111 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V13

thpace
post Sep 5 2014, 05:35 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

I not sure wther the navy would prefer the flat top version like the mistral or dokdo or more ship like design with submersible well deck. During the MALUX AMPHEX 2014, i am sure the navy get to see the diff of those when USS Makin Island and other support ships arrived smile.gif

Personally, i would prefer the flat top version because it would be more capable on the long run and it more function for the future marine plan. Able to deploy more attack or asw helicopters and amphibious vehicles

BTW LTZ

What is the actual MPSS requirements, alot of mix information on the requirements hmm.gif

1) some say 2 unit, while some say 3 unit (Bernama report 3 unit, Link)

2) some say ~8000ton while others say RMN might consider a full-size (14000 ton) version based on cost and future requirements link

3) Some say the requirements changed ever since the marine plan take full swing ( Attack helo, asw heli, lcac and aav have to be included in the deal) - logic juga buy amphibious ship but not equipments inside tongue.gif

All the "some say", what is your comment?

LTZ
post Sep 5 2014, 05:43 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 5 2014, 05:35 PM)
I not sure wther the navy would prefer the flat top version like the mistral or dokdo or more ship like design with submersible well deck. During the MALUX AMPHEX 2014, i am sure the navy get to see the diff of those when USS Makin Island and other support ships arrived  smile.gif

Personally, i would prefer the flat top version because it would be more capable on the long run and it more function for the future marine plan. Able to deploy more attack or asw helicopters and amphibious vehicles

BTW LTZ

What is the actual MPSS requirements, alot of mix information on the requirements hmm.gif

2) some say ~8000ton while others say RMN might consider a full-size (14000 ton) version based on cost and future requirements link

3) Some say the requirements changed ever since the marine plan take full swing ( Attack helo, asw heli, lcac and aav have to be included in the deal) - logic juga buy amphibious ship but not equipments inside  tongue.gif

Sori bro....although I am in navy, I am not that aware of this. Its still within mindef plan.

waja2000
post Sep 5 2014, 05:53 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 5 2014, 05:35 PM)
I not sure wther the navy would prefer the flat top version like the mistral or dokdo or more ship like design with submersible well deck. During the MALUX AMPHEX 2014, i am sure the navy get to see the diff of those when USS Makin Island and other support ships arrived  smile.gif

BTW LTZ

3) Some say the requirements changed ever since the marine plan take full swing ( Attack helo, asw heli, lcac and aav have to be included in the deal) - logic juga buy amphibious ship but not equipments inside   tongue.gif

size not much impact of cost of ship, different cost just around 8~15%, population, system and sensor, design and integration of system, weapon take most 60~7x% of price, remaining equipment and accessories。

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 5 2014, 05:54 PM
DDG_Ross
post Sep 5 2014, 05:53 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Sep 5 2014, 05:33 PM)
if i study in singapore since young to pre uni can go rmaf?? my malay only got very basic cos i learn in singapore sekolah menengah, sekolah cina summore
Not like the army wants everybody to super understand malay, basic command is there cukup lar
TSyinchet
post Sep 5 2014, 05:55 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 5 2014, 05:29 PM)
just found on internet
Cost usd 70 million for each AW159 with thales Flash Dipping sonar .. so expensive the system, (if Nh90, maybe around 90+ million)
it look like seahawk have better chance.
Ok lar tu.
seahawk flyaway cost how much?

nh90 too many problem I would stay away from its.
thpace
post Sep 5 2014, 05:59 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ Sep 5 2014, 05:43 PM)
Sori bro....although I am in navy, I am not that aware of this. Its still within mindef plan.
tat when u visited mistral, the navy chief ada tunjuk interest tak? laugh.gif laugh.gif

again some say mistral is under heavy consideration because our past trading with DCNS and easier system integration but price tag abit mahal, - Bousted

then dokdo come in, cheaper and almost same capabilities and plus equip with US defence equipments( Only the hulls is korean, the rest sensors and defense system are provided the by US based on current dokdo class installation) - NGVTECH

then china type 071 come in, even cehaper laugh.gif - ini gua tak tahu siapa akan bina

