QUOTE(magika @ Nov 12 2014, 09:54 AM)
You have to ask them. They issue out diff cards. Co-op card is one of them.RENTAS only for corporate/company account for BR.
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2
Nov 12 2014, 09:59 AM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Nov 12 2014, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(diablo2 @ Nov 12 2014, 11:56 AM) Bro Magika, when you uplift FD, BR can transfer the funds via GIRO to any other bank account of your choice and the cost is only RM0.30. If you do it in the morning, the funds will be credited to yr nominated account that same evening. So mebbe a good idea to open the RHB Basic Savings Account first and provide them with the account number when u uplift the FD. Today just uplift one FD from BR, they still charge me RM2 for IBG. QUOTE(magika @ Nov 12 2014, 04:00 PM) Oops, just remember why I dont want use it this way. IBG after 9.31am receipient bank supposed to received by 5.45pm. This means when we issued cheque for FD placement, our Current Account does not actually have the funds yet. We are assuming that there is no problem in the IBG process. Normally there would not be any problems, but thats not how i operate. I dont assume anything. Thanks anyway. This is one of the reason I am not happy with BR. Unless you have OD to cover the cheque, you risk getting into problem by issuing cheque for another FD (on the same day). Yes, we can go early as BR opens by 9am. But normally I don't go so early to banks. Prefer to get banker's cheque and then immediately go to another bank to place FD. Now for those that I uplift from BR, have to wait until next day to place another FD. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 12 2014, 04:46 PM |
Nov 12 2014, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 12 2014, 06:04 PM) Hmm, so with BR no longer issuing banker's cheque, we need to be able to tell the counter the account no for IBG. I better remember this else I'll go crazy if I need to go to BR again to settle. Even if we can pay for the banker's cheque, they are not going to issue it? They said BNM instruction to them that they cannot issue banker's cheque. Not issue of us paying for it. The charge for IBG is RM2, close to banker's cheque fee for most banks I think. |
Nov 12 2014, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 12 2014, 01:33 PM) Yes, same day and paper confirming FD placement issued on the spot. So now you are auto-renewing your FD for a month. After u are back from Australia will then do the FD musical chair thingy. To ALL: I just published another article titled A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That Vol.1 Chapter VI where one of the subject is about me going overseas and as such can't use funds from the maturing FD to go place with another FD Promo. And another subject specifically targeted to those of you who have attained "Chiak Bui Liow" status. gsc has said that I can still chase after FD Promo by giving instruction to the bank to have the mature FD Principal plus interest to be credited into my current account. And at the same time, I write a cheque to the other bank instructing them to place the fund into a FD Promo on a specific date. But, unfortunately, I don't have a current account with the bank my FD which is maturing. Anyway, in my article, I mentioned that from now on I shall instruct all my new FDs to be auto renewed for one month instead of previously for same tenure. Just finished reading your blog. "Chiak Pa Tan Si", interesting ! Key phrase: Why work to make other people rich Spending children's inheritance This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 12 2014, 06:28 PM |
Nov 12 2014, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 12 2014, 07:43 PM) Ah Boom Sir, no more nego rate as I mentioned about a month ago. Since they changed to 12 mth 4.1% they said no more nego rate. But I did not talk to their BM on this. Now that branch total change of personnel, not likely previously, the ABM & BM are more approachable. QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 12 2014, 07:43 PM) I think you need to request BR to pay you up-front interest (instead of monthly interest) as posted by leo_kiatez.. Is that only applicable to new FD and not for auto renewed FD ? My FD was auto renewed and today asked them to print me a new FD cert 4 days after maturity date. Remember that was the one that pay interest on 1st of the month ? Thanks for the info.. So this should be called "The Return of BR"... This time BR comes back to hit the FD market with a tornado.. Just offers up-front interest strategy then "Gao Dim".. Really steady..!! |
Nov 12 2014, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 12 2014, 07:55 PM) bbgoat I remember last time BR did not charge me for IBG. Initially I thought I was cheated by lenglui. Paid her RM2 by cash. Over the counter supposed to be RM0.30 only, free for senior citizen and OKU. So, it may yet be another inconsistency in BR operation. magika when you go there again, can you ask them about nego rate ? You are our savior/fighter for our rights ! This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 12 2014, 08:16 PM |
Nov 12 2014, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 12 2014, 08:21 PM) IBG charges are stated on their website, print how much also nevermind as you rich tauge Oh boy, going to hantam someone on this. I just went this morning and the ABM said no more nego rate, nevermind also as not really intend to renew. As long as other banks got competive promo then ok if not go back BR. 'Where there is shade we shall sit' no need loyalty So you also got the same answer, no more nego rate. |
Nov 13 2014, 07:09 AM
QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Nov 13 2014, 01:02 AM) Attached is the fees & rates BR published online at their website. Should be rm0.30. You can use this info to fight back.. Hehe Thanks ! Below is the link : https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/ban...Yuran%2BCaj.pdf Going to call them and complain the charges. Now I remember the previous one, they did charge me RM0.30 for the IBG. But yesterday RM2. All these were shown on the IBG copy that was given to me. The pdf even showed RENTAS for individu at RM5. Yet the counter staff said not for individu. Anyway, will pull out more from BR early next year. Only thing is their monthly interest payment which is good. The 12 mth 4.1% not that attractive after recent spate of promo from other banks. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 13 2014, 07:12 AM |
Nov 13 2014, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 12 2014, 11:39 PM) My BR FD will mature on 6 Dec (Saturday), but the maturity date is printed as 8 Dec (Monday) under Tarikh Matang on The new cert that I got from BR yesterday also the same, the maturing date added in 1 more day presumably changing to Monday instead of Sunday. Then they added 1 more day interest in the cert. Comparing with SCB, BR gain extra point in this area. my FD cert. QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Nov 13 2014, 09:08 AM) Should be standardized for all branches, however does it applicable to tenure 12 months and above as well? If applicable to 12 months tenure as well, the effective rate could be up to 4.27%pa (if manage to redeposit the upfront interest). The auto renew 12 mth FD that I got new cert from them did not get the upfront interest. A new FD sifu. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 13 2014, 09:25 AM |
Nov 13 2014, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 13 2014, 11:21 AM) yup rhb win hands down. boss, can i suggest a list of banks that adj maturity to next working day & those who don't on your 1st post? afaik the good guys are br & uob. not so good guys mbb, ambank, rhb not so good guys mbb, ambank, rhb, scbhope others can confirm with their respective banks for this list ... in the spirit of maximisingreturn the ultra kiasu way |
Nov 13 2014, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 12 2014, 08:16 PM) Initially I thought I was cheated by lenglui. Paid her RM2 by cash. Then checked the IBG sheet, clearly printed RM2 added in there. So, it may yet be another inconsistency in BR operation. QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 12 2014, 08:28 PM) Oh boy, going to hantam someone on this. Ladies & Gentlemen, called BR just now:1. IBG RM0.30 promotion is over, RM2 from now onwards 2. The upfront interest promo is for FD of 6 mths only. But I did not ask if it is 1 to 6 mths or just 6 mths FD. 3. RENTAS can be done for individual also but they have to use another system of theirs which is "remitting". So maybe earlier when I asked about RENTAS the staff do not want to use the other system ? So my the other 12mth FD not eligible for upfront interest. QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 03:59 PM) Thanks for calculating the effective rate.. really steady.. So SCB service NG ?More than a month ago, I requested SCB to change my Instruction 1 to 3 just by signing a request form. SCB said this whole process would take about a month to complete. Then one month later, I went to SCB and I was hoping that to get a new FD cert with Instruction 3 printed on it, but when I arrived there, the FD cert was not updated, SCB promised would do it in 2 days time. 2 days later, I called the SCB leng lui to make sure if the new FD cert can be picked-up or not, she did not answer to my phone, then sms her also no reply. Then I went to the SCB on the same day to find out the answer. When I reached SCB, SCB still has not updated my FD to Instruction 3, I was quite mad and I requested to see the branch manager. Branch manager came out with blue dress suit, he promised this could be done within 2 days. I said I gave him one week to do it. So let's see if I can get it next week or not... Captain.. what is AWOL..? What proposal..? Our Captain (or General-X) is AWOL absent without leave. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 13 2014, 04:20 PM |
Nov 13 2014, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 13 2014, 05:14 PM) A few banks also posted the same info in their website or when we do IBG. General-X has posted similar info (minus ATM ?) quite some months ago. QUOTE(magika @ Nov 13 2014, 05:49 PM) Have tried some search before. Not able to find any such info. They only guarantee same day but I believe also must be before 12.30pm. It was meant for high amt and guaranteed to be same day before 12.30pm, if my memory serve me right. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 13 2014, 07:31 PM |
Nov 13 2014, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 13 2014, 07:56 PM) That we also heard but need confirmation from those using it before. Google it but there is just cutoff time for same day transfer. I did it once from UOB to CB last year. My experience is it is not immediate, still hrs later, the same day. Maybe others can share their experience.Maybe previously IBG (giro) needs longer time frame but now IBG is also same day transfer with respect to cutoff times. So wonder whether it is still relevant for normal customers. Maybe our bro cherroy can shed some light. cherroy can tell us more. |
