Crab YAMMMM |
Jan 20 2015, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Jan 17 2015, 03:00 PM) provide some calcium rich food for them and if water ph low , put in some coral stone. care to share calcium rich food... at this moment I feed them shrimp pallet and boiled zucchini...some delicate mini crayfish like CPO and texanus require cooler water temperature like 27-28c. |
Jan 21 2015, 11:29 AM
can't wait for my crayfish to breed... how to encourage them to mating?
Jan 21 2015, 12:32 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
Jan 21 2015, 04:03 PM
Jan 22 2015, 09:06 AM
Jan 23 2015, 10:13 AM
Nice hafiz_tahir!!
Just to share..already bought last november. Self cloning crayfish. https://aquaticforever.wordpress.com/2014/1...krebs-crayfish/ This post has been edited by shamn9: Jan 23 2015, 10:51 AM |
Jan 23 2015, 10:31 AM
Jan 23 2015, 04:26 PM
37 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Jan 23 2015, 10:13 AM) Nice hafiz_tahir!! Hi shamn9, I got 2 marmorkreb from the same seller too. Just to share..already bought last november. Self cloning crayfish. https://aquaticforever.wordpress.com/2014/1...krebs-crayfish/ Before purchasing them I did some reading on their behavior mostly from this site http://www.marbledcrayfish.com/welcome/general-info For the first few days everything seems normal, but later 1 has gone missing and I can't seems to find it in my heavily planted aquarium. The other one start to hassle its tank mate like poso snails and oto. Then one day my daughter saw it was chewing on one of my oto... and poso snail which I got from our good sir Arrow here. Its color also change from blue to brown. I have no choice but to remove it to a separate tank. I really can't tell whether it is a real marmorkreb, just have to wait until it berries I guess. Hope you can share some of your experience |
Jan 23 2015, 05:36 PM
Jan 26 2015, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Jan 23 2015, 04:26 PM) For the first few days everything seems normal, but later 1 has gone missing and I can't seems to find it in my heavily planted aquarium. Hi to you too okboon15. Actually I bought 3 marmorkreb..1 been eaten by redclaw & another 1 die. My marmorkreb some time blue, some time brown The other one start to hassle its tank mate like poso snails and oto. Then one day my daughter saw it was chewing on one of my oto... and poso snail which I got from our good sir Arrow here. Its color also change from blue to brown. I have no choice but to remove it to a separate tank. I really can't tell whether it is a real marmorkreb, just have to wait until it berries I guess. Hope you can share some of your experience This post has been edited by shamn9: Jan 26 2015, 12:55 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 26 2015, 01:00 PM
Jan 28 2015, 12:18 AM
Jan 28 2015, 09:14 AM
Jan 28 2015, 09:41 AM
Jan 28 2015, 10:58 AM
Jan 28 2015, 11:20 AM
Jan 28 2015, 12:03 PM
Jan 28 2015, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Jan 28 2015, 12:03 PM) If want fast breeding, you should try redclaw or perhaps marmorkreb. Red swamp, zebra, bright orange, snow white..less active.This post has been edited by shamn9: Jan 28 2015, 01:58 PM |
Jan 28 2015, 02:34 PM
Jan 28 2015, 03:34 PM
Jan 29 2015, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Jan 23 2015, 04:26 PM) Hi shamn9, I got 2 marmorkreb from the same seller too. Poso got eaten Before purchasing them I did some reading on their behavior mostly from this site http://www.marbledcrayfish.com/welcome/general-info For the first few days everything seems normal, but later 1 has gone missing and I can't seems to find it in my heavily planted aquarium. The other one start to hassle its tank mate like poso snails and oto. Then one day my daughter saw it was chewing on one of my oto... and poso snail which I got from our good sir Arrow here. Its color also change from blue to brown. I have no choice but to remove it to a separate tank. I really can't tell whether it is a real marmorkreb, just have to wait until it berries I guess. Hope you can share some of your experience anyway share my CPO with their shrimp friends. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 29 2015, 11:39 AM
correct me if im wrong, marmokreb didn't require male to breed?
Jan 29 2015, 11:42 AM
I want to try marmorkreb, can we mixed it together with red swamp?
Jan 29 2015, 11:50 AM
Jan 29 2015, 11:56 AM
Jan 29 2015, 01:00 PM
Jan 29 2015, 01:20 PM
Jan 29 2015, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Jan 29 2015, 01:20 PM) they will do postage for live stock. I have ordered few times in lelong which most of the seller is from northern states. http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/acestoryaquatic.htm (Got big inventory of live stock) http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/aquaticforever.htm (where shamn9 and I ordered marmorkrebs) Btw I stay in Puchong. No casualty so far from all the shipments (finger crossed) |
Jan 29 2015, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Jan 29 2015, 01:30 PM) they will do postage for live stock. Agreed I have ordered few times in lelong which most of the seller is from northern states. http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/acestoryaquatic.htm (Got big inventory of live stock) http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/aquaticforever.htm (where shamn9 and I ordered marmorkrebs) Btw I stay in Puchong. No casualty so far from all the shipments (finger crossed) |
Jan 29 2015, 05:50 PM
Jan 30 2015, 08:06 AM
Jan 30 2015, 08:31 AM
Jan 30 2015, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(arrow @ Jan 29 2015, 01:37 AM) Yes sir, an expensive tidbits for the cray... I manage to separate them when I saw the cray nibbling on one poso.The poso hide back to its shell and never come out again... After CNY might want to start a simpler tank with not so dense vegetation, because the remaining poso has been hiding since and I have no idea whether they are still alive or not. CPO can be poso tank mates? |
Jan 30 2015, 10:47 AM
WTB ori electric blue & black orange tip crayfish. Has anyone here have link?
