Xiaomi Redmi 1S Discussion Thread V2, THE MID-END GODPHONE

Maxieos
post Sep 2 2014, 02:27 AM

3,757 posts

There is 2 question and problem I wanted to ask .

1. Sometimes , I can't get any sms reply from some telco during testing period.
2. Why there's a data usage on sim2 eventhough I didn't use it ? google chrome and etc.
3. Can install wechat and whatsapp active on 2 sim card without root ?
Maxieos
post Sep 4 2014, 01:18 AM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Sep 2 2014, 10:12 AM)
1. Mine dosnt face that issues. Im using Celcom btw. Is it maxis?
2. I also doesnt face this issue. Does it use your sim2 credit?
3.  Currently only method available need root access. Why dont just root it? It is actually quite easy and dont worry root will not void the warranty.
How to Root-http://en.miui.com/thread-21881-1-1.html
2profile whatsapp-2 Lines For Whatsapp

If u use for light to mid usage, no problem.
If playing heavy games, there will be some lag or other problem.
But recent updates (V36) make ram management so much better. Not perfect, but so much better. laugh.gif 
As far as I know (dev or not dev, please correct me if I wrong tongue.gif ), the most important is the kernel source code.
Without it, dev cannot bake a custom rom that based on AOSP rom like cyanogenMod etc.
Most of the custom rom available right now for Redmi1S is based on MIUI rom itself.
So yeah, custom rom can be develop based on current rom (no need source code) and also based on other rom (need source code).
Which version do you use? hmm.gif
Soft case is the white ones(have other colour too). Protect your phone+camera lens.
Back cover is the battery cover. It is the phone component itself. laugh.gif  Original colour is grey color.
Another 1 thing I am facing which after 2-3 charging still indicate 99% .
Maxis for 2nd sim.
btw ,what's your version ? does version v37 able to save photo to sdcard ?

Which sms default you are using ? it keep on asking for hangouts permission eventhough I didn't set hangout as sms default.

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Sep 4 2014, 01:19 AM
Maxieos
post Sep 5 2014, 03:40 PM

3,757 posts

About which contact backup apps is good ?
I tried a few contact backup but when I restore it didn't show which Sim1 or Sim2 caller and call was done with an empty small box.

Which backup tools for contact and call and sms which show sim1 or sim2 output ?

Maxieos
post Sep 5 2014, 06:57 PM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 5 2014, 03:40 PM)
About which contact backup apps is good ?
I tried a few contact backup but when I restore it didn't show which Sim1 or Sim2 caller and call was done with an empty small box.

Which backup tools for contact and call and sms which show sim1 or sim2 output ?
Anyone ?

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 5 2014, 04:08 PM)
Since I just received the 1S I could test the camera. It will always take 8 MP photos, no matter if low, standard or high is set. It is just how much it compresses the photo that is different.

The GDex boy btw. forgot the phone on his motorbike... had to go down again to fetch it. laugh.gif He was friendly though. I really wonder why it took them so many attempts to deliver it though, because it's not like he could have delivered a lot of packages on his bike.
I disagree. People usually seem to like big things... especially when it comes to phones.

As for MP etc... I'm afraid you're wrong. The sensor size and the sensor design determines how much light goes in. Some sensors need to have quite some space between each pixel, some get them more closely together. Every pixel is able to collect a certain amount of light. How big the pixels are thus depends on the number of pixels (the more pixels, the smaller they have to be for a given sensor size), how big the sensor is (in a phone it's usually somewhere between 1/6" and 1/2.3", the high end Nokia camera phones go up to 1/1.5" or even 4/3" I believe... not sure now. DSLRs are much, much bigger than that) and how the sensor design is (backlit sensors are better, because the electronics are on the other side, older sensors had all the electronics at the side where light hits the sensor, thus losing a lot of space). The bigger the pixels are, the better will the phone perform in low light situations. That is why Sony's A7S is basically a night vision goggle, it sees more light than your eyes do! Huge sensor, only 12 MP, and a modern sensor design. It is amazing.

Unfortunately in camera modules for phones, lower resolution sensors are usually smaller too (case in point 8 MP Sony sensors tend to have around 1/4", 13 MP Sony sensors around 1/3" and 20 MP Sony sensors should be around 1/2.3" I'd guess. In the end, pixel size stays more or less the same... a 6 MP 1/2.3" sensor would be pretty good in the dark). The HTC One is an exception there. Btw., the bigger the sensor, the bigger the lens has to be too, leading to bulky camera modules. We could have so much better cameras if we were willing to sacrifice slimness. Then finally there's the thing about aperture... the wider open it gets, the more shallow depth of field we get, and the more light is collected for the sensor. (f2.0 is better than f2.8). Means bigger lenses though.

The part of compression is right though. Low quality = high compression = when you zoom in it's a blurry mess with artefacts, where the same photo at high would be sharp and clean.

Back to the test I've done earlier: Same photo, more or less, at low 580 kB, standard is 1.05 MB and high is 2.66 MB.
Still dont get it , what's 1/2 compare to f2.0 ? compare to high end note 4 1/2.6-inch 16MP BSI CMOS unit with F2.2 maximum aperture ?
Maxieos
post Sep 12 2014, 08:30 PM

3,757 posts

Is there away to extract the stock camera from v37 which support save to sdcard and install on a older version ?
Maxieos
post Sep 13 2014, 12:33 AM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Sep 5 2014, 11:38 PM)
Those things aren't really related. There are several ways to increase low light performance.

a) Bigger pixels. Bigger sensor, lower resolution, newer tech that uses more of the available space for light gathering rather than for example transferring the pixels to the imaging processor. The light sensitivity is measured in ISO. The higher the value, the more sensitive it is, however depending on the sensor it can be extremely noisy. A compact camera may go to ISO 3200 or 6400 (but it's unusable). The steps are for example 50, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, ... each step means 2x the light sensitivity. A decent DSLR will go to ISO 51200 perhaps, the current low light champion Sony A7S does something like 409600 or so. Those maximum values are usually barely usable.

notworthy.gif , Thank you for the explanation, but I still need a lot of reading and example indeep .
Anyhow , I found out there's a problem with 1s when you take photo at night , it get purplish lens flare unsure.gif
Any reason ?

