111 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V13

SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 18 2014, 04:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Sep 18 2014, 04:00 PM)
Right, and those Koreans and Vietnamese will say that China is the savior of the region.  rolleyes.gif Pinoys hate the US so much that they're begging for them to reinstate their military bases in their country amirite?  whistling.gif The US is what we call a necessary evil. Nobody likes them much but they're all we have to work with. Russia is a bear with no claws. They can barely even afford to keep their own army up to date let alone start another major war. What's the only real threat to the US hegemony? China, and they don't have any clout on the international stage with any of the industrialized nations outside of the BRIC...
savior or not, they are not the initiators.. well, pinoys dont have a choice, they cant even deal with their own rebels.. necessary evil? or devil in disguise? or hidden cancer?

russia cant keep their army up to date? you must be high on weed... how many countries in the world can take russia on a full blown war? if eu is not united, russia can easily take half of eu easily if there's no intervention...

dont have any clout on the international stage? you must be a bat in some cave... probably been stuck there for the last 30 years
azriel
post Sep 18 2014, 04:51 PM

BHIC’s arm bags €16.96m navy contract

Business TimesBusiness Times – 16 hours ago

KUALA LUMPUR: Boustead Heavy Industries Corp Bhd’s (BHIC) unit, Contraves Advanced Devices Sdn Bhd, received a €16.96 million (RM70.71 million) contract from Boustead Naval Shipyard Sdn Bhd to supply radar electronic support measure systems and related services for the Royal Malaysian Navy. The contract is to design, construct, equip, install, commission, integrate, test and deliver six units of second-generation patrol vessels with littoral combat capabilities. BHIC said its deal will have a positive impact on the earnings in financial year 2014 and thereafter.

source
atreyuangel
post Sep 18 2014, 04:52 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Dreadstar @ Sep 18 2014, 04:38 PM)
Labuan? hmm.gif
the facilities that the wanted is along Kuala Kemaman
including the airport in Kerteh
SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 18 2014, 05:00 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 18 2014, 04:51 PM)
award own company? lol...
zimhibikie
post Sep 18 2014, 05:02 PM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 18 2014, 04:52 PM)
the facilities that the wanted is along Kuala Kemaman
including the airport in Kerteh
so thats why got US soldiers 'training' Tganu? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Piap
post Sep 18 2014, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Sep 18 2014, 04:02 PM)
so thats why got US soldiers 'training' Tganu?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
The come training to become as competent as this guy?

red streak
post Sep 18 2014, 05:21 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

savior or not, they are not the initiators.. well, pinoys dont have a choice, they cant even deal with their own rebels.. necessary evil? or devil in disguise? or hidden cancer?
No, but they're been supporting the aggressors in every one of those conflicts along with the Soviets. The US is the only reliable counterweight to China because India is f***ed up and won't reach superpower status anytime soon. Malaysia's politicians have been playing both sides so far and staying "neutral". It's a smart move for a relatively powerless country. Committing to any one side at this point in the game isn't the best move.

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 18 2014, 04:46 PM)
russia cant keep their army up to date? you must be high on weed... how many countries in the world can take russia on a full blown war? if eu is not united, russia can easily take half of eu easily if there's no intervention...

That's what NATO is for. The EU is outsourcing its defense to the US which is why the defense budgets and militaries of the European nations have been decreasing in size over the years since WWII and the Cold War. Why would you need to spend money on military when your biggest ally is more than ready to back you anytime and has the largest and most advanced military by far? It just doesn't make sense economically. Russia wouldn't be able to make a move on Europe without the US shoving its carrier battle groups down its arse. Putin isn't stupid. Russia's economy can't support a large military conflict. Russia has an economy the size of fricking Italy. It'd collapse from within just like the Soviet Union eventually collapsed if it tried anything. Heck, the minor sanctions that the EU and US have imposed on it have caused major damage to its economy already and it's nowhere near what could happen during a full blown war or escalation of hostilities.

dont have any clout on the international stage? you must be a bat in some cave... probably been stuck there for the last 30 years

Prove me wrong then. Who are their allies and supporters outside of Best Korea? rolleyes.gif Even Russia is in bed with China because they have nowhere else to turn to. They had sell gas to China at massive markdowns in comparison to EU rates because they fear that their gas exports will eventually be sanctioned too. The UN Veto rights? Everyone knows that's a farce. Nothing good ever comes out from that bloated piece of shit organization. Everything either gets vetoed or ignored by the world powers (including Israel) and nobody really gives a f*** what the UN decides to do because it's just a charade.

SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 18 2014, 05:31 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Sep 18 2014, 05:21 PM)
No, but they're been supporting the aggressors in every one of those conflicts along with the Soviets. The US is the only reliable counterweight to China because India is f***ed up and won't reach superpower status anytime soon. Malaysia's politicians have been playing both sides so far and staying "neutral". It's a smart move for a relatively powerless country. Committing to any one side at this point in the game isn't the best move.

