Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V10, ask options here

Lego Warfare
post Mar 26 2015, 03:06 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Mar 26 2015, 01:27 PM)
- Your rig - mostly be using for my phone, may use to desktop as well
- What type of usage - music, gaming and maybe movies. Will use for exercise (jogging) too
- File format used in your source - I'm not sure myself
- Genre of music you listen to - a mix of all, but not much of a country music though
- Headphone/ earphone type - earphone
- Other requirements - will be using underneath a helmet, as I am riding to my workplace. also be use for navigation

I'm looking at either Jaybird Bluebuds X and Klipsch S4 Rugged. Used to own S4 Rugged, one of the best earphone I had. It was decommissioned too early due to an accident. I'm open to any suggestions though biggrin.gif
Aurisonic Rockets
Puteih
post Mar 26 2015, 06:06 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Mar 26 2015, 03:06 PM)
Aurisonic Rockets
whoa that's twice more expensive that jaybird. I'm looking at S4i price range, and Bluebuds would be the max I would spend. I'm not that audiophile, just that if the sounds are good, then it's good enough for me
syabilng
post Mar 26 2015, 10:45 PM

904 posts

Hi, guys. Just started dipping my feet in the water. I did quite a bit of research and just figured I'd ask here, too. (Heard the community is great!)

Your rig: PC, ASUS Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
What type of usage: Music, Gaming, Music (In that order)
File format used in your source: FLAC (24-bit or lower), MP3
Genre of music you listen to: Metal, Rock, Ambient, Post-Rock, Chillstep Mixes, some dubsteps with vocals. (e.g. Avenged Sevenfold, Linkin Park, Asking Alexandria, Moby, One OK Rock, etc.)
Headphone/ earphone type: Open Back Over-Ear Headphone without microphone (if there's any that comes with)
Budget: RM500 - RM1000 (or 1.1k at most) but trying to squeeze the quality-price ratio.

Currently, I own a Sennheiser G4ME ZERO and looking to sell it since I don't game that much now. I also don't need the pull down mic from the headset since my brother just got a Blue Yeti USB microphone. I am sure there are other headphones out there currently that offers better sound quality, that's within my budget, for the set of priorities listed.

Was eyeing on the new Sennheiser Momentum (Not the old one) but not sure if it's a good choice for its price. Not even sure if it's an on-ear or over-ear headphone. Did a read on how magnificent both Beyer Dynamic DT 770 PRO and the Beyer Dynamic DT 990 PRO are! Whilst the Sennheiser HD 598 looks really gorgeous, I need to know if it's worth it and also for the Sennheiser HD 558. I know some of them are closed back but yea...

These are but a list to get me started, feel free to recommend something else.

This post has been edited by syabilng: Mar 26 2015, 11:42 PM
Chyan
post Mar 27 2015, 02:04 PM

4,222 posts

Your rig: Laptop, Dell Inspiron 14r, Android Phone
What type of usage: Music, Movies, live performance
File format used in your source: MP3 320kbps, AAC-iTunes 168Kbps
Genre of music you listen to: Pop, Jazz, electropop, r&b

Headphone/ earphone type: Negative profile IEMs.
Budget: 180-290MYR

My SE215 broke. The cable got loose inside. Tried to solder it but in the end the original point gave way. Sigh. So I was wondering should I;

Stick to SE215 (2nd hand) or get the Ostry KC06(A). Are they similar to SE215? I dislike sharp/bright trebles. More to midrange and tight bass kind. Suitable? Or is there any other brand/model? Havi B3? AT IM series?

Appreciate your responses. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Chyan: Mar 27 2015, 07:21 PM
H3LLKEEPER
post Mar 29 2015, 03:32 PM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Mar 26 2015, 09:45 PM)
Hi, guys. Just started dipping my feet in the water. I did quite a bit of research and just figured I'd ask here, too. (Heard the community is great!)

Your rig: PC, ASUS Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
What type of usage: Music, Gaming, Music (In that order)
File format used in your source: FLAC (24-bit or lower), MP3
Genre of music you listen to: Metal, Rock, Ambient, Post-Rock, Chillstep Mixes, some dubsteps with vocals. (e.g. Avenged Sevenfold, Linkin Park, Asking Alexandria, Moby, One OK Rock,  etc.)
Headphone/ earphone type: Open Back Over-Ear Headphone without microphone (if there's any that comes with)
Budget: RM500 - RM1000 (or 1.1k at most) but trying to squeeze the quality-price ratio.