Jan 30 2015, 11:25 AM
137 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Jan 21 2015, 04:03 PM) i'll update as soon as I'm return from office... FYI my species is red swamp crayfish aka procambarus clarkii... I didnt keep crayfish for a very long time..but darn! this red is striking!!!here the pic from google ![]() My clarkii's usually a bit darker red..unlike urs.. Stunning bro..stunnig!! |
Jan 30 2015, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Jan 30 2015, 10:31 AM) Yes sir, an expensive tidbits for the cray... I manage to separate them when I saw the cray nibbling on one poso. May i know what's poso?The poso hide back to its shell and never come out again... After CNY might want to start a simpler tank with not so dense vegetation, because the remaining poso has been hiding since and I have no idea whether they are still alive or not. CPO can be poso tank mates? |
Jan 30 2015, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(Right Hand Man @ Jan 30 2015, 11:26 AM) Full name is Tylomelania Zemis or some call it Poso orange rabbit snail. Sometimes I get confuse with all those short name too I think we should be a bit professional by using proper name? Just by mentioning the color of the cray also doesn't help in identifying the species. |
Jan 30 2015, 12:07 PM
Jan 30 2015, 12:09 PM
Jan 30 2015, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Jan 30 2015, 11:46 AM) Full name is Tylomelania Zemis or some call it Poso orange rabbit snail. Thanks bro..it helps to have explaination coz different geography area might refer to each other differently...Sometimes I get confuse with all those short name too I think we should be a bit professional by using proper name? Just by mentioning the color of the cray also doesn't help in identifying the species. Looks like balitung somehow... QUOTE(shamn9 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:07 PM) Thanks for hilighting..QUOTE(shamn9 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:09 PM) i googled poso and google gave me map of Sulawesi, Indon : https://www.google.com.my/webhp?sourceid=ch...ie=UTF-8#q=poso i googled poso prawn and it gave me grilled prawn : https://www.google.com.my/webhp?sourceid=ch...-8#q=poso+prawn i googled poso feed and it gave me Grabrille Poso at instagram : https://www.google.com.my/webhp?sourceid=ch...F-8#q=poso+feed Seriously..if it's too difficult for you to use it's common name or latin name, it would help for you to just keep ur finger on the scroll button instead. In fact, typing 'Orange Rabbit Snail' consist of only 3 words instead of your 'Again google it bro..google' which is 5.. Seriously bro...seriously... |
Jan 30 2015, 03:25 PM
Jan 31 2015, 08:24 AM
Jan 31 2015, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Jan 30 2015, 10:31 AM) Yes sir, an expensive tidbits for the cray... I manage to separate them when I saw the cray nibbling on one poso. CPO aka mexican mini orange crayfish pose no threat to poso , dwarf shrimps and fishes. They are pretty slow in catching them.The poso hide back to its shell and never come out again... After CNY might want to start a simpler tank with not so dense vegetation, because the remaining poso has been hiding since and I have no idea whether they are still alive or not. CPO can be poso tank mates? I don't know you into crayfish as well , i don't sell those large crayfish cos troublesome to house them..Lol. |
Feb 1 2015, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Jan 31 2015, 11:23 PM) CPO aka mexican mini orange crayfish pose no threat to poso , dwarf shrimps and fishes. They are pretty slow in catching them. I'm those that easily get poisoned to go for those cool stuff I don't know you into crayfish as well , i don't sell those large crayfish cos troublesome to house them..Lol. First was planted tank, then shrimps, fishes, snails and now crayfish... Too greedy I must say, haha well, my planted tank is now kindda crowded, a new tank is definitely. Thinking of a dedicate dwarf crayfish tank after CNY. BTW anyone of you know how to buy or order rack using keylock system? I bet it will be cheaper than buying those ready made aquarium rack. |
Feb 5 2015, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Feb 1 2015, 12:58 PM) I'm those that easily get poisoned to go for those cool stuff me too... first planted tank, next marine, next shrimp tank, now crayfish... ah, please help me... easily got poisoned... hehehe...First was planted tank, then shrimps, fishes, snails and now crayfish... Too greedy I must say, haha well, my planted tank is now kindda crowded, a new tank is definitely. Thinking of a dedicate dwarf crayfish tank after CNY. BTW anyone of you know how to buy or order rack using keylock system? I bet it will be cheaper than buying those ready made aquarium rack. plus breeding... successful with guppy, now crayfish... wish me luck guys... marmorkreb, here I come... |
Feb 5 2015, 08:54 AM
Feb 5 2015, 10:46 AM
Feb 10 2015, 12:16 PM
Feb 10 2015, 01:07 PM
Feb 10 2015, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Feb 10 2015, 01:07 PM) That one is female red claw..I bought it just for RM2.00. Marmokrebs has like 'cracking' pattern on thier body. wow... red claw become blue like that? how you take care of them? any advise? diet? light preference? environment... care to share with me... really jealous with your crayfish... |
Feb 10 2015, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 10 2015, 02:58 PM) wow... red claw become blue like that? how you take care of them? any advise? diet? light preference? environment... care to share with me... really jealous with your crayfish... Nothing, i do nothing. Just my luck, one day a saw it at the fish shop. Even the seller don't noticed it |
Feb 10 2015, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Feb 10 2015, 03:22 PM) Nothing, i do nothing. Just my luck, one day a saw it at the fish shop. Even the seller don't noticed it really... wow.. you're very lucky.. your red swamp color also striking... the white one is snow white right? where you got that?This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Feb 10 2015, 04:10 PM |
Feb 11 2015, 09:10 AM
Feb 11 2015, 09:20 AM
Feb 11 2015, 09:41 AM
Feb 11 2015, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 10 2015, 04:03 PM) really... wow.. you're very lucky.. your red swamp color also striking... the white one is snow white right? where you got that? Yup, snow white. Dud, seem like you interested with red swamp so much |
Feb 11 2015, 10:34 AM
Feb 11 2015, 10:45 AM
Feb 11 2015, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Feb 11 2015, 10:01 AM) Yup, snow white. Dud, seem like you interested with red swamp so much yes... currently own red swamp only... interested with electric blue or red claw that blue like yours, marmorkreb and snow white... |
Feb 12 2015, 08:40 AM
Feb 12 2015, 11:57 AM
Feb 16 2015, 09:30 AM
Feb 17 2015, 10:59 AM
Feb 17 2015, 11:31 AM
Feb 17 2015, 02:29 PM
Feb 17 2015, 05:24 PM
Feb 18 2015, 08:48 AM
Feb 18 2015, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 17 2015, 05:24 PM) Here also got...but RM 20 ~ 21 la..https://www.google.com.my/maps/@2.71503,101...XPd2Obg!2e0 |
Feb 18 2015, 06:47 PM
Feb 23 2015, 08:26 AM
Feb 23 2015, 11:22 AM
Feb 23 2015, 12:24 PM
Feb 23 2015, 05:17 PM
Introducing my newest member of the tank, female red claw. I'll update the pic later... it is blue... hehehe...currently mixed with red swamp, want to see for 2-3 days if can mixed together...
