The Crayfish Thread, spread the passion!

jess7
post Sep 20 2012, 02:43 AM

155 posts

hey there crayfish peeps!

i just started out this as a hobby and also to make my tank pretty
to all sifus out there, i salute you notworthy.gif

this is my tank of 30cm (L) x 22cm (H) x 20cm (W)
consisting of some plants and my family of marimos
used ADA amazonian soil and 4w submersible filter

then my older sister decided to colour my tank with an orange reddish 2inch dwarf crayfish, which i named Ebi

a very shy Ebi

a close up picture of him/her ( i have not been successful in sexing my little Ebi, yet)

just a week ago, i thought it was suffocating at the bottom of the tank, wriggling around...
turns out, to my relief, it was molting rclxm9.gif
then it buffet on its own shell and retreat back to its driftwood home

now Ebi is doing fine and i am deciding to get it a new partner to make some mini Ebis laugh.gif
thing is, i do not know how to sex it and it is very difficult for me to catch it
so maybe i just get a female to be on the safe side
or any word of advice?

furthermore, Ebi has this huge appetite and it has started eating my water plants even though i have fed it twice a day rclxub.gif
lucky me, Ebi does not munch on my marimo family...
jess7
post Oct 3 2012, 04:10 PM

155 posts

my little ebi's 3rd molt in less than a month! rclxm9.gif

wanna ask all crayfish experts out there, is this normal?
and now i'm not really sure if i own a CPO...
cos when my sis bought it for me, it says neon orange lobster on the tank rclxub.gif
and it is growing really fast!

Added on October 4, 2012, 9:42 pmalright confirm ady...
i own a female neon red lobster...
it jz molt again and
this is it's 3rd time in less than a month

anyone know whr i can get a male companion for it?

Added on October 15, 2012, 10:56 pmso i finally got myself a male crayfish to mate with my female one biggrin.gif
got him from nilufar pet shop at scott garden, old klang road.
male size 1.5inch, female grew to 2.5inch! rclxub.gif
crossing fingers to see some berries soon smile.gif

anyways,
i saw tt they were also selling snow white crayfishes drool.gif
anyone keeping them?
looks like this:

and this:

This post has been edited by jess7: Oct 15 2012, 10:56 PM
jess7
post Jan 30 2013, 03:58 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(hdd-corrupted @ Jan 30 2013, 03:07 PM)
hi all. i how to differentiate the sex of the crayfish?
http://iz.carnegiemnh.org/crayfish/phpbb3/...c.php?f=2&t=300

usually by googling the image many will pop up!
all the best!
jess7
post Jan 30 2013, 04:16 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(hdd-corrupted @ Jan 30 2013, 04:05 PM)
thanks. u keep crayfish too?
yeah!!!
until a week ago it decided to be more adventurous
and climbed out of its tank!
so far the premium food i've been feeding it seems not good enough for it, i guess sad.gif
jess7
post Feb 5 2013, 12:09 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(shark1006 @ Feb 4 2013, 10:22 PM)
thanks for the info...time to get female for him..
any suggestion where to get it?
coz most LFS dont know how to id the sex..
i got my female from Nilufar (http://nilufar.com.my/)
during tt time most of them were females...
and when i gotten my male, 2 weeks later she ate him up! cry.gif
jess7
post Jul 1 2013, 03:26 PM

155 posts

hi all, my friend is giving up her 7inch crayfish as she has too many pets to care for, therefore i'm currently helping er to house it awhile till someone wants to adopt it.
free for adoption, make sure bring pail for transportation, hopefully can find crayfish keeper as well.
anyone interested, pls pm me!

http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-52/...-1372506010.jpg

0.0282sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:09 AM