Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V10, ask options here

penmarker
post Nov 22 2014, 02:36 AM

2,017 posts

I'm not sure if the demo sets I've been listening to are faulty or not (all of them sound the same), but the Beyer XP series sound like garbage. If that's how they actually sound I think its a sin to keep recommending the XP series to people. I had a VSonic VSD3S and they sound a lot better.

**edit
Sorry VagueConcerns , didn't mean to attack your suggestion there, I just think the XP Series sound really bad, and my girlfriend says the same thing. All three of the models, XP1, 2, 3, they all sound bad. and people shouldn't spend anywhere over RM50 for that kind of sound.

This post has been edited by penmarker: Nov 22 2014, 02:39 AM
penmarker
post Feb 8 2015, 10:31 PM

2,017 posts

Never trust anything described as OEM, even if it's sold by your family members. It's for your own good.
penmarker
post Feb 20 2015, 01:10 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Feb 19 2015, 12:00 PM)
but but... that one really expensive wei

im just a student

Vsonic VSD3S is much better than the Shure SE215. Its also cheaper. Check the garage sales thread.

penmarker
post Mar 30 2015, 08:03 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(th8 @ Mar 30 2015, 12:23 AM)
Dear All,
I never owned a headphone before so any advice/sharing is appreciated from fellow frens here.

Your rig: Toshiba Satelite laptop
What type of usage: Music
File format used in your source: MP3 (downloaded form youtube)
Genre of music you listen to: Everything
Headphone/ earphone type: Closed-Back Headphone
Budget: RM200 - RM300

Been eyeing for a JVC HA-S500 so I am wondering if this unit can be easily driven with my laptop? There are so much good reviews about this headphone unit. I have a Yamaha AV amp that I can use too to amplified the signal. My question is are there any other headphones that has better compatibility with my setup or they are all the same for the budget that I have. Appreciate any advice or recommendations....thanks, TH.

For the price, there's not a lot that can compete with the sensitivity and resolution of the JVC HA-S500. They're very easy to drive. I have one and I cannot hear much difference with/without an amp. Also they're tough to me, I throw them in my bag, use on the go, throw on the table, it still holds well.

penmarker
post Mar 30 2015, 11:14 PM

2,017 posts

Thanks a lot, and sorry for your wallet! laugh.gif
penmarker
post Jun 14 2015, 12:01 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(jeushyun @ Jun 13 2015, 01:24 PM)
[CODE] I went to jaben yesterday and ask the salesperson which is the best for me and stated my budget. He recommended me Ath-im50 and then I bought it.The earpieces very comfortable and the audio quality is still better than any earbud I bought till now.But the price burn a hole in my pocket 😂

This VS Beyer XP2 like sky and ground. I dont know how Beyerdynamic can produce something great like the T1 but at the same time a turd like the XP series.

penmarker
post Aug 31 2015, 01:58 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(fern3661 @ Aug 30 2015, 11:40 PM)
need some help. Anybody knows any bluetooth headset which pairs well with laptop?

I have a bluedio bluetooth headphone, which is great when paired with tablets or phones. BUT, audio drops by half when paired with my laptop. help !

Before changing headphones, check first the volume level on both Windows and music player (itunes/foobar/windows media player/spotify/etc). Maybe one of them reduced when you chose to pair with headphones.

penmarker
post Mar 22 2017, 10:34 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(clement7621 @ Mar 19 2017, 02:58 PM)
I would like to purchase a wireless earphone for sports under rm100 , any recommendations ?
For RM135 got Xiaomi bluetooth sports headset. Can find the listing in Garage Sales Section. Any less than that I'm afraid I cannot recommend. Material and built quality will be very bad and you'll need to replace very soon.
penmarker
post Jun 19 2017, 01:49 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(King12gg @ Jun 19 2017, 11:54 AM)
Hi headphone expert, help me choose a good headphone.
Budget Rm200 Max. If there are any under rm150 or rm100 good one, i will gladly take it lol.
For gaming, stereo and open back.
I dont need a gaming headset with mic and 5.1, 7.1 surround.
Thanks. smile.gif
Got Goldring DR150 used for about that price. I recommend if got a headphone amp or good quality soundcard.
penmarker
post Dec 19 2017, 10:14 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(zulfadliwahab @ Dec 19 2017, 09:01 AM)
Hi, is it worth it to buy this from Massdrop ----> CLICK HERE
as it say same as Sennheiser  HD 650.
One of Our All-Time Best Sellers
If you know audio gear, you know the Sennheiser HD 650. The company’s flagship from 2003 to 2009, this open-back headphone has shown serious staying power. Praised for its richly detailed, effortlessly enjoyable sound, it remains one of the most talked-about products on Head-Fi today—and is still widely considered among the best headphones under $1,000. So when we teamed up with Sennheiser on its first-ever community-driven design partnership, the HD 650 was a natural place to start. A new revision of the popular all-rounder, the Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX has that same great sound plus a few updates, and a price that makes it even easier to love. More than 30,000 members have picked it up to date.