can red claw mixed with marmorkreb? afraid to mixed them... |
Feb 23 2015, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Feb 18 2015, 09:27 AM) thank regarding the location. Just wondering you got a pair or red swamp? since you post your red swamp got babies... |
Feb 24 2015, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 23 2015, 05:17 PM) Introducing my newest member of the tank, female red claw. I'll update the pic later... it is blue... hehehe...currently mixed with red swamp, want to see for 2-3 days if can mixed together... Your marmorkreb already arrived? Better dont mixed them or you'll be sorry can red claw mixed with marmorkreb? afraid to mixed them... |
Feb 24 2015, 08:42 AM
Feb 24 2015, 08:43 AM
Feb 24 2015, 08:46 AM
Feb 24 2015, 08:47 AM
sorry forgot to take pictures of my red claw... i'll update later once arrived home...
she a little bit blue, but not as blue as shamn9, want to try blood worm, either can enhance her (red claw) and his (red swamp) color. plan to buy another 2 female red swamp to pair with existing male... |
Feb 24 2015, 08:49 AM
Feb 24 2015, 08:53 AM
Feb 24 2015, 08:54 AM
Feb 24 2015, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 24 2015, 08:54 AM) Bro, check this link http://aqua.c1ub.net/forum/. Its in thai,use google translated... planty of beautiful crayfish there!!!Pic of the day |
Feb 24 2015, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 24 2015, 08:42 AM) not yet... ok, i'll not mixed them... they will fight? don't mixed with both red swamp and red claw or just red claw? Depend. Mostly red claw are nasty. I mean here dont mixed marmorkreb with those two..because why? Marmorkreb its small, tiny.This post has been edited by shamn9: Feb 24 2015, 09:24 AM |
Feb 24 2015, 09:48 AM
Feb 24 2015, 12:28 PM
Feb 24 2015, 12:42 PM
Feb 24 2015, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Feb 24 2015, 12:42 PM) no la... just according to your experience... since it is live stock... quite curious... lagi2 this is my first time post or receive live stock via post... huhuhuFYI, my address located at next day delivery policy. This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Feb 24 2015, 12:50 PM |
Feb 25 2015, 08:25 AM
Feb 25 2015, 08:29 AM
go to LFS yesterday, pickup 2 female red swamp to be paired with existing one... my livestock inventory now:
3 red swamp (1 male, 2 female) 1 blue red claw (female) 2 marmorkreb (of course female 12 pcs of blue neon tetra (last was mixed with red swamp but day after day I saw decreasing in number of pcs, now separate tank) - aquascaping/planted tank This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Feb 25 2015, 08:31 AM |
Feb 25 2015, 09:11 AM
Feb 25 2015, 10:40 AM
Feb 25 2015, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 25 2015, 10:40 AM) the size now is about jari kelingking... seller informed that one of them almost mature... very comel la those marmorkreb... Tips for the seller:"I just feed them with any shrimps food. They like to eat moss also. Just create an environment with wood and more hiding place for them. I also put a few pcs of dry squid bone because they need calcium. HA!!!." Regards, Samson Chong.CH Aquaticsforevers Enterprise |
Feb 25 2015, 02:22 PM
140 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Feb 25 2015, 02:33 PM
Feb 25 2015, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Feb 25 2015, 02:18 PM) Tips for the seller: I feed mrmorkreb with same shrimp pallet as red swamp and red claw... sometimes I give boiled zucchini and carrot to my red swamp and red claw..."I just feed them with any shrimps food. They like to eat moss also. Just create an environment with wood and more hiding place for them. I also put a few pcs of dry squid bone because they need calcium. HA!!!." Regards, Samson Chong.CH Aquaticsforevers Enterprise |
Feb 25 2015, 02:43 PM
Feb 25 2015, 03:23 PM
Feb 25 2015, 04:54 PM
Feb 25 2015, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Feb 25 2015, 02:18 PM) Tips for the seller: squid bone? you mean the transparent one?"I just feed them with any shrimps food. They like to eat moss also. Just create an environment with wood and more hiding place for them. I also put a few pcs of dry squid bone because they need calcium. HA!!!." Regards, Samson Chong.CH Aquaticsforevers Enterprise |
Feb 26 2015, 08:05 AM
Feb 26 2015, 08:09 AM
Feb 27 2015, 02:07 AM
Owh... This is sotong katak bone... Hahaha...
Feb 27 2015, 02:09 AM
Mar 2 2015, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 23 2015, 05:17 PM) Introducing my newest member of the tank, female red claw. I'll update the pic later... it is blue... hehehe...currently mixed with red swamp, want to see for 2-3 days if can mixed together... Still waiting for the pic can red claw mixed with marmorkreb? afraid to mixed them... |
Mar 3 2015, 08:43 AM
Mar 4 2015, 08:19 AM
Mar 4 2015, 08:44 AM
anyone have electric blue crayfish?
Mar 6 2015, 03:25 PM
plan to start keeping craysifh ..
Mar 6 2015, 03:47 PM
Mar 6 2015, 03:55 PM
Mar 6 2015, 05:15 PM
Mar 7 2015, 04:59 AM
congrats
hope that one days u can sell ur cucu for me |
Mar 7 2015, 07:04 PM
guys, just now I saw my red swamp (pair) mating... hahaha... can't wait for that...