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Sep 12 2014, 10:40 PM)
I can add/delete no problem on my end. Maybe you can try changing your sim card first. If you can't, just use google/gmail to organize, once all contacts sync>use any app that can backup your contacts to your sdcard or whatever thing you want it to be offline, then delete all phone contacts from that google/gmail account.

And again there is no point really in going through that process of not using google account. Alot of apps can also read your contacts, etc.
You can try extracting the camera from v37 and push it to the system/app.
Any guide to extract the v37 camera apk ? and how to push it ? beginner to android . Using v27 atm
QUOTE(yibaandre @ Sep 12 2014, 10:40 PM)
hi,

downloaded and install the software on rooted 1s
the app crash

anything I miss ?
Go online wifi when you launch the apps

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Sep 13 2014, 12:45 AM
Maxieos
post Sep 15 2014, 11:49 PM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Sep 4 2014, 01:33 PM)
Yes, for v37, users are now able to save photos to SD card as default.
I dont see any option to save to SD Card ? where's the option ?
Maxieos
post Sep 17 2014, 12:02 AM

3,757 posts

How to know which Piston version we got ? and how to check the particular version whether it's fake or not ?
Feel like lack of Bass

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Sep 17 2014, 12:04 AM
Maxieos
post Sep 17 2014, 06:15 PM

3,757 posts

Anonymous34 Why does at caller list always Ring 6 times at the miss call section or caller section ?
Maxieos
post Sep 20 2014, 06:34 PM

3,757 posts

Any hard leather flip cover case recommend ?
Maxieos
post Sep 21 2014, 09:07 PM

3,757 posts

Anonymous34
1. Any hard leather flip cover case recommend ?
2. how to know whether xiaomi shipped Piston 2.0 or 2.1 ?
3. How to change ringtone from caller from sim2 , means 2 different music if caller is from different sim card ?
4. Possible to install newer official camera apps to an older version for sdcard saving ?

Maxieos
post Sep 21 2014, 10:01 PM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Sep 21 2014, 09:19 PM)
1) Check out Taobao, I never fancy-ed any flip cover
2) Summon Arvinaaaaa to explain
3) Its not possible YET on current version of MiUi
4) Nope, try using SNAP camera from Play Store
1. Nope , I just help my friend to get a new cover where he need a better leather cover to prevent phone drop. sweat.gif
2. It seems piston deliver with very low bass and high treble when select on piston earphone vs General earphone at the setting and at desktop it doesn't have give high bass Arvinaaaaa can help out ?
3. hm.... hopeto get different ringtone setting from different sim .Nothing much , I still can set group with different ringtone
4. Guss no luck , but ABC camera is quite good but slow

5. Any good front facing camera apps with special tools like Lenovo camera having a "beauty" setting to smoothen for selfie .I google a lot but need to test every apps seems like very troublesome. and the front facing camera cannot get auto focus ?
Maxieos
post Sep 21 2014, 10:31 PM

3,757 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Sep 21 2014, 10:18 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3290725&hl=

i already explain in the link difference between 2.0 and 2.1

for desktop, under windows media player turn on the trubass feature and set to about 15% depending on your preference..

for my ipad and s3 with cyanogen the bass is quite strong..sorry i cant help u regarding your phone because i dont own a xiaomi phone smile.gif
Sorry I didn't search at Kopitiam , I only search here and Audiophiles section.
I tried with music .wav files , in xiaomi phone , setting with general vs piston really having a huge different , Dont know what kind of setting they did.
Maxieos
post Sep 22 2014, 05:17 PM

3,757 posts

Anyone tried with prefixer ? It can auto remove +60 ?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....prefixer&hl=en

What I want is having +60 remove and show at the caller ID and contact
Maxieos
post Sep 25 2014, 11:52 PM

3,757 posts

Anyone can recommend a good call and sms backup displaying sim card 1 or 2 for called and receiving ?
Maxieos
post Sep 28 2014, 12:47 AM

3,757 posts

1. why sometimes it show 99% full , sometimes 97% full ?
2. Which version does it run on zram ?

Maxieos
post Oct 3 2014, 09:29 PM

3,757 posts

Stock MIUI , how do I retain the apps folder and arrangement placement after titanium backup ?
Need to drag and create a folder one by one again ? sad.gif

Maxieos
post Oct 4 2014, 10:41 PM

3,757 posts

boonsheng check with the cleaner at MIUI Security.Some apps really takes up storage like browser FF or Chrome and etc
Maxieos
post Oct 5 2014, 12:10 AM

3,757 posts

Anonymous34 thanks for the backup , did you tried using it ? does it able to restore the apps location and folder arrangement ? (backup home screen layout? )

boonsheng Maybe you can try download Es explorer and click show hidden folder , then either browsing through DCIM on your sdcard1 or 0 and check which hidden folder take out the space.Including other hidden folder and gallery cache. Check one by one the file size like how you right click window properties for details.
Maxieos
post Oct 10 2014, 12:17 AM

3,757 posts

Does battery life drop on v43 vs v37 since it's using zram ?

0.0508sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:06 PM