The Crayfish Thread, spread the passion!

crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:24 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

I had a zebra but it died of sickness... loss of appetite and it slowly died... then 3 australian red claws died from killing off all my fish in the aquarium and suffocating themselves in polluted water.... it happened over night coz my filter and pump died a day before and I couldn't get a new replacement fast... sigh....

I wanna get Purple exotic and orange ones... gonna cost RM30 over each.

In Pudu market.... 3 medium size crayfish only RM10 ehheeh... large ones RM5 or RM8 each... The RM10 for 3 is the same one as 006, same size too.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:31 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:27 PM)
where to get the purple and orange ones? i've never seen them before anywhere..lol. And the large ones u mentioned maximum size only about 6 - 7 inches wat...how much larger can it be? haha
Large means reached full size... about 7 inches... the medium ones are like 5 inches... if I remember correctly... I know crayfish don't grow big, they are just nice for us to have in our aquariums but I heard the maroon can grow quite big.... and it cost Rm110 hahaha....

Pet Safari got lah.... you go and see... left 1 orange only.... I wanna see when got new stock lol....
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:43 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:41 PM)
oh...so sad..1 left only ar...but orange not so cool. Purple sounds cooler! LOLz .. How many pets u have man? Seems like u have everything under the sun
Hahaha... The purple looks real nice... I like the zebra too.... well, I wanna get a zebra and the purple when I got money.... coz now my tank is left to become dusty ahahah...

Now ah? Hm... got about 50 pets.... tongue.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:54 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:47 PM)
There's some zebra ones at the pet family near my house. Cost rm 18 each. How much u bought your previous one?
I bought Rm15.... hmmm... I was at Pet family 2 days ago but I forgot to view the fish part lol.... wasted... how big are they? Mine was quite small... less than 4 inches I think... or was it 3 inches? Can't remember...
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 09:01 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:59 PM)
the one i saw is in pet family KLANG! lolz. 4 inches i guess.
Ohhhh... Klang... lol... so far for me... well, I'm trying to locate for healthy ones... near my home the fish shop sells electric blues for Rm8 each... but the thing is he breeds them himself!!! So amazing.... and his set up so simple, just a 4 ft tank with lots of drift wood and hiding pots, water that is about 6 inches high and an air pump with an air stone.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 09:08 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 09:03 PM)
so simple can be used to breed ar? wow!
Yah... I asked him how and he just told me and showed me his breeding tank.... the breeding crayfish so nice also, reached max adult size too.... and when I went there, can see baby crayfish swimming... so tiny and cute.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 09:25 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 09:13 PM)
breeding quite  tedious i thought....must remove the babies from the mother when they can climb on her back or something...lolz
Hmmm... not sure about that... never read up on breeding hehehe.... but the shops way seems very successful heheeh...
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 6 2006, 04:15 PM

12,047 posts

Aiyoh, crayfish.... max is like have 2 in a 2ft tank... they kill each other coz territorial. Never keep more than 2 in a 2ft tank.... coz they really like living solitary. Keeping a bigger one with a slightly smaller one is also a big NO NO.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 6 2006, 04:23 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(eyerule @ Sep 6 2006, 04:21 PM)
can eat wan ah this crayfish? i see those crayfish in restaurants quite big leh
You sure crayfish? Restaurant normally carry lobsters and tiger prawns... rarely or never crayfish...

They eat sinking fish pellets, algea pellets, dried krill, dead fish, carrots and peas.... they can eat a lot of things.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 6 2006, 04:31 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(eyerule @ Sep 6 2006, 04:27 PM)
aiyo. its crayfish le. stated on the menu, it's definitely crayfish cos i don't think surf and turf using lobster would be around 50bux. hehehe
Wahhhh! Rm50 for crayfish? expensive loh heheheh.... crayfish so cheap to buy and eat. Normally the ones for eating are the Australian Yabbies and the US Red ones.... they cost like RM5 each actually.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 6 2006, 05:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(eyerule @ Sep 6 2006, 05:18 PM)
it's quite big la.... it comes with a steak and veggies a bit. it's about say 8-10 inches lor... including the head and tail. so quite cheap la rm50 got crayfish n steak. cost rm5 but then to rare until that big i think take quite sometime n food for it oso rite
Ohhh... no wonder Rm50 lah... got steak haahha.... But crayfish are cheap to eat, a bit small but they are widely available as food and pets in other countries... my friend said that can get 1 for a few Rm in Singapore... hahaha.... too bad can't get any from there.

Yes, crayfish takes time to grow. Some crayfish love mud hehehe...
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 6 2006, 09:50 PM

12,047 posts

Mine fought... even though I put 2 in the tank... and my tank is about 1.3ft, they fought and tore each other's limbs and pinchers... so now I only limit 1 tank with 1 crayfish if I were to get new ones soon.

Only give live fish when needed. Coz fierce crayfish will kill all the fishes you put in sometimes and then you will have polluted water and it can suffocate. Better give frozen fish. I buy Rm1 of guppies or feeder goldfish and freeze them.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 8 2006, 05:45 PM

12,047 posts

Yah, a large tank needs a filter and an air pump. Coz my crayfish were fine until my filter died... then all my crayfish died... coz they go pollute the water with their uneaten food... well, they are very hardy to keep, easy lah, I think it's good to change the water every few days if there is no filter... well, still experiementing on what's the best way to keep them in.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 9 2006, 12:40 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 9 2006, 11:06 AM)
i just realise my tank also get dirty very easily after i put in the driftwood. My tank only 1ft...water gets yellowish.
yellowish water is the driftwood effect loh.... heheheh.... but you no need to worry coz I think yellowish water is normal when you got driftwood and crayfish likes it.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 13 2006, 02:17 PM

12,047 posts

The common blue and read ones easy to breed... also it is widely available as food in other countries. Well, still make great pets to see and keep.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 14 2006, 07:10 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(funkychips @ Sep 14 2006, 07:06 PM)
no, all are easy breeders and can have any type of water condition to breed, as  long as not too soft or hard.
You are right....

I just think the blue and red people breed more coz easier to get stock... Oh well, I'll never know till i meet a supplier heheheh...
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2006, 01:28 PM

12,047 posts

Har? mix crayfish with crab? Die loh.... crayfish will tear the crab to pieces and eat it.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2006, 03:01 PM

12,047 posts

Isn't in cruel to make them fight? Also, their pinchers is for defending againts predators and also to catch food, not fight. So a crayfish would catch the crab to eat and the crab cannot fight back coz it's not as fast as crayfish.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2006, 03:19 PM

12,047 posts

Yups.... crab is like... I dunno how to say, you see them walk, side ways and slow.... if crayfish, they can shoot away, they got this spring effect from their body, so they can swim fast but mostly backwards. Still, they are faster and their pinchers more painful and powerful than crab. I personally experienced before hahahh...
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 29 2007, 02:08 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 28 2007, 10:30 PM)
got meh ?
which shop ?  hmm.gif

i would like to try keeping them once more in the future  flex.gif
No more liao loh hahah.... that was 1 year ago.

0.0233sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:21 PM