Mar 9 2015, 09:31 AM
Mar 9 2015, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 25 2015, 08:29 AM) go to LFS yesterday, pickup 2 female red swamp to be paired with existing one... my livestock inventory now: 3 red swamp (1 male, 2 female) 1 blue red claw (female) 2 marmorkreb (of course female 12 pcs of blue neon tetra (last was mixed with red swamp but day after day I saw decreasing in number of pcs, now separate tank) - aquascaping/planted tank QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 09:31 AM) here as promise... my red claw... a little bit greenish dark blue... sorry bad quality... have to do it quickly... since she will hide back into her 'cave' That male bro...its has red mark at his claw!!! |
Mar 9 2015, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Mar 9 2015, 11:01 AM) I pick up 3 red claw from LFS last week. When choosing time, I can't seems to find any male. When ask for help the, they based on the marking on the claw. Let me go back tonight and upload some photos. Please help me check if I'm 2 female and 1 male. BTW, the LFS also have 3 full grown red claw, one female even pregnant with lots of eggs in her belly. They are selling around RM25, I wish to get that, unfortunately I don't have a massive tank to house it. The shop is at Dengkil. |
Mar 9 2015, 12:06 PM
Mar 9 2015, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 9 2015, 11:45 AM) I pick up 3 red claw from LFS last week. When choosing time, I can't seems to find any male. When ask for help the, they based on the marking on the claw. Let me go back tonight and upload some photos. Please help me check if I'm 2 female and 1 male. where the shop... mybe I can pay a visit.. I buy my crayfish at BBST...BTW, the LFS also have 3 full grown red claw, one female even pregnant with lots of eggs in her belly. They are selling around RM25, I wish to get that, unfortunately I don't have a massive tank to house it. The shop is at Dengkil. |
Mar 9 2015, 12:08 PM
my neon tetra now swim happily with my cherry shrimp and assassin snail...
Mar 9 2015, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 9 2015, 11:45 AM) I pick up 3 red claw from LFS last week. When choosing time, I can't seems to find any male. When ask for help the, they based on the marking on the claw. Let me go back tonight and upload some photos. Please help me check if I'm 2 female and 1 male. averagely, to be confirm, to identify the sex is by seeing his/her pleopod...BTW, the LFS also have 3 full grown red claw, one female even pregnant with lots of eggs in her belly. They are selling around RM25, I wish to get that, unfortunately I don't have a massive tank to house it. The shop is at Dengkil. |
Mar 9 2015, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 12:15 PM) That's what I was looking for when going for a male one. But after checking almost all of them, I can't find any with the extra appendages. Here is the shop Kedai Aquarium Kim Hock |
Mar 9 2015, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 9 2015, 01:08 PM) That's what I was looking for when going for a male one. But after checking almost all of them, I can't find any with the extra appendages. it looks like female...claw? got red color?Here is the shop Kedai Aquarium Kim Hock |
Mar 9 2015, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 01:15 PM) From http://its-a-fishy-buziness.co.uk/Red-Claw...h-P2343883.aspxSexing and breeding Red claw Crayfish: Red claw mature at between 7 and 12 months. the most obvious sign of this is the development of a red patch on the outside of the anvil section of the claw of a male. Females tend to develop their blue colour at this time, so the development of deep blue claw tips is the most noticeable sign. Sexing: The sex organs of these Cray are placed in the leg area. the male will have two holes as the base of the first pair of legs, looking from the tail forwards. The females have them on the third pair of legs, looking from the tail. |
Mar 9 2015, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 9 2015, 01:08 PM) That's what I was looking for when going for a male one. But after checking almost all of them, I can't find any with the extra appendages. the only LFS in dengkil that I know is Excellent aquaticHere is the shop Kedai Aquarium Kim Hock |
Mar 9 2015, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 9 2015, 01:34 PM) From http://its-a-fishy-buziness.co.uk/Red-Claw...h-P2343883.aspx hrm... if the red patch if the sign of the male, why there is no gonopod visible? hrm... Sexing and breeding Red claw Crayfish: Red claw mature at between 7 and 12 months. the most obvious sign of this is the development of a red patch on the outside of the anvil section of the claw of a male. Females tend to develop their blue colour at this time, so the development of deep blue claw tips is the most noticeable sign. Sexing: The sex organs of these Cray are placed in the leg area. the male will have two holes as the base of the first pair of legs, looking from the tail forwards. The females have them on the third pair of legs, looking from the tail. |
Mar 9 2015, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 01:15 PM) QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 01:58 PM) Oh...its getting worst |
Mar 9 2015, 02:25 PM
Mar 9 2015, 02:29 PM
Mar 9 2015, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 9 2015, 11:45 AM) I pick up 3 red claw from LFS last week. When choosing time, I can't seems to find any male. When ask for help the, they based on the marking on the claw. Let me go back tonight and upload some photos. Please help me check if I'm 2 female and 1 male. QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 9 2015, 11:45 AM) BTW, the LFS also have 3 full grown red claw, one female even pregnant with lots of eggs in her belly. They are selling around RM25, I wish to get that, unfortunately I don't have a massive tank to house it. The shop is at Dengkil. Wah, little bit expensive RM25 for a redclaw..maybe its include the eggs This post has been edited by shamn9: Mar 9 2015, 02:48 PM |
Mar 9 2015, 02:56 PM
Mar 9 2015, 02:58 PM
Mar 9 2015, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Mar 9 2015, 02:47 PM) It is massive red claw! Similar to the one posted by xeratos_85 earlier here. If I have time to visit the shop after work today, I take some pic RM25 as (alternative) lobster dinner also not bad eh? LOL |
Mar 9 2015, 03:04 PM
Mar 9 2015, 03:08 PM
Mar 9 2015, 03:11 PM
Mar 9 2015, 03:15 PM