That's what NATO is for. The EU is outsourcing its defense to the US which is why the defense budgets and militaries of the European nations have been decreasing in size over the years since WWII and the Cold War. Why would you need to spend money on military when your biggest ally is more than ready to back you anytime and has the largest and most advanced military by far? It just doesn't make sense economically. Russia wouldn't be able to make a move on Europe without the US shoving its carrier battle groups down its arse. Putin isn't stupid. Russia's economy can't support a large military conflict. Russia has an economy the size of fricking Italy. It'd collapse from within just like the Soviet Union eventually collapsed if it tried anything. Heck, the minor sanctions that the EU and US have imposed on it have caused major damage to its economy already and it's nowhere near what could happen during a full blown war or escalation of hostilities.

Prove me wrong then. Who are their allies and supporters outside of Best Korea?  rolleyes.gif Even Russia is in bed with China because they have nowhere else to turn to. They had sell gas to China at massive markdowns in comparison to EU rates because they fear that their gas exports will eventually be sanctioned too. The UN Veto rights? Everyone knows that's a farce. Nothing good ever comes out from that bloated piece of shit organization. Everything either gets vetoed or ignored by the world powers (including Israel) and nobody really gives a f*** what the UN decides to do because it's just a charade.
supporting aggressors? there's always 2 sides to a conflict, both are equally guilty.. and china's involvement is limited to nearing its borders or places where they have stake, US on the other hand... yes, staying neutral and avoiding conflict if can if not negotiate.. not go jilat d other side

well, if you put it that way, everyone can claim they are with US and they dont need any military.. it is always easy to hope for the best, but in the end of the day... you can only depend on yourself when desperate situation comes

all SCO countries, majority of african countries... countries in latin america, now even eu countries are friends with china.. massive markdown? cause china is paying for the pipeline and it is a long term contract.. if china dont buy it, it would be left in the ground with no demand..
Piap
post Sep 18 2014, 05:35 PM

P-8 Pusaidon

http://instagram.com/p/mue_l5CQ9O/
zimhibikie
post Sep 18 2014, 05:38 PM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Sep 18 2014, 05:17 PM)
Anybody thought of leasing base to us?? That way china wont see us as enemy and we get some xtra fund for procurement oso
leasing? China would still see a US military base there, leasing or not
atreyuangel
post Sep 18 2014, 05:45 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Sep 18 2014, 05:02 PM)
so thats why got US soldiers 'training' Tganu?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
haha at one point in the early 90s they even offered 1mil per day leasing at Ganu

thpace
post Sep 18 2014, 05:46 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

Suddenly so active this threaf when US want to park their p8 here.
atreyuangel
post Sep 18 2014, 05:48 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 18 2014, 05:46 PM)
to think that they actually park the orion long ago
tak bising pun tongue.gif
thpace
post Sep 18 2014, 05:49 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 18 2014, 05:45 PM)
haha at one point in the early 90s they even offered 1mil per day leasing at Ganu
Not bad.. free 1 million every day.

waja2000
post Sep 18 2014, 05:51 PM

137 posts

simple loh, we buy P8 mpa, than share some info with US ...

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 18 2014, 06:10 PM
thpace
post Sep 18 2014, 05:56 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 18 2014, 05:48 PM)
to think that they actually park the orion  long ago
tak bising pun  :P
Well, we have long accepted when us military planes if they want to land at our airport. No big deals subang and sungai besi can see most of the time

I think p8 have also landed here enroute to australia or from japan. Same also, just now the news is out, US maybe just want a maintenance and housing facility for their plane and not a full base.

Ni semua macam cakap a full us air base. MALAYSIA also want to play it right so allowing a full base might pull china nerves, if just a hanger then can say just a refuelling facilities

Btw i was thinking they target labuan because of existing facilities thre

This post has been edited by thpace: Sep 18 2014, 05:58 PM
red streak
post Sep 18 2014, 06:05 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 18 2014, 05:31 PM)
supporting aggressors? there's always 2 sides to a conflict, both are equally guilty.. and china's involvement is limited to nearing its borders or places where they have stake, US on the other hand... yes, staying neutral and avoiding conflict if can if not negotiate.. not go jilat d other side

well, if you put it that way, everyone can claim they are with US and they dont need any military.. it is always easy to hope for the best, but in the end of the day... you can only depend on yourself when desperate situation comes

all SCO countries, majority of african countries... countries in latin america, now even eu countries are friends with china.. massive markdown? cause china is paying for the pipeline and it is a long term contract.. if china dont buy it, it would be left in the ground with no demand..
So basically an organization where the intentions of the members are dubious at best (SCO) and with no formal military or defense treaties, a bunch of the traditionally anti-USA countries and the AU that's only interested in China from an economic perspective (they want chinese money to flow into their 3rd world nations so they can songlap develop their countries) and no formal alliances or military ties. Got it. Having friendly relations isn't the same thing as having diplomatic clout or any significant influence on the world stage because when shit hits the fan, who's gonna come back them up? I'd betting those so called "friends" you seem to think they have will disappear. You should go look up what NATO is before you come up with this weak ass comparison again. I'm not talking about some flimsy trade organizations where everyone and their dog can get in, I'm talking about some firm and concrete black and white, I will die for you, bro before hoes - military ties like NATO or the Warsaw Pact or CSTO. I mean, if you're gonna come up with something like "the SCO is a real military alliance", then I'll know you're trolling because something like "Treaty on Deepening Military Trust in Border Regions" and "Treaty on Reduction of Military Forces in Border Regions" is something that real allies would even need. It looks more like these countries don't even trust each other. rolleyes.gif
azriel
post Sep 18 2014, 08:34 PM

U.S. Military to sell Hellfire missiles to Iraq, Jordan, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia & Qatar.

