Xiaomi Redmi 1S Discussion Thread V2, THE MID-END GODPHONE

yibaandre
post Sep 5 2014, 05:06 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 5 2014, 04:08 PM)
I disagree. People usually seem to like big things... especially when it comes to phones.
not only phones bro, not only phones lol brows.gif
suntzulee
post Sep 5 2014, 05:10 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Sep 5 2014, 03:04 PM)
How to do the backup???
you can use TWRP or CWM recovery... smile.gif
bluecat68
post Sep 5 2014, 05:22 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Sep 5 2014, 04:48 PM)
Haha this is funny laugh.gif

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 5 2014, 05:03 PM)
Erm, I'm afraid no. You get the same amount of pixels, it just may lack some details, look smudged etc.. But the resolution stays the same. If you save a photo at half the resolution, but so that it reaches the same file size, the result will look different. Especially when you zoom in to 100% on the full resolution low quality photo, and zoom in to the same point (200% I guess?) on the half resolution (2 instead of 8 MP I think) high quality photo. Huge difference.
Mmm i suppose you right after googling it. But theory aside all i need to know is that High setting = Best quality but use more storage space & Low setting is the opposite. How they do it doesnt really matter to me sweat.gif

This post has been edited by bluecat68: Sep 5 2014, 05:29 PM
bluecat68
post Sep 5 2014, 05:29 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(yibaandre @ Sep 5 2014, 05:06 PM)
not only phones bro, not only phones lol  brows.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
ronaldkwok
post Sep 5 2014, 05:36 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Sep 5 2014, 04:44 PM)
Do a NANDROID backip before you do so.
Looks like this backup works only on rooted phone. Same for TWRP and CWM mentioned by others. Too much for this uncle lah. rclxub.gif My phone is still "virgin" and unrooted so can I just upgrade as it is and hope for the best? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Sep 5 2014, 05:42 PM
suntzulee
post Sep 5 2014, 05:41 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Sep 5 2014, 05:36 PM)
Looks like this backup works only on rooted phone. Same for TWRP and CWM mentioned by others. Too much for this uncle lah.  rclxub.gif My phone unrooted so can I just upgrade as it is and hope for the best?  sweat.gif
rooting is just piece of cake...u just need to flash the root.zip file and that is all u need to do.
kadajawi
post Sep 5 2014, 05:45 PM

544 posts

Erm. If you want to do a backup, doesn't MIUI offer to do a backup before upgrading? Also you can ask it to manually do one...
yibaandre
post Sep 5 2014, 06:52 PM

496 posts

anyone here has the original redmi 1s flip cover ?
use the adhesive type

Maxieos
post Sep 5 2014, 06:57 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 5 2014, 03:40 PM)
About which contact backup apps is good ?
I tried a few contact backup but when I restore it didn't show which Sim1 or Sim2 caller and call was done with an empty small box.

Which backup tools for contact and call and sms which show sim1 or sim2 output ?
Anyone ?

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 5 2014, 04:08 PM)
Since I just received the 1S I could test the camera. It will always take 8 MP photos, no matter if low, standard or high is set. It is just how much it compresses the photo that is different.

The GDex boy btw. forgot the phone on his motorbike... had to go down again to fetch it. laugh.gif He was friendly though. I really wonder why it took them so many attempts to deliver it though, because it's not like he could have delivered a lot of packages on his bike.
I disagree. People usually seem to like big things... especially when it comes to phones.

As for MP etc... I'm afraid you're wrong. The sensor size and the sensor design determines how much light goes in. Some sensors need to have quite some space between each pixel, some get them more closely together. Every pixel is able to collect a certain amount of light. How big the pixels are thus depends on the number of pixels (the more pixels, the smaller they have to be for a given sensor size), how big the sensor is (in a phone it's usually somewhere between 1/6" and 1/2.3", the high end Nokia camera phones go up to 1/1.5" or even 4/3" I believe... not sure now. DSLRs are much, much bigger than that) and how the sensor design is (backlit sensors are better, because the electronics are on the other side, older sensors had all the electronics at the side where light hits the sensor, thus losing a lot of space). The bigger the pixels are, the better will the phone perform in low light situations. That is why Sony's A7S is basically a night vision goggle, it sees more light than your eyes do! Huge sensor, only 12 MP, and a modern sensor design. It is amazing.

Unfortunately in camera modules for phones, lower resolution sensors are usually smaller too (case in point 8 MP Sony sensors tend to have around 1/4", 13 MP Sony sensors around 1/3" and 20 MP Sony sensors should be around 1/2.3" I'd guess. In the end, pixel size stays more or less the same... a 6 MP 1/2.3" sensor would be pretty good in the dark). The HTC One is an exception there. Btw., the bigger the sensor, the bigger the lens has to be too, leading to bulky camera modules. We could have so much better cameras if we were willing to sacrifice slimness. Then finally there's the thing about aperture... the wider open it gets, the more shallow depth of field we get, and the more light is collected for the sensor. (f2.0 is better than f2.8). Means bigger lenses though.

The part of compression is right though. Low quality = high compression = when you zoom in it's a blurry mess with artefacts, where the same photo at high would be sharp and clean.