Mar 9 2015, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Mar 9 2015, 03:15 PM) hrm... I'm reaching maximum number of crayfish to house in my tank... hahaha... need another tank... will check my crayfish once home... maybe it is male... any chance to cross breeding? I put |
Mar 9 2015, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 03:11 PM) Taman Tasik Seremban got wild crayfish...free redclaw. You came...bring "tangguk" & flash light...this redclaw will "mendarat" at night.This post has been edited by shamn9: Mar 9 2015, 03:28 PM |
Mar 9 2015, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Mar 9 2015, 03:27 PM) Taman Tasik SerembanHere got wild crayfish...free redclaw. You came at night...bring "tangguk" & flash light...this redclaw will "mendarat" at night. wahh... really... 1st tank - main crayfish tank (1 male red swamp + 2 female red swamp + 1 male red claw) 2nd tank - 2 female marmorkreb 3rd tank - planted tank (cherry shrimps + neon tetra + assassin snails + crystal red shrimp (later) NEXT, marine tank - clown fish, anemone, blue tang, coral This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Mar 9 2015, 03:32 PM |
Mar 9 2015, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 03:31 PM) 50~50QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 03:31 PM) 1st tank - main crayfish tank (1 male red swamp + 2 female red swamp + 1 male red claw) Share the pic of your planted tank 2nd tank - 2 female marmorkreb 3rd tank - planted tank (cherry shrimps + neon tetra + assassin snails + crystal red shrimp (later) NEXT, marine tank - clown fish, anemone, blue tang, coral |
Mar 9 2015, 03:53 PM
Mar 9 2015, 03:57 PM
Mar 9 2015, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 03:53 PM) QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Feb 5 2015, 08:36 AM) me too... first planted tank, next marine, next shrimp tank, now crayfish... ah, please help me... easily got poisoned... hehehe... This guppy laa...plus breeding... successful with guppy, now crayfish... wish me luck guys... marmorkreb, here I come... |
Mar 9 2015, 04:05 PM
Mar 9 2015, 07:12 PM
Mar 9 2015, 07:22 PM
Mar 10 2015, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 9 2015, 07:12 PM) yabby-info This post has been edited by shamn9: Mar 10 2015, 08:59 AM |
Mar 10 2015, 09:34 AM
Mar 10 2015, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Mar 10 2015, 08:47 AM) its Cherax destructor right?http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_yabby http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherax_quadricarinatus |
Mar 10 2015, 12:09 PM
Mar 10 2015, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 10 2015, 12:09 PM) Hi guys, below is the red claw from LFS. wow.. the color just like mine... greenish blue...but, mine, the red was not visible from top.. just little tiny red... the size of rice... but he start to develop like electric blue color... happy... There is clear red mark on its claw. However, I think all mine was female... Will refer to Shamn9 diagram to confirm it. |
Mar 10 2015, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 10 2015, 09:41 AM) its Cherax destructor right? Yup.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_yabby http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherax_quadricarinatus |
Mar 10 2015, 01:21 PM
Mar 10 2015, 02:55 PM
Mar 10 2015, 05:52 PM
Mar 11 2015, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(shamn9 @ Mar 10 2015, 01:21 PM) hi shamn9, do you know how long the egg will be visible after they are (red swamp) mating? I saw my red swamp mating last Saturday, and now the female always stay in the cave... just occasionally go out jalan2 and fetch the food... |
Mar 11 2015, 03:51 PM
just curious, if we use darker sand, does it make our crayfish color darker/more dense? currently use lightly colored sand...
This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Mar 11 2015, 03:52 PM |
Mar 12 2015, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 10 2015, 12:16 PM) wow.. the color just like mine... greenish blue...but, mine, the red was not visible from top.. just little tiny red... the size of rice... but he start to develop like electric blue color... happy... your crayfish looks blue... haha... my red claw just molt... he become more darker greenish blue... plan to change my sand to black... maybe can manipulate it's color like cherry shrimp.... will try with marmorkreb first... |
Mar 12 2015, 11:47 AM
Mar 12 2015, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 12 2015, 11:47 AM) One of the red claw molted today, and suddently there is a red marking showing?! So this show it is a male? I guess, the claw sign is not accurate to determine their sex... averagely after asking from crayfish keeper group and search over internet, they recommend to identify via pleopod....Guess it is not wise to pick it up to examine its legs for now as it is vulnerable. yesterday I saw my male red swamp approach female/male/(or what ever it is) red claw and attempt to mating... errrrr..... make me confuse back... |
Mar 12 2015, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 12 2015, 11:47 AM) One of the red claw molted today, and suddently there is a red marking showing?! So this show it is a male? do you know dengkil BSN/KFC? how to go to your stated aquarium shop from there? any other aquarium shop sell crayfish or shrimp?Guess it is not wise to pick it up to examine its legs for now as it is vulnerable. |
Mar 12 2015, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 12 2015, 12:10 PM) do you know dengkil BSN/KFC? how to go to your stated aquarium shop from there? any other aquarium shop sell crayfish or shrimp? From the map, I've circle BSN and the shop is along the main road further up. Same row as "Speedy 4x4 Accessories". No more stock for small red claw, left 3 big one. Other shop I notice selling crayfish is https://www.facebook.com/myfishdepot. Can't remember which variant they have over there. Can cal up and ask. |
Mar 12 2015, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 12 2015, 01:59 PM) From the map, I've circle BSN and the shop is along the main road further up. Same row as "Speedy 4x4 Accessories". No more stock for small red claw, left 3 big one. Other shop I notice selling crayfish is https://www.facebook.com/myfishdepot. Can't remember which variant they have over there. Can cal up and ask. |
Mar 13 2015, 06:34 PM
Im happy... Heheh... My red claw become more bluer... Hehehe...
Mar 19 2015, 03:27 PM
whose got electric blue crayfish?