Nov 14 2014, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 11:14 PM) Let's start from here now, will post it on front page... Ah Boom Sir, remember SCB NOT paying interest for non-working day ? Banks that pay interest for non-working days OCBC Bank Rakyat UOB Banks that do not pay interest for non-working days May Bank Ambank RHB QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 11:14 PM) Ya loh, they know their 6 mth rate is not competitive. QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2014, 08:13 AM) Yes, there is cut off before about noon time to enable Rentas to credit in the same time based on experience. When RENTAS was created, it was meant for large sum of money xfer and guaranteed within same day before cut off time (12.30pm ?). Years later this has changed. IBG xfer limit probably has changed to a much bigger sum. But now, IBG if done early in the morning, late afternoon already credit into the account already. Just IBG has max limit of 10~20K generally, so if bigger amount still has to do with Rentas. Correct me if I am wrong or slow in update the info. When I did RENTAS in UOB last year, the staff still say have to do before cut-off time, if not cannot guarantee within same day. I guess difference between RENTAS and IBG is the word "guarantee". But so far, my experience with IBG online is they are received per time shown on the table (diff cut-off time). As I used CB as receiver bank most of the time, I will be informed when fund appear in my acct by SMS. That is how I double check the time of receipt though there are slight delays in the SMS This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 08:51 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 14 2014, 10:00 AM) hahaha, you point out the "Key Phrases" for me, over time I can do an Index. What dirty words you talking about? It's part of the human anatomy! hahaha Hokkien has a lot of interesting phrase which became popular by Taiwanese TV soap's. Of course the human anatomy part not used in the TV shows. QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 14 2014, 10:00 AM) RENTAS also got cut-off time but I don't know what time because I prefer to get bankers cheque. The best just go to the bank in the morning and complete either RENTAS or IBG before 12.30pm, guaranteed money will be credited same day. I also prefer banker's cheque. That time in UOB as was trying to get the promo rate of new fund. So terminate one FD, used cheque for the new FD. As amt is slightly big (exceed my OD limit), just want to make sure cheque clearance not an issue on the same day. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 10:14 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 14 2014, 10:29 AM) Update on RENTAS at Bank Rakyat. You play play again ! Not having the experience of using RENTAS plus lack of info on the net, so decided to perform it on one of my FD upliftment at Bank Rakyat. Staff at the bank rebuffed me on the use of the facilty so left with no choice, i called their customer service, after a bit of my stern lecture, customer service facilitate by arranging with my branch.Was informed cutoff time before 11 am contrary to existing info. Went to the branch, immediately saw unhappy faces at the counter and backoffice. Counter officer informed me that normally only allowed for fund over 300k, that is questionable, but this time i let it be. However , need to write request letter to bank on the spot requesting to RENTAS my fund to receipient bank. No standard form means , maybe, i am the first individual to use that facility. RENTAS is immediate real time transfer. How i know ? Immediately after being handed the transfer statement, i login my receipient bank and available total in full is shown. Summon bbgoat How much it cost ? Nil or RM0.00 , maybe due to FD upliftment or maybe officers afraid I will lodge further complain. So really go all the way out to get RENTAS in BR ! Cut-off time ? BS only. Even IBG before 12.30pm also can reach same day. So you proofed that RENTAS is immediate. But it would depend on the banks computer system to process it, so I would believe the EXACT timing will still depends on bank to bank with "slight" timing difference. My opinion. It cost me last year in UOB RM9 but I guess this year the cost was lowered down to RM5 for some banks. BR scared of u already !! Any other fight for our rights needed? Summon our all MIGHTY magika This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 11:32 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 14 2014, 01:54 PM) Cannot imagine you paiseh ..................... You are something to have called, write-up to get what you wanted. Zero fees for RENTAS ! 2 days ago I did OTC IBG in BR at RM2. So, where did u move the bullets, to RHB again ? This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 02:19 PM |
Nov 14 2014, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 14 2014, 12:23 PM) Did you notice immediate xfer of fund as reported today ? HLB RM14 for RENTAS ! QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 14 2014, 02:15 PM) Off topic a bit Well, I split out my funds across various banks. BR is just a small portion. BR may not be that "competent", but don't we all have problem with diff banks ? It has its good points other than higher interest rate (though not that attractive recently), monthly interest and others which some of us know.From reading the posts by you guys, I feel that Bank Rakyat is really not that competent. U comfortable placing so much $$$ with it? Some of us may not like BR for diff reasons. But we take what we think is legal and right. OF course it comes with risk and insurance by who ? This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 03:10 PM |
Nov 14 2014, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 14 2014, 03:17 PM) Sama sama lah. Need to get more inputs. Trust the Captain ! Have no bullets to put for RHB of 50k. Only rich uncle so free to go to banks to argue and get free RENTAS. Nov/Dec, your month lah. Please tell us more of your conquest. |
Nov 14 2014, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 14 2014, 04:48 PM) Aiyah, I thought you rich guys depositing with BR will highlight one very important point but did not: Cannot be bothered with the 250k limits lah. Unless want to open tons of accounts. Sure Captain/General must have this in mind. Commercial and Foreign Bank with PIDM only up to RM250K per account type of your money is "guaranteed". So very troublesome go open many accounts with same bank and other banks. BR - money guaranteed by the Rakyat, deposit RM100M also secured! This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 05:11 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0586sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:22 AM |