Back to the test I've done earlier: Same photo, more or less, at low 580 kB, standard is 1.05 MB and high is 2.66 MB.
Still dont get it , what's 1/2 compare to f2.0 ? compare to high end note 4 1/2.6-inch 16MP BSI CMOS unit with F2.2 maximum aperture ?
yibaandre
post Sep 5 2014, 07:35 PM

496 posts

pre sale bundle do not have the in ear phone anymore
TSAnonymous34
post Sep 5 2014, 08:21 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(WeSLeY @ Sep 5 2014, 04:57 PM)
2 or 3 days buffer so wont be so disappointed tongue.gif
Yep. Yer x yer jugak

QUOTE(ptrfaith91 @ Sep 5 2014, 05:02 PM)
Sorry I am a noob noob here only know how to call and message and play game with phone...how do I actually do that? Which version of firmware is currently the most stable one? icon_question.gif
The latest version of the MIUI Global ROM for Redmi 1S is V37. You can get it from MIUI forum. Just flash it using the stock recovery.

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 5 2014, 05:03 PM)
Erm, I'm afraid no. You get the same amount of pixels, it just may lack some details, look smudged etc.. But the resolution stays the same. If you save a photo at half the resolution, but so that it reaches the same file size, the result will look different. Especially when you zoom in to 100% on the full resolution low quality photo, and zoom in to the same point (200% I guess?) on the half resolution (2 instead of 8 MP I think) high quality photo. Huge difference.

I thought that /k/ thread was deleted? hmm.gif
That/k/ thread is still there. For the meantime, I think I should allow you people to talk about shipping. But try avoiding it because I might be questioned by mod.
TSAnonymous34
post Sep 5 2014, 08:24 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(yibaandre @ Sep 5 2014, 05:06 PM)
not only phones bro, not only phones lol  brows.gif
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Sep 5 2014, 05:36 PM)
Looks like this backup works only on rooted phone. Same for TWRP and CWM mentioned by others. Too much for this uncle lah.  rclxub.gif My phone is still "virgin" and unrooted so can I just upgrade as it is and hope for the best?  sweat.gif
It doesn't require root to backup if you have flashed the recovery. You could try upgrading first.

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 5 2014, 05:45 PM)
Erm. If you want to do a backup, doesn't MIUI offer to do a backup before upgrading? Also you can ask it to manually do one...
Nope, MIUI doesn't offer full System backup. It only backups your data.

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 5 2014, 06:57 PM)
Anyone ?
Still dont get it , what's 1/2 compare to f2.0 ? compare to high end note 4  1/2.6-inch 16MP BSI CMOS unit with F2.2 maximum aperture ?
I thought, lower the aperture, the better is the night mode performance?
aLittleMisfit
post Sep 5 2014, 10:51 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Sep 5 2014, 08:21 PM)
The latest version of the MIUI Global ROM for Redmi 1S is V37. You can get it from MIUI forum. Just flash it using the stock recovery.
mine still 35.1 and it cant auto detect the update. lazy to flash manual

lately i do noticed it sort of hanged during call or call cancelations.

anyone have this problem?
bluecat68
post Sep 5 2014, 11:02 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Sep 5 2014, 10:51 PM)

Looks like this hang issue is quite common for 1s, how come no one mention anything about this in those review that i had read or watch ??

Quite worry right now, a bit regret right now. No wonder so many gift for this phone cry.gif
aLittleMisfit
post Sep 5 2014, 11:08 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Sep 5 2014, 11:02 PM)
Looks like this hang issue is quite common for 1s, how come no one mention anything about this in those review that i had read or watch ??

Quite worry right now, a bit regret right now. No wonder so many gift for this phone  cry.gif
is this hardware or software prob?
i wonder if changing the launcher can solved this prob
yibaandre
post Sep 5 2014, 11:09 PM

496 posts

Quite worry right now, a bit regret right now. No wonder so many gift for this phone  cry.gif
as far as I know, 1s does have a lite mode
using lite mode should reduce some of the probs ?
anyone here can confirm this ?
bluecat68
post Sep 5 2014, 11:19 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(yibaandre @ Sep 5 2014, 11:09 PM)
as far as I know, 1s does have a lite mode
using lite mode should reduce some of the probs ?
anyone here can confirm this ?
I actually considering get another phone in the very near future so worst come to worst this 1s going to be my backup phone .. i usually dont multitask with phone so hope the hang issue wont happen that often to me sweat.gif
TSAnonymous34
post Sep 5 2014, 11:25 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Sep 5 2014, 10:51 PM)

This is because youre running Global ROM. China ROM has been updated and the performance is a lot better.

Sell me the battery and charger biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Sep 5 2014, 11:19 PM)
I actually considering get another phone in the very near future so worst come to worst this 1s going to be my backup phone .. i usually dont multitask with phone so hope the hang issue wont happen that often to me  sweat.gif
S400 is a good chip. Miui is shit in optimization

bluecat68
post Sep 5 2014, 11:27 PM

361 posts

So how long actually this Xiaomi brand ?? Whats their reputation actually ??
TSAnonymous34
post Sep 5 2014, 11:29 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Sep 5 2014, 11:27 PM)
So how long actually this Xiaomi brand ?? Whats their reputation actually ??
Launched in 2010 April as a company who develops an Android Skin. They released their first phone in 2011.

113 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:17 PM