Mar 26 2015, 11:02 AM
Mar 28 2015, 09:13 PM
Mar 29 2015, 03:33 PM
Mar 29 2015, 11:03 PM
Apr 2 2015, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 12 2015, 01:59 PM) From the map, I've circle BSN and the shop is along the main road further up. Same row as "Speedy 4x4 Accessories". No more stock for small red claw, left 3 big one. Other shop I notice selling crayfish is https://www.facebook.com/myfishdepot. Can't remember which variant they have over there. Can cal up and ask. |
Apr 2 2015, 05:35 PM
Apr 6 2015, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Apr 2 2015, 05:35 PM) already pay a visit to that store.. they got super huge red claw... RM25... hahah... scary to keep as pet... haha...Still, the nearest petshop and better is at salak tinggi. tidy, structured, got many choice of fish, cray, pets... and the best thing, you free to pickup your own pet... boleh ambil sendiri and pilih... hahah... not all petshop offer this... that's why I can choose female red swamp.. hehehe |
Apr 6 2015, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Apr 6 2015, 10:26 AM) already pay a visit to that store.. they got super huge red claw... RM25... hahah... scary to keep as pet... haha... So the big red claw is still there! One of the big female carnies a lot of eggs previously! If u wanna get your money worth and dare to handle it Still, the nearest petshop and better is at salak tinggi. tidy, structured, got many choice of fish, cray, pets... and the best thing, you free to pickup your own pet... boleh ambil sendiri and pilih... hahah... not all petshop offer this... that's why I can choose female red swamp.. hehehe Care to share the Salak Tingi shop location and operating hours? |
Apr 6 2015, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Apr 6 2015, 11:35 AM) So the big red claw is still there! One of the big female carnies a lot of eggs previously! If u wanna get your money worth and dare to handle it open until 9pm IINMCare to share the Salak Tingi shop location and operating hours? what landmark you know at BBST? they (dengkil fish shop) categorized the red claw into 3 size... biggest RM 25, got 2 pcs... 2nd biggest, RM18, got around 15+ pcs, the smallest, got around 20+pcs... the first two biggest, really scary la... looks like female since they do not have the red mark... but average I saw didn't have the red mark, doubt if all of them are female... there's no female with egg... hrm, hatched? This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Apr 6 2015, 12:03 PM |
Apr 6 2015, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Mar 12 2015, 11:47 AM) One of the red claw molted today, and suddently there is a red marking showing?! So this show it is a male? hi, are you using aquarium light for your tank? I got idea, why not you turn off the light, just want to try to enhance your crayfish color into more bluer, FYI, I didn't use any aquarium light for my tank... fyi, crayfish didn't like bright environment... maybe you may try 2 weeks with light off, or better extend it when molting, when the cray developing the new shell...Guess it is not wise to pick it up to examine its legs for now as it is vulnerable. This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Apr 6 2015, 12:03 PM |
Apr 6 2015, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Apr 6 2015, 11:57 AM) open until 9pm IINM Can't say I been to BBST before what landmark you know at BBST? they (dengkil fish shop) categorized the red claw into 3 size... biggest RM 25, got 2 pcs... 2nd biggest, RM18, got around 15+ pcs, the smallest, got around 20+pcs... the first two biggest, really scary la... looks like female since they do not have the red mark... but average I saw didn't have the red mark, doubt if all of them are female... there's no female with egg... hrm, hatched? If can provide coordinates or address, I'll let Waze do the guiding. I've since move my red claws to a 2 feet tank, which comes with purple light. It's just too dim for my liking to fully appreciate the red claws in it... BTW wanna check with you guys, what do u feed ur crays? I feed them zucchini, borneowild barley, sinking fish pallets and hikari crab cuisine. |
Apr 6 2015, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Apr 6 2015, 01:38 PM) Can't say I been to BBST before I see... crayfish like dark environment... I feed them with shrimp pallet... zucchini... cucumber... just same as my cherry, CRS for my planted tank...If can provide coordinates or address, I'll let Waze do the guiding. I've since move my red claws to a 2 feet tank, which comes with purple light. It's just too dim for my liking to fully appreciate the red claws in it... BTW wanna check with you guys, what do u feed ur crays? I feed them zucchini, borneowild barley, sinking fish pallets and hikari crab cuisine. |
Apr 7 2015, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Apr 6 2015, 01:38 PM) Can't say I been to BBST before https://www.google.com.my/maps/@2.812633,10...62zzGHA!2e0,If can provide coordinates or address, I'll let Waze do the guiding. I've since move my red claws to a 2 feet tank, which comes with purple light. It's just too dim for my liking to fully appreciate the red claws in it... BTW wanna check with you guys, what do u feed ur crays? I feed them zucchini, borneowild barley, sinking fish pallets and hikari crab cuisine. https://www.google.com.my/maps/place/Bandar...7876893f01d9027 |
Apr 7 2015, 02:25 PM
the shop address is "4 Jalan ST 1c/5" right? But don't see any FS there. Use street view to show the shops around Empress hotel and the road 1c/5 also didn't review anything.
Any land mark or what are the shop beside it? |
Apr 7 2015, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ Apr 7 2015, 02:25 PM) the shop address is "4 Jalan ST 1c/5" right? But don't see any FS there. Use street view to show the shops around Empress hotel and the road 1c/5 also didn't review anything. the shop is blocked by tree in streetview...Any land mark or what are the shop beside it? |
Apr 18 2015, 12:07 PM
anyone know who sell procambarus alleni aka electric blue?
my red swamp (pair) didn't mating. They do it just once(the first time they mat, after a few second introduce female to male), but no egg visible, already 1.5 months... I mix them together since day 1... what should I do? current size 5 inch (male), 4.5 inch (female) kindly advise... |
May 16 2015, 12:51 AM
May 20 2015, 01:35 PM
both my red swamp died 2 weeks ago. During my absent due to power trip, then my HOB failed to prime... only red claw left in may tank... plan to get another, but that red swamp I buy before GST, and the longest crayfish survive, even when I bought it, his lost his left claw... anyone one to sell me a pair of red swamp?
May 23 2015, 05:07 PM
All my marmokreb babies dies. They would just perish one by one after fails to molt properly. Until left with 3 with the size of 2 ~ 2.5cm. I thought they would make it but they too perish recently, all suffer from the same issue.
Can anyone advise what when wrong? - water parameter PH : 7.8 Hardness : 220 water change 20% every week feed sinking pellets |
Jun 14 2015, 05:25 PM
My marmorkrebs drop all her egg... Maybe stress...