lagi lama, lagi i pun tak tahu apa mindef tengah plan ni... sweat.gif

It more like Boustead VS NGVTech, siapa akan dapat contract tongue.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: Sep 5 2014, 06:02 PM
TSyinchet
post Sep 5 2014, 06:05 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 5 2014, 05:59 PM)
tat when u visited mistral, the navy chief ada tunjuk interest tak?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

again some say mistral is under heavy consideration because our past trading with DCNS and easier system integration but price tag abit mahal, - Bousted

then dokdo come in, cheaper and almost same capabilities and plus equip with US defence equipments( Only the hulls is korean, the rest sensors and defense system are provided the by US based on current dokdo class installation) - NGVTECH

then china type 071 come in, even cehaper  laugh.gif - ini gua tak tahu siapa akan bina

lagi lama, lagi i pun tak tahu apa mindef tengah plan ni... sweat.gif

It more like Boustead VS NGVTech, siapa akan dapat contract tongue.gif
Ngvtech proposed athlas 13000.
thpace
post Sep 5 2014, 06:11 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 5 2014, 06:05 PM)
Ngvtech proposed athlas 13000.
dokdo was first proposed given the mou with the korean ship building company, ada send team evaluate

then only atlas reported when the mindef does no have enough $$$ to buy the dokso class

itu wat i dengar lah
KYPMbangi
post Sep 5 2014, 06:31 PM

39 posts

if i study in singapore since young to pre uni can go rmaf?? my malay only got very basic cos i learn in singapore sekolah menengah, sekolah cina summore
Just remember, career in the army means serving the nation above all else

Basic command is okay I think
KYPMbangi
post Sep 5 2014, 06:43 PM

39 posts

LTZ
post Sep 5 2014, 07:59 PM

36 posts

Just bear in mind as u lived in singapore b4.... 2 possibilities. What the intel dept will think about u, good & bad
waja2000
post Sep 5 2014, 08:25 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 5 2014, 05:55 PM)
Ok lar tu.
seahawk flyaway cost how much?

nh90 too many problem I would stay away from its.
surprising internet search Mh-60R seahawk aka "Romeo" cost more expensive. specially integrated with Aegis ship cost 120+- million each, Denmark 71 million each look like without integrated datalink bcos no aegis ship.

"Australia received in January the first two of 24 Romeos it has agreed to purchase. The deal is valued at just under $3.2 billion. At least 11 will be delivered to the Royal Australian Navy in 2014, Jurgens said. Denmark has paid $686 million for nine MH-60Rs, which will begin production in 2014. Still, neither of those programs is scheduled to take Romeo production beyond 2018. Deliveries to Australia are slated to conclude even earlier in 2016.

The MH-60R is being pitched as interoperable with the Navy’s Aegis automatic threat detection system. Countries that purchase Romeos also benefit from Navy logistical support, training, product improvements and technical services. Those enticements did not stop South Korea from buying a rival helicopter to fulfill its requirement for a maritime operations helicopter.

After initially requesting the $1 billion sale of eight MH-60Rs, engines and maintenance equipment, South Korea instead awarded a contract to AgustaWestland, marking the first export of its AW159.

To further complicate matters Eurocopter — now Airbus — is offering the NFH-90, a multipurpose maritime helicopter with an integrated anti-submarine warfare capability, which further undercuts Sikorsky’s monopoly on the anti-submarine warfare market, Aboulafia said.

At least a dozen nations have purchased the multipurpose AW159 through 2013, but collapsing European defense budgets have undermined those marketing efforts, he said. "

full news : International Sales May Not Support Seahawk Production Past 2018
Link

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 5 2014, 08:37 PM
waja2000
post Sep 6 2014, 02:04 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Sep 6 2014, 12:41 PM)
anyone got good photos of handalan/jerung/sri tiga class fast attack craft?? rmn wiki page only left these no photos cos i cannot find good one
google search photo can see alot
DDG_Ross
post Sep 6 2014, 05:07 PM

27 posts

China says 2 pilots died in aircraft carrier tests

BEIJING (AP) — Two Chinese test pilots were killed during development of the country's first aircraft carrier fighter wing, state media said, in a rare admission of problems with the hugely popular naval program.