Military prepares Hellfire missile foreign sales

September 18, 2014
By John Keller
Editor

REDSTONE ARSENAL, Ala., 18 Sept. 2014. U.S. Army anti-armor missile experts are ordering more than a thousand U.S.-made Hellfire II tactical missiles for the governments of Iraq, Jordan, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia and Qatar.

Officials of the Army Contracting Command at Redstone Arsenal, Ala., announced a $68.7 million contract this week to Hellfire Systems LLC in Orlando, Fla., to produce 1,361 Hellfire II missile models AGM-114R, AGM-114R-3, AGM-114P-4A, TGM M36E7, and ATM-114Q-6.

These missiles will be involved in U.S. foreign military sales to Iraq, Jordan, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia and Qatar. The AGM-114R is the latest version of the Hellfire II missile. The others involved in this sale are earlier, less-capable models.

Hellfire System is a venture of the Lockheed Martin Corp. Missiles and Fire Control segment in Orlando, Fla. At one time it involved the Boeing Defense, Space & Security segment in St. Louis, but Boeing has not been involved in Hellfire missile development and production for several years, Lockheed Martin officials say.

The AGM-114R is the latest Hellfire variant, and is equipped with semi–active laser seekers to defeat many kinds of targets. The AGM-114R can be launched from several different kinds of fixed-wing aircraft and helicopters, surface ships, and military ground vehicles.

Hellfires also are the missile of choice for several kinds of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) such as the MQ-1B Predator, MQ-9 Reaper, and MQ-1C Grey Eagle. Eventually these missiles may arm U.S. military unmanned helicopters.

The AGM-114R Hellfire II Romeo RX missile will use a semi-active laser guidance system and an integrated blast fragmentation sleeve warhead to engage targets that previously needed several Hellfire variants to destroy.

These missiles can seek out their targets autonomously or with designation from remote laser designators. The missile has a three–axis inertial measurement unit to enable it to attack targets from the side and behind.

The AGM-114R can be launched from higher altitudes than previous variants because of its enhanced guidance and navigation capabilities. With its multi–purpose warhead, the missile can destroy hard, soft, and enclosed targets.

Originally developed as an anti-tank missile for the Army's AH-64 Apache attack helicopter, the Hellfire missile has become one of the most versatile munitions in the U.S. arsenal. It can launch from fixed-wing aircraft and helicopters, UAVs, surface vessels, and land-based sites.

The AGM-114R will be guided by homing in on the reflected light of a laser designator. Other versions of the Hellfire are radar-guided fire-and-forget weapons. The Hellfire missile weighs 106 pounds, and has high-explosive variants designed to destroy tanks and other armored vehicles, and blast fragmentation versions designed to destroy trucks, antenna sites, concentrations of enemy troops, and other soft targets.

Development of the AGM-114R Hellfire missile became necessary after the Pentagon cancelled the Joint Common Missile (JCM) project, which was to replace Hellfire, as well as the AGM-65 Maverick air-to-ground missile.

On this contract Hellfire Systems LLC will do the work at the Lockheed Martin Corp. Missiles and Fire Control segment in Orlando, Fla., and should be finished by November 2016.

source

This post has been edited by azriel: Sep 18 2014, 08:38 PM
MilitaryMadness
post Sep 18 2014, 08:38 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 18 2014, 05:46 PM)
You're welcome biggrin.gif

About time also. lately I see people only post 2-3 posts a day....I need my latest military news to satisfy my fanboism.

Anyway,did anyone mention that Eksesais Keris Strike 2014 is already going on now? I just learn from MalaysianDefence that it started last week (12.9.2014).

thpace
post Sep 18 2014, 08:51 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 18 2014, 08:34 PM)
U.S. Military to sell Hellfire missiles to Iraq, Jordan, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia & Qatar.

source
wait we get our viper, then we maybe can get brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Sep 18 2014, 08:38 PM)
You're welcome  biggrin.gif

About time also. lately I see people only post 2-3 posts a day....I need my latest military news to satisfy my fanboism.

Anyway,did anyone mention that Eksesais Keris Strike 2014 is already going on now? I just learn from MalaysianDefence that it started last week (12.9.2014).

yup a few page ago. i think LTZ mention it

not really interesting as this year theme is more of disaster management

111 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0297sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:27 AM