Currently use white sand as gravel... whick one better, white sand or ada amazonia soil? |
Jun 14 2015, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(okboon15 @ May 23 2015, 05:07 PM) All my marmokreb babies dies. They would just perish one by one after fails to molt properly. Until left with 3 with the size of 2 ~ 2.5cm. I thought they would make it but they too perish recently, all suffer from the same issue. Increase o2 by aerate the water... If they tend to climb, that the sign of lack of o2Can anyone advise what when wrong? - water parameter PH : 7.8 Hardness : 220 water change 20% every week feed sinking pellets This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Jun 14 2015, 05:27 PM |
Jul 4 2015, 01:05 PM
anyone have male red claw size approx 10 cm? want to sell or give me... heheh... want to pair with my female one...
Aug 26 2015, 12:02 AM
37 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Sharing my 3 crayfish of diff colors. Btw, recently they are tired of fish pellet, what else can I feed? I read replies on top, eating frozen worm brings out the sharpness of their colour? Where can I get frozen worms/feeding fish & shrimp (really mini) in Klang Valley or preferably near or around Setapak?
Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 10 2015, 12:38 AM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
Help pls...
My marmorkrebs just won't get berried. Most of them already <2inch.. Tried warmer temp, cooler temp and more protein based food but still.. This post has been edited by adindamajid: Sep 10 2015, 10:47 AM |
Sep 10 2015, 01:19 AM
Latest update! My badass white has just molted! Should I separate the red and blue away? But the situation is white has always been the boss for this tank. However, three of them are doing fine after staying for more than 1 week in the same tank. Each of them have own hiding place. Should I separate them? I'm worried if I separate them to some containers, they won't get used to it and fell ill. Advice please!
This post has been edited by QinKuang: Sep 10 2015, 01:21 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 11 2015, 04:39 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Sep 10 2015, 01:19 AM) Latest update! My badass white has just molted! Should I separate the red and blue away? But the situation is white has always been the boss for this tank. However, three of them are doing fine after staying for more than 1 week in the same tank. Each of them have own hiding place. Should I separate them? I'm worried if I separate them to some containers, they won't get used to it and fell ill. Advice please! Why need to separate the molted crayfish? as far as I know...as long as you have enuf space and food for them. they should able to stay peacefully. Noted: sometime breeding come after molting time |
Sep 20 2015, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(chenghc @ Sep 11 2015, 04:39 PM) Why need to separate the molted crayfish? as far as I know...as long as you have enuf space and food for them. they should able to stay peacefully. Thanks for the reply. Btw, my electric blue passed away last week. I suspect is because white wanted to mate with blue but unsuccessful. Eventually, white killed blue out of anger. The assumption is supported by the blue one got all her limbs cut off. Second thought was because blue didn't had enough of food this have no energy while she is trying to molt. It eventually became death due to unsuccessful molt as she has got out from her shell. Please refer to the photo below.Noted: sometime breeding come after molting time Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 20 2015, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Sep 20 2015, 05:09 PM) Thanks for the reply. Btw, my electric blue passed away last week. I suspect is because white wanted to mate with blue but unsuccessful. Eventually, white killed blue out of anger. The assumption is supported by the blue one got all her limbs cut off. Second thought was because blue didn't had enough of food this have no energy while she is trying to molt. It eventually became death due to unsuccessful molt as she has got out from her shell. Please refer to the photo below. Meanwhile, you're damn right on greater mating session after molting. Herewith attached the photo of my snow white molted for the second time on yesterday with larger claws now. Also, I have always thought my red and white are male. It turned out to be only white one is male. Check this out.Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 23 2015, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Sep 20 2015, 05:12 PM) Meanwhile, you're damn right on greater mating session after molting. Herewith attached the photo of my snow white molted for the second time on yesterday with larger claws now. Also, I have always thought my red and white are male. It turned out to be only white one is male. Check this out. wow...congratulation. nice to see this. Hope it will success in hatching. Wonder what will be the outcome? Red + White? like Lili shrimp??? Do keep us update. Thanks. I stop the hobby for few years...now abit hand itchy to start back but just don't have the time and space for them |
Sep 30 2015, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Sep 20 2015, 05:09 PM) Thanks for the reply. Btw, my electric blue passed away last week. I suspect is because white wanted to mate with blue but unsuccessful. Eventually, white killed blue out of anger. The assumption is supported by the blue one got all her limbs cut off. Second thought was because blue didn't had enough of food this have no energy while she is trying to molt. It eventually became death due to unsuccessful molt as she has got out from her shell. Please refer to the photo below. where do you get electric blue? mind to share? |
Oct 17 2015, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(chenghc @ Sep 23 2015, 04:20 PM) wow...congratulation. nice to see this. Hope it will success in hatching. They were not fertilized in the end. Like you said, those eggs she was carrying are probably from the pet shop and not from recent breeding. The eggs just died away.Wonder what will be the outcome? Red + White? like Lili shrimp??? Do keep us update. Thanks. I stop the hobby for few years...now abit hand itchy to start back but just don't have the time and space for them |
Oct 17 2015, 10:39 PM
Oct 19 2015, 08:42 AM
Oct 19 2015, 01:11 PM
845 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: the sins never die |
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Aug 26 2015, 12:02 AM) Sharing my 3 crayfish of diff colors. Btw, recently they are tired of fish pellet, what else can I feed? I read replies on top, eating frozen worm brings out the sharpness of their colour? Where can I get frozen worms/feeding fish & shrimp (really mini) in Klang Valley or preferably near or around Setapak? i heard they eat small shrimpssince they have the claws to catch one |
Oct 19 2015, 11:17 PM
Oct 19 2015, 11:19 PM
Oct 19 2015, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 19 2015, 01:11 PM) Bro, you're wrong then. I have similar thought at first only later I found out my crays are so lazy and slow when I added small fishes in the tank. I eventually removed all of them and released to big drain nearby. |
Oct 20 2015, 08:10 AM
Oct 20 2015, 09:45 AM
in kl anywhere can get nice crayfish?