The admission came in a report by the official Xinhua News Agency saying President Xi Jinping had signed an order awarding honorary titles to all pilots in the first squadron to conduct take-off and landing tests aboard the Liaoning, China's only aircraft carrier.

"Two test pilots of the squadron sacrificed their lives during the tests," the report said. No details were given.

The original Xinhua report ran Aug. 28, but went largely overlooked at the time. It was picked up by U.S. defense blogs and linked Friday to the blog of the U.S. Naval Institute.

Carrier flight operations are inherently risky, and the loss of two pilots is far from unusual. However, China's military still operates under a shroud of secrecy and no deadly accidents relating to the carrier had been reported at the time.

[Yahoo]

This post has been edited by DDG_Ross: Sep 6 2014, 05:08 PM
waja2000
post Sep 6 2014, 07:01 PM

137 posts

China export version MBT-3000 tank.....new demo video。
They invite more than 30 country army to watch in Tank day, ready for export from 2015

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 6 2014, 08:29 PM
waja2000
post Sep 6 2014, 07:03 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Sep 6 2014, 05:07 PM)
China says 2 pilots died in aircraft carrier tests

BEIJING (AP) — Two Chinese test pilots were killed during development of the country's first aircraft carrier fighter wing, state media said, in a rare admission of problems with the hugely popular naval program.

The admission came in a report by the official Xinhua News Agency saying President Xi Jinping had signed an order awarding honorary titles to all pilots in the first squadron to conduct take-off and landing tests aboard the Liaoning, China's only aircraft carrier.

"Two test pilots of the squadron sacrificed their lives during the tests," the report said. No details were given.

The original Xinhua report ran Aug. 28, but went largely overlooked at the time. It was picked up by U.S. defense blogs and linked Friday to the blog of the U.S. Naval Institute.

Carrier flight operations are inherently risky, and the loss of two pilots is far from unusual. However, China's military still operates under a shroud of secrecy and no deadly accidents relating to the carrier had been reported at the time.

[Yahoo]
news may not collect, no confirm news or just translation issue. anyway test in ac fly is high risk.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 6 2014, 07:10 PM
thpace
post Sep 6 2014, 07:11 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 6 2014, 07:01 PM)

MBT-3000 tank.....new demo video。
look like the hull from the T-series tank while the turret is the copy of American M1 front and British challenger sides
SUSAxeFire
post Sep 6 2014, 08:21 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(wanvadder @ Sep 5 2014, 05:26 PM)

“On 16th April 1996, I was on a routine rocket firing training flight with a squadron mate on an Aermacchi MB339A jet trainer. Our target was a rocky outcrop Island in the South China Sea. During one of the firing passes, the aircraft suffered serious flight control surface failure resulting in a spiral dive at 2000 feet AMSL. Split second decision to eject was made and both of us were saved by our Mk-IT-10F seats. Thanks to Martin-Baker's seat, we lived to tell our story. I was registered as the 4915th member of the Tie Club and my friend became the 4916th. We are proud (not by choice) to be part of an exclusive band of brothers whose lives were spared by seats with rocket packs."

Lt Col Sebastian A. William RMAF

Ejectee # 4915

https://www.facebook.com/?flyingspaghettimo...?type=1&theater
Captain Patricia Yapp Syau Yin

soon MiG will be retired. Wonder if she will move on to commercial aviation or fly the next batch of new jets

This post has been edited by AxeFire: Sep 6 2014, 08:24 PM
waja2000
post Sep 6 2014, 08:24 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Sep 6 2014, 07:11 PM)
look like the hull from the T-series tank while the turret is the copy of American M1 front and British challenger sides
Very low mbt design, 52 tons only, ATM should invite them come to demo test in here...... or come to LIMA 2015.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 6 2014, 08:25 PM
waja2000
post Sep 6 2014, 08:26 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Sep 6 2014, 08:21 PM)
Captain Patricia Yapp Syau Yin

soon MiG will be retired. Wonder if she will move on to commercial aviation or fly the next batch of new jets
she already transfer as instructor at RMAF pilot academic (i read news few month ago)

This post has been edited by waja2000: Sep 6 2014, 08:27 PM

111 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0282sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:03 PM