Currently, I own a Sennheiser G4ME ZERO and looking to sell it since I don't game that much now. I also don't need the pull down mic from the headset since my brother just got a Blue Yeti USB microphone. I am sure there are other headphones out there currently that offers better sound quality, that's within my budget, for the set of priorities listed.

Was eyeing on the new Sennheiser Momentum (Not the old one) but not sure if it's a good choice for its price. Not even sure if it's an on-ear or over-ear headphone. Did a read on how magnificent both Beyer Dynamic DT 770 PRO and the Beyer Dynamic DT 990 PRO are! Whilst the Sennheiser HD 598 looks really gorgeous, I need to know if it's worth it and also for the Sennheiser HD 558. I know some of them are closed back but yea...

These are but a list to get me started, feel free to recommend something else.
For your music genre try look for vmoda m100, otherwise dt770 have a good reputation for their bass too
th8
post Mar 30 2015, 12:23 AM

57 posts

Dear All,
I never owned a headphone before so any advice/sharing is appreciated from fellow frens here.

Your rig: Toshiba Satelite laptop
What type of usage: Music
File format used in your source: MP3 (downloaded form youtube)
Genre of music you listen to: Everything
Headphone/ earphone type: Closed-Back Headphone
Budget: RM200 - RM300

Been eyeing for a JVC HA-S500 so I am wondering if this unit can be easily driven with my laptop? There are so much good reviews about this headphone unit. I have a Yamaha AV amp that I can use too to amplified the signal. My question is are there any other headphones that has better compatibility with my setup or they are all the same for the budget that I have. Appreciate any advice or recommendations....thanks, TH.
penmarker
post Mar 30 2015, 08:03 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(th8 @ Mar 30 2015, 12:23 AM)
Dear All,
I never owned a headphone before so any advice/sharing is appreciated from fellow frens here.

Your rig: Toshiba Satelite laptop
What type of usage: Music
File format used in your source: MP3 (downloaded form youtube)
Genre of music you listen to: Everything
Headphone/ earphone type: Closed-Back Headphone
Budget: RM200 - RM300

Been eyeing for a JVC HA-S500 so I am wondering if this unit can be easily driven with my laptop? There are so much good reviews about this headphone unit. I have a Yamaha AV amp that I can use too to amplified the signal. My question is are there any other headphones that has better compatibility with my setup or they are all the same for the budget that I have. Appreciate any advice or recommendations....thanks, TH.

For the price, there's not a lot that can compete with the sensitivity and resolution of the JVC HA-S500. They're very easy to drive. I have one and I cannot hear much difference with/without an amp. Also they're tough to me, I throw them in my bag, use on the go, throw on the table, it still holds well.

th8
post Mar 30 2015, 10:34 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Mar 30 2015, 08:03 PM)
For the price, there's not a lot that can compete with the sensitivity and resolution of the JVC HA-S500. They're very easy to drive. I have one and I cannot hear much difference with/without an amp. Also they're tough to me, I throw them in my bag, use on the go, throw on the table, it still holds well.
Thanks penmarker. I saw you had the S500 photo as your avatar in the head-fi smile.gif Been reading the S500 Appreciation thread which runs to 500+ pages (still reading!). I guess when you have a tight budget you can't expect to get perfect headphone; you win some, you lose some!
I'll keep my options open for now and continue getting some "poison" first from the thread.
Cheers! TH.
penmarker
post Mar 30 2015, 11:14 PM

2,017 posts

Thanks a lot, and sorry for your wallet! laugh.gif
bobboy
post Mar 31 2015, 12:52 PM

210 posts

who here budget below rm100..

u guys can try EDIFIER H850..

RM99.. price before gst.(some shop already include so rm1xx) i just bought it.. what i can say is.. it's really comfortable and the sound is good..

can read many reviews on it.. just google..

Nub!
post Mar 31 2015, 04:39 PM

478 posts

Guys, I'm looking for an in-ear. Mostly on htc m8 and my ipod nano.
Listening to rock/pop and lost of edm. Budget around 600.