Oct 20 2015, 09:49 AM
Oct 20 2015, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(gorillaz_113 @ Oct 20 2015, 09:45 AM) Hi fren, you may try look for Crayfish Malaysia from FB.Been to their shop before. got many variety of choice. Beside electric blue, you may also consider for the ghost line. It look quite nice to me, the shop owner told me that the color will keep change after every mold. Hope this help u. |
Oct 20 2015, 09:56 AM
ic ic... i always look for nice crayfish but retails shop only carry the normal red/blue type.
got 1 question, last time my crayfish all seem will have a disease that dark spots appear on it shells. it will look like corrosion. any 1 can help on this? |
Oct 20 2015, 08:45 PM
Oct 20 2015, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Oct 19 2015, 11:17 PM) Omg! Cheng, you sure cannot believe your eyes. My red and white really cross breed!! Check out the photos guys! They are same species/genus which is procambarus and same sub-species which is clarkiiOne is procambarus clarkii Another one procambarus clarkii sp white Thats why cross breed possible with same species But like my dwarf shrimp, if same species cross breed, the result is not nice... Like cherry (neocaridina) cross with yellow (neocaridina) will produce wild cherry with transparent and no color baby... Will see the result of crays... Hope it sucess... Cant wait... Heheh... Me my marmorkrebs always drop her egg... Hrmmm... This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Oct 21 2015, 09:30 AM |
Oct 21 2015, 08:13 AM
Oct 21 2015, 11:03 AM
in the middle of restarting my tank... moving out ghost shrimp as they disturb my crayfish during molting... start from top...
Oct 21 2015, 11:25 PM
Oct 21 2015, 11:26 PM
Oct 21 2015, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(EternalC @ Oct 20 2015, 08:10 AM) Many pet shop here no stock for small shrimp. Any recommendations? Btw, can I add in algae eater to clean my tank? Will they live under pressure since my crayfish might always in hunting mode playing around with them, making them no life at all. Lol |
Oct 21 2015, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Oct 21 2015, 11:27 PM) Many pet shop here no stock for small shrimp. Any recommendations? Btw, can I add in algae eater to clean my tank? Will they live under pressure since my crayfish might always in hunting mode playing around with them, making them no life at all. Lol if amano shrimp then better abit, since they bigger sizeif u put cherry shrimp, then gg lol |
Oct 22 2015, 09:18 AM
Oct 22 2015, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Oct 21 2015, 11:27 PM) Many pet shop here no stock for small shrimp. Any recommendations? Btw, can I add in algae eater to clean my tank? Will they live under pressure since my crayfish might always in hunting mode playing around with them, making them no life at all. Lol I try to use shrimp (feeder) as algae/leftover cleaner, but the posses threat to my crayfish during molting, when the cray still soft, they munch on the cray. Pleco also like that... |
Oct 22 2015, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(chenghc @ Oct 20 2015, 09:51 AM) Hi fren, you may try look for Crayfish Malaysia from FB. they a little bit over priced sinceBeen to their shop before. got many variety of choice. Beside electric blue, you may also consider for the ghost line. It look quite nice to me, the shop owner told me that the color will keep change after every mold. Hope this help u. Penang, 1 pcs RM 20, a pair RM 40 Crayfish Malaysia, a pair RM 80, 1 pcs RM 40 (almost double) I try to find alternative other than crayfish Malaysia, if none, then need to get from them. |
Oct 22 2015, 01:14 PM
Oct 24 2015, 02:49 PM
Oct 24 2015, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Oct 22 2015, 09:20 AM) I try to use shrimp (feeder) as algae/leftover cleaner, but the posses threat to my crayfish during molting, when the cray still soft, they munch on the cray. Pleco also like that... Seriously? such a mini shrimp can possess threat to crayfish which is hundred times of their size during molting. Meanwhile, where to get them in cup of RM1? |
Oct 24 2015, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Oct 24 2015, 02:49 PM) I still think to add in some mini shrimp into the tank to live with the crays. Never thought those mini shrimp can be a threat to 5cm crayfish? no, i'm afraid its the other way roundcrayfish hunting on the mini shrimp on the molting part i'm not sure, just maybe, MAYBE, one is molting and another accidentally bump into it... what happen? lol i think as long got plenty of hiding place, shud be ok |
Oct 24 2015, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(QinKuang @ Oct 24 2015, 02:53 PM) Seriously? such a mini shrimp can possess threat to crayfish which is hundred times of their size during molting. Meanwhile, where to get them in cup of RM1? At first im not believe but 2 of my lovely red swamp ended like that... It is because, during molting (when they out of old exoskeleton) they do it at open space, which is, 10++ ghost shrimp attack them... Thus resulting the fail molt, some leg not properly detached... After some time, i saw ghost shrmps picking the crayfish, yes its still soft...Ghost shrimp unlike others dwarf shrimp... They are violent and eat whatever they can reach... 'Pembangkai'... Its not 1 mug cup... Just small red cup... For me no more ghost shrimp, plus, my cray seem not interested with then since they are fast swimmer.. |
Oct 25 2015, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Oct 24 2015, 05:37 PM) At first im not believe but 2 of my lovely red swamp ended like that... It is because, during molting (when they out of old exoskeleton) they do it at open space, which is, 10++ ghost shrimp attack them... Thus resulting the fail molt, some leg not properly detached... After some time, i saw ghost shrmps picking the crayfish, yes its still soft... Bro, you can feed them canned food like the one in the picture. my mini crayfish and fish like them.Ghost shrimp unlike others dwarf shrimp... They are violent and eat whatever they can reach... 'Pembangkai'... Its not 1 mug cup... Just small red cup... For me no more ghost shrimp, plus, my cray seem not interested with then since they are fast swimmer.. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Oct 26 2015, 01:59 PM
Oct 31 2015, 12:12 PM
Nov 6 2015, 10:21 PM
Feb 18 2016, 02:32 PM
818 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Not Your Business |
seems like crayfish pollute my tank water very fast..
my tank get hairy worm easily.. now I don use canister filter, use HOB easier to clean.. |
Mar 1 2016, 08:18 PM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
anyone can tell me where can i find shop which sell these colourful crayfish nearby sungai long or ss2 area?
Jul 2 2019, 10:45 AM
1,936 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: KL |
Is it necessary to provide oxygen pump for my tank? tank is 3x2x1
| Change to: | 0.4067sec