Classic Sennheiser Sound

Good news for fans of the HD 650: In this revision, the driver structure and sound signature haven’t changed a bit. You’ll get the same smooth, laid-back presentation, with a balanced midrange and natural-sounding bass. The HD 650 is considered more refined and better damped than its predecessor, the HD 600, with less energy in the upper midrange (which some listeners may find less fatiguing) and an overall balance that’s a bit warmer and bassier. Its neutral response provides a pleasant listening experience with any musical genre from a range of sources. Plus, it responds well to improved sources and amplification, and headphone amplifiers of any output impedance could potentially make a good match.

The link doesn't seem to work for me, but from the URL its the HD6XX?
Yes its worth the money to get it. The responses ranges from "It sounds exactly like the HD650." to "It sounds different compared to the HD650 but its good."
However there will be shipping charges and taxes etc, personally I'd get a HD650 locally.
penmarker
post Apr 3 2018, 12:40 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(adamchen @ Apr 3 2018, 12:09 PM)
May I know izzit all bluetooth headphone (Gaming or any) will have delay on any devices?
Expect 'some' delay due to the conversion processes. However you can try reading this thread for more info
https://gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/...ient-for-gaming
penmarker
post Jun 25 2018, 10:33 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jun 25 2018, 10:12 AM)
Your rig : PC, iPhone, Tablet, PS4
- What type of usage: Music listening, watching YouTube, Netflix and playing PS4
- File format used in your source: FLAC and MP3
- Genre of music you listen to: Classic rock, pop, indie, jazz, classical and instrumental
- Headphone/ earphone type: Headphone
- Budget: Hopefully below 1k

I am eyeing on the Ath m50x but it doesn’t have Bluetooth capabilities. Any Bluetooth headphones to recommend that have the same quality of sound as ath m50x??
https://trade-up.jaben.com.my/
penmarker
post Jun 25 2018, 01:53 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jun 25 2018, 10:57 AM)
So you are on recommending me the Sony mdr??

Any other options?? And what is the quality of sounds like if I use a Bluetooth adapter for the ath m50x? Available in Malaysia??
I've seen some Bluetooth adapters designed for M50x but only through Amazon or eBay. I haven't seen one sold locally. But the sound quality will be dependent on the Bluetooth adapter. Some sound better than others, some sound worse. I generally don't recommend BT adapters.

Sound quality wise the M50x will sound better than the Sony, but as BT headphones however the Sony is superior. They have proper noise canceling, mic for phone calls, and various presets through its companion app.
penmarker
post Nov 18 2019, 11:36 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nazanto @ Nov 18 2019, 10:36 AM)
does Audio Technica ATH-M40x worth it for casual music listening in office? spotify / deezer etc?
i have m50x at home but just wanna get a slightly cheaper option for office use.
I'd recommend this wholeheartedly
https://www.ebay.com.my/itm/174092633924
penmarker
post Jun 23 2020, 06:24 PM

2,017 posts

Samsung Gear Icon X has built in 4gb memory to store music so you can play saved music. When you're near your phone you can continue streaming whatever you play on the phone.

They have no water resistance rating though so sweat could get in.
penmarker
post Jun 29 2020, 02:14 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(raemon @ Jun 29 2020, 12:15 PM)
What would be a good replacement ear pads for Hifiman?
Dekoni makes good replacement earpads with genuine lambskin. I got one for my Final Audio Pandora Hope VI and its very comfortable.
penmarker
post Jun 29 2020, 03:08 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(raemon @ Jun 29 2020, 02:19 PM)
They are kinda pricey right? Bought locally?
I bought them from the website. I don't think got local sellers.
penmarker
post Jul 8 2020, 06:42 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Jerrylum88 @ Jul 8 2020, 05:49 PM)
focal too expensive, unable to get them for just 2k. Any other suggestions? Im looking for something to pair it with M11 pro, not decide to get an desktop amp due to portability issue.

Guess i have to arrange for an audition. i was trying to narrow down the options with my budget.
It feels a little awkward to suggest a full sized pair of headphones straight out of a DAP so instead I'd recommend IEMs. They're great for portability, isolate well, and at similar price points can sound better.
Try the Oriolus Finschi at E1 Personal Audio, they cost just below 1k.
penmarker
post Feb 23 2021, 03:29 PM

2,017 posts

Haven't came across fake Philips headphones yet, but if you're worried you can get from BH Photo Video.
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1569...headphones.html
penmarker
post Nov 2 2021, 12:07 PM

2,017 posts

Hifiman headphones has some AliExpress/Lazada/Shopee china product quality. It's very dissatisfying. These aren't cheap headphones either.

0.1488sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:48 PM