Please recommend me one. Thanks.
mothangel
post Mar 31 2015, 06:17 PM

139 posts

soundmagic e10 or beyerdynamic xp 2/3? or any recommendations? biggrin.gif

i have a m50x but too leceh so decided to get a in ear

This post has been edited by mothangel: Mar 31 2015, 06:20 PM
mxsteven
post Mar 31 2015, 11:26 PM

58 posts

Previously I was using Avantree Audition wireless bluetooth headphone and the sound is great for the price of RM160 which I bought in Lelong.my however the fitting is kinda small for my big head and now I am looking for something better! I was looking for something bassy and clarity... my budget was around RM1000 and hopefully able to fish some goodies, I dont mind paying up to rm2000 if the sound is soooo so good that can make me ehemmmm ....

Any recommendation is welcome... BTW the Avantree audition specs are here ;

http://www.avantree.com/product-bluetooth-...-affp-1001.html
th8
post Apr 1 2015, 08:36 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Mar 30 2015, 11:14 PM)
Thanks a lot, and sorry for your wallet! laugh.gif
thumbup.gif came to know about HA-S680 from the thread; seems pretty impressive. interested to know the price if anyone is bringing them in. I hope I'm not going to burn a big hole on my wallet at the end smile.gif
XloveE
post Apr 1 2015, 02:21 PM

48 posts

- Your rig = Gaming rig, laptop (both use motherboard sound cards)
- Usage = gaming, movie, music
- File format = flac, mp3
- Genre of music = mixed
- Headphone/ earphone type = full size closed headphone
- Other requirements = microphone for game chat
- Budget = RM250 max
icon_question.gif
doraemon2629
post Apr 2 2015, 01:38 PM

38 posts

Hi All Sifu :

Your rig = iphone
- Usage = movie, music
- Genre of music = mixed
- Other requirements = nil
- Budget = RM600 max

thinking of 2 models below :

1) Audio technica M50x
2) Shure SRH 750

which one will be recommend for above or any other better recommedation ?

rclxms.gif
Jabberwocky
post Apr 2 2015, 02:37 PM

122 posts

Your rig: Macbook Pro, iPhone 5, iPad Mini 2
What type of usage: Work, Commute
File format used in your source: Ogg Vorbis by Spotify
Genre of music you listen to: Jazz(50% of the time), Classical(30% of the time), Soft Rock like Coldplay (20%)
Headphone/ earphone type: Comfortable over the head Headphone
Budget: RM500-RM1,000

Help help sifus!
H3LLKEEPER
post Apr 2 2015, 09:56 PM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

QUOTE(doraemon2629 @ Apr 2 2015, 12:38 PM)
Hi All Sifu :

Your rig = iphone
- Usage =  movie, music
- Genre of music = mixed
- Other requirements = nil
- Budget = RM600 max
thinking of 2 models below :

1) Audio technica M50x
2) Shure SRH 750
which one will be recommend for above or any other better recommedation ?

rclxms.gif
Never heard of the 750. But the m50x is quite a versatile headphone which is suiltable for a wide variety of music genres

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Apr 2 2015, 01:37 PM)
Your rig: Macbook Pro, iPhone 5, iPad Mini 2
What type of usage: Work, Commute
File format used in your source: Ogg Vorbis by Spotify
Genre of music you listen to: Jazz(50% of the time), Classical(30% of the time), Soft Rock like Coldplay (20%)
Headphone/ earphone type: Comfortable over the head Headphone
Budget: RM500-RM1,000
Help help sifus!
Msr7 or the m70x
doraemon2629
post Apr 2 2015, 11:03 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Apr 2 2015, 09:56 PM)
Never heard of the 750. But the m50x is quite a versatile headphone which is suiltable for a wide variety of music genres
Msr7 or the m70x
yes, recent saw some comment on the shure srh 750

saw from Jaben, the price quite equivalent to M50x

actually which is the most important spec that v should look into while choosing it ?
H3LLKEEPER
post Apr 3 2015, 01:16 PM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

QUOTE(doraemon2629 @ Apr 2 2015, 10:03 PM)
yes, recent saw some comment on the shure srh 750

saw from Jaben, the price quite equivalent to M50x

actually which is the most important spec that v should look into while choosing it ?
Audition it
Spec just gonna tell you how efficient the driver is. Nothing else

307